paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Mersey Road Paintball Field / Mersey Road Paintball Field / Mersey Road Paintball Field / Mersey Road Paintball Field

Mersey Road Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 902-857-9745
Address: 292 Mersey Road, East River
Hubbards, Nova Scotia
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
TheKingFool Saturday, July 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
snl, fire island, never blink twice
Review: i have been playing here for about 2 years now, there woods-ball field is sweet there is tones of bunkers and towers to hid in and woods to crawl through well avoiding fire from the other team, the speed ball field is awesome. this year i attended the black Friday game to which i witnessed one of the biggest turn outs i have ever seen 110 if i remember correctly, that day was a blast, i love going to the Sunday walk on games cause someone always has a new toy to show off and to meet up with old friends, i don't mind going and spending 25-35 dollars to play i usually pick my paint up in town before i head out for a day of paintball. the owners of this Field are always willing to help out with any problems and are always friendly about it.
i give this Field a 10 rating due to the fact of friendly ppl running it great prices and altogether great Field
Last edited on Saturday, July 3rd, 2004 at 10:00 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

punk_rocker543 Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Never Blink Twice, Splatter Zone, Storm Warning, SNL, Overkill Sportz.
Review: This field is awesome! They have Rentals (Tippman98s) and its only $5 entry fee for all day at the walk-on games on Sundays, the people are friendly and always help you out, they have good paint for really good prices. I was new the first time I went so I got shot pretty bad. Very good prices, the great people and help you get plus the nice terrain, bunkers and speedball I would say it's the best field in Nova Scotia. The speedball field is ok but its not the best ever, it was still pretty cool to play it. The brothers who run it are really nice and help with everything. The paint they sell is mostly Draxxus or Whitebox, mostly high quality stuff. I never chop with the stuff they sell and you can take your own paint along with you. For more info on the Field go to Merseyroad.com. The scenario games they have are sweeeeeet, at least 250 people go for them and its insane. This field has grown over the years and is a favorite for all the woodsballers in the area and is greatly enjoyed by all. I hope to see you all there.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 12th, 2006 at 2:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

jake_89 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Zone
Review: This field I have played at for 2 years now and I love it their woods ball field is amazing and their speed-ball is not air-ball but still cool. The people at Mersey Road are the most amazing people and if you are new there is many people out at Mersey Road that will be glad to help you. Their woods ball has many bunkers and tower, hills, a van, truck and car. The refrees are always very fair. The field is always clean. If you are new starting out try this field. Please you will have a blast and the first time I went there I had so much help I was over welmed. Also it is $5 for the whole day if you bring your own gun and YES you can bring your own paint.!! They even sometimes do FREE hotdogs for lunch. They have chocolate bars and cans of pop for sale.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004 at 4:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raptor33 Sunday, May 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Shot
Splatter Zone

neither are as big, or have as many bunkers/different terrains
Review: ive never played in a better field, all kinds of scenario games and sponsored events, field is well maintained, staff are good people, good prices ($5 field fee), lots of people show up every weekend. huge woodsball field with different terrains (fast bunker middle, wooded sides, field is too big to pick people off at the other end
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

viper_16_ Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatshot- first of all splat shot is a speed ball field so its completely different from Mersey road which is a wooded area but anyway Mersey road is much much bigger and better in many ways ex. equipment, bunkers, area, terrain etc.... im not a real fan of speed ball i cant really properly compare them but even so Mersey road is much better.
Review: mersey road can be a deciveing field. looking at photos it seems quite small but you will discover it is quite big at a "rough" estimate 200 m by 200m this makes for a large area for players to disperse acros this makes for better firefights not so bunched up. the terrain in meresy road is also unique it is at a easy guess 1/2 wooded which gives you a good threshold for players who enjoy different types of fields, the groung isnt easy there are plenty of branches roots rocks and other obsticals which obvously comes with an outdoor field but after playin 5 hours it can get tough. mersey road has lots of bunkers/ small obsticals it also has 4 two story towers and one 3 story tower which has an exelent view over 1/2 of the field these bunkers are evenly dispersed over the field leaving lots of ways to get to where you want to go in my opinion this could be one of the only downfalls of this field some times you will have a bunker 15 feet away so its very easy to advance behind cover. bunkers at mersey road can be anything from tree forts to cars which can make for pretty exiteing and diverse environments. one key factor in the diversity of the terrain is that mersey road is also host to multiple houses which can give you some pretty intense close combat fights. although there is a ten foot rule you have to yell freze if they move you can shot them ive seen many ppl turn around and shoot there would be captor but once they move you have the right to shot so that can be very interesting. when you go to mersey road if you do not own a gun you can rent tippman 98 custom which are in fair quality the real treat in this deal is the rental only costs 5 $ which is exelent CO2 is available on site and varys in costs but is very good all around ex. a 12 ounce tank is 5 $ also you can bring youre own paint which always can help price wise. mersey road is host to lots of tournaments i just participated in one today they are well orginised with 100 competetors this tournament used a mix game type i myself am unfirmiliar with other tournament rules or game types but this game was a mix of CTF respawn and points which made for awesome gameplay. all in all mersey road is one of the best or the best paintball fields in nova scotia or possibly even atlantic canada it is full of different envoronments and varying terrain so youre sure to find a place you will enjoy although you could say it is leaned towards the woods but if youre looking for a great time at exelent prices take a trip to mersey road
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

