paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Ontario Paintball Challenge Paintball Field / Ontario Paintball Challenge Paintball Field / Ontario Paintball Challenge Paintball Field / Ontario Paintball Challenge Paintball Field

Ontario Paintball Challenge Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
14Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 208-741-0509
Location: Ontario, Oregon 97914
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
DarthWeinis Tuesday, January 25th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 9th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played at gotcha in Meridian before they closed and it was fun but doesn't compare to this place.
Review: The most awesome field I have ever played! I would recommend it to anyone. The staff are extraordinarily helpful.

I had played woods ball/outlaw ball hundreds of times, and played at least 20 paintball fields and this is the best.

It was about time to pack up and they were getting ready to close down, and after everyone left for the day, it was just me and my friend left. Since my friend and I had never played speed-ball, and we felt like we didn't get enough of the hurt on, they stayed open for another hour and a half reffing many 2v2 games with a professional speedballer!

They eat, sleep,and dream paint ball out there! They never were in a hurry to leave, and gave us soooo much info on the sport that we felt like real speedballers when we left!!!!

Too bad I live in Corvallis now, but every time I go back to visit relatives, I stop in to get some painting done!!!

10/10 all the way!!! Gotta go there!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jbadboy2369 Sunday, April 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none.
Review: Playing at O.P.C. was a blast! The two fields that I played on were awesome. The Village and the Castle.We played attack and defend. The way the fields are set up it is a lot easier to defend, so attacking is a challenge. Nate the owner is very knowledgeable on just about every kind of paintball gun there is and one heck of a nice guy. Field fees are reasonable so I would strongly suggest that everybody go at least once and see for your self what a blast O.P.C. really is.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dubfunkstar Monday, September 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Action, Splat Action is a stellar field and is much more developed and a much safer field to play at!!!
Review:

First off I had a great time being with all of our friends...It was very good to see all our friends!

The field wasnt all that bad. The water feature was outstanding. The field had alot to offer but at the same time needed somthing more. All the combat for whole event was in one area and really never changed! You could never push out the opposing force from there base since that was there only respawn. Then once we had a mobile respawn they could not push us from the woods since we were respawning right outside there base.

The total disregaurd for safety was incrediable. The National Guard was there playing in the game.....every single one of them would take there mask off in the middle of combat to de-fog after countless times of being told not to! Other players were doing the same thing aswell. I herd someone got nailed in the cheek while taking a mask off and still didnt put it back on.

We went in the safety area to get air and what not during the young guns speedball thing which was right nextto each other. The netting is so bad you had paintballs coming into the safety area. At the same time while getting air..a paintballer comes in the area with a aired up gun with NO barrel bag on it. We told him about 8 times to het abag on that and nothing...from him or the staff. It was like the staff didnt care. We were all waiting in line to get air and the guy filling just takes off to work on the kids with no bag instead of filling our air....

During the dinner break they decide to light off fire works. (just a note it was a extreme fire condition) Well somone thinks it will be funny to make a fire ball. Well they stick a mortor in upside down. I cant say anybody else thought it was funