paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field

Orbital Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (813) 789-8159
Address: 12771 US Highway 301 N
Tampa, Florida 33592
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
AR55 MtM Monday, June 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Thunderbay
Jungle Games
Review: Well this is the second field I have ever been to and man what a place it is. I will start with the good

-=Good=-

Refs- There are always plenty of refs at the fields. Ranging from various ages & sizes yet every ref is as helpful as a pro shop manager. When I first starting to go here I held some issues with my Victor and within minutes one of their employees came to my aid and taught me how to fix the problem.

Safety-They always look out for the little guy here. They have a chronograph where everyone must chrono their gun under 280fps. They also have a little meeting before every major game about safety.

Prices- The prices arn't that bad heres the scoop
Admission $10
Paint prices range from $15-20 for a bag and $40-60 for a case.
Air is $1 per psi & 3 for a c02 fill, all day air is only $10

Fields-They have a nice selection of fields: Hyperball, Airball, Speedball, Woods, & a Castle/Woods map. The fields are nicely arrange the airball field is always different every week. And the are nicely setup.

Gameage- They always have games going one right after the other. You can really get your $10 worth of admission at the field.

BYOP (Bring Your Own Paint)- They allow this witch is a plus & they don't charge witch is another great aspect.

Hours- They are open every Sunday and Saturday rain or shine from 9 am to 4 pm. This is a huge key to their success

-=Cons=-

Refs- In some games they don't always have enough refs, especially in the woods, maybe one or two in a huge field and it is hard to call for a paint check at times, but in the Speedball fields its a whole other world. They always have refs for speedball fields

Field Layout- I know they don't have much room to work with but some of the fields are right behind the other. Which can lead to getting shot by someone on another field, which is rarely the case, but hey it could happen.

Competition- They don't have many tournaments & their arn't a lot of people seriously enough to play with.


Other than those few cons the place is really one of the best fields in Florida hands down.
I give it an 8 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

doublej500 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: This place is awesome!! It has great prices, great fields, & a super friendly staff. I was definitely impressed after going here. It has like 5 or 6 different fields to play on (some of which are woods-ball which are my personal favorites). The refs we had were great too. They didn't jump down our throats and were pretty fair. I also liked the fact that when I had a problem with my marker, one of the workers there took apart my gun and checked it out at no charge! I would definitely recommend this place!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheGodfather Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Show Down Paintball(THE BEST ALL ROUND), gator, Orbital Paintball(NEVER GO THERE)
Review: I was not to pleased with this place. The the woods fields were over grown there were vines ever where. They had a tower that was falling apart, the castle walls were also falling apart. In the woods there was junk all over like bed mattress and other garbage. The airball and speedball fields had no net between them so you got hit by the balls from the other fields. The speedball field had nails and sticking out of the barrels and i riped my shirt, they broke the valve pins on two of my CO2 tanks when they were filling them. The staging area was nasty, garbage every where, we left are area cleaner then we found it. The people were nice and the prices were great, but the fields need a lot of work.

If they would spend a little money on us paintball players by fixing the fields, getting running water, and having a decent bathroom!!!
Last edited on Monday, May 24th, 2004 at 2:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MarkSpot Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Waynes world
Gator
Orlando
(none really in the area)
Review: Man! these guys are the best!
This is the greatest Paintball experience I've ever had!

I LIKED
Cheap
Great Service
Great Refs
No cheating
No arguments
Great Fields
Nice people
Easy to understand rules (I can be a bit dumb)
Novices and experts are treated equally

COMPLAINTS
Porta John
Only elimination and tag the base (No flag?)
Somebody needed to chrono thier gun, I got shot from long range and it hurt like hell
they couldn't fill my brass eagle tank ...
At the end there was nothing but private games(but I joined in anyway )
They have a hard time cummunicating who wins
You can't use a barrel plug (not that I do)

Yhese people are great!If you have it in myind to go to this feild,go.You'll be goin again and again!I live 2 hours away and I still go! The people here are very good at giving advice.They permit absoloutely no cheaters!They said if you cheat they will throw you out and NEVER let you back in.I like this cheaters should never be seen in paintball.Safety breefing was a bit long and so was the line to turn in the insurance form. But thats also ok because it was worth the wait.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

XF-Biohazard Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator, Battle Supply, Lithia, Low Country, Camp Blanding, Blitz, CFP, XPX, First Strike
Directions
to the Field:
Stay home or go somewhere else
Review: Hyperball, Speedball, Woodsball, Scenarios (quarterly)
HPA, up to 4500 now!
CO2
Marker Rentals, old, depleted and nearly useless
Paintballs (55 and 60 case)
Portajon
no running water
Water and Gatorade for sale
Order Pizzas each day or bring your own lunch
Sticky, never rinsed bunkers and more paint goo than you can handle everywhere.
in the boonies about 3 miles north of Tampa on Hwy 301 (near Tampa Machinery Auction)

Play outlaw...this field is only good when the staff IS NOT THERE>

Someone else said it best....two of the refs are completely inappropriate...playing in games and cheating to boot.

I hope the field sells soon and the staff is either changed or re-trained to give a crap about the player.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 27th, 2008 at 6:14 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AchiSan Friday, April 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ballistics, Gator, C.C. Ranch (Private Field) *Herndonsbattlesupply*check it out if you wanna improve your game!
ORBITIAL is a Nice PLace THOUGHT IF you cant got to Herns DEFinnetly got to ORBITITAL!
Review: A very nice field. Ive played both locations on 301. The first time was a little disappointing, it was at the field near the fairgrounds, because we played the same field 5 TIMES in a row! Well, they had a tourney gonning on and we only had one Ref for woodsball w/ 38 people! EWWW! He did his best, but I as A 27 year old Autococker shooting man I could have done w/o the ten-year old treatment. But maybe w/ so many people you gotta be a Little of an arse just to keep it real. the second time at there new location I brought 10 Newbies. Let me just say NEWBIES! Some were from Colombia and spoke NO English. I must say they did a great job w/my newbies. They isolated us from the local, so they'd have a chance. The first ref I had was the best i have ever seen.. He ran back to the check in to get a new Co2 tank for one of the players Right before the game. The woodsbalfields are PERFECT., not too much dense brush, but not too open. I really like the castle fort. My one MAJOR complain: they have a field right next to the airball field, with no netting between them. I do not fault them for this, but one of the Dye posterchilds though it would be funny to shot me and my girlfriend in the back while we we in a game, just to test his marker. The ref was GREAT and cussed at him. Yeah guy, if you think your cool just let me put this spyder down and pick up my cocker and well have fun on that airbal field player! One on One if yous gots the eggs son!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dj_pizzim Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
lots
Review: The basics:
Field Fee $10
All day air $10
Case of paint $55 or $60
Gatorade $2
No running water
Portajon
Dirt road and parking lot

The staff is great. The owner is nice and very friendly. The fields are fun they have 5 fields a small woods with a castle and big woods field with a nice ridge and a tank, a hyper ball field with boxed and big spools one with tubes and an air-ball field. Only problems we had was 1 they didn't open on time, 2 they didn't have hp air when they did open, and 3 the line got long quick(not really a problem to be expected at any good field). They don't have a compressor as of yet but he might be getting one soon, real soon. Over all this field was great nice fields great people lots of fun, We went with a good size group so they assigned a ref just to our group which was nice we could play any field that was open. Only thing to make it better maybe a real bathroom running water more trash cans and well a rock/ paved road and parking lot would be nice. Remember to pack lots of water as there is none there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Neo520 Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Games - Horrible
Hosers and Snipers - No good
Review: This is the best field in the Tampa Bay area in my opinion. The field accommodates both speed ball players and recreational players. There is not much waiting in between games which can be both good and bad (only bad if you have to clean yourself up from previous game). Everything is priced fairly and the staff are friendly. The staff came across as a little hot headed but overall friendly. The boundary markings were confusing as they wound among themselves in the forest. I believe one of the biggest things that sets this location apart from the other is how you may choose whether you play speed ball, air ball, or woobsball. All of these games are running simultaneously and you can join in on any area you want due to this location being well staffed. The parking lot was hazardous due to the recent rain and the field was hard to find. The teams were fair and the calls by refs were very good most of the time even though I felt that some calls leaned towards friends of the refs. My overall experience was excellent and I would not hesitate to return to this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vettewon Friday, January 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator, FPC, Thunderbay
Review: Out of all the fields I've gone to in the Tampa area, Orbital has to be, hands down, the best.

I tried out Gator as my very first field in the area. I have to say that 80% of the people there were 15 and under and they all had attitudes like they were Mike Tyson at the Lennox Lewis briefing... it was so bad that it warranted a good enough reaosn to go try out Orbital, which I did.

98% of the players there are friendly and as nice as they should be to any "new people" there... There are a few kids that think they are Chris Lasoya which really urks me... seeing how they talk trash all day knowing that you can't/won't do anything since you are 10 years older then them and you'd end up in jail <that really bugs me the most>.

They have one air ball field and two speedball fields.

The air ball field is kind of tiny if you are playing with anymore then 10 people <as is the speedball field>. We've done some games with 7 on 7 which was pretty "confined" but it was rather fun, more targets to shoot at and the game generally lasted longer.

I did play one or two woods games over the last month or so just for fun. The woods area was setup rather nicely. There are plenty of objects to hide around <as there are forts> as well as the main "castle" in the center of the field <I think they call it the prison>. Basically it's like shooting fish in a barrel if you are playing against the team in the prison due to the fact that all the new kids are scared to poke their heads out.

The complaints I have are (1) their "facilities" if you know what I mean. There is one porto john out there... it sure would be nice if there were a cinder blocked "outhouse" with possibly a sink and some nicer toilets. That brings up another thing. If you come out there, bring your own jug of water since they don't have any running water... no biggie. (2) The line that forms in the morning waiting for paint/air and signing up is QUITE LONG. There is usually 20 or so odd people there in the morning <for at least an hour> which is no fun <waiting in line that is>. (3) They NEVER fill your tank to it's full capacity which means you have to get air a few times each day... if they had a compressor it wouldn't be an issue.

Quite often there are some teams there that you can play with all day if you choose... that's the only way you'll ever improve your game by playing with people better then you. The guy that owns it could do a little better not talking down to people all day <which I've noticed him doing on occassion>... when it comes to safety I understand, but it shouldn't apply to anything else.

I give it a 9 since the complaints I have really don't have much to do with the playing field itself...
Last edited on Sunday, January 25th, 2004 at 11:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kdogg937 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
hi-tec.... bot bad (that is if you like ruling newbs, or are a newb that likes to get ruled)
florida paintball center.... do NOT waste your time
Review: Well I started goint to this place in july 03 (close to when it opened) and i was not sure waht to make of it the first time. It's very layed back and relaxed style was new to me (coming from hi-tec where "the game starts in 2 min with or without you). But my second time out i found this was a good thing as you can arrange your own games by just finding some players and asking a ref to ref for you. Right off the bat the owner Jeff and a his refs who are all very nice and helpful gave a safety talk that stressed using common sence and keeping your mask on. After crononing in at 290 fps and checking my bps on their nice crono (10 on my mech cocker :P) i began by playing on one of their woodsball feilds. Woodsball is not my thing but it was still fun and the feild was very nice. After playing woodsball, i tried out their hyper ball feild (which is actually 2 feilds side by side that can be played as half feild or full feild). This feild was wonderful adn possibly one of the nicest hyperball feilds i've played on. In my numerous times of playing there, i've also played on their 7 man sup air ball feild which is also very nice, and a number of their assorted woodsballfeilds which are nice, but again not my cup of tea. But what i like most are the prices. It's $10 to get in another $10 for all day air, and it is FREE to bring your own paint. But if you din't have your own paint, you can always buy it from them at reasonable prices (55 for big ball, 60 for premium, and you can arrange for them to have evil or marbalizer for you).

Overall the best place in the tampa bay area to paintball. Even if you live right next to hi-tec (you lucky dog), you should still make the trip out to orbital, it's well worth the gas!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media