paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Outlaw Paintball Field / Outlaw Paintball Field / Outlaw Paintball Field / Outlaw Paintball Field

Outlaw Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 512-252-1664
Address: 1436 Grand Ave Parkway
Pflugerville, Texas 78660
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Capstan Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I used to play quite a bit of woods ball back in the 90's (no such thing as speedball back then) and have recently gotten back into the game a little with my son. Only other place I've played this year has been Paintball Challenge in Round Rock which, while having many flaws, is better than Outlaw.
Directions
to the Field:
From I-35, East on Grand Avenue Parkway about 1.5 miles, look for a small sign on the left which is easily missed.
Review: This field is strictly speedball, and there are 3 small playing areas. One is a bunch of wooden cable spools which offers a fair amount of cover. Another field is corrugated metal pipe which is either sawed in half and standing upright or laying horizontally. The cover is inadequate for more than about 4 players per side but frequently is used by as many as 10 per team. The third "field", if you can call it that, is a 2-story wooden structure surrounded by an earthern berm. This one is utterly ridiculous due to the fact that from the upper floor of the building you can shoot right down onto the players on the outside no matter where they are - what were they thinking?

I've been to this field twice. The place is run by teenagers, there is no adult supervision - and they need it. No safety instruction, lazy staff of adolescent goofs, and while they do have a chronograph set up nobody goes to it except by personal choice. My first time at the field was a fairly good experience in spite of the above, but the second time it seems that only one staff member bothered to show up for work. One guy for 50 players. I am sure I was shot several times by hot guns at insane rates of fire, and when I asked the (only) ref to see to it that everyone made a pass through the chronograph before the next game he didn't even understand what I was talking about. No paint checks, no armbands. There was a group of bad-attitude regulars hanging around, buddies of the ref from the sound of it, and they basically ripped everyone to shreds accompanied by plenty of overshooting. I left in disgust after about 2 hours and came home with a bunch of nasty bruises, I will never go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sflusch Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Petty's - Our favorite in the area, mostly because of the quality of people there.

Realm - Haven't been since it changed hands. When we'd go before, it was always over-crowded and there were a lot of "agg" posers.
Review: I went up to play on a Friday night, and I was really disappointed. I felt like I really overpaid for the experience I had. There were two groups there, a bunch of tourney players, and a bunch of rec ballers.

The tourney ballers sat around talking for a few hours before ever gearing up to play, so I hopped in with the rec ballers some, and had a fairly good time. The fields were SOAKED through and through, so people were slipping on mud all the time. I suppose taht's partly my mistake for going after it had rained the day before, but I sort of assumed they'd have had the foresight to set up a drainage system or something...

When the tourney ballers finally decided it was time to play, I hopped in with them, and we played on the airball course. Not bad, but it looked like it had been in the same configuration for awhile, e.g. the bunkers all had bare patches behind them. The field itself wasn't horrible, it certainly wasn't the best airball field I've played. It was REALLY open and the games ended in fairly quick order. Although they had lights up on the field, the lights really didn't do too much, and it was hard to spot people. I got most of my tags that day by just guessing where people were by the streams of paint shooting past me. The other problem was that the lights were a bit too low in my opinion, so you were blinded at certain angles.

I ended up packing up and leaving with a half case of paint left, because I was getting way too bored.

The pros for this field:
1) Friday night play - it's nice if you're going to have a busy weekend and can't make it out to play on Saturday or Sunday.

The neutral:
1) The fields - they weren't bad, but I've played far better rec and speed games at other local fields. Basically, mediocre.
2) The refs - Not great, not horrible, but definitely lazy. Stood on the sidelines and never really did paint checks. I think they were assuming that if you were ramped on hard enough you'd leave of your own accord. However, they did actually check your velocity before you played.

The bad:
1) The players - Some of the regulars got away with bending the rules, e.g. they were ramping, and in some cases definitely uncapped. The refs really didn't care, and off the field the refs were often going and talking with them about their "sweet new guns" even ripping off a few strings themselves out at the chrono area.
2) The facilities - Pretty junky, honestly. I wasn't expecting a Hilton or anything, but the facility - or the experience for that matter - wasn't at all worth the high price.

