paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field

Orbital Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (813) 789-8159
Address: 12771 US Highway 301 N
Tampa, Florida 33592
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Calebd2 Monday, December 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Strategic Command, Hi-tec, Jungle Games, Wayne's World
Review: Orbital paintball is probably the best field I have played at. Let me comment on the key things that make a field good or bad

Prices and Selection:
Orbital has excellent prices. Big balls go for 55 dollars a case and Premiums for 60. They have a couple of other paints to choose from as well . Paint is very fresh. You can also bring your own paintball for free. All day air is only 10 dollars or they allow you to bring your own fill station for free (which is good in my case). They have low end Piranhas for rentals which from what I can tell seem to be working pretty well. It is 10 dollars to rent and includes everything needed. They have the basic things you would need for sale, but not everything.

Fields/Staging area:
Orbital has some very nice fields. They have an excellent hyperball field which is what I play on most often. There is also a very nice 5 man Sup Air field. It is kept very clean. There are also quite a few woodsballs ball field (so I hear). I'm not a big woodsball fan, so I have only plated on one of the fields, one time. Seems like it is a nice woodsball field... I wouldn't really know. There is a very large turnout of woodsball players though, so they must be pretty nice fields. All fields are maintained very nicely and setup up great! There are many places around the whole place where you can keep your equipment. Most are picnic tables. Only place to use the bathroom is one porta potty thinger...

Refs/Safety:
The referees at this field are A+. There number one rule is keep your mask on at all times. Referees are always around to make sure this rules and all others are followed. They are very polite and attentive. The only complaint I have is the Chrono area. It is far away from anywhere where refs would be, so they can't make sure if people are chronoing properly. All the people at the field seem like they follow the 290 fps rule though.

People:
The owner and people who work there are very polite and fun to talk to. They are glad to answer questions or help out with fixing something. I have not yet met one person who plays at this field who wasn't nice. They are glad to give parts or lend equipment. You always end up in some great conversations with the other players. I have never seen any fighting. Everyone plays honest and calls them self out when hit. This is the type of thing you want to see in paintball. They've got some really good players there that are fun to play and learn from. One guy was playing people 3 on 1 with his Phantom and beating them all.

Overall:
Excellent field. Excellent people. Excellent prices. I highly recommend Orbital Paintball!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mobiusmorte Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
If you live in the Tampa Bay area, you know the other fields...
Review: OK, I went to Orbital for the first time this past weekend (11/01/03) I found the staff to be very courteous, the refs were very helpful. Did a good job of controlling our games. ( I played with the woods group, that is I played woods ball all day. Games got started a little late, around 10:15 or so, which was fine by me since I was slow getting ready anyhow. After the games got going, there was no more wasted time, once a game was over, the next one was starting 10 minutes later. Just enough time to refill hoppers, or get more air. Very nice. I also feel the need to mention how nice the players were, even after a few pretty intense firefights opposing players were leaving the field chatting it up with each other like they were lifelong friends. Don't know if it was just a lucky day or not, but when all the players behave like they did last Saturday it sure does make for an enjoyable experience.
Well, enough of that crap. On to the good stuff

Prices: Very good, $10 field fee / $10 all day air $60 case PMI premium (You are allowed to use your own paint at no extra charge)

Facilities: So, so They are currently operating out of a converted trailer (about the size of a horse trailer) that doesn't really bother me, if it keeps prices down I'm all for it. Bathrooms consist of a portolet, well until they get some kind of a permanent structure the portolet will be as good as it gets.

Fields: Only played on the woods fields so my comments are directed at them. The fields are interesting, long and narrow. Not much room for horizontal maneuvering, but plenty of space for a outnumbered team to use delaying tactics on the enemy while waiting for time to expire. As a matter of fact in one game last week 1 guy was able to hold back 6 attackers for almost ten minutes. He would take a couple of shots, then fade back into the next defensive position. It almost worked, the team of 6 was able to eliminate him finally with just a little over 30 seconds remaining in the game.
The fields also have numerous natural and man made defensive points on them, which forces attacking teams to utilize effective cross fires and flanking maneuvers in order to dislodge a determined defender. One curious thing about the field was the placement of a fairly elaborate 2by4 and plywood base in the center of a large pit. what is weird about this is, if you were to try and defend that base you would find yourself surrounded by an enemy able to fire right down into it from the encircling ridge. Meaning that in order to effectively defend this position you need to hold the surrounding ridge. If you hold the surrounding ridge, you would have no need to be inside the base. therein lies the quandary, why build a base you can't effectively defend unless you leave the base????

Whew, got myself going there.

In the end I would highly recommend this field to anyone who enjoys good sportsmanship, great prices and interesting fields.

I am giving this field a very good rating of 10, not because it is perfect, but because it is the best in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drunnen Tuesday, September 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle games , Waynes world
Review: I would have to say that this is the best field that I have played on... There are 2 hyperball fields and 1 airball field along with 3 woods fields that are all well maintained. Myself I enjoy airball and hyperball and the layout of these fields great. The personal that work and own this field are top notch people any question that is asked no matter how big or small is answered by them. The ref's are are way above average at the field they will do whatever it takes to make sure that people are being safe and fair play is going on. The players that play on this field are top notch everyone gets along and I have never seen a arguement even arise at this field. In my opinion if you want to have a great day of paintball this is the only place to go in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

redfireant3 Sunday, September 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Games, Armageddon, Thunderbay/TPb pk.
Review: Well I've Played at quite a bit of fields, at Orbital 1-good shaded parking/players area. 2-only the parking lot gets muddy, on this day I even played in the rain, no mud! 3-friendly "regular" players, interested in what YOU know about paintball, hey everyone can always learn. 4- I met the owner Jeff, really cool. 5- the Refs are always near by, they are really good at paying attention to what is going on. 6- large playing area, I played woodsball all day and every game was a DIFFERENT part of the field and before i left they started playing speedball but there is usually more than just ONE group playing at a time.

Orbital has a more important way of attracting new people to the sport of Paintball, and on this field i actually saw some girls out there, with their own gear enjoying the game. I think if you are looking for a fun enjoyable field to play on you got to try Orbital.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mondogordo Sunday, August 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Thunderbay Paintball
Review: Good:
1. Excellent Refs: they just don't stand in one place, they actually move around unlike some places. Friendliest and most helpful people run this joint..awesome!
2. Field variety: they definitely get an A+ for the style of the playing fields. There are several to choose from and all are equally challenging.
3. Crowd: Friendly people play at this field. Although I have never played in this field before, the players are never hostile to newbies or anyone else for that matter.
4. Fair and decent pricing: it can never be better anywhere else.

Bad:
1. Safety: I would have rated this place a 10 had it not been for some serious safety issues that really needed to be attended to. Paintballs occasionally fly out of the field and into the viewing area (parking space). At one point, one bystander was hit in the face as a stray paintball flew out of the playing area. The nets shows holes where the paintballs have accidentally gone through, and the height needs to be a bit higher.
Last edited on Wednesday, September 10th, 2003 at 4:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slipknot1348 Sunday, August 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Games
Review: I played at Orbital this weekend (8-17) and had a great time. I went there the first weekend they opened, and I didn't like the fields. Now, the fields are great. They have 2 hyperball fields, both with good layouts. They have the airball field now. The airball field is a great field, with an awesome layout.
The staff is nice, and they have good paint prices.
I'd recommend this field to anyone, no matter their skill level.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kewlestwhiteguy Tuesday, August 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle games (boooo), Waynes world (pretty exciting), Lithia (who likes hiding behind old garage doors)
Review: This field was previously owned and then it moved. A new owner has moved it back to this original place. I had some of the greatest times previously when the field was first here. However, this field is one of the best fields I have ever played at. The new owner is just as great as the previous owner and also the staff is quite helpfu. I was really shocked to find out that this park sells paint at a cheaper price than online stores. The refs were really helpful and the fields were top notch. I really enjoy woods and rec ball and all the players with experience will always help newbies like myself and would even let us take the base or flag to win. I visited the park last Sunday (08-10-03) and they had a brand NEW sup air field. I liked it but didn't play it. (Not enough experience) I wish I could rate this field a 20 but they only go to 10! Thanks a bunch go out to the owner Jeff and all the great staff!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderUserXtrem Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Orbital Paintball A+++
Synister Paintball A+
Gator Paintball B
Weekend Warriors B
Waynes World B
Hi-Tec Paintball C
Renegade Paintball D
Florida Paintball Center D
Jungle Games F
Review: Hands down the best field I have ever played at. They cater to scenario players, tournament players, rec ballers, young kids. This field is bring your own paint/air or get theirs at extremely low prices. They have the usual $10 all day air, and paint prices that stomp even alot of online competition prices. With many new additions, changes, and fields being added all the time, how couldn't you love this field? Even the hyper-ball fields have shade without having trees scattered amongst the field like Gator Paintball. The air-ball field is phenomenal, the only other field to even rival this is Extreme Rage Park where you are looking at a #25 field fee. Many forts/castles on woods fields. The friendly staff and players at this field are by far the best you will find. If you come out you can join right into a large group of friends that range from 10-50 year olds. At other fields each group seams segregated but here everyone can feel right at home. A major problem with most fields is thievery and that is something you need not worry about here. If you are considering a safe cheap fun enjoyable place to play, this is definitely the one.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stillballin Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
hi-tec paintball, florida paintball
Review: oribital is so tyte. they have 3 wood fields, 2 hyperball, and an airball. the staff is tyte and funny. everything there is reasonably priced. you actually play with people that know what they are doing. i love this place. most of the games are just walk on (which is extremely tyte). they also offer all day air. all of their fields kick a** but i havent got a chance to play their airball field. id recommend this place to anybody that paintballs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Magister Monday, July 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Games Paintball, Thunder Bay Paintball
Review: Excellent all around. 2 great hyper-ball fields with another 3 excellent wood fields. The staff is great their and very nice. Prices are very reasonable and they are always open to new ideas. I was having a problem with my gun and I asked a staff member to help me out with the problem and we fixed it quickly and he was very knowledgeable and kind on the matter. If you want a 10 rated field in the Tampa area, here is the place to be. Great staff and great fields. I will definitely be returning for the months to come. Here is their website if you want to check them out.
http://www.wwpaintball.com
Sign up and add your 2 cents, they always listen to the players and their opinions.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media