paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Mersey Road Paintball Field / Mersey Road Paintball Field / Mersey Road Paintball Field / Mersey Road Paintball Field

Mersey Road Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 902-857-9745
Address: 292 Mersey Road, East River
Hubbards, Nova Scotia
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
tipper Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Overkill, Spatterzone.
Review: Mersey road paintball is pro bally one of the best Fields in Canada.Because you can use any kind of paint you want or it's $5 for the day or maybe even the free hot dogs. All you need to pay is 5 bucks and 5 bucks for air and ur set (guessing you have balls.) But careful to always have your barrel condom on cause howie will rip your head off, haha. The feild is very safe, there open for walk on's sundays and evey other day is bookable. Prices Are dirt cheap, there rentals are tippmann 98s. the staff is awsome, players can't be better and they have speedball and a 5 acre woodsball feild. So really, you can't go wrong.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball crazy Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Home made
Directions
to the Field:
Hubbards near Chester
Review: I loved it there!!! The place had nice rental guns (tippmann 98c) And the woods ball Feild was full of bunkers and towers and boats and cars and much more to hide in. The speed ball feild looked nice too. I loved it and am going back soon with my own marker.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rogue_trooper99 Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splaterzone
Review: This is the first paintball field iv played on. I took part in ww4, black Friday and may other games. this field is really great. lots of big building and tons of different things 2 hide behind that are just really amazing. its fun to play there with lots of people that like paintball allot and you get to learn lots about paintball from the people that work there, i have been getting lots of good and useful advices from them and this is where i learn the most about paint ball. the prices are great too, allot cheaper than some other fields gun rental, fee8ld fee, paintballs, co2 refiles etc all at very good prices. there speed ball course i guess is pretty cool, but ive only played in there speed ball course. the referees are also fare in both speed ball and woods ball and they do a good job enforcing the safety rules. sometimes free meals like hot dog and hamburgers are given out freely and lots of other great prises are given out at the big games.

i give this course a perfect 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

98apex Monday, March 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 7th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatter zone
Directions
to the Field:
Hubbards
Review: The first field that I ever played at was Mersey Road. It's an awesome field. Mainly it's best for woodsball cause the speedball field isn't so great but now there making a new one that should be good. THe events are really good and there are lots of people that come to them. Also there are walk on sundays that are really good. It's also open all year round so you can play in the snow. There's food that they offer on walk ons and special events. The prices are really good too, cause it's like five dollars to play for a whole day. The woodsball is awesome with lots of bunkers and towers. People are really nice there too. It's an awesome field for woodsball so if your a fan of woodsball definately check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hired_gun Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatterzone,Overkill, Storm Warning
Review: Mersey road Paintball,

Exellent field lots of bunkers and wooded areas, nice new speed ball field being built as we speak...very professional looking, lots of refs who enforce safety to make sure everyone stays and plays safe...free hot-dogs on walk on Sundays and a really cheap field fee of 5 dollars for the day. reasonably priced paint co2 and Hpa...the owners are there to make sure everyone has a fun time for a reasonable price, some Fields try to overprice paint which is a turn off...also most times it's bring your own paint. The owners will also fix markers most times for nothing . they have Porto potties wich are kept reasonably clean. A canteen where drinks and snacks are available at reasonable prices. lots of people frequent Mersey most are regulars whom are a great bunch of guys and gals. you can check them out at

www.merseyroad.com
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ballisticpball Saturday, September 10th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ballistic Paintball- I like their woodsball feild better, but they don't have their airball feild up yet.
Storm Warning Paintball- I've never played on their woodsball feild, but I have played on their airball field, and I like it better than Mersey's.
Review: I recently played a tournament here at this field on their 3 man airball field. The surface of the filed isn't all that great, it's a mix between sand, mud, dirt, and rocks. It built up on a high surface though, so it's pretty dry. The rocks kinda suck though. I ripped my JT Tournament pants in a slide, but it's no big deal. I don't know who made thier airball field, but it's definatly not sup'air. It has odd shaped bunkers, that are supposed to be dorito's, I think, but they are only two sided, and not three like sup'air dorito's. This field is pretty tight, so it;'s pretty fun. There isn't many lanes, and it pretty small too, so the games are fast. The games played here are really exciting because of how tight the bunkers are. The reffing was done by Unforgiven, a pretty well respected local team, and it was pretty good. There wasn't any arguments or anything. Our team didn't do very well at this tournament, but we still had a lot of fun. There was free hots dogs, snacks, and water/gatorade for sale too. The management could have been a little nicer too, and they didn't announce the games very often. There was quite a bit of confusion at times. Things would have ran a lot smoother if they had annouced the games all the time. Ovcerall though, I would go back and play another tournament here. Overall, I would give this field an 8/10. There are some improvements to be made.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

charon Wednesday, June 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Zone, Overkill, Splatshot
Review: I started playing on the Splatshot field back in the 80ís. After a while all the fields moved indoors or the new ones were very small so I lost interest and stopped playing. I was asked to attend a birthday party at Mersey Road and at another local field in the fall of 2004 and figured what the heck I havenít played in a while so I went. The other field was fun and it was like I remembered, poor rental guns, small field, fogging mask, noobs treated like lepers, etc. etc. Even though it was fun I was still not interested in taking up the sport again.

Then I hit Mersey Road. I was astounded to say the least. This is paintball the way it is meant to be played. Woodsball, speedball, huge field, buildings, towers, broken cover, thick cover, rentals, on site canteen, tech truck, friendly people, everyone made to feel welcome, bring your own paint and a free hot dog to boot. I was so impressed with the Mersey field, staff and regulars that I am now back into the sport and participating regularly. My son has been turned on to the sport and loves it as much as I do. My only fear is that now my son will compare all other paintball fields and operations to Mersey Road and he will find the others lacking. It is like learning to golf at Augusta National and then going to your local municipal course to play.

Mersey Road is a first class facility with first class people and I cannot recommend them highly enough. If you are in or visiting Nova Scotia, Canada you must visit Mersey Road Paintball.

Ratings:
Amenities / Prices - 9.5 / 10
Customer Service - 10 / 10
Airball - 8 / 10
Woodsball - 10 / 10

Overall Rating - 9.5 / 10
Recommended field. Well worth the money. A great way to spend an afternoon.
Best woodsball field in Eastern Canada.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 26th, 2005 at 11:32 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AngelOfDeath Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NBT, Splatter Zone, Black Knight
Review: Can you say woodsball wet dream. This field is huge, and can easily fit 200 people, which it normally does during their big events. The field consists of a castle like thing down field, a big "town" with a sniper tower next to it. There's lots of small buildings not to mention that all famous truck sitting down there. The other thing that amazes me... just because the castle is downfield, it dosen't mean they have an advantage. Up top theres a lot of bunkers / large piles of tires to use for cover. If you need to advance theres bunkers all up the center of the field. Be careful though, because up by the castle is a trench thing with a pillbox. On both far sides there are the woodsballers territory. This is where the camo comes into play. The woods have scattered bunkers and groves of trees with paths. On the right side there are towers (My favorite because I've bunked myself there and have sniped out more than a few people from) that are positioned quite nicely for small advantages for both teams.

Summed up - This is my favorite field I play on (I still need to go see Overkill Paintball) But even then I'll still be at Mersey every weekend / second weekend....or whenever my small ass budget allows me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hynes39 Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I have played at this field numerous occasions and i've never been disappointed.
Along with the excellant scenerio events that are held there by Jim and his crew banshee paintball also hosts big scenerio games (well by nova scotia standards) at this field. There field paint is high quality and as far as i can tell well stored when not being sold and they run there air/airsmith station with high professionality that you wouldn't see in this growing sport. My friends brother was a newbie and when he went to his first game at mersey road and ever his burst disk broke on his tank, but leave it to the guys at mersey they replaced it with anew one at no charge!! The staff here is well known to the lay out of the land and enforce rules. Refs patrol the field and if you tell one person is shooting hot then they will check them. When i was playing in a warriors in the woods game held by mersey road when you went back to reinsert back into the game at the dead box the refs were standing there waiting with there hand held chronos to make sure you weren't shooting hot, which might have slowed the game down but i felt better knowing that it was happening.

For anyone no matter what age. Newbies, the expert and the pro i would suggest this field for you
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SyphPaint Monday, October 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Zone, Never Blink Twice, Overkill, any incarnation of Splatshot

Overkill is probably the best competition within the Halifax area.
Review: Wow. Mersey Road has been open for what seems like only a few short years, but in the ever-growing land of paintball here in Nova Scotia, its already looking to have a long life ahead of it.

Jim and Howie Langlois have put so much time and effort into this field that it's become not just a field, but a place for players to meet and spend a Sunday enjoying their time there; no pressure to play at all -- if you want to sit in the Neutral Zone and chat with other players, thats fine. You don't have a time limit on your field fee. $5 gets you in the door for the day. A day could last anywhere from 10am - 8pm, or more depending on the turnouts.

The paint that Jim has offered over the years has changed as well, and this year the field has returned to Draxxus Midnight and Blaze, ($20-25) and continues to sell CO2 for competitive prices to players. They also now have a compressor on site and can fill HPA tanks. This is a very much appreciated addition to the field equipment this year.

However, the field IS BYOP, except on Scenario Days, where players have to buy the field paint. This is a large plus side to Mersey Road, as most players buy their paint elsewhere and bring it to the field; although many also purchase the Draxxus paint because it is a very decent paint for the price.

The woodsball continues to expand, with more concept buildings and bunkers available nearly every week. Towers, Tanks, Treehouses, Killboxes, Radar Stations, Dense Brush, Light Cover, Constructed and Natural bunkers; diverse elements providing players with lots of areas to play. The field should be expanding to a much larger size for next season. Discussions are already taking place on how the new sections of the field will look.

Scenario events are always popular, and there are several throughout the season. Black Friday, Invasion!, Warriors in the Woods and Mission: Impossible are spread out across the year so that we have plenty of time for the infamous walk-on days. 300+ Players came out for Black Friday last year, and this year even more are expected. Another returning event will be the charity event with local radio station Q104.

The speedball course remains a bit of a mystery, having been removed at the end of the season. The dirt surface had become troublesome to play on, and new netting had to be acquired before the upcoming 06 season. The old speedball field is now a parking lot and there will apparently be a new Neutral Zone and Speedball field for 06.

Mersey is open nearly year round (Season is generally March-November weather permitting) and can host parties for 30+ people. Party Rates available, you have to call ahead.

Check out the website, www.merseyroad.com
Last edited on Monday, January 30th, 2006 at 9:03 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media