paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Winkeydoodles Paintball Adventure Paintball Field / Winkeydoodles Paintball Adventure Paintball Field / Winkeydoodles Paintball Adventure Paintball Field / Winkeydoodles Paintball Adventure Paintball Field

Winkeydoodles Paintball Adventure Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
26Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 401 Anthony Rd.
Canutillo, Texas 79835
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
andrewpaintball Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtopia...I dont know why people are still comparing these 2 fields, they are very different...
Review: I have posted a review before...and if anyone remembers it, my views have changed. (I will just be talking about the main fields for WinkeyDoodles since it is the one used the most). First off, Winkeydoodles and Xtopia are two very different fields with two very different type of players in mind. Here are some of the pros and cons of both and what the fields are best for and the type of player that should play them. Winkeydoodles does have an excellent customer help with plenty of parts for lower end markers(they do carry some higher end products, but most you have to order from a catalog). The front field is big enough for very large games and the field does give you some degree of strategy. There front field is now mirrored so you play the same game on both side of the field. This field is primarily dominated by the snake. The snake can be held of by the back drum type things. The field is primarily used by rec-ballers who are not very good. PRIMARILY...A good player that can get all the way through the snake can whipe out the other team. I and a few of my friends have, at times, dominated the field, others, we have been stopped dead. A lot of the turn out of the game is based upon teamwork and whether or not half or your team stays at home...
Xtopia is a good field for people that like to play fast paced, intense paintball. The fields are well set up and the fields are what is used in the major tournaments. The staff for both fields are friendly and knowledgeable. Xtopia is the only place you can get a full fill for HPA(although I have heard the Winkeys will be getting a compressor/has a compressor). I believe that Winkeys has a compressor yet they did not have it set up last Saturday. Basically, the only way to play a full game is to come on Sundays. One of the bad things about going on a Sunday is that since the players at X put out so much paint, the day doesn't last long. I'm not too sure about the amount of maintance supplies, as I have never had a problem with my Angel while at the field. A lot of the players at X know a lot about high end markers, so you shouldn't run into many problems finding someone that can help you. Xtopia also allows bunkering, which can be a good or bad thing, depending on if you like to bunker. If you do not want to be bunkered, just tell them that you will surrender and they will not bunker you. It's that easy...The refing at Winkeys is better only because the automosphere is different. Xtopia does have atleast one ref at all times...but the fields are much smaller than those at Winkeys. I enjoy both fields and I think that everybody should try both then make there decision. The fields are worlds apart. Basically, Winkeys is for rec-ballers while Xtopia is for tournament players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

apfroggy0408 Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
only this one cuz its da best
Review: first of all i dont know why peeps r dissin WD its the best field ive seen and heard about.
the judges,owners,and everyone else that work and play there r very friendly.i hardly here complaint,cussing,or puttin down someone.on the field everyone is fair.ive never seen anyone wipe.when someones hit they walk off.me personaly have never been bunkered or anyone that i know have told me they were bunkered.the refs r good always listening for paint checks and watching for cheatsers(even tho there rnt any),always being safe about barrel plugs and googles. outside the field the servise is great.the staging area rocks.no one steals.theyre 4 fields r great.with good placing of bunkers.

second of all why r all the older peeps dissin the yung uns like me.they say were not good and stuff like that well im 13 and im pretty good(or thats what everyone tells

when iim at WD im always wearin my squeegee to where it looks like a rabbit.
and if u see me tell me what u think about my review. im going this weekend to on saturday.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

amagallanes Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This field has great prices. You can use your own paint if you use your own marker. The Refs are friendly and flexible. Rentals are reasonable. The choice of 3 different fields is great. You won't get tired with the same old obstacles all day long. I have had problem with my marker and the techs are aways ready to help you get back in the game. The pro shop is small but they have a good selection. The facility is a little run down, but don't let this get you down. You will quickly find that there is a really family fun environment here. That makes a real difference. Feel free to bring out charcoal and steaks. they provide the grills and tables to eat at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper301 Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtopia, Biggs, Ricky's
Review: I have now changed my view on these fields. I agree with many people that have written the same thing. Winkey Doodles is mostly for Rec play and also if you are new to the sport I would definitely go here (trust me), and Xtopia is much faster more geared towards tourny players. I have not been back to El Paso for a while now but I now play on airball fields(especially X) and they are MUCH faster then fields at Winkeys. Winkeys is a great field and they are very friendly. And if you are new to the sport go to Winkeys, but I do know experienced players that go to Winkeys as well. If your into intense paintball, go to Xtopia.
Last edited on Monday, October 11th, 2004 at 4:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TehKozak Saturday, November 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtopia, Winkeys
Review: Ok, First off, This is a great field, It needs to be cleaned up a bit there are still a few hazards that can go wrong, I'm not bashing on winkeys in any way but there are rusty nails on the field and sticking out of some things, this is kind of the same at xtopia's backfield, but I like this place it's pretty cool and friendly, I just want to play paintball :} WiNkEyS is a great place for kids to play, great place for begginers to go learn with beginers, dont play with the more aggressive players :D
Last edited on Tuesday, June 8th, 2004 at 12:13 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PntBllrElite Wednesday, October 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtopia. Good fields. Grass instead of dirt. No staging area like Winkeydooldes has. Customer service not as good as Winkeydooldes. People at Xtopia feel that they are better than the other fields. Talk about arrogance.
Review: Winkeydoodles is the obvious choice of fields to play at. The player that posted about Winkeydoodles being like a desert hasn't been to Iraq to support our troops there. I can only hope that he supports our troops in Iraq and Afghanistan. Yes, Winkeydoodles is all dirt, but the fields there are great. Winkeydoodles also supports our troops with their Operation Home Front...a great deal for our troops and their dependents.

They have 3 fields plus "The Barn". If you want the ultimate rush, play "The Barn". I have played "The Barn" on numerous occasions and the amount of paint I use there versus any other field is about 1 tenth of what I use on any other field. "The Barn" is awesome.

Winkeydoodles has a 20 ft net around most of the entire field and none of it is in a state of disrepair as was mentioned by someone else.

Where else can you bring your own food and have grills supplied to do your own cookouts...of course, you have to bring your own charcoal. Winkeydoodles' staging area is the best I have seen.

Games are frequent at Winkeydoodles which is better than Xtopia.

Customer service is better at Winkeydoodles than Xtopia.

At Winkeydoodles, you feel that you can have a good time and winning at all costs is not a part of what paintball is all about.

Winkeydoodles supports all facets of paintball. They not only support tournaments, but also support scenario games. They are a registration site of BlackCat Scenario games
Last edited on Wednesday, October 22nd, 2003 at 3:26 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spaz-13- Friday, September 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtopia, Biggs, Rickies. Small, Tiny, Expencive
Review: Ok I dont know why all these people are bashing on Winkeys. I think they are just rich boys that think they are too good for everything. Ive been going to Winkeys for 3 years now and every time I go, I have a great time. Everyone there is friendly and its just a really fun time of playing. They have like 4 fields now, and they will usually play 3 of the fields at once... Making it so the rotation is very quick. Since the beginning when they first opened they have cleaned it up alot, and put better bunkers in, but even when it was kinda run down, it was STILL a kickass time. I guess I say this because I play woodsball and you love the cover you can find. Here hardly anyone will get pissed off or wipe when they get hit... almost everyone is friendly and ive yet to see anykind of negative confrontation
Like I said before, they have 4 fields. The Mainfield (biggest one) is great, it allows for up to almost 15 players HAVING FUN playing... Then they have thier tournament field, which happens to be my favorite (its a little smaller but very big none the less)
Then they have thier Castle course, which is a very quick style speedball feild which is really fun. and lastly they have the barn, which is a close quarters field thats VERY small and inside a long barn which I dont really care for. They have shaded area to rest, refill , and talk. Winkeys is easily the best field in el paso...
Last edited on Friday, September 12th, 2003 at 9:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SourKid0387 Monday, September 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtopia(really the best), Rickie's, Biggs
Review: Well first off the refing os ok, but to me it seems that the refs are so over worked. Their too busy or to tired to ref. Sure there have been times where you have game after game,but for the most part your sitting waiting for games to come. Then they will ref private games for anyone and they make 60% of the costomers wait for three, 10 year olds to battle it out.(you all know how long that takes zzzzzz..........) Then you have to worry about heat storke when you go to the rest room in the sun baked death portapotties. Then you have to wait in sometimes long lines to not even get 2500psi in your tank. Then you get the evil glare from management because you have talent and can shoot 17bps. After all this you go home finding that you have tetness from all the rusted nails and poking wires on the feild. I mean if there where ever going to be health inspections there, the inspector would close it before entering the parking lot. And on top of it everyone and their mother smokes out there. I mean thats the first thing i want to do is come off the field after a big run and walk into tobacco cloud. Just for your own benefit go to Xtopia so much nicer grass and compact dirt to slide on and you pay less for a consitent amout of air. and its BYOP so you can get your paint offline if you want but why they have great prices and fresh paint. WD is the place to be if you are wishing to harm yourself.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

theBG Tuesday, September 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtopia Paintball-Great variety of fields. 1 Airball Field, 1 Hyperball Field, and 1 Recreational Field that was nicely designed for those new to the sport of paintball. The Hyperball Field and Airball Field are all grass. The field is BYOP or buy paint at the field where there is a wide variety to choose from, from regular field paint all the way up to tournament grade paint. They supply both CO2 as well as 3000 and 4500 fills. They are the only field in the city where I can get a complete 4500 fill. The staff at Xtiopia is very friendly and courteous. I would definitely suggest that anyone who hasn't played at Xtopia to stop by sometime and check it out. They even have group parties. I also believe they have some of the top teams and players playing there on the weekends. That is very impressive in my book. The staff at this field is also experienced tournament players. I have had many questions answered right away by many of the staff and players here. Also marker questions or help is available.

Biggs Field Paintball- This is home to the largest paintball field in El Paso. I would have to say this is the only field in El Paso that is about the size of a 10 man field. The field is mainly for military and their family and friends. However guests are welcomed. Here they only fill CO2. That is the only area I see they need to improve. They have a young staff which is doing a good job running that field. Here it is also BYOP or buy paint there at the field.

Ricky's Paintball- Here they have a wildly shaped recball field and a small 3 man field. I have been there on only two ocassions. It is one of the more expensive fields in the area. I don't play here often due to the high prices. They do fill both AIR as well as CO2 here. It is also BYOP or buy paint at the field, except here, you must pay extra to bring your own paint.
Review: Winkey Doodles- The last time I played here they had 3 fields and one abandoned barn used as a maze style course. The largest of the fields is mainly made up of road signs and barrels. The field is not mirrored well at all. In my honest opinion, it is made using too many different bunkers. The second field is made using black trash can or barrel style bunkers. This field is mirrored unlike the big field. The only problem I saw here was the field was not designed well at all. There are no real shooting lanes. The field is also very narrow. The third field is made of mainly spools, road signs, and bails of hay. This field is also fairly mirrored. The field is at an incline, which leaves one side higher than the other. It is also very deep sand on this field. It feels as though you are playing beach volleyball. I would never play the barn course due to it being very dark and very close quarters. Someone might get hurt due to the low visibility and closeness of the players. The reffing staff is very young. I have witnessed them pulling players out of a game for calling a paintcheck on a player. There was also alot of favortism going on. If you were a tournament style player with an electronic marker you were not welcome there. The times that I have played there, that is the vibe that was perceived. I have seen too many altercations at this field during tournaments between referees and team captains. I definitely believe they need to have a better reffing staff for tournaments held here. A older reffing staff might also help out the problem. This field is also in a isolated part of the city. Very hard to locate if unfamiliar to the area. Unless you also want to play in sandbox, I would not recommend this field.

I would have to give this field a 3, due to the fact that is a little bit better than the worst field that I have ever played but not as average as an average type field I have played.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

daprato Monday, September 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I currently play at Xtopia.
Review: Hi everybody, I have played countless times at Winkey Doodles. Sure the people are great and the service is good but you can get that same service or even better a Xtopia. The problem I had at winkey doodles was I that I got no respect from the other players and that the fields were poorly set up. As a young aggressive player, people were always giving my buddies and I bad looks or saying stuff that isn't true. Yes it is true that at Xtopia there are serious players (and yes we do like to have fun, we're not heartless competetors) but the only aggressive play is done between tourney players ....At Xtopia they offer 4500 psi fills, have awesome reffing, and hold night games (ever since they opend last summer). So I suggest for a good FUN time that the lower priced Xtopia is the way to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media