paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Ithaca Paintball Field / Ithaca Paintball Field / Ithaca Paintball Field / Ithaca Paintball Field

Ithaca Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
22Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 6072733904
Address: 380 Wood Rd.
Freeville, New York 13068
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
automagsrock68 Sunday, January 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
R and M paintball, I found Ithaca paintball friendlier although I really like R and M. Cortland Paintball, Which is great because: byop, $10 for all season membership, Pete, the owner, is cool and can fix anything, And paint is Big Ball for $40 a case of 2000.
Review: Ithaca paintball has great prices and and the staff is helpful and friendly. They gave me a great bargain on my Mag. Also, I got 2 free CO2 fills and 4 free field passes. Ithaca paintball is the best store that Ive been to. The field is great. There is a large woods field, and a great speedball field. The paint is great and fair priced. Also, they have scenario games so you don't have to drive 3 hours to EMR or Skirmish to play.
And they have a tournament league which I wasn't able to join but I heard it was really good.

Last edited on Friday, May 14th, 2004 at 2:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mill146 Friday, December 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Compete Paintball, Rochester, NY
Some field around Owego or Elmira, NY
Some fields around Syracuse, NY
Review: Okay so here my take on Ithaca Paintball.
Some people reviewed the field poorly for issues concerning safety, competition, field size, and repair knowledge.

Safety is excellent 95% of time. Anytime I've gone over the past year and seen a group playing with field markers, the owners themselves, Ron and Jeff have been out on the field reffing and overseeing all the safety concerns. 10% of the time when the field has around 10 people, who are regulars, the safety does seem to slacken a bit. And when I say a bit, I mean that the refs aren't constantly checking the regular players, but the players themselves do a good job helping each other remember safety. So here there is a slight concern. Other reviews report about an unsafe chrono field are pretty accurate. The field supervises the chrono area but the owners haven't committed to a fixed chrono area because he field is constantly undergoing improvements. Still a bit of tape would be good, even though the refs and the owners are watching it.

Competition is nothing to complain about for a field. If you show up on a Saturday and complain all you have to shoot are newbs then you need to get yourself some teammates and go play the tournament circuit. That being said, the field has hosted two leagues since spring of 2003. I played in the fall league and it was pretty competitive.

Wood's ball field size is good enough for teams of 10 if you are looking for room to move and what not. The quality of bunkers the field has is good. No crappy bunkers made of pallets with no real protection. Good natural type bunkers, the field isn't loaded with brush piles you have to shoot around. The field is constantly growing. I don't fault a new field for not having a 20 acre spead. From where I've played at, it's in the top 15th percentile. As of winter 2003, the local ROTC helped the field build new bunkers for the woods field. They used to have photos of the field on their website.

Ithaca Paintball also has a good pro-quality sup air field adequate for 3 man or maybe a tight 5 man. Reviewers have complained the field is too small and cited the presence of too many people on the sup air field. I've seen a lot of people on the sup air field too, but I will not fault a field for letting new players try out the sup field with all 10 of their friends. The refs there and the owners are cool enough to set up whatever game you want to play on the sup field if you go and ask. That is my personal experience. The sup air field is also a high quality JT set-up. Nothing at this field is large in terms of area but the quality is good.

Cost of playing is low. At the time of this review it was $10 for all day air and field fee. Paint, of course, is separate, as are rentals. HPA is now available at 5000psi complete with booster. That means you get the full fill. And at the end of the day with your all day air, you fill your tank up before you leave. They also have CO2. Field rental markers are supplied with 3000 psi HPA. So if you want to play spring, fall or winter you can with the rentals that are Tippman Custom 98's.

Field paint selection is excellent. I have yet to goto a field that has RPS Evil. These guys do. I also had a bad batch of paint from one of the cases I bought at the field and the field replaced it with no questions asked.

The store has a certified airsmith that I have no experience with, but I do know that if you buy a marker from the store and it's not working on the field the owners will do the best they can to take care of you. Like another reviewer I've seen the owners give rentals to use on the field if a marker wasn't working.

So I give this field a 9. Safety should be a bit more prominent even when the players are regulars, and the refing could be a bit better. I feel that the low cost to play, the quality (albeit small)fields, the 5000psi hpa, and the great paint selection make up for the detriments. Best outdoor field within 100 miles of Ithaca.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

PD98 Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cortland Paintball (http://groups.msn.com/CortlandPaintball/home.htm), Pinehill (http://www.pinehillpaintball.com/), Fury (http://www.fury-paintball.com/), Hamburger Hill (Moravia)
Review: I arrived early to make sure I was set up and ready to play. Both owners were there as well as other employees busily getting ready for the day. By the 11:00 start time all players that had arrived were ready and the referees were giving the safety briefing (thorough is an understatement). After the briefing referees led groups out to the field. There were more referees at this field then I have seen at most. There was also an equal mix of adult and younger referees. Games were played on a reasonable time limit (all games were timed) and the interval between games was appropriate.

They have 2 woods fields and a sup-air field. They are in the process of constructing a hyper-ball field (I would guess it is 90% complete) and no one was allowed to play it. They are waiting to install netting to protect players and the parking lot.

