paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Challenge Park / Challenge Park / Challenge Park / Challenge Park

Challenge Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
21Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 806-792-4551
Address: Corner of Loop 289 & E 50th St Lbk
Lubbock, Texas 79423
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
mrLight Friday, July 1st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
apache acres
Review: The Fields are alright, its fun to go out there on a weekend when you are just sitting around the house, and if you have a ton of cash. this place charges $100 for a case, $50 for 1000 and just keep dividing it. over priced, but fun if the money is no problem. I havent had a problem with the refs except every time i go people play by the rules, and they will help you out if you ask. Over all Bad price, avarage fields, avarage service, nice guns = 6 of 10
great for rich people
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

20gauge Friday, May 20th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Apache Acres
Putt Putt
Review: I do have a little comment about this whole deal. Team Friction has been nothing but nice to me at all times. Even when my gun goes down or something, one of them, J.R. in particular, is first to offer his Ripper 2 Timmy to me to play with. I really don't see what the big deal is with Challenge Park always trying to shut Apache Acres down. I consider this most of all degrading and a shame that local competition has come to this. However, I do hear a lot of talk about the new team that Challenge Park has formed. They indeed talk a lot of crap about Team Friction from the times that I have been at their field and their store. (J.R. in particular) It is quite funny that J.R. doesn't run his mouth off every 5 minutes about challenge park, but indeed encourages many young players to go out there and play their hyperball course. He has supported their buisiness due to his previous relationship to Franz the owner. This field should not be punished due to a couple managers who want to start a lot of Friction between other fields in lubbock. However, I do think that if Brandon is claiming that his players are the dominant force in paintball, that they should meet at a neutral location, or if they have the decency to let J.R. and Dan the Man play a few games at their home field, that there should be a friendly exibition between these two teams. Or, you are always welcome to Apache Acres with no questions asked at any time.

Just my 2 cents...

overall Challenge is a 3 due to their attitudes toward other paintball players. Brandon, quit hiding behind that counter and come play against Friction and show them the true meaning of paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

monkeyballa Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Apache Acres-Best field in Lubbock
Roughneck- ok, little messy
Review: I used to play at this field all the time. I thought they were the only ones out here, and then I heard about other fields and now have something to compare them too. This field is not a good field at all. I like rec ball and this field is good for it..but thatís it. I donít like the refís who just stand there and talk more than take care of the field. The fields are terrible. I have read the other reviews and yes that steep walk sucks. I would rather stay up and play hyper ball. But now letís get to the hyper ball field, rocks and itís just crappy too. It is my opinion that this field is the worst I have played on. The paint is expensive and doesnít shoot worth a crap through my high end marker. I guess this field is good for those beginner people who donít know what good paint is or good markers or good hyper/speed ball courses are. I fear for this field shutting down and rec ballers not having a place to play. But then again, once you get a taste of tournament style paintballÖyou are hooked!! Anyway, this filed needs a lot of work. I will not return to this place and I will continue to play at the other fields. This field is a sad field. This is my opinion, play the others and compare and see for your self!!

PRICES= TO HIGH
FIELDS= VERY POOR
STAFF= RUDE/ INATTENTIVE

TOTAL= NOT WORTH THE TIME OR MONEY!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

tallzxdriver Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ive played westworld and thats about it thought about going to apache but why when everything you need is here
Review: I can think of no other place i would rather play. They have a very professional staff and the feild runs flawlessly for the most part. Lee, Brandon and the guys do a bang up job keeping the field running. Dont base your opinion of this field based on the few negative reveiws of this field. They are currently adding on and it looks like the new field is going to be awsome.

-edit-
ok they have worked on the fields alot over the past few weeks but do to a situation that has come up i can see that they have serious management issues. If they would work to become more customer oriented and be truthful their buisiness could be more than it is now.

im changing my vote to a 4 because i feel that these issues really hurt the quality of service your recieve here.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 11th, 2005 at 11:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

biggpapa Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Listen people I have been playing since zap was the premiere paint and when the pgp came out with the quick release. I have played in Canada, Washington, Oregon, California and Maryland. Every course or field has its ups and downs. Yes at Challenge Park you have to walk up or down a hill (small incline I should say), but here in northern texas you should be happy with anything but FLAT. Allot of trees scrub brush and a creek are included at the field on about 6-8 different courses. I noticed this past weekend allot of equipment and men working on the field. Well low and behold they created a wonderful course that is flat (slight degree for water runoff) and netted for all to watch. Having four children myself I feel very comfortable having any of my children playing there. The staff was courteous and the manager very knowledgeable. All in all out of a 10 rating I would give them a solid 9. If they keep on improving the field the rating will top out. Thanks to all and give these guys a try.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

BladesOfHatred Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Games of Lubbock, Westworld
Review: This is definately the best paintball field around this area. If you live in west Texas or eastern New Mexico you should definately visit this field. It's located just outside of Lubbock in the Yellowhouse Canyon(so no flat farmland, if that's what you're thinking). The rental guns are pirhanas with HPA instead of CO2. If my gun breaks down, I have no problem with using one of the rentals here. They have a speedball field, but the best part is the 100 acres woodsball field. Unfortunately, they don't even use all of their 100 acres. So if you do go there you should complain to the managers that they need to utilize all of their fields(if they get enough complaints they probably will).

And all in all their service is pretty good. Just don't take your mask off on the field... that really pisses them off.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

1MeanZ Tuesday, February 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme Village ( WestWorld) And iam not really an "in door" player guy.
Review: Hey yeah just wanted to say that Challenge park is a great place to play. Like everyone else the staff is very friendly! i dont really know anyone but they went above and beyond the call of duty when they fixed my gun and gave it a new o-ring and spring for free. And i didnt even know them. :) The fields are great too. Lots of fun. Stop on by its worth you time and of course like paintball, its worth your money. (which isnt alot by the way)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

game_warp Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bunkerhill in crockett
Review: It was ok. I was not impressed! poor design! Poor equipment! Not challenging at all!
My friends sayed they'd never go to that place again!
My judgement may be poor, but I mean what I mean! the courses are so last rate!
Never taking a three hour drive to that course again!
I'll just use my back yard, or go to bunkerhill in crockett!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BunkerNinja Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none are as good (fewer fields and so on and so forth)
Review: I haven't played any where else in the area because Challenge Park is the best. I personally know everyone that works there and it is a very friendly environment. My only complaint is that sometimes it takes some of the refs a while to get people to reload so we can play some more (I won't name names because you know who you are), it is not a big deal though because it is usually the players fault. Challenge Park is always changing field formats so your not always playing the same fields. Some people complain about the prices, but they are very good considering the quality of the facilities compared to every where else (they need more money to keep the fields in good condition because there are more fields). Without Challenge Games and Challenge Park paintball would probably not survive in Lubbock. Being a regular I've seen Challenge Park handle groups of 60 down to 2. If you're in the area check out Challenge Park. Challenge Park is also the home field of several successful tournament teams. Challenge Park is a 10 considering the area. Challenge also has some of the best rental guns I've ever seen (run on compressed air tanks).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rocha79416 Friday, May 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
West World
Review: This field is the only field that actually have a great service. The staging area is all dirt, and the building is just a barn looking thing, but it is better that any of the other fields i have been to here in lubbock. This place has the best reffing in lubbock, and the staff is really friendly. I know that if i went to west world first, im sure i would have never went back to the sport. Overall, this is my favorite home field. help support it by playing here.
P.S. Garrett, is that u below me . This is Cesar MAN, Whats Up dude!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media