paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Apocalypse Paintball Field / Apocalypse Paintball Field / Apocalypse Paintball Field / Apocalypse Paintball Field

Apocalypse Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
61Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 608-635-7324
Address: W9496 County Road Cs
Poynette, Wisconsin 53955
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
stormfrontballr Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dedicated
Review: If any one questions the awesomenessatude of this field they must have any clue what sport they are getting into. Appoc., HANDS DOWN, is the best field in WI. Dave (owner) is an awesome guy, and knows what he is doing. The tourneys run are top notch, and I would know, since he gets the top team in the area to ref for him. (Stormfront) All around awesome field. Go there you will not be dissappointed!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nate23 Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Black Rain, Apocolypse,Action Territory (fun if throw the paintballs),Outlaw,Promised Land.
Review: Very great field I went up there for a tourney. Best field in Wisconsin maybe the whole friggen world. Includded in the tourney was a FREE speghitti meatball lunch. They have hot refs handing out popsicles. Man this beats the playboy mansion. Great refs. Know how to tech alot of guns. Many diffrent fields ranging from good Ol' fashion woodsball to airball and hyperball.


The field is awsome for rec play too. BYOP and other things. I wanna live there.


There isn't a rating shows for elevndy-six so 10 will do.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Arson58 Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dedicated
Review: First of all, anyone who says that the staff is rude obviously was doing something stupid and dangerous. As long as you stay safe and abide by the rules the staff is the friendliest around. Apocalypse really knows how to treat their customers. On hot days, they will come around and offer freeze pops to anyone who wants one. Another plus is their safety. They have always been high on safety and it shows in their spotless record of serious injuries. The only weakness is having to fill out all the waivers, but naturally i think if any of us owned a course with Apocalypse volume, we would do the same. Again, if you live in southern Wisconsin, take I-90 in Poynette to one of the best paintball facilities in the Midwest.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CSD_E-MAG Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dave's (indoor + splat camp) , Sams (rec and big game), Siege, BFG, Full Hopper
Review: I have played 3 tournaments at apoc. All were were run well. I have to say I have NOT ran into any of the rude behavior that many people have posted about, but I have only played 3 tourney's at apoc and no rec play.

During the first 2 tournaments the ref's were always fair and consistent. While every call they made was not perfect but who is? The tourneys seemed to run effortlessly and smooth. However at our third tournament there, the (rookie #1,2004 ), the reffing was not very good and as the day progressed it got worse and worse(actually from the middle of the day on it was terrible). Having reffed a tourney before, I know that it is tiring but if you ar planing on having finals the refs have to pull it together for those last few games. Those last few games are very critical, points really count, the teams that play are the best of the day and the games are highly scrutinized. During the finals 80% of the refs were not even on the field or not really paing attention. They were just standing on the sides watching. This led to some very unfair calls, because they could not really see what happened. Come on guys would you like to be reffed like that? I have to say though, there were some refs that just did a superb job. They were watching their players and the game and they made some very tough calls *correctly* and not just because some were in our teams favor but I watched a few other games and the right calls were made in similar circumstances. Props to those guys!( you know who you are).

At the first novice tourney of 2004 the field setup was only ok. It seemed to be completely biased to back-men and front guys would die if they moved up. The distance between the start and the mid bunkers was huge. Even though they had 30+ bunkers on the field I feel that the setup could have been better. It still was very fun. The field setup for the first rookie tourney of 2004 was good. When the finals came it was changed . The changing of the bunkers was not a problem. The problem I had is that it seemed that it was "off the cuff" and not well thought out but it was still ok. To be honest I don't remember the setup from last year, when I played, so I won't comment on that.

If you are planning on playing a tourney, play one at apoc you should have a good time. All in all I have always had fun at Apoc. I have to say though, that based on this last tourney I have to unfortunately change my rating from a 9 to a 8.

Based on my experience with this field I rate it a 8
Last edited on Sunday, May 16th, 2004 at 9:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkforcez15 Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
dedicated paintball- really small just opened indoor course...apoc is much much better
Review: Ya that one guy 2 things down is full of SHI%. They are great people and have a great course. The only reason they dont want ur goggles up is to 1. protect the person and 2. its a waste of time for leagle matters. They are very safe and have many courses to choose from. Sometimes you get free lunches. They lower your preasure down to 280 so everything can be fair and ur not shootin bullets :). I love this course and will play at it as much as i can.

recomendation: VERY HIGH
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

silscuba Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stalkers, Commando, Bubba's, Dedicated
Review: the guy below me is biased. He's on a Stalker's team and hates Apoc becuase he got burned by an Apoc sponsored team a few years ago.

Newly planted grass on leveled, very flat ground provides for great airball. Temporary netting splits the large 10/5man airball field into 2 3man fields when needed. Hyperball is on sand and although can get messy, is an ideal playing surface, with hyperball setups changing almost every season to keep things fresh. For walk ons the ref fields are spacious and well designed, especially the tower one, with a large castle field being built right now.

Tournaments are about as smoothly run as you'll find in Wisconsin. Schedules are usually on time, free lunch, free drinks throughout the day for the players. Quality prizes, and almost always a ton of gear that's given away for free.

As far as reffing at tournaments, they're done by well experienced tournament players and employees of apocalypse. The reffing is always top notch and the fields are always set up well. I fact, i've nothing but compliments to give to the tourney reffing stafffs. Not many people know how tough it is to run and ref a tournament.

Yeah a case is $100, but it's also BYOP all the time, so there should be no reason to complain about it. Team practices have the highest quality players in the area. Apoc's teams do most of the national PSP and NPPL events and do well consistently with 1st, 2nd 4th place finishes under their belts. $10 for all day air and field use with a free lunch most Sundays is a great deal.

Pro shop is pretty comprehensive with fair pricing. The staff knows how to fix most markers and tanks.

Dave the owner is strict about safety, and that's the way it should be. Safety is paramount, but he doesnt overdo it. If your mask is off on a field or chrono station then he has every right in the world to yell at you. Apocalypse's safety record is impressive and Dave plans on maintaining it.

Many large rec fields, great tournament setups, best competition, and nice facilities add up to in my opinion, the best field in Wisconsin/Minnesota. An easy 10

Last edited on Wednesday, April 21st, 2004 at 5:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KoRnMaN Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle cat, Stalker
Review: By far its one of the worst field I have ever played at.

Pros - Good fields (the money they rip you off with most likely builds the fields.)

Cons - The staff that works there is horrible.
They rip you off by charging you $100 a case of paint.

The refs they hire for tournaments don't really ref they stand there and don't pay attention.

They yell at everyone and pulls anyone that talks to them and pulls anyone that bunkers another player and is shot 10 seconds after shooting out the same person.

They yell at you for having your mask up when on the field...chill out Dave and the staff they signed the waver. Unless your cheap on insurence. Its there falt let them shoot them selves in the eye.

If your looking for a good field you won't find it here. I rate Apocalypse the worst field in AMERICA. I give it a 0.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

[)R/-G()ll Thursday, March 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stalker, Action Packed Paintball, and some Cat place (sorry, can't remember)
Review: +'s
-Good refs, well organized tournaments, friendly people including Dan the owner, Paul the air-smith and the helpers one of which actually live on my street
-nice fields, lots of woods and spool bunkers, speedballs and hyperball, as well as fields for large groups
-full store of repairs and all with not too bad prices, very good service

-'s
-can be a long walk to get to the fields
-they put everyone together but do try to even out the skill levels on both sides
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bergis_06 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none really
Review: Strengths: Good feilds especially hyper ball and the speed ball feilds and tower is pretty cool. If u need somethin u dont have to run around u can just buy it there. They have free lunch every sunday and some of the refs r cool. Bring ur own paint helps.

Weaknesses: Some refs suck and when they get a good ref they fire them like Randy who was awesome but got fired for some reason or quit i dont know, the prices r unbelievable especially for paint. They over fill tanks because they get careless and at their tournys they let amauter players play rookie and novice.

all in all its a pretty good feild if u can dodge all the problems but if u want to go up for a day and rent i wouldnt do it it costs u just as much to buy ur own gun and paint so do that instead.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballguy1c Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in the area i played at a field in south florida though
Review: THE GOOD: apoc was a cool field to play at when i went there it was my first time at a field since then i have gone back a few more times. the fields were pretty cool especially the tower with the trenches. byop was great because there paint prices were expensive $100 for a case. anyways they have a good pro shop a lot of items to buy there.

THE BAD: ive used the field a little bit maybe its not always like this but the refs always yelled about everything they were rude about paint checks they werent very helpfull they were always slacking, what i mean exactly is they were just standing around and they seemed to stay around the people they knew. sometimes they let players with auto guns overshoot other players. i once saw a 1 on 5, instead of saying take it easy hes the last one they said nothing and the players surrounded him and he got shot more then i can count. they should take better care of there fields some of them need trimming there are too many thorn bushes around you have to worry about running into them more then you do the other team ,plus if you do see the other team you have to run around the thorn bushes to escape. the staff inside the building arent always friendly they have a certain walkway for getting supplies and if you dont go through it or go through it the wrong way you will get yelled at and told cant you read the sign or someting like that. SORRY IF I DONT USE THE FIELD EVERYDAY AND KNOW ALL THE DIFFERENT RULES AND PROCEDURES.

CONCLUSION: apoc is a good field to play at i like it thats the only reason i go there. i put aside the bad staff to have a fun day with my friends. its one of the few places they let you byop. im sure you can figure out why i only gave this field a 3.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media