Both owners were on hand as well as the store manager. I personally saw the one owner fix two players personal markers while giving the players free Model 98 rentals while he did it. Everyone I talked to was having a good time and I was treated in a professional manner the whole day. Considering they had 90-100 people there the last day I played I would say all the employees did a great job!

The only negative mark I can give the field is in their chrono area. The area is not well defined and if you chrono while a group is walking out to the field you are shooting near them. The referees do watch you and require you to wear goggles while you are chronoing.

After talking to the owners I think that by next summer you will see:
1) netting that encloses the parking lot and entire players area
2) an expanded sup-air field
3) a dedicated hyper-ball field
4) an additional woods field
5) a dedicated chrono area
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockerpower Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish (Overpriced, Under-reffed), Jack Frost (About the right price, little campy), the woods (no refs, byop)
Review: I enjoy what there is of the field, but all the promised embellishments have failed to materialize over the summer, and late into the fall. Hyperball just never happened. Ever. They did get the booster though, so they can fill to 4500 PSI (when the booster is at the field?).

The reffing is of extremely variable quality, from quality pro players reffing... to 14 year old kids that are still afraid of the damned ball. In all seriousness, sometimes the reffing is HORRIBLE, and safety is completely ignored in favor of doing what exactly, picking blades of grass?

My only other complaint with the store is the tendency to overcharge. Some of the prices are ridiculous 425 for a 2k3 cocker? 35 dollars to time said cocker? Jeeze...

It's not all bad though. They do have a pretty friendly atmosphere, and everyone plays. So after you get past the sales pitches (come on baby trade that angel for a pirhaaaaaaaaannnnnna), all is good.

getting the other field up, and making sure the bunkers wont collapse when a ball hits them, will raise my review 2 points.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

entropy325 Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I showed up clueless with a newly purchased gun and ran into an issue with the CO2 leaking. The owner jeff took my gun, set me up, and Pup, one of the guys working there, dint even hesitate to locate the problem and fixed it, no charge. Aside from that, i was given a rental so "i dont miss out on the fun" and was met with xtra friendly and helpful coaching the entire day. Not one of the 40 people in my group had anything to complain about because the people at the field are really into this for the love of the sport.
not just sayying this for the hell of it..but these people are really nice, i mean extra nice.
Youd think the owner would be stuck on making a profit but the guy was soooo coool.
As far as the field goes, i have nothing to complain about. The speed-ball area was great and safety was priority throughout the day.
The castle area in the woods is perfectly designed to keep you and the attackers on their toes. The woods make you feel like a marine and on a rainy day like today i felt like i was in vietnam.
Great atmosphere and an over-all experience which will have myself and my buddies coming back for more, over and over again.

If you're tired of going to those places where you feel ripped off, then give these guys a try...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

learn2swim Thursday, October 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pinehill, emr, red's
Review: Given the fact that the field is relatively "new", one must consider that when rating this field and comparing it to other fields in the area. With that said...

Number 1(always)- SAFETY- I think it would be in IPB's best interest to actually show some commitment towards being a SAFER establishment. example- Chrono area- Do you have this clearly marked off and require players to be wearing goggles in this area? I think not... Lets work on that, no one wants to lose an eye, nor do we want to see someone else lose one. Something such as a DEDICATED chrono area that is netted off to ensure people arent shooting in whichever direction they please, whether it be towards the woods or into the "work in progress" hyperpipe field.
Barrel bags/condoms- How about a little more effort towards making sure that when players come off the field (airball field for example) that they have these on. It would not hurt to reiterate this point to all of the players on a regular basis. It seems that there are a lot of "newbies" that are going to IPB (read some of the above posts) and your commitment to safety and stressing its importance will help only help your facility, and their learning experience.

Field waivers- I couldnt tell you the insurance requirements of any field regarding waivers, but I would think that players would be required to sign on. If that is the case, perhaps more control and enforcement of this policy would be for the benefit of IPB, as I have yet to see/sign a waiver.

The airball field does feel a little cramped, but if its limited to 3 on 3 then its very usable and has been well setup at times. Its not always going to make everyone happy, but there are the good days and bad days on it. With the lack of airball fields in the area, this is definitely a step in the right direction. Some of the netting on the back side could stand to be fixed so that there are no gaps between the bottom of the net and the ground, but other than that it seems to be working out rather well.
The hyperball field looks to be a pleasing one, with plenty of bunkers and a variety of shapes and sizes. One could only hope they have the time/effort to finish this relatively soon.

The reffing could use some help, but once again, its a "new" field and the impression is that IPB is still trying to learn alot in a short amount of time, whether it be for reffing, field management, or customer service.

