paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field

Orbital Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (813) 789-8159
Address: 12771 US Highway 301 N
Tampa, Florida 33592
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
VoodooX Tuesday, January 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator, FL Gladiators, Waynes World, Low Country (GA), Regulators Outpost (GA)
Review: The Staff, from the owner to the ref crew will make sure that you have a good time and will address ~immediately~ any problems or concerns you have. Orbital Paintball is about having a fun day with friends or to practice tourney ball.
The field consists of 3 speedball fields (hyper/village/air), two woods fields with forts and bunkers, a centrally located 2 story castle that was just rebuilt about 2 months ago and is a blast for attack and defend, there is also a 2 story sniper tower near the castle and several raised firing positions in the area around the castle.
The staff makes sure that everyone knows the number rule out there is safety and there is a mandatory 10ft. surrender rule to keep young guns and retreads from getting shot up at close range.
Many organized scenario teams, tourney teams and just groups of friends show up either Saturday or Sunday. Private games are welcomed.

Saturdays see the larger crowds, recently 250+ were out there.
The fees are standard: $10 all day air, $10 field fee....there is a coupon on the site for a discount. Paint ranges in price from $40-60 a case.
Airfills should be getting back to normal as the owner has a new compressor on the way!
Parking is ample, BYOP! or buy thiers (decent price and good paint), one portapotty, no running water, you can order a pizza at sign in for lunch, usually from Hungry Howies.

I began paintballing here (other than backyard stuff) and really like the field and the management of games.

If there was running water and a plumbed bathroom, this place would get a 10 of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jbevo55 Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle games (terrible) friends say gladiator is da bomb
Review: Pros:

-safe, good at going over safety and rules and all that stuff
-lots of fields to chose from, hyperball, 2 woods, airball, spools, castle tower field (read more)
-cheap good prices on paint
-mainly for rec players not as many pros as other places
-you can order pizza
-2 story castle is awesome so is the tower 2 story also you can snipe awesome
- attack and defend is really fun

Cons:

-porta jon
-expensive drinks
-need more refs
-theres one ref i dont particularly like he didnt do a paint check when i asked and i was very clear
-needs more grass
-dont always have airball field up
-long line in beginning
-hour wait before first game

OVERALL: great field great prices the good definately overpowers the good me and my friends love going there. pizza is nice too i give it a 8 out of 10. i really like this field way better than jungle games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crimzon Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, :P
Review: -=) Goodz (=-

1. Nice open field(s)
2. Players are all cool, laid back and just looking to have a good time.
3. Big Ball for $40/case Premium $60/case
4. Great safety review each morning.
5. BYOP, $10 field, $10 air.

-=) Badz (=-

1. ONLY WATER ON SITE IS $1 A BOTTLE!!!
2. Lines are pretty long for sign in/CO2/Air (and usually you don't get a full fill...)
3. One Port-o-john and it smells... :)
4. Late Start for first game, prepare to wait an hour or so.
5. NOT ENOUGH REFS!
6. Woods can be a bit too "woodsy" Wear good boots and prepare to trip afew times.
7. Rental Gear is in pretty bad shape, bearly useable

Considering it's the only field I've played at in two years of on and off playing, I suppose it's hard to judge. But I told you what I like and don't, so come try it out! :)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoulFire Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Experience (home field), CFP, ER Orlando, OP
Review: Pretty nice place to play. My team and i arrived late in the day around 1 ish to play some ball and get some practice in. Fields were set up pretty nice! I believe they have a total of 4 fields, but I may be wrong because all we played on was the HyperBall field and Airball Field. The fields arent separated by netting, which kinda sucks, but its all good! I really didnt get too many stray balls from other courses, so i was pretty pleased. Games were arranged perfectly, they were quick to get you on the field and off, then right back on! Games were running simultaneously so that meant for alot of play for everyone! The air fill station was nice but only filled 3000psi most of the day, except once i got a 4500psi fill which was nice for my air hog DM4! The refs/workers seemed like a bunch of cool guys, i saw a few of the workers giving very well and detailed "pre-game" instructions to all of the new players that were using rental equipment and probably had never played before. Overall the place was nice, really didnt see any restrooms for use (which would be a nice improvement) and also a nice building for their sales (i.e. paint, air, food, and drinks) would also be nice, but im sure it would include major $$$$ which they might not have right now, oh well, maybe someday. Other than that, it was very nice, BYOP and $20 for all day air and field fee sure is nice. Great Job Orbital, keep up the good work. This place tops most of the fields that i have been to, except for Paintball Experience, which is my home field, and is the "Bomb" (of course) :-) !!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

