paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field

Splat Tag Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
58Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 651-488-7700
Location: Burkhardt, Wisconsin 54016
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
                            
madmolly823 Sunday, September 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hillcrest,Bubbas,Zingers
Review: I read the last review that seemed to praise the big game Darrin held. There is no way you are a person that does not work there or get deals there. I was not going to write a review but after I read a bogus review like you wrote I was compelled to. Darrin is not a bad guy. He seems cool. He just did not have anything ready at all. If you do not have anything ready do not even bother. I paid 30 dollars to play and it was the worst time I have ever had. THe reasons are as follows
1. Well Staffed was a joke. He had kids driving like morons on golf carts that almost hit cars and people. No one on our side new how to fill HPA and the scuba tanks used in the morning were not even over 2000 and most were empty.
2 REFS> I have never seen refs that actually had no idea what was going on. In more than half a dozen times we had refs tell us to do something and then when we would do it refs on the other side would be screaming at us asking what we were doing. More than once foul language was used by the refs towards us. I relayed this to Darrin personally afterwords and got no response.
3 GAMES No one ever completely knew what was going on in a game. We would walk 3/4 of a mile then someone would scream go go go and we had no clue.
4 TERMINATOR. That was the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen. 14 years of paintball and I have never seen anything that stupid. That alone is a reason I will never come. It is bad enough the guy cheated by covering his "kill spot" with his hand but he was actually proud of it. Why don't you guys post that picture on the web and see how many people think his bruises were cool. If anyone can tell Darrin that I have spoke to other people that have played in past big games and the terminator thing did not sit well with them either. Get rid of it. It is not safe for the person or the people he can walk up and shoot from 10 feet.
5. This was not a slam on Darrin personally and I do know what a pain a big game or tournament can be to host and run. I am sure it will get better but the game we were at was a scouting game for us. We were looking for more big games in WI and tried that one for the first and last time. I am not going to slam SPLAT TAG with a 1 rating. Big games suck to put on. I just want them to think about what they are doing and fix it. I am sure they will.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MNSparky Friday, August 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Special Forces - Buffalo, MN and Morristown, MN
Review: An excellent field. Splat Tag caters to both woods ball and tournament players. Large (multiple) fields and a wide variety to the terrain keeps the play interesting. They are not afraid to try out new scenarios and mix things up to see what happens. Most times I have been there during open play games, we have been allowed to play as long as we want, until dusk at times. Prices are very reasonable (includes Co2 and compressed air fills too, I think, as a part of field fee) and field paint is allowed. Safety is stressed alot.
Big games are kinda hectic where-ever you go and Splat tag is no exception, but they try to put on a good show. Well staffed and food vendors on site.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Badger53170 Tuesday, August 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Special Forces, Buffalo, MN - Ahlman's Gun Shop, Morristown, MN
Review: I'd like to defend Splat Tag against anyone that says something bad about it. First off, Darrin and his crew have been in the business for a long time, and have great experience in providing the best paintball Wisconsin has to offer. The field in Hudson was just acquired only this year, and they're doing their best to not only get it up and running, but offer it as an alternative to their customers. They know it needs work, and they know it has potential. Anyone that says anything bad about Hudson's field is simply impatient. Darrin, Chris, and the others are top-notch people doing their best to do what they love, and that is: create great paintball tournaments. As for the employee that won a gun at their Giant Big Game, she wasn't working that day, but came on her own to participate. She paid her entry fee just like the rest of us, and had an equal chance at winning. There is no cheating at all when they draw names. It's simply the luck of the draw.

Overall, you can't find a cheaper place to play excellent paintball. They are one of the few places that allow you to bring your own paint. They offer free air-refills with the price of admission. They offered a free lunch at the last open play for those that played in the pumps game. They gave out 500 rounds of paint to the first 20 people that showed. These guys are great. Anyone that complains at how they do their business is more than welcome to purchase land, do the manpower it takes to create a battlefield, staff it with referees, implement a better registration method, and by all means please come back to this forum and tell us how easy it was for you. In the mean time, just enjoy what they have to offer and play paintball.

P.S. They can't control the weather either!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

mechanic79 Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Special Forces Paintball, Buffalo - Diehard Paintball, Ramsey - MN Pro Paintball, Lakeville - Joe's Paintball Platoon, Monticello
Review: Best Features:
1. Price: cheapest place I've found
2. Bring Your Own Paint !!
3. Games are turned quick so you don't have to wait long.
4. Staff is helpful and knowledgeable
5. Usually a large turnout for Open play and the larger games

GIANT BIG GAME:
This was a little hectic but still fun. Plenty of paint, air and friendly staff to help things move as smooth as possible. It wasn't perfect, but for a new field of that size, bad weather, and over 300+ players, I say they did a good job.