I ended up paying like $80 for paint and field fee. Only after I left did I look at my reciept and realize they'd charged me for Xball Silver, when I was playing with Xball Bronze (that would've saved me at least $10-20 if I'd been charged correctly). If I ever play here again (not likely) I'm going to bring my own paint.

Bottom line: It sort of felt like the staff were being forced to work there, and the players were so content to sit around they didn't really get around to playing much.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-Junkie Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas Paintball - Way overpriced
Petty's - LONG DRIVE...with 12 year olds reffing
Xtreme - My favorite (and its close to my job...dell on parmer)
Directions
to the Field:
One exit north of wells branch parkway on the east side of I-35
Review: The following are facts on my experience at this field:

~Presentation~
When I got there the first thing I noticed was how ragged out the place looked. I went into their trailer to gain entry and encountered a girl who had a very bad attitude about her job...I don't think she smiles much at work. Their staging area had picnic tables where you could set-up your equipment. I went to go fill my HPA tank and recieved whispered ridicule about my attire (tourney pants and blk t-shirt). Later I found out that the ones making jokes were the staff.

~Chronographing~
There was a referee who seemed to come out of no where (because he dressed the same as the players) to see us chronograph. He explained that ramping (very high rates of fire) was not allowed...even though the players he was joking with after chronographing us were in ramping mode.

~Playing~
The entire paintball establishment must have been on a 2 to 3 acre lot (not confirmed). They sub-divided that into 3 to 4 actual playing fields. The fields were so small that when our game began 2 of my teammates were shot immeadiatley.

Their was NO saftey briefing concerning goggles or barrel sleeves...which I thought was crazy because there were a few 13 year-olds there. There was no way to distinguish who the referees and staff were.

During a few of the games I was hit in places I could not see...so I was unsure of breakage. When I called for a paint-check the referees looked at me from a distance and kept on conversing about things not pertaining to their jobs it seemed. I think (not confirmed) that because of the rate of fire that they allowed...that they were afraid to get hit multiple times while doing paint checks. I called for paint-checks in later games to no avail.

I was told by one of the referees that the guys we were playing were going semi-pro which seemed strange because they seemed burned out from paintball. There was no comradery, laughing, smiling, cheering, etc. Even though I shouted "Good game." to them...it was never returned.

~Pricing~
21.65 was all I paid to bring my own paint...but even though it was cheap I'd much rather spend another 20 bucks at xtreme and have things like fun, saftey, and service.

~Overall experience~
This field gives paintball a bad name. Anyone willing to drop their under aged kid off their should have CPS called on them. I gave this field a 2 out of 10 because of the location.

As far as quality goes I'd rather play laser tag then at this place again.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

davidlanzi Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The thing I really enjoyed about this field was that it was open for NIGHT play for airball players. I played on a Friday night and the group that played there was friendly enough. There was only 1 bunkering, though the manager said it seems to happen maybe 3 times a night, tops. So, this is a good place for a newer airball player or a place to bring your kid after dark.

Customer service was great too!

I bought some x-ball bronze that was dimpled and they simply took it back and replaced it even though I'd shot a pod already.

Also, I brought the wrong lens (tinted) and since they didn't have a replacement lens, they sold me the one that was in another pair of goggles that was for sale.

Not a lot of places would do either of these things. It gave me a much better customer experience and because of it, I will go back.

Thank you.

*** UPDATE ***

I went back.

Well, I have to say my second experience with Outlaw was not as good as my first.

I went on a Sunday, and I guess this is team practice day. It seems that teams like to practice together and usually run their own line when they play. This is understandable, but since I didn't know about it. I paid for a field fee and a case of paint and had to just sit there and wait.... and wait... and wait.

When I finally got fed up with the situation, I spouted off to the refs. To their credit, they did then try their best to get some games together for the 6 or so non-team affiliated players. So, a thank you to them... but maybe they could have said something when me and my buddy show up in woodsballer type clothes (obviously not fitting in).

Lesson learned I guess.

Oh, and then were out of all types of paint except $50/case white box. Sucks when you're up against team players with case after case of free tourney paint.