Overall, this field has its ups and downs, as with any field. It does leave quite a bit to be desired however- safety being a number 1 priority.
It will be really good to be able to watch this field evolve for the players, and hopefully sending it in the right direction.
Last edited on Thursday, October 23rd, 2003 at 8:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SBallJunkie Sunday, September 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Headrush in Syracuse
Review: Ithaca Paintball has done a great job with this place. I'm a newb so I can't speak from my experience, but since I've been going I've been pretty impressed by the place. The woods courses are decent, but the Speedball course is whats definitely worth checking out. They rearrange it every weekend, so it never gets old. Hyperball should be up soon as well, and it looks promising. The owners are really cool, and are more than willing to help you out if you have any problems. The only problems I have with it so far are pretty minor. As big groups show up, teams can get really lopsided. Also, prices are pretty high for gear and paint. It's really worth checking out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

toe2shoulder Monday, August 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish/weekend warriors/lapaintball/head rush/m&m
Review: The speed ball and woods fields are cramped like the one guy said .been there 4 or 5 times in the last year and was disappointed with the lack of real competition .thats not the fields fault though.I wish i could rate the store and the field separate because the store is great ,prices are fair(they are there to make money though)and if they think you don't know something they will try to take full advantage of it.but not as bad as some places i have been .one thing that i commend them on is safety at the field they take that seriously.another thing they seem to have learned allot and traveled to other fields since they first opened so maybe the pepper guy hasn't been there in a while .overall though the field isn't that impressive in and of it self but compared to other fields around they stand out.for newbies its a great field for seasoned players who have traveled around.it will do if there aren't any tourneys or scenarios close by that weekend. sorry but they get a mediocre score for now but they are growing and making changes all the time it seems and after all those newbs see a Lil more action Ithaca paintball Will be the place to be. so for newbs i would give them a 9 rating...........................(oh the folks they call gun techs are jokers unless you have a spider or some type of cheap knock off don't let um even look at your gun)
Last edited on Monday, August 11th, 2003 at 10:24 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer0504 Monday, July 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish in PA, Headrush in Syracuse, AAA Paintball in Syracuse, EMR in PA
Review: I am not sure what Fattypepper is talking about this field rocks. I have travelled around to play many different fields and it has been a pain travelling so far to play paintball. Since I started playing at the Ithaca Paintball fields I have seen them grow the fields and the facilities. From my own experience the owners work with their customers to help them however they can, they even have a air tech. on site that can fix markers for people at the field if he has parts there and usually at no cost, how many other fields do that? I've talked with the owners and asked them about certain things for field improvement and they have worked hard to listen and change things to benefit the players. The fields aren't as large as some of the older fields but they've only been around for a year or less. I played there last winter out of tents not there is a building with an enclosure for the players plus a series of tents with tables for the players to stage, nice set-up.

Ok about the field. The Speedball field is awesome and I hear they are going to widen it and make it really large, plus add the Hyperball field this summer. There has even been talk about a village or something like that. The ref's are everywhere as they usually have more ref's in the field than they always need but it is nice as a player to know they are there so no wiping is going on and for safety. All of them are players or at least all the ones I talked too which means they know the rules and how the game is played. They even put up a viewing tower on the Sup'Air field for filming, officiating and some spectating, nice! I've played the old style of woodsball and got tired of playing for 4 hours with friends or other groups and only painted 3 people in that time because the fields were so big we never got into firefights, I like the layout of the woods at IPB as you get into the action quickly and get to play the game, not just hide the whole time, that's too boring.

They only carry quality paints, none of that Severe or Zap junk that other fields charge top dollar for. They offer RP Scherer paints that are fresh and at a great price, way cheaper than large fields like Skirmish and EMR that use lower quality paints. They offer HPA and co2 fills for like $5.00 for the whole day (this is included with the rental packages though). The days are usually longer than stated as they will let people stay there for 1-2 hours longer if they are still playing and having fun, what other fields do that? The did Senior week at Cornell which I played in and loved it. The facility was set up nice to accomidate the extra players and buses and the new fortress they built in the woods for the castle keep games is awesome, lots of fun to play on. They said they will be making that even larger this summer, I can't wait.

All in all I haven't had a bad experience with them and I've played on a lot of fields to know their competition and been back to the IP{B fields several times in the last few months. Attitudes are alot in this sport and the owners and staff seem to have positive attitudes about the sport and their business which makes playing there more enjoyable. They listen to what the players want and try to accomodate. They also have food there which is nice as a lot of fieilds don't so that is a plus too. Keep going guys and don't listen to any negative people as your doing a great job, rock on.

p.s. - Cannot wait until the Hyperball field is done!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fattypepper Thursday, July 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
LApaintball(this place sucked)JTspaintballzone(wayback in the day)that field rocked.skirmish(rocks).Headrush(Blows goats)
Review: The speed ball field is small and they try to cram too many people on at once.The refs are basically just there they really don't do anything.The wooded field again is small all the bunkers are the crouching type there is really no room to maneuver.The whole place just has a cramped feeling to it.Even though they have plenty of space.
The main thing that bothers me about this place is that noone working there really seems to have played or been around the sport that long.though they all have the attitude of pro players(the old "I have a Timmy so i'm a good player" scenario). plus all who work there including the two owners seem to have very limited knowledge of the sport and products,and by limited I mean they only know what is in that months issue of apg magazine.
With that being said it is the only place in a 45 min radius of Ithaca so they will get business no matter what but i think most of us old timers wont bother with them to much.There is no competition there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media