paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Colchester Paintball Field / Colchester Paintball Field / Colchester Paintball Field / Colchester Paintball Field

Colchester Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
19Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 802-878-2905
Address: 1751 East Road
Colchester, Vermont 05446
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
jay25jay2006 Tuesday, September 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 8th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Advanced Paintball in N. Troy, VT., Arnold Paintball in Montreal, Canada, Tiger Stripes in Keeseville, NY., Charleston Paintball in Charleston, SC., Paintball Jungle in California,
Review: Except for a few more spools, Colchester paintball field hasn't changed in 3 years, but the prices have! Way to expensive for a "backyard" field experience. They have one half decent speedball course that has a snake. But that's the only course worth playing. The pallets course sucks, anyone could build that course in their back yard by grabbing old pallets from a scrap yard. I've been playing at colchester for 3 years, and have only gotten to play the pine course half a dozen times. The refs dont like to go in the woods, so most of the games are played on the pallets course, spools, or the one decent speedball course with the snake.

If you want to play real paintball at an affordable price (cheaper then colchester) and have a great time on awesome fields, then check out Advanced Paintball in North Troy. Only $40 for a case of 2,000 and there is no entry fee. See the website for yourself, google: advanced paintball field in vt. They have a very big castle, and another field with a lot of walk-abouts on it. They also have a really big two-tower bridge. Very fun courses, very cheap = A LOT OF FUN!

Also, another field nearby that has the absolute best field for around the same price as colchester is tiger stripes paintball in Keeseville, NY. THEY HAVE THE BEST FIELDS! There is a western village, airball field, a WWII scanerio field, a vietnam scenario field with real huts and ferns grown everywhere, making it feel like a real jungle. They have a castle, bridges, and many other really nice fields. There is a bbq grill in the prep area with nice seating in the shade, (unlike colchester's tent that feels like a sauna).

As of Sept. 2010, Colchester ended its "bring your own paint" day, which was the first sunday of the month. So now prices are always $70 for a case of 2,000 and the entry fee is still $15 dollars on top of rental gear...

I give colcheter a 3 out of 10. In truth. I'll put it this way, COLCHESTER'S BEST FIELD, ISN'T AS GOOD AS TIGER STRIPES WORST FIELD!

Also be aware that a lot of negative reviews have been deleted from this post....half of the other come from people employed or financially involved with colchester...just a thought.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 14th, 2010 at 1:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSnipe Sunday, May 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played in other fields, but none in the area.
Review: The fields were excellent. They all have different rules and tactics. Here is what I think of them

Crates- Absolute warfare, good cover, and great for strategy. One of my favorites.

Christmas trees- Silently intense, as you strain your scenes for sounds and movement. All the trees keep everyone low on the ground, and crawling around as quietly as possible.

Spools- Mad fun, as the game kicks off into a high intensity match, paint was everywhere. I found myself army crawling through the tall grass to avoid getting hit! Great fun!

All in all, the staff is great. Game play is fun, and I will Definitely come back!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigal16 Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that I have played at.
Review: Refs/Staff- Really helpful and nice. I had a friend whos gun wasn't working and the guy took the time to comepletly take it appart and oil it and help fix it and put it back together.
The ref that ref'd us all day was friendly and gave me some pointers on playing.

Prices- 25$ for entry on bring your own paint day, which isn't to bad considering you get free air and one or two free co2 fills. Otherwise its 10$ to get in and 70$ for a case, which is just a little expensive. You could buy soda for 1$ or gaterade for 2$.

Fields- When I went we play 6v5 most of the day and played on the speedball, spools pallets, speed trees, and woods capture the flag. No complaints at all except the fields were muddy, but thats no a big issue.

They also had a port a potty which is better than nothing for bathrooms.

I had a great time at this field and give it a 9/10 overall.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheGrtEqualizer Friday, October 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hidden Sights (now out of business)
The fields here are much better due to natural terrain (glacier carved features including a tiny rock valley) and better bunker design. Its set up for woods/scenario rather than speedball, which in my opinion makes it a lot more fun.

The staff were friendly and helpful. If you had a problem with a marker they would wait until the end of a game and then help you fix it or get another player to give you a hand. Great with new players, often telling them how to improve their performance for the next game.

Williston Indoor Paintball (leveled to build a bank)
Not a great field. The plywood bunkers were set on industrial carpet, which became a virtual skating rink after a few weeks of paint. If you played enough there you could slide across a 3rd of the field. Bunkers would often move when you hit them.

Again great staff, helpful and friendly. Would assist with repairs. I was even there a couple times at closing where the staff didn't feel like going home. They closed to the public and let the players who were already there play in the dark with strobe lights and a fog machine borrowed from the night club next door. Note: paintball is hard when your playing under foggy strobe lights.

Rutland Indoor Paintball (No idea if they're still in business)
Small indoor field set up in a dilapidated factory building. The floorboards were all buckled from water damage. Not a great playing environment and not a lot of cover.

Staff was friendly and helpful.
Review: Safety- No problem. They made sure you had your mask on.