So, I gotta drop my field rating from a 9 to an 8.
Last edited on Thursday, November 8th, 2007 at 2:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nex_Gen Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Kamikazi--- Good field, but I have hurt myself twice there.
Texas--- overprice and doesnt fit my playing style (tournament)
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to get to.... check out their site
Review: I love this field........

Good)
Good grass on all fields
Air ball changes every week
4 fields to choose from during the daytime (air ball only on Friday nights)
Night games on Friday are awesome
Nice staff-- Owner is really cool
Good prices
Nice amount of good players

Bad)
Nothing really
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vaderstein Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
no
Review: It is very cool
4 fields to play on which are good if you ahve a group of people you are playing with
friendly staff with helpful tips

the rental guns are not that good the paint on the guns are chipping and sometimes they miss fire.
drinks are over expensive
good shade
they have an airball field, one with a fort, spols, and a speed ball feild
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

OzWolf Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TX paint, Petty's Paintball, LPA
Review: Good place to go on Friday nights if your itching for paintball, but don't set your expectations too high.

Pro's
1.) The fields they had were well planned and set up nicely.
2.) The ref's were pretty cool.
3.) Open on Friday nights.
4.)The owner is a cool guy.
5.) Alot of the individuals there were also cool.
6.) Cheaper than TX paint.


Con's
1.) No room to expand.
2.) No lights for 3 of the 4 fields.
3.) Understaffed:
---> A. the girl running the register lackedcustomer service
---> B. Not enough refs for the fields
---> C. No one monitored the staging area.
---> D. No one checked the modes on electrics.
4.)Safety:
---> A. People will walk around without barrel bags.
---> B. No refs monitor the chrono
---> C. The nets are not attached to the ground, and are full of holes.
5.) Prices higher than other fields.
6.) Always see wipers (where don't you now adays tho)
7.) Some of the individuals can't back down and just say sorry ( not an aspect of field, but
the environment there).
Last edited on Friday, August 11th, 2006 at 11:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bushmasterpds Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tx paintball (overpriced but great fields)
Review: tottally awesome place to play. at first, it was a little intimidating to a few of my friends to play speedball,esp when they had never played before, but they got into it really quickly. i first heard about this field from Matt, a member of a team that would use the field to practice. i never really had any complaints about the place. the facilities are smaller than i think anyone would like. there is plenty of room to play however there are a limited number of fields. the whole staff keep it interesting. you can take vote on all of the detailed rules and if bunkering is desired by the group than it is allowed. the whole place really has a family type feeling to it. one of the refs. even let me borrow his new bushmaster while he was trying to fix mine. i would call this the best field for both location and staffing. you get a 9 just because you don't have room to expand.
ps. thanks for all the help with my gun
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tetsusaiga Saturday, July 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Constant action (like 2 years ago)
Review: liked the field x-ball was a blast. Hyper ball is a little open for my taste(big gaps between cover) and the fort forget about it. It took 20mins to get them out of the fort. Its not to bad as far as the play goes, I'm just somewhat impatient.

The X-ball is changing to the L.A. open course soon. I think he said in a couple weeks. Its still at the Chicago setting now.

Prices were fair and the group rate was $10 for rentals and field + paint. And $12.5 if u have ur own stuff. Groups of 10 or more players.

Liked it would defiantly go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Reddman Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas Paintball
Putt-n-Fun
Crossfire Paintball
Review: The Good - Cheep prices. Cheap food/drinks. Cheap rentals. Shaded staging area. The owner is nice. Their airball and spools fields are pretty good. Lots of "regulars" that play there often (i.e. Hillbilly).

The Bad - Ref's are often goofing off and not doing their job. It's not that much of a problem since most players are honest and play fairly. The fields get repetative real fast. Aside from their airball and spools fields, the others are just plain terrible. The trenches and castle fields are bad knock-offs from Texas Paintball.

The Ugly - Pro players with the best equipment money can buy are often paired up with casual players. There's been many games with Spyders vs Intimidators. Other times the player turnout is so low that no games can be played. The netting that protects the staging area resembles a hobo's shirt. Full of holes and badly patched. Their castle field is almost inpenatrable to attacks. The only cover for the attackers is low brush and that's only when the owner forgets to mow the lawn.

Overall I gave it a rating of 4 out of 10. It has potential but so far lacking in quality.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media