OPEN PLAY:
Open play is fun and safe with chrono stations and periodic mandatory chronoing is appreciated.

FIELDS:
There are Two fields so far that they use consistently. With alot of hills, steep banks, trees, brush, and open spaces makes for very diverse landscape and interesting tactics of play on each field.

OVERALL:
Splat Tag Inc. has a great location, diverse woodsball fields, lots of participants, wtih a safe and friendly atmosphere.
If you want to get in a days worth of paintball, you won't be disappointed here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andremn Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Zone and Splatball, Inc. - Splat Tag, Inc is by far bigger and better! Not to mention cheaper!
Review: Splat Tag has the biggest and best playing fields around!!! CO2 and HP is included in their $10 play time fee! I have played at their Baldwin field and their new Hudson location and you just can't beat their wooded fields. I also play at their Sunday open games and can not believe the large number of players that come out. It's cool to play with so many people. Open play is from 11-4pm, but every time I been there they let us play to 6 and even 7pm. They fix guns and give out orings for free!

I have been to the last two Giant Big Game that they host and had a great time, even thaw it rained at both. Over 300 players came out to the June game. It was great. They gave out very cool prizes (4 A5s and Hp tanks and flatline barrels) and all the prizes went to players! I didn't win anything, but eveyone watches the drawing. I will be at the one in Sept. I hope it dosn't rain. :)
Last edited on Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003 at 10:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LinkinPark03JT Monday, June 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none are as good
Review: i was at the same big game as the previous reviewer, and it was sort of messed up. but the actual feild was not the one we played at. they just had that land for the game. and there were trails, and the refs i talked to sort of knew what was going on. i definately had a good time overall. because this wasnt their normal feild was the reason that the air situation was bad, and i know that i was able to buy paint, they had a truckload of it.

anyways, the actual feild at baldwin is a nice feild. they have many woods feilds, a speedball area, and a decent pro shop. the woods feilds vary in terrain. there are pine tree ones, small tree and brush ones, and dirt bunker ones. there are wooden bunkers mixed in with some of the brush ones too.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bk_benelli Monday, June 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I went to this Feild for their "Giant Big Game" and was very dissapointed. We showed up right on time (owner told us the day before that registration would start at 6:30) and had to wait for and hour and a half before it started. There was a one-way muddy road going in so traffic was always backed up. A ref told us to park and go register, so we did, but then a guy came up and told us we had to move our trucks. We were pre-registered so we hopped in our trucks and headed down to our base, it was a half mile from the registraion area on VERY muddy roads and there were no signs to show how to get to it. After backing up several times we finally got to our "base" which was nothing more than a farmers field that was covered in tall grass. NOTHING was organized, they had no parking, no paint for sale, no rental equipment, our head ref didn't show up for another 2 hours, all the refs said it was their first time as a ref, nobody knew where we were goint to play or start, and all the scuba tanks they said we were suppose to fill off of were empty. They only had one fill station for the scuba tanks so we ended up borrowing them ours (and this is supposed to be a professinal field!!!). We FINALLY got started at 10 am only 4 short hours after we got there. The head ref went over about 1/4 of the rules and took us to the start point, when we got there he yelled GO! GO! GO! and nobody moved because they did not tell us where the other base and field boundry was. We all started walking blinly into the woods (which was just that, a woods with nothing done to it to make it unique - no bunkers, no trails, no boundry markers - just a woods like you would play in on private land). After we got half way in three refs stopped us because they did not know the boundries. After a breif fire fight we hid in the brush and were going to ambush some guys from the other team when a ref came by and yelled that we were there!!! NONE of the refs knew the rules or what was going on, we would ask them about the rules, boundries or something else and they wouldn't know. This happened a lot and continued all day long. The one good thing I have to say is that the players from both teams were great, some of the guys on the other team accually congratulated me on sneaking up on them when they were sniping. They were just as angry with the lack of organization as we were. We visited the web site before the game and about 50% of the info on there was false. And to top it all of, at the end of the day they gave away 5 tippmann A-5's and an employee won one of them.

For a field that has a web site just for this game and has over 300 people attend I couldn't believe how terrible the setup was. I spoke to several players from that area who had played there before and they said they wait for it to get better but it doesn't. I wouldn't go back to this senario game or this field if someone paid me. They need to seriously get their act together.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

pblover101 Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dont know any in area
Review: This feild was great. I went hear for a Big Game they had and about 180 people showed up. the feild was a big area but in BAD constion becasue it had just rained and was still raining. If it wasnt wet i bet it would have been better. i am going there again for another Big Game on june 8th and ill see if the field if any better when it isnt wet(i think it will be) and then write anohter review.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media