adman123 Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: i went to this feild two days ago for a senario game it was huge 105 people per team huge feild really is incredible huge tower plenty of cover wodded area and cheap it's bacically just a place for you to go play it's only 5 dollars for the whole day !!! paint is a reasonable price same as what you would buy in stores (price and quality) bring your own equipment or rent the great cond. tipmann 98 customs you can also get co2 refills 20oz. for only 6 bucks
i could not ask for one more thing from any other feild!!! had the time of my life
Last edited on Saturday, May 29th, 2004 at 11:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scotian25 Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None - visited while vacationing in NS.
Review: I live in Sudbury, Ont and was planning a trip to the Halifax area. During the plainning of the trip, I searched the web for a field in Nova Scotia and ended up on this site. Having read the reviews and then talking to Howie on the phone, I decided to take my gear and give their field a go. As in other reviews Jim and Howie are great guys, very friendly and
helpful. Although the crowd was a bit small, being a long weekend there were still
enough for a day of great paintball.

The main field is loaded with challenges from dense brush to a road through a village
of houses, towers and deserted cars. Considering players can bring their own paint and a field fee of only $5.00 for equipment owners it is one of the best values you
will ever find for a day of play.

All in all this is a great field, considering the location is 1-1.5 hours from a major
population centre you will be hard pressed to have a better time. It is a field that I highly recommend to anyone visiting the area. So if you are going to Nova Scotia, pack your
gear,
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mac007 Wednesday, May 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SNL - read my review...
Review: Mersey is a very nice field built by player/owners. You can bring your own paint to this field and pay a $5 green fee. CO2 and paint are available. The field is very popular with young players partly because of the speedball field. My son really likes the speedball court.

Its obvious that the owners really like the sport and it shows on both the rec-ball field and the speedball court. I attended a very enjoyable scenario game in 2002 and I had a really good time. I'd go again anytime.

I did notice that the field is very open in some areas and favours long range shootn' irons. I like to crawl and use pistols. I may have to opt for CA and a long barrel! The huts, forts, shacks and towers are nicely built and painted.

If your going to the field you can park behind the house or down closer to the field. Up top watch out for the owners pet birds (pheasants?) . They are free ranging and pretty neat to look at.

Walk-on games usually start around 11 am on Sundays. Look for me in 2003!

Greg
:-)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KossaK Wednesday, April 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
there are several within a 2 hour drive:
Splatterzone
Storm's
Fire Island
SNL
Review: I've been playing at this field since BEFORE it was officially a business. i was one of the original dozen or so that came to the field, and I fully encouraged the Langlois brothers to pursue it as a business venture.

I wrote the field information you see listed above, so most of the pertinent information is there.
The Owners are two of the nicest guys i know, and they'll bend over backwards for you to ensure you are enjoying yourself. I've not heard a single complaint about the quality of the field or the hospitality people receive there in the 3 or 4 years that they've been operating.
There is a barbeque available in the staging area, so there is often a large amount of hotdogs to be had when on our lunchbreak. Hot Dogs are supplied communally, meaning as many people as possible bring dogs and buns, and then we decide who feeds everyone during the game. Uncooked extras go back home with the donator, who will likely bring them again next time. This system has worked without fail for 3 years. Cans of pop will cost you a dollar.

Perhaps the only thing i don't completely like about the field is the way the staging area is protected. the staging area is heavily protected on the side facing the woods field, but can be somewhat vulnerable to stray shots from the speedball field, and you can occasionally hear stray balls clipping the branches 10 or 15 feet above your head. I'm going to raise this issue with the owners before the 2003 season starts, and see if they want a hand fixing it. Maybe the lack of an official parking lot bothers people too, but We just park in the back yard and walk the 100m to the staging area. After the drive, the leg stretch is a welcome thing!

Other than that, the field is quite large, the terrain is great with all the variety, the bunkers and towers are all sturdy and trustworthy, the prices are possibly the best in the province, and the Langlois' are great guys who put a lot of time and effort into providing us with a great place to spend our money.
I just love Mersey Road.


EDIT: There is now a website players can go to. http://www.merseyroad.com
If the Mods could reflect that in the fields listed info, that'd be beautiful.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 12th, 2004 at 10:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media