paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Camp Pendleton Paintball Park / Camp Pendleton Paintball Park / Camp Pendleton Paintball Park / Camp Pendleton Paintball Park

Camp Pendleton Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
114Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (951) 323-9883
Address: Vandergrift
San Diego, California 92055
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
AccessTime Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity Paintball, Mr. Paintball
Review: I was in a private group. The fields themselves were very good. Lots of strategy involved and no generic fields -- every field was unique. Almost all the games were capture the flag, another plus. On the downside, they only had one ref in the games I played. Other fields I have been to have two, one for each side. Also, $20.00 is a bit expensive for a private group with your own equipment. $12.00 walk on isn't a bad price, though. All things considered, the staff was about average. Bring your own paint (with your own equipment, at least) is another plus.

Since then I have also played walk-on at this field. We chose to play "advanced" hoping for a challenge and for players who could communicate / show some basic competency in play. This may be true for other fields, but on this field "advanced" basically means "everyone without a rental gun", and it ends up being not too different from beginner. Nonetheless, the refereeing was very good, the players themselves were friendly and for the most part, self-policing. I did not see any obvious cheating, or turning up velocity, or the like. They also tend to have a very relaxed view of safety relatively to the other fields (uncontrolled parking lot / waiting area, no safety speech, etc.), and they can only fill HPA to 3000psi. The time between games was probably about 15-20 minutes.

The fields themselves are nonderivative (every field I played was unique) and rich in strategy. Fields have a very good variety of terrain within the same field, for instance one field has an overlooking hill, two areas of rows of trenches + bunkers, and a back path that can be used for flanking. Another field has some enclosed urban bunkers in the center surrounded by a hill and a path that overlooks the whole thing. At other parks, a field will be nothing but woods or nothing but spools with too many bunkers and not enough angles.

Overall, I'd rate this field as good for both private groups and walk-on (with own equipment and paint).

Recently the reffing has been getting much better, they have 4 refs for the larger games and the refs are very responsive and do a good job overall.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 25th, 2005 at 11:32 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chapanese Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
sc village, mr paintball, velocity, tombstone, pirates grove
Review: After driving through Camp Pendleton Marine base for about 10 mins, I finally got to the paintball field. The fields were great here, and they have many to choose from. Prices are very cheap, compared to other places, and I usually can get in for free, (just leave before they come to collect the entrance tickets at 4:15pm). The referees aren't that great, but no one is perfect. 9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr. bean Friday, October 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sc village, mr. paintball, CP is way better.
Review: This is the best place to play!

Good
You get to use ur own paint!
Nice people
Nice refs(if u no them)
Lockers
Big staging area
Not a lot of cheaters
Good fields
Really cheap
Newbies are separated into their own group

Bad
Bad hyper ball
No phones(no cells don't work either its in a box canyon)
no shop
Don't sell much food
No walk ons on weekdays

Overall its a sick place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jimbovia Tuesday, September 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr. Paintball - Ultra Sucks
Review: I dont like how some courses make you use their paint (eh hum......Mr. Jackball). I think that makes it so only newbies and rich kids ghet to play. Newbies dont mind paying so much because paintball is really cool. Rich kids dont care because mommy and daddy will pay for it.

Anyway, back to the real deal.

CP kicks major a$$.

Good:
- No Cheaters! if you cheat (wipers), go play at Mr. Paintball where they dont care.
- Clean fields, no tree stubs to jack your foot on.
- Refs are way cool.
- PMI Premium as backup paint, ......better than big ball.
- No Rushing

OK:
- Big fields. If you dont play forward, or dont have a flatline, dont go here.
- Tables. They are ok, but could use some work.

Caca:
- Garbage Cans. Uh, hmm, can you say BEES!!!!!!
- Speedball Course is WAK like The Backstreet Boys.
- How about, filling in the trenches in the road. (I know, I know, little stuff)
- Organization is the key. We walked down to a field that already had someone playing on it. How about scheduling groups on courses fellas. Schedule, Schedule Schedule.

