paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field

Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
35Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Location: Christiansburg, Virginia 24073
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
DEAD SILENCE Sunday, December 20th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
lol it's the only one I have gone to.
Directions
to the Field:
pilot VA, go up pilot rd. and look for the big green sign that says WOLF'S RIDGE PAINTBALL
Review: When you go for the first time you read for 20 min. learning there safty rules. They have 1 feild thats realy big (it only gets used when there are 100 or more people there) its used for "elimination" or "capture the flag" then that field get cut in half to make "the cannon game" and other games like that then lol that half of feild gets cut into a fourth to make "speedball" (speedball is new there so its not the best but geting better). They play all day on sat. or sun. (it changes every week). Its $20 for one day with unlimited air all day and if you want to rent a gun 5 bucks. "You bring you own balls though" :) rules?... oh yeah those (:^( the normal rules i guess. They allow automatics and grenades so prety much every style weapon. you can't shoot someone from less than 25ft. away you must yell safety kill. they do have snacks and drinks. the refs are fair as you can get. they have tables to work on your gun and a tent for rain plus a fire in the winter for you and your Co2 tank. the type of field is woodsball and speedball. all the bunkers are real not blow ups plus they have a 2 story tower, a western saloon, a big trench, and hill mounds etc.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big show Tuesday, January 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyline,Splatbos.Pb authority
Directions
to the Field:
Pilot rd christiansburg va
Review: This is a great field. The refs were great, the players honest, A+++++++. This would be a great place for beginners and exp. Prices were good, 4500 fills, lots of play time. There isnt a speedball field, but the effect was still adrenaline pumping. I highly recomend this place. Well worth the drive. I ve also heard about a "Mad Cow" running around. makes you wonder???????
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

accuracy1 Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
i dont know
Review: Wolfs Ridge is a great field. Any one who writes a review about this field that is bad is competition. I love this field. It has neat bunkers. They are not those air things. The staff is friendly and fair. The prices are very good. Ten dollars field fee. Compressed air is eight dollars flat day rate. Markers are chronoed before each game. The field is very safe. Safety is enforced strictly but it doesnt annoy you at all. I will come back to this field alot .
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

DeductedPie Saturday, April 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Carl was very awesome about everything related to safety, everything is newb-friendly, including the field. Game varients include CTF, Center-Flag, Windmill, Team DeathMatch and FreeForAll.

Downside was that today there was only three refs for about 74 people. Anyway, Carl and MadKow took care of everyone, but sadly didn't play any games today.

Price for all day is 10.00, 350 for 100 balls, 10.00 for a bag of decent balls, and .63 cents for a can drink and candy.

Overall an awesome field, need to make it bigger and better (and get more people for refs.)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BIG HIT Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I play at paintforest in the bird
Review: First thing I love the set up , it is great , I like the way they run games, the ref are real fair they want let you cheat or shot your guns hot ,that mean shoting over 300 thats great. the prices are good to . i like the bring your on paint fee.$18.00 fair.Services is great too.The hours are weird but when I get a chance I will get up there again.I had a lot of fun. Peace and love Va. Tech Baby. Big Hit was there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

hellfingerz Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none lol it sucks
Directions
to the Field:
i dont know lol i always get a ride.....sorry
Review: VERY nice staff, fixed my gun for free (worked on it about 30 minutes), Cheap prices on paint, air, and feild fee. Very nice feild, soft grass, lots of bunkers on the main feild, the second feild could use some more work but they are working on it. The feild is very balanced, even amount of bunkers on both sides of the feild. Sometimes the games are a little slow to get started. this feild is great if you are looking to start playing paintball or for a birthday party. It is a very safe enviorment and rules are strictly enforced you have to chrono before every game which sometimes takes a while but it insures a safe velocity. they have a shop full of things for scenario stuff.

overall a great feild, i hope i can go there this weekend
THIS IS THE BEST FEILD I HAVE EVER PLAYED AT
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zippinveedub Saturday, December 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I was invited to go play and my parents were unsure on how safe paintball was. My dad ended up going and playing with me and my friends and we had a great time. Carl stresses safety while still making it fun. You play many game variants and you can play the field different directions. There are also many different bunkers including a water tower that you can shoot out of, a small western town, and an old rusty truck. Carl has a paintball cannon which he lets you use during some game-types and it is very cool. Highly recommended field I have been there many times since and will always have great memories of this field. It got me interested in this sport and finally led to me purchasing my own marker. Great Field and staff highly recommended.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Saboral Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Accusplat
Jefferson National Forest
High Velocity
Directions
to the Field:
Just go through downtown Christiansburg and continue going straight down Franklin St. it will turn into Pilot Rd and Wolf's Ridge is on the left.
Review: Today was the first time I have played at Wolf's Ridge. After reading other reviews on this site I believe that most of them accurately describe Wolf's Ridge. I had one of the most outstanding days of paintball, I've ever had. Carl the owner is very friendly and fair. The rule at Wolf's Ridge is that getting hurt isn't allowed. Safety is very good, while not being overly zealous. The field is a nice setup, however if you are looking to play tourney style speedball this may not be the place. The field is a nicely setup and built mix of woodsball and speedball. I was very impressed at the obvious amount of effort that went into the placement and creation of the field. The local players are the average crowd and new and experienced, young and old. Alot of players choose to play pump action as well. The price is also good when combined with the ability to use non field paint. The day was rounded out by a great game of 2 v 2 elimination against Carl and Mad Cow (the head ref) out of the two games we (me and my new to paintball friend) played it was a stalemate between us. Carl and Mad Cow ended up staying an extra two hours over their standard closing time to play with us. All in all I give Wolf's Ridge a 10/10. I was very impressed with the professionalism of the operation. If you go there tell em Cowboy sent ya.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

5uperbeast Saturday, December 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nothing quite like it in the area.
Review: Wolf's Ridge is an interesting blend of Speedball and Woodsball. While the main field (the section easily visable from the Staging Area) is more of the Speedball setup, with bunkers close to each other, it's perimeter is woods. The other half of the field, only used in the larger games, is the opposite. There are few bunkers, and they are spread out. Half of this section is woods, while the open field has a handful of sandbag bunkers with a few others thrown in.

Carl (the owner) is a great guy. Like everyone else on here will say, he promotes saftey above all else. The field has a 15-ft "Safety Kill" to avoid people getting hit at point blank. You are required to Chronograph before EVERY game, which is a plus. Though there is a slight lack of Refs, most of the players there are honest enough to call themselves out.

The staging area is about what you'd expect from a field that only charges $10 for entrance, and allows you to use your own paint. It's nothing special, just a few picnic tables, trash cans, and a woodburning stove for those cold days. They also have a little shed, which is where they keep thier rentals (Which are kept in good working order, though not always cosmetic order), paint (They sell lower quality paint, but the price is good), and the snacks/drinks. They also have a small little store, where they sell things you might need for the day.

Overall, this is a great field for all types of players and players of all skill levels. I gave it a 7 out of 10 because there are some places that can be improved, but it's a good field as is.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tekrice Thursday, October 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This is one of my favorite fields thus far. Great setup, professional attitude, and carl is really focused on safety. His motto is "if you're going to get hurt, don't play here".

Though there may be some immature kids that tries to ruin the fun for everyone, people generally still have a great time. Strangers laugh and cheer together for the games when something crazy happens.

Thus this field is a GREAT place to be. A lot of fun! and great atmosphere.

It's an airball field with NUMEROUS bunkers and woods on the side which you can flank the enemy.

Only bad thing i can think of is that, carl is a bit understaffed, so sometimes there will only be 1 or 2 refs for 30 people. Which kinda sucks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media