proballer88 Monday, August 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: To start off with I love the byop deal that they have here, $10 entry, $10 for all day air, and if you need to buy paint they sell pmi for less then $60 a case. Great prices, nice set up and little small, lots of fields to choose from though, woods were sort of different but nice to play on, only able to fill to 3k the day I was there, great prices, games ran very smoothly. All in all great field to play at, its nice to see a field that lets players use there own paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SuddenDeath Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Thunderbay, Gator and Gladiator.
Review: I've been to this field twice. Both times they were very late in starting their first game. They advertise 9:15 but it's more like 10:30. They arrive on-site at about 9ish and start setting everything up. They should arrive earlier to have everything setup already.

I did like the staff and refs. They have multiple fields running at once. Woods field is half bad, one side there is no way to run without tripping over the vines and very "open", the other side is more woodsy. They also only have 1 ref out there, not to good for such a large area.

Hyperball and Air fields are in the same perimeter and not separated by any netting, so expect to get hit will waiting to break. They one thing I really like about the field is how fast they arrange the air and hyperball games. As soon as one game is over they are ready to start the next. Once they are setup you can really get some good playing time in.

If they started on time I would make this field my home field. I hate sitting around for 2 hours waiting to play!
Last edited on Friday, August 6th, 2004 at 9:14 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bobbo 16 Sunday, August 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Thunderbay, Jungle games (both horrible fields), then not in area, pevs, hogback, skyline
Review: People: Great nice people, allways willing to help, weather your in need of a special sized allen wrentch or you want them to lay down cover fire.

Fields: Very decent airball and hyperball and speed ball fields, i played once on their woods ball field, which is also very nicely laid out. All of the bunkers are in good shape and wont colopse when you slide into one.

Refs/ Staff: Very Helpful, very informitive. Refs were also very fair, made great calls and were good people. The people behind the counter, and filling up air were also cool nice people.

Parking/Waiting area: Very clean, great places to put all of your equipment, plenty of trash barrels.

Lunch: Most important part of the day! You can order large pizzas for $10 each (great price) and the pizza is actually really good. They also sell gatoraid for $2 a pop. If your not in the mood for pizza or gatoraide i highly suggest you bring your own lunch / drinks

Pricing: Great prices,
field fee - $10
All Day Air (co2 or compressed air) -$10
1 large pizza - $10
byop (bring your own paint) so no stupid paying extra for buying your paint elsewhere
they also sell big ball and pmi preimum for 55 or 60

Random: they have a porta john for a bathroom, hey guys its better then the woods in some cases! But its no master bathroom with a huge tub


Over All - Great field, ill be going back there next time i want to go paintballing, great fields, people, staff, the whole bit, now no fields perfect but this field is diffinalty best in the area so im gonna give it a 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Amphetamine Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball World (Indoor), various others that are either too small or too far a drive, Orlando Paintball , etc.
Review: Orbital is an excellent place for groups. I thoroughly enjoy it every time we go out there. The operators really try to take care of you. The prices are decent - excellent pricing, actually, when the fields provided are compared to other fields out there. Like all Paintball joints, they have some things that could be improved. But unlike other fields, that list of possible improvements is very minor. Overall, they run a great place.

We have a group of 10-15 ( depending on the day and everyone's work schedule ) that heads out about twice a month. So far, we haven't had a complaint. Yes, sometimes you can have a concern about the refs, or the speed of getting the games together, or other players, etc. - BUT SPEAK UP. Don't whine and cry in private to your buddies, just go address your concerns to the operators - they will do their best to make sure you have a fun time.

