paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Action Games Paintball Field / Paintball Action Games Paintball Field / Paintball Action Games Paintball Field / Paintball Action Games Paintball Field

Paintball Action Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
26Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 3124 Old County Road
Newark, Delaware 19702
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
dynaman Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Poco Loco
Picasso Lake
Local games in the woods
Review: The field is a little further then I normally go for a game, but it is the only one in the area that allows children under 10 to play. I had a good time there as well as my friend who was along, but most important my son had a terrific time. This is an excellent place for new players to try paintball.

Fields: One was flooded (yesterday was VERY rainy). They had two woods fields with piles of logs as fortifications at the bases. There was also one speedball type field, but we joked about it being weedball since it was a bit overgrown. The walk from the base to each field is very short, always a plus.

Safety: Constant reminders of keeping the goggles on and the guns plugged when not in a game. Although there was some dry firing in the assembly area.

Prices: $15 to play with your own equipment, $60 for a case of paint.

Refs: They were young, but they kept things moving along for our group of roughly 20 players and came over quickly for the paint checks.

Food: They had pizza delivered for those that ordered some.

Facilities: Standard shack in the woods, 6 or so nice picnic tables for laying out equipment between games, and parking was right next to the assembly area as well.

Hours: Our day started at 9 and ended at 1.

A great place to go if you are looking for a recreational game. Only negative I would list are the mosquitoes, there are a lot of them - but it was a rainy couple weeks and that brings out more of the little buggers. So bring some bug spray.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xxvirusxx Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: June 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None but friends do
Review: Hey im one of the Refs here and To let most of you guys know its not a professional field. yes idk if u kno its a wood field and YES there are Bugs and insects out there. so dont try and be smart guy and say "there misquito's" duh there gonna be its a wood field with water around. our speedball field isnt all brush and barrels we added few other things its not Blown up bunkers but we got big tubes and wood sheets. We would have blown up bunkers but like most fields we got problems with kids they come and ruin out stuff, we had another shed but they burnt it down, they move our bunkers and break stuff. imagine if we had blown up bunkers, they get poped, stolen, spray painted w/e so ya were sry we dont have them. Btw theres no refs that are under 15 k. Yes my brother is a ref too and he does have a stock autococker for fun. we also own about 5 more guns that blow it away, i personally own a ion upgrading with Virtue board, virtue eyes, and virtue QEV really soon. so yes, the ppl that complain about head shots all u gotta do is dont stick ur head out and let it get shot. if im playing u and ur head is the only thing that is sticking out then im going to shoot it, think -.-. so ya for the ppl who like the field we hope yall come back great to have yall have fun. ( yes we mostly have new player go to the grave yard if u want professional Speedball fields and good players) btw cases of paint arent 70-80$ lol
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DangerMan Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ECX (no longer exists) Absolute-Elkton (No longer exists) Graveyard, Local private fields.
Review: PAG does not intimidate to new comers. So for all you guys that are great at paintball remember you started somewhere too. Don't be snooty when you need more people playing this game.

I'm not here to refute this last guys post. I wanted to post a good review based on my countless visits in the past four years to Paintball Action Games... but I know for a fact most reviews on Paintball Action Games are NOT accurate. Paintball Action Games fields are excellent wood ball fields with one speedball field.

Large groups and walk-ons show up and you get matches that start off with 7 on 7, and evolve into groups of 24 on 24! Those games are just unbelievably fun. But remember they are mixed groups. A lot of beginners and some intermediate players. Most everyone in a party or group rents a Tippmann 98.

The cost per box (2000) of paint is $60.00 for quality paint. And yes you must use field paint. You can't bring your own. At a $15.00 entrance fee with refs and unlimited nitrogen or C02, I don't know what the big deal is paying a few bucks more for top grade paint. The price is not outrageous. Remember there is a lot of overhead for a paintball field owner; they have to make money to pay for that overhead and the ref's. Subsidizing their cost by paying more for paint is nothing to get up in the air about.

Registration at PAG can be long. Up to 40 minutes. Why? Because groups show up and don't keep things moving. Getting 30 people registered with guns takes time in my opinion. If you are a walk-on (I'm assuming anyone reading this would be) then call and find out when the session starts and get there 1/2 hour after start. You won't be late. I've played for 4 years at PAG, I'm not kidding.

Every week when we go to play PAG they generally have two sessions. One starts at 9am the other at 1pm. But these times are not set in stone. The owner sets the session start times with the parties arriving. A session could start at 10 am or 11am.

Either way if you come to the first session you can play all day; there are no additional charges for a second session. I have asked some weekends how long he will go, and the owner says "until everyone is done, but we do need an hour of day light to break things down."

Some weeks Bachelor parties shows up. They do screw off and try to steal rental guns, the owner doesn't hassle them. They don't respect the game in general and will wipe paint so you need to give these guys a facial to sit them down. Otherwise get loud with the refs calling paint-check.

The owner’s son is a ref and he celebrated his birthday one Sunday. He is a great paintballer and if he did better than others, what is the big deal there? Accusing them of not using field paint is a laugh. And the gun doesn’t make the player. I took my 6 year old to the fields and he snuck up on a 6 foot 3 inch man and took him out on the speedball fields. He's now 9 years old and still plays with me at PAG.

This game is too easy for ANYONE to do well at regardless of the gun or paint you use.

Finally... the fields:

The red field is long and narrow. A great field to start off on. The Orange field is really wide and makes flanking a bit easier but people can spread out and really do you in if you are not careful. My favorite field is the pink field. It has a lot to offer. Long open space with trees to maneuver around, a jungle like briar patch with paths all over and gullies and long felled trees for snipers.

When we go, we order pizza at $8.00 as PAG gets a discount from Dominoes. Soda's are 75cents so all this crying about $100 boxes of paint is a crock. You can bring a portable barbeque as they have picnic tables and allow tailgating.

I like these fields and would not go back if I was not having fun or couldn't afford it. I'd like to see EVEN more people come but frankly PAG is not hurting. On weekends that don't rain or rain hard they get 50 people there easy.

There are no forts or high ground but considering all the space they have at PAG, I think the fields are excellent. As for woods fields in Delaware, I say they are the best paid fields in the state. I'm giving them a 9 out of 10 as the Speedball field is not a true speedball field. It's fun to play on but it's not sub-air. So 9 of 10 from me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaken123 Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: This is a great field. If you want some good woodsball and some decent speed ball this is the place to go. Along with good fields the employees are great. My friend has a Diablo Mongoose and he had some problems with his hopper and a couple loose skrews. He just went up to the desk and told them his problem and they gave him some skrews and some duck tape for his hopper. Also if your short on cash, no problem the paint is pretty chip. Almost all of the fields are good except for one. Lots of underbrush so it is impossible to shoot laying people. This is a good field and I would recommend it to any one.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

danny_eva_01 Friday, March 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ECX Action Sports in DE
Del Hobbies in NJ
Absolute Paintball Indoor Field in MD
Review: I have been to this field twice, and I waited till my second time going to write a review because the first time the experience was horrible.

Location: Deep in the woods, great for woodsball. Bad for everything else: driving, bathrooms, speedball, etc. They also had HUGE mosquitos also. They bit me though my jersey and other paintball equipment.

Fields: Their speedball field is more like a cleared field with bushes and barrels. But if you are into woodsball, this place has excellent playing fields.

Safety: Safety should have been made more of a big issue. One kid in a party weilded his 98c like a sword by the chorno and almost shot me in the face...... The refs and staff need to do a better job making sure that all players where masks and that barrel plugs/condoms are on when not on the field. Also the "speedball" field, which is mostly bushes and tree stumps, is very dangerous. I personally wouldn't feel comfortable with anyone playing on it.

Staff: Need to do a better job with safety. And need to be more friendly. They searched my stuff cause they apparently thought I stole something. Cause you know when you have a nice n2tank you would really want to steal a POS rusty co2 tank. But the refs weren't lazy during the game. I feel they did a very nice job of calling people out and directing players where to go after they were called out, because in the woods sometimes you don't know where the exit is.

Conclusion: Personally I would never go back to this field. I recommend any of the fields I have listed in the fields in the area section. But for the beginner or avid woodsball fanatic, I think it wouldn't be a bad place to play. The kid welding the 98c like a sword isn't really the fields fault, even though they should have done something to stop it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

cushdaddy101 Sunday, October 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
No where else official, we play mostly in the woods around here
Review: I totally recommend Paintball action games. There was a group of 7 of my friends and i and we all enjoyed it. The two woods courses that we played on were very well laid out. There was plenty of cover and was open enough to get ur shots through the course. I especially liked the fact that the woods courses were thin enough to shoot across. There was a very good opportunity for crossfire and these woods courses really emphasize team work.

As for all the speed ball course. I thought it was well laid out. There were several strong points that you had to fight for to control the field and it was fun to try to get to them first.

I will admit that i am not exactly a pro, but there were A LOT of 1st timers here. There was some competition, but it was very sparing... (yeah spider-man!). if ur looking for a lot of professionals to practice with for your team, this probably isnt the place to go. But if its a group of you and your friends looking to kick some butt, this is the place to be.

Finally, to all the people complaining about the mosquitoes, why weren't you smart enough to bring bug spray? If you are going to be in the woods, its kind of obvious that you should be prepared for them.. Don't complain, just get the $3 spray bottle of bug spray. All in all i give the field a 9.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sgrocker626 Thursday, September 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ECX, Delhobbes , paintball adventures (PA)
Review: I know what other people are saying and most of it is not true. I would know because i work there as a ref as of 6 months ago. are nitro tanks fill up to 3000 which i know isn't 4500 but so what get it filled again. are tanks are certified and i would know because i was there. paint is 65 a case and has not been sitting around because he buys 20-30 cases every other week and keeps them in perfect conditions. and also we do make the customers where goggles at the chrono u must have missed the big sign and it is a very safe operation we have netting around the whole speedball field and make everyone use barrel plugs.

There are mosquitos in the woodsball field bot not as bad as people make them out to be, and besides paintball isn't for all you soft people anyway so.......

are speedball field is decent and were putting up a new one soon. are woodsball fields are the best in the area and we would have airball but someone sabotauged are last ones and are insurance wont pay for a new set

overall the field is good so i give it a 10 for the new comers and a 9 for the experienced (10 if u like target practice) and for all u soft people that are writing the review is give you a 8 for the mosquitos.
Last edited on Thursday, September 23rd, 2004 at 5:14 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rebelshooter02 Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Woods
Review: This was the first official field I ever went to( previously played in woods).About the bugs I wasn't bit once and neither was anyone else that I was with. And the refs weren't THAT bad. They helped me fix my Victor when it broke. However there were alot of people there and they couldn't keep up with everybody. However I actually enjoyed my self. Oh. and paint was only 50 bucks a case. Oh and don't litsen to the other guys first of;all
the speedball (okay not truly speedball but same principle) only had bushes and trees on the BORDERS. You know that usually indicates the END of the field. And I was sliding all over the place and no truly huge bothersome roots. They are woods people! Maybe not a great field for hardcore speedballers with 'Cockers and stuff like that but to a first time player with a Spyder or a Tippmann it's fun. I know I went home full of adreanaline.
Last edited on Thursday, October 21st, 2004 at 5:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

streroto Monday, June 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I'd like to offer an opposing point of view to all the negative ones. This was a very professional and safe operation. The quality of the fields is good and the referees were good. The rental equipment was much better than I expected. My son has played at several different operations in the area and he gave this one two thumbs up. For those of you who were bothered by bugs, invest in a can of bug spray; it's a lot cheaper than ammo and will keep the mosquitoes (and ticks) off you.

Bottom line is that paintball is a game. It should be inclusive and fun. This facility did a very good job of accomodating different levels of play. Everyone had a great time. I highly recommend it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sharpshooter22 Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ECX
Del Hobbies Paintball
Review: Paintball Action games is not a very good field. I'm sorry to say that I would not play here again.

Staff: The owner was the only person above the age of 15 running the field. The other kids who were supposed to be reffing mostly just stood around and bragged to new players about their "awesome guns" (stock autocockers for the most part). All in all the staff proved pretty clueless, and, if your gun broke, you were pretty much done for the day. They even managed to blow a seal on my nitrogen tank, rendering my gun useless for the rest of the day, and forcing me to rent one of their rather rusty, poorly maintained 98 customs that I had to recock every 3 shots.

Prices: Prices were outrageous, with Diablo Blaze selling for $70 a case, and that being pretty much your whole selection of paint. Entry was normal, about $15 or $20 a person, though I don't recall exactly how much.

Fields: Absolutely no speedball. The closest they had was a bush and tree ridden field with a bunch of industrial spools set up on one half, and just bushes on the other. Their other fields were woodsball, and in general, decent enough. Lots of roots and such in the bunkers, so sliding wasn't an option, I tried and just about destroyed my ankle. The fields were located in a fairly moist area, because there were mosquitos big enough to kill a small dog. They bit straight through my paintball gloves.

My Rating: When it all comes down to it I would not recommend this field to anyone except very new players (which there were a lot of). For them, the competiton might be about par, and theres a better chance that they will call themselves out, because the refs generally do nothing. To anyone looking to play some good, wholesome paintball, I would recommend Del Hobbies or ECX Action Sports. I am being generous when I rate this field a 5/10.
Last edited on Thursday, June 17th, 2004 at 10:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media