Fields- If you are into speed ball this field is at least a little more interesting than a Sup Air field. I'm not a speed ball fan so I really didn't enjoy the open field and limited bunker cover. Its mostly pallets and I feel they could get some local players to come in and renovate the field with little effort.

Hours of operation- No issue here either. Pretty standard hours for a field.

Prices- High. Quit a bit higher than the other VT fields I've played on. To be fair, I don't remember the exact prices but I remember buying paint and thinking that I got it for a lot less the previous weekend at Hidden Sights (of course maybe that's why Hidden Sights went out of business). What really shocked me was how they treated some poor little kid who had issues with his marker, telling him he could leave it there to be repaired later for a fee (I'll comment more under Services/Proshop).

Rules- They posted standard rules, but the ref wasn't that concerned with the players (some of whom seemed to be his friends) actually following those rules (see ref comment)

Services/Proshop- So the kid I mentioned before went up to the guy running the place and said he had trouble with his marker. The guy told him he could leave it there at the pro shop and the tech guys would have a chance to look at it in the next few weeks and he wasn't sure what it would cost to fix. He also offered to rent the kid one of the field markers so he could keep playing. I took the kid aside, field stripped his Spyder and removed the paintball shell that was jamming his bolt. It wasn't a pro shop issue. I've never been to a field where the refs and/or managers won't give you some help or advice when your gun breaks. I frequently saw refs at Williston Indoor and Hidden Sights help a kid (or new player) field strip a gun between games. I still can't believe how this kid was treated.

Staff/Refs- In this case the guy taking cash and handing out guns and paint was the ref. I believe it was the owners son, but I'm not sure. You can read the Service/Proshop comment above to see how Newbies were treated. When the actual games started the ref stood next to the safety area at one side of the field (rather than off to the side on the center line of the field). He ignored calls for paint checks, most of which were against people he seemed to be friendly with. He had no problem with the same people who ignored hits shooting the new players repeatedly once they stood up with their barrel plugs in. It was clear that one of the players markers and two of the field markers were shooting well over 300fps and the ref kept telling us they were fine and didn't need to be chronoed. The ref got pissed at me for repeatedly pointing out the problems with the guns and some of the players.

Players- Most were new players. The experienced players who seemed to be friends with the ref were jerks, shooting dead players and ignoring hits. The ref didn't seem interested in making them follow the rules. I've seen players like that get kicked out of other fields.

Facilities- Not great, but I don't think that matters on a field. I go to play not to order chili dogs and lounge around. I can't remember whether or not they had a porta-potty.Hidden Sights didn't and that was a big negative when nature called.

Equipment- They had 98s and Pro-Carbine's set up with HPA. Other than the 2 Pro-Carbines that were shooting too hard the guns seemed to work well. Tippmanns are a good choice, but I would not want to be the guy who had to strip and clean 20 clam shell 98's at the end of a game.

Bottom line, even though Colchester is pretty close to where I live, I think I'll drive the extra hour to check out Champlain Valley Paintball the next time I want to play. I'd love to hear that the field has improved (or changed hands) and maybe then I'd give it another shot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Counga Sunday, August 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I have played paintball for over 7 years now at multiple different establishments all over the east coast and I have to say that today was my worst paintball experiance.

I went there for the first time today and was very rudely talked to when I approached the "counter" I asked some simple questions and was treated like a nuisance rather than a paying customer. I ended up not playing because no one else showed up, I guess locals are catching on that there are better places to play in VT.

While their prices aren't the highest I have paid I would gladly pay more for some prefessionalism.

I rate this place a 1 out of 10, while they were rude and I would never go there again it seems to have potential just needs to be run differently.

One more thing, most of their fields are set up as speed ball fields. Being in VT there are plenty of woods, they should be used.
Last edited on Sunday, August 9th, 2009 at 1:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p4intb4llg1rl Friday, January 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at the Georgia Family Center, Colchester Paintball, and another field in Boston.
I was extremely impressed with the Colchester Paintball field at first....
Review: I had been told about the Colchester paintball field about 4 years ago by a good buddy of mine, and went and checked it out. I was new to paintball so I felt like a dummy for asking so many questions about the guns and rules, but the staff was great. It was back when Mark, Scott, and that hot girl used to work there. I had been going there almost ever weekend after I went the first time, and the staff was great to me.
The fields were all different which made it great to change it up every few games. They had constructed new fields which were hardly played on because of the number of players.
They were always very good to make sure that everyone's mask were on during and in between games. If barrel covers were off, They made sure you realized it.
I was very disappointed with the new staff that was hired in the beginning of 2008. I knew one of the kids from playing against him in tourneys, and he was always a dick.
I think that by having the new staff at Colchester Paintball, It broke what they were known for. The field is not nearly as fun to go to anymore.

The younger guy who is part owner, who i maybe saw once or twice definitely ruined his business by hiring the new staff. Not to mention who do not know nearly as much about the products.

By hiring back the old staff, it will make a huge difference on your business.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniperIII Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: June 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
woods in our area
Review: First of all. Some of the reviews on colchester paintball were written a long time ago and colchester has made some big changes to their facilities from then to now.

