paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Survival Game of Texas Paintball Field / Survival Game of Texas Paintball Field / Survival Game of Texas Paintball Field / Survival Game of Texas Paintball Field

Survival Game of Texas Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (281) 442-2284
Address: 2309 Aldine Meadows Rd
Houston, Texas 77032
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
L337 krew Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball USA nicely priced HPA FILLS!!! nice staff and plenty of refs
Review: wow were to begin, the only thing i liked at sgt was... wait NOTHING. $100 a case of the cr@piest paint i have ever used, probably 1:10 shots did NOT chop, meaning the other nine did. this paint can be found almost anywhere else for 40$ a case. i went recently with my church as a chaperone and he said he was even getting us a DEAL FOR $100 A CASE. wow not to many people will lie to a bunch of church people, but i guess he would so he can get his sale. then the reffing, oh the reffing, 2 teenagers that stand in the middle of the field and talk to each not paying attention to game. i have my own equipment including a nitro tank. i came to the field a couple yrs earlier i thought well they must have nitro fills by now, of coarse not what was i thinking. then when the kids are renting their equipment i found out that you get a pump and have to pay $5 EXTRA bucks to get a semi. i have recommended to the church that next time we play we go to PB USA, the staff and the fields are much better there. and at USA the PREMIUM paint is $55 not $100 for a case of cr@p. i really hope that was my last visit the sgt and i hope i never have to meet larry and his 20yrs again.
Last edited on Friday, December 10th, 2004 at 5:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Schilla Monday, October 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball USA
Review: This place sucks

there is horrible parking...and the owner larry was there this guy is rediculous he also owns the PAINTBALL shop on F.M. 1960 i live around there so i see him every so often his prices there are just as bad as at his shop and his famous line "I've been doing this for 20 years" give me a break he knows nothing about paintball just the bad equipment he rents...he thought his cheap rental gun was better than my $600+ marker oh wait or was that b/c he doesnt fill HPA nothing but CO2.....so u would guess that nothing but newbs play there yea u'd guess right. Not to mention his prices....good lord 100 for a case of cheap ass paint....we could not belive this so we left and went to paintball USA....soon at we pull into this place you would see just by looking this place was better! we buy some paint and guess what?! they sell the exact same paint as larry for only 55 a case and have CO2 and HPA fills....

oh the story isnt over yet....get this....we are taking a break from just finishing a game at usa then i get a call from larry (gave him my cell # on the waver) saying we owe him money from his place.....this guy is crazy...first he says one of my friends didnt pay for paint oh wait then it was he didnt pay for his CO2 fill ohh wait agian then it was another friends of mine that didnt pay for his gun rental when he used his own gun!!!

I hope this gives u all some kind of idea the places larry runs...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KSchwantz Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Review: I played this field for the second time just yesterday, Oct 1, 2004. Like most of the reviews about this place the paint they sell is junky, and expensive, and actually wet with condensation. But this is the standard there, so be it.

I needed a tank refilled. This tank came with a new Tippman 98 Custom. The tank was about half full, and fine. This was only the second time CO2 was being put in it. After about ten minutes The kid doing it comes back out and C02 is spewing out of the valve. Larry, (the owner comes out) and says this tank is no good. I ask him if he was sure, because it was fine 10 minutes ago. Larry get's defensive and says, "Well I've been doing this for 20 years, etc" This I discovered is Larry's standard answer for everything it seems. Larry only got more defensive when I asked how a tank could fail so quickly, and said, "So, you're trying to say we ruined your tank, I've been doing this 20 years etc." Great start to the morning.

I figure maybe the tank is bad so I then get a rental tank from Larry, well the one he rents me is empty. I get another, (he just grabs the nearest one and hands it to me, then he begins to lecture me like i'm some 15 year old, and I'm 36. I manage to play through one game, and then this one is empty as well, (it was a 12oz tank) and I shot about 1/4 of the balls in the hopper. So I take it back and tell Larry it is empty, I need a full one. He looks at me and says, " So are you saying I gave you an empty tank?"

See I don't know how to take people like this sometimes. I supposed to be there for recreation. I just get to chunk a brand new tank, he rents me a tank that goes empty after renting me one that was empty, he's talking at me like I was a kid. .. I tell him that I manage to play all day on one 9oz tank before, yet I just ran out after one game with a 12oz tank? Of course he just rents me another tank, and starts telling me I need to listen to what he says because, 20years etc....

Had I not been there with co-workers I'd have imeediately left rather than listen to the defensive ramblings of a childish man.

At the end of the day I just want to pay and leave; I pay with a credit card and ask Larry to add $10.00 more to my tab so that it could be subtracted from the party member who bought all the paint. Larry said ok, but when i repeated the party member's name just to confirm which ticket he would be subtracting from he get's defensive again, and says something like, "What's with all the rhetorical questions with you anyways? Of course I'm going to do that. It would be stealing now if I didn't, now wouldn't it? etc. etc. , and on and on."

Again, I don't know what it is with this fellow, but I answered, "Well, I'm just trying to make sure we are clear." Now I can see him getting bent out of shape if I'm standing there refusing to pay, or haggling over price..... But This is no way to treat customers.

I'll not waste my time and money on this place again, and I would urge anyone going there to consider what I say here. Perhaps after doing this for 20 years Larry should consider handing it over to someone a little less paranoid.

KSchwantz

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Speenco Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PAINTBALL USA!!!! Tanks
Review: First of all... this place is noob central that clocks in 20-60 people a day! Lets see... The FPO rule is outragous, because the guy sells rec ball grade paint for lets say... 100 BUCKS! NO HPA fills which is a dumb thing this field has going. The ref staff! IT IS HORRIBLE! They have 1-2 refs at a time and they obviously have the woodsball (which isnt that great, I HATE IT). I quit paintball for months because of this place in the early days. To the guy who wrote the first review: You were wrong when you said they're paint didn't even cost that much, that is ludacris. Paintball USA is just better. You get your own table to lay out equipment, they have well priced food, both HPA and c02, and more than 6 fields, which include woodsball and speedball, and are evenly played. I am a ref there and we are not kids! We know what we are doing and learn about the sport at the same time we work. I could tell you right now, that you get more than 2 refs each day!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

bunkker Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
USA, Tanks, Twisted, Boondocks, etc.
Review: Let me put to rest all the questions and concerns about this field. Alot of people are bashing up on SGT and I honestly cant see why. Ive played every field in Texas, and alot of fields out of Texas, and I can honestly say SGT is one of the best establishments Ive been to. Let me tell you why:

Fields:
The fields are the best part of this place. Its 97acres divided into 6 different fields. These arnt tiny little fields with cheep looking wood nailed trees, or scattered with whatever the owner found in the trash. Im talking about a three story Castle built on concrete foundation. Or Six western style houses with roofs and windows that really make you feel like your in the old west. These are quality fields, you cant find a better set up.

Prices:
Ok, heres where everyones beef is. The prices are a little high. It is $100 per case, you have to pay per CO2 fill, and they dont fill HPA. But the owner is in the process of making many changes to the place. He has started a Bring your own paint day on Sundays which cuts costs alot, and its rumored hes looking into filling HPA. But let me put it this way, even at $100 a case the price isnt that bad. The style of the fields dont require as much paint as a normal speedball or Hyperball game, so you dont go through as much. And the fields are well worth the cost.

Staff:
The staff is awesome, there all over the age of 20, youll never find a little kid running the place. There also very knowledgeable in the sport. The owner Larry is usually there every weekend running the place, and he is an incredibly nice guy. If he isnt there theres usually two different people who run it. Matt or Eric, Both of which know how to run a business and are very helpful. Matt I suppose is somewhat of Head Manager. He will go out of his way to make sure your having the best time possible and do anything he can the make the experience better, If you have any problems go to him. He also tends to run The Paintball Store on 1960, so if your lucky enough (or unlucky enough) to go in on a day hes there I guarantee youll buy something. He knows more about the sport and equipment than anyone I know, and hes happy just sit there and talk to you about it. Youll recognize him If you see him, hes the Tall blond guy with the backwards cap.


All of these guys on here that ripped on this place dont know what good paintball is all about. Quality, knowledge, and experience is well worth the price, and If you still dont wanna pay that go out there on a Sunday and bring your own paint. If this place was as bad as everyone says, why would they be the longest lasting field in Texas.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

BlueBaller Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Village, Private Land
Review: This field is a great field for the guy or gal who likes a challenge. Not someone who's hoping to hit someone as they run from tire to tire or poke their head up from behind an inflated raft...want to get a little tactical? This is the place to go! Larry IS a nice guy and to prove that, he now allows people with their own equipment to bring their own balls on Sunday...that's right, BYOB...er...uh...or BYOP...depending on how correct you want to be. I will say my IQ is definitely not in the single digits and I like this field a lot. If you have a 2K + rig, why don't you have your own scuba tank like I do?...my gun wasn't 2 GRAND! any way, for good clean fun, without the hassle of a whinny pro, this is the place. I know for a fact Larry will be fixing a few things up and that will only make it better. This last weekend I saw 20+ people out there having a blast. Email me if you like. Parking is a bit bad, but not that bad. Just remember...if you're not having fun, you're doing it wrong.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 9th, 2004 at 1:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Ang3lB3 Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball usa, tanks paintball
Review: The fields here are great to start. The owner larry is a very nice guy and runs a pretty good buisness. Alot of people nail this place for overpriced paint but it pretty much evens out w/ usa due it field fee is only $5. If you are a new player I would suggest going here b/c there are not to many great players.They only have C02 fill and thats why its mostly newbs. But everyone is shooting the same paint and the reffs are nice and are pretty g00d. The only diss i have on this place is they T00K OUT SPEEDBALL! idk what they were thinking. I would say its a few bucks more than usa, but it has better fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

p8ntbll6 Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tanks Paintball
PB USA
Review: First of all this place is great playin fields.. Woods a nice castle and an old western town, the referee's there are pretty nice, my friend is a ref there, but the paint is way over priced and there are hardly any people there if you dont like crowds its a good place to go and make sure you have ur hp tank filled before you go there because he only fills co2 but other than that its a great field and i try to make it there as much as i can. if your just starting out and dont want to get slaughtered by angel ir3's all day then this is the place to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NapalmSniffer Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tanks World of Paintball, Twisted Games, Brazos Splat Games, Paintball Mania, etc...
Review: I was invited by an individual who was new to the sport. So I invited several players from a local group to go and play as well. We met the owner Larry. We soon learned he did not have N2 nor compressed air ONLY CO2. He said that he's been selling only CO2 for the last 20 years. His paint prices were through the roof ($100 per case of 2000 rds). He insisted that we use his rental equip instead of our markers priced $600+ that only use N2 or compressed air. We left immediately and went to a pb field with reasonable field and paints fees AND N2 / COMPRESSED AIR! If Larry wants to be competitive in today's market, he needs to get with the times & TECHNOLOGY. The only thing I can see is that his customer base is that of newbies or single digit IQ players with a trust fund.
Last edited on Friday, January 2nd, 2004 at 9:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Recon by Fire Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PGOP (closed)
Paintball Zone
Ultimate Paintball of Texas
Review: Stay away from this place! Practicly no parking available. Looked like it was all woodsball so if you like anything else you are out of luck. Prices were way above the other local fields, field paint was $100 a case when you can get the same at other fields for $40. The guy has absolutely no HPA or N2 available for customers! We showed up as a large group and half of us had to walk away without playing. When we asked about HPA fills the owner "Larry" told us: "I've been here for 20 years and never had any of that cr@p here, you guys can get rentals". Keep in mind i'm standing there with a $2K+ marker set-up in my hand! To top it off, there were no games going on and players were just sitting around the staging area because there were NO refs present. I cannot believe this field is even in business.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media