It is always easier to point out the bad stuff than it is to point out the good. For the most part I feel my experience was awesome. I can deal with the little stuff (beez, roads, organization) as long as I get to blast people!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dufff88 Monday, September 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC village, Jungle Island
Review: THE GOOD
-6 really great reg fields, 2 ok hyperball fields
-Refs are nice as long as you don't cheat or don't follow the rules, but if you do get on the refs bad side they will hold a grudge on you the whole day.
-nice people there, its never too packed like SC village, and because the fields is in san diego you get a really nice breeze from the ocean
- you don't need to buy field paint for our own gun, which is cool, but if you run out you can buy their paint, which is pretty good, because they sell PMI premiums, which are good medium bore paint
THE BAD
-chrono's take a little while but are worth it, i much rather take 10 min goin thru a chrono then get shot by a 350 fps ball
-no phones on fields, but you can bring a cell
-no flushing toilets, only porter potties
TH UGLY
-gettin thru the check point to get into the base can be a pain! but most ot the time its ok.
- there is no food on the field other than candy bars, and the only food you can get is mcdonalds about a mile down the road.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BunkerMonkey123 Monday, August 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr.Paintball
Velocity
Review: Camp Pendleton Paintball Park is a great paintball park in Southern California. The price is low for almost everything there. $12 to get in. $1-3 dollars for air or Co2. The only expensive thing at CP is the paint. I advise you buy your paint before going for a day at Camp Pendleton. But the paint is worth the money because they sell PMI Premium. There are 8 courses including speedball. The courses range from bush to pipes. You chrono before every game which takes a while but is worth not getting hit by a ball going 350 fps. The refs are cool if you obey all the rules and dont cheat. The front desk gives out free water which is good during the summer. the only reason it isn't a perfect park is because in the summer there are fires on some of the fields. But the fires do clean out all the high weeds, so there is an advatage to the fires. Camp Pendleton is my favorite field and is good for newbies to pros.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

painthose Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Overall I liked playing here, mostly because it was different from what I normaly play. (mostly urban fields). Prices were good if you bring your own paint and equipment. If you have to rent, then there about average. Some of the things I wasent impressed with was the lack of enforcement of some of there "rules". Such and the no paint that stains..... Well let me tell ya RP Evils STAIN big time and most of the people with there own guns were shooting it. Then there was the time inbetween games......Lets just say bring chair! the day I was there it averaged 45 min between games, WAY too long. My two biggest gripes were the total lack of reffing and the so called chronoing. The refs would not enter the field for any reason at all. The never bothered to even tell anyone that we started playing a flag game one time and the only time they said anything to anyone about gogles off was when one of the players pointed it out to them. Then there was the chroning. Suposedly they chrono you every time you enter the field.
Well the day I was there I played 7 games and was only checked twice. One of those times it was on the field and I watched one guy chrono hot the ref said "turn it down" walked away and never checked it again.......

Even with thos complaints I would still recommend this field to other expierenced players. I did have a good time there over all.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoupDevil Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr. Paintball
Velocity
Review: Good-
- ONLY $12!!!
- Do not have to use field paint
- Refs are cool if you respect them
- A huge variety of fields
- Chrono before every game( So you don't get hit with paint going 350 fps)

Bad-
- Rental guns suck, same with the most of the other rental stuff
- Some times the newbs can be a pain
- A couple of the fields get annoying
- Take your dump or piss before you go, trust me.....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AncestralCall Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Island, Adrenaline Games, also some in NV
Review: In my limited experience I think that this is one of the better fields in South Cal. I have only been to a few other fields, and found that I like this one the most. The people there are very easy to work with. Some of the reviews below talk about certain people not being nice, or not working with the players. I have never run into this problem. My Brother hasn't either. The Manager is extremely helpful, even when he has 400 Eight-year-old kids screaming about their markers. The prices are better than anywhere else also. As far as the people that play, it's the same as anywhere else; some nice some are f-ing d heads. This is a good field for kids. They recommend they be at least 12yo but if Mom or Dad signs a wavier then it's all good. I have been at some fields, begins with a J and ends with -ungle Island, that think that little kids are good target practice, not at Camp Pen. I have had 5 y/o kids (girls and boys) on my team and they did fine. This field makes sure that the Advance players and Beginners ARE separated, and the chrono may take some time, but itís worth it. Has anyone out there been by a paintball traveling at 325 fps? HURTS. Happened to me at the ungle Island place, where chrono is a JOKE. This is a great place for people that want to learn how to paint. Itís still pretty good when you want to play with the big boys. Bring food, and water. They sell a limited amount of stuff. McDonalds is about 1/2 mile down the road. Overall this is a great place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pb Mafia Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This place was awsome. The prices were ok but the fields were great. There refing was good and there rentals were awsome (upgraded rental is an autococker w/ nitro)
The fields is wat impressed me the best. And if lookin for a challenging place to play go there. they have small and big fields and wen i say big i mean if ur at one end and some1 is 3/4 down the field n the paintball hits u it wont pop.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media