They have many more fields and are planning on making many more. They now have a Sup' air field, 2 new woods ball fields and they are leveling out more land to make more fields. When i talked to the owner of CP, he didnt really have an idea of what they wanted the new fields to be. When your there you should ask them about the new fields and make a suggestion about a filed you would like.

There paint is excelent, and its not the cheaper, inferior quality paint that most other fields carry for a lower price. They carry Pro-Caps, they make X-ball and Origin, and its very good, high quality paint like I said before. Its worth the price. There paint prices are very good. Its the cheapest price in VT for the quality your geting. The pricing is as follows:

Own Gear:

Entry: $15

Co2:9oz & Under $2
9-15oz $3
16oz & up $4

Extra Paintballs:
100 Paintballs $5
500 Paintballs $20
1000 Paintballs $40
2000 Paintballs $75

AS for the rentals they are great. They have Tippmann Pro-carbons and Tippmann 98 customs. They now have 2 or 3 supped up smart parts ions as well as a WGP autococker with e-grip, Angel speed and other great guns you can rent.

All of the guns they have run off of HPA (compressed air) instead of CO2 but they do carry CO2 for those who still want it. A change that they made is that HPA used to be 1$ per 1000psi but they have changed that so its free. You still have topay for CO2 but HPA is much better than CO2 anyway right!

They have extra masks, HPA tanks, barrel plugs, pods, harnesses, etc for $5 extra. Hey for $5 you can get an HPA tank and fill it for free insaread of having a CO2 tank and have to pay $2-4 to get it filled each time. You get a 20oz CO2 tank filled twice it would cost $8. Just rent a tank.

They also do season passes. It cost $140 Adults and $100 Any students. The season pass includedes entry fees and Co2 as well as $10 cases of paint. When i get the money im thinin i might get one of these passes.

The Staff is excelent, very nice and helpful, The refs are very good at what they do. They are very fair. But they do are very nasty about safety. If you take your mask of ina game they will yell at you but if you do take your mask of in th emiddle of a game then your an idiot.

They have candy, gatorade, propell, water and stuff liek that for a few bucks. They dont have any restrooms but they have woods but im trying to get him to either make or rent a porto potty or something like that. HAving to take a leak in the middle of a game really stinks.

They are open Monday-Friday for appointment only.

We are open M-F by appointment only. Saturdays reservations are from 9am-noon, noon-3pm, 3pm to 6pm. Open Play (walk-ons) is from 12 noon-5pm Saturdays

In conclusion Colchester paintball is slowly improving and they are doing a very good job. All the other fields in the are are starting to close down believe it or not because of Colchester. They're trying the best they can to improve their fields and make it an enjoyable place for everyone. I would give this place a 10 out of 10. But they should really think about putting in a bathroom.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sniper3 Friday, August 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I dont know why poeple hate this field. This field is great. The staff is great and nice, there rentals are OK (hey there tippmanns) and paint prices are decent. Sure the field is a little run down. Thats because its old. Im really good friends with the owner and he told me there coming up with a couple of new fields in the nex couple of months. Tournaments arent occuring that much because the bigger fields are hosting them. Not colchester. I've seen 10 year olds all the way to a 50-60year old guys and gals. Every one comes here. Iv met some really cool friends since i started coming here and al my friends com ehere to. Over all this is really the only place i would go. ut for the tourneys and scenarios i would go somewhere else. I would give this field a 10 out of 10 stars
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

paint_man90 Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This paintballl range is awesome. maybe the 75$ is a little bit but who cares that paint could last you at least 2 times at the field if your not a waster. this field is good and if your gun breaks then just look for a employee named adam. (owners son). he could probably fix just about anything on your gun if you really want him to. youd just either have to settle with a rental for a litlle or sit out a couple games. they have a huge selection of feilds: attack the hill, powerlines, christmas trees, attack the fort, spools, speed ball, pallets, etc. there are alot of fields and if you need to go to the bathroom, there is plenty of woods. they do sell candy bars and drinks like gatorade and propel and stuff like that. i find no fault with this field. the employees are very nice also. and they do have cronos. if you have to buy the 90$ paint then why did you get the gun you have that o0nly takes the 90 $ paint. use the thing in your head called a brain and stop complaining because its your fault you got the gun that has to have the 90 $ paint. and if your gun doesnt need the 90 $ paint then y are you buying it. i give this field a 10 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

billum Wednesday, May 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mass- Fox 4 paintball, Boston paintball, Paintball heaven, Randolf Paintball
Review: Paint prices are high and field paint is a requirement. They sell a few different kinds of low grade paint like big ball and severe storm for $75 a case and Marbalizer, evil and cyclone for $90 a case. Tank fills are reasonable at $1 per 1000 psi. This field does not have a pro shop or Technichians on site so if ou have your own gun and there is a problem with it im afriad it is rent or no dice. Rentals are tippman pro carbines and i think are reasonably priced. They have a nice variety of fields from spools, barrels, speedball (w/o air bunkers) christmas trees and attack the hill. Really offers something for every kind of player except the hardcore scenarion player, it would be awesome if they could somehow rig it to play scenarios, Anyways the field is family run by good people and the biggest setback is the absense of a pro shop other than that and paint prices the field is great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media