Safety is a really big concern for them, and they stress the goggle and barrel cover issues - but rightly so. It's their insurance, their livelihood on the line if we're goofing off. So we can't fall a field for that at all. Saturdays tend to see the more Die Hard ballers out there, I've found, while Sundays are a little more laid back.

The rental equipment? It's decent, compared to the stock of other fields. Can't complain. Most of my crew brings their own gear, but a few haven't made the commitment yet and continue to rent. The guns fling paint - just like your Tippmann, just like your Spyder, etc. Rental is rental - it gets you in the game.

They order pizzas about halfway through the day , providing a nice break if you've got some spare dollars. They run the games as quickly as their manpower allows, and some days you can get more games in than others - but that's the same at all fields.

Orbital gives you the most gun time for your money.

I know this review has seemed incredibly positive, but it's one of the best fields I've encountered in a long time. Also, I'm not going to list out all of the negatives that you can find at every outdoor field - restroom issues, parking issues, etc. None of it's truly negative, and none of it matters to the game. Incidentally, since i brought it up, parking is fine - they have lots of space. It's not paved, but the location is so great that you won't even notice. The shop gets you up and running, will help tinker with your gun, etc. They can get you whatever you want if they don't have it on hand. Honestly, the only negatives I can think of are two -

The line for getting your air filled can take a little while at key times, but that's because of the crowd. Don't worry - the fields are numerous and large, so the place is never TOO busy or over-filled. But standing in the sun, waiting to get a refill to jump back in the game... yeah, that somewhat detracts. On the other hand, just buy another tank and get them filled at the same time when the lines down. Again, this isn't really that negative of an issue ( not like a ten minute wait or anything ).

Second, the speed-ball and air-ball fields are not separated. Not a HUGE issue, as long as you don't mind some cross-fire. But this is only an issue for the smaller fields - the woods-ball fields are separated nicely and never really have a bleed-over problem. I remember we were in the village and had to remember to ignore being shot in the back - the balls were coming from the field behind us. But even then, it was only two or three shots at the very beginning of the game, and they rarely broke or left a mark ( distance ).

The Paint supplied at the field? Haven't shot it. Always bring my own. Can't comment.

Yeah, so go. You'll be pleased with it. My group enjoys it, and we've decided to make it our regular spot. Hope you do too.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 10th, 2004 at 3:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Gimplar Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gladiator Paintball - GOD AWESOME STAFF, but too small for my taste, Florida paintball center - NEVER GO HERE. Horrible 12 year old refs barking down your neck the entire day. Crappy speed ball fields filled with nothing but rocks., Thunderbay paintball - Used to be okay when they allowed you to BYOP.
Review: An overall great field. Wide variety of fields from speedball to hyperball to airball to woods.
They have around 2 speed ball courses
1 hyperball course
1 airball course

and 3 or 4 configurations of woodsball.
An excellent field, only thing that sorta sucks is that during the summer time the refs are a bit slow to get the games going on. (Well actually it was more like 3 people didn't show up to ref that day and some guy who wasn't supposed to be working reffed and he was slow about it..but at least the guy reffed!).

Overall I'd give this field a 9 or so. It's not perfect (If it was perfect there'd be refs available to do speedball and woodsball, but its one or the other..or airball most of the time. I'm sure it's different when it's cooler *refs tend to favor the woodsball since it's like 90 degrees + in Fla right now.)

Overall amazing friendly staff. Very fair prices ($55 for a box of big ball, $60 for premiums) , $10 entry, $10 all day air and you can BYOP.

I drive 2hours down from Gainesville then 40 minutes from St Pete to Oribtal just to play twice a month.
That's how good it is.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

victordan Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
epik-ok
Review: they have cheap prices good refs (they have about 5),they can be some what lazy at times but its like that every where you go. they have a 5 man airball field a small hyperball, a speedball feild, and 2 or 3 woods ball fields. they players there r mostly moderate, some tourny players and some rentals, so its pretty even.if ur a new or moderate player, not an extremely serious tourny player u should try going to epik paintball in orlando. over all its a very nice field, probably one of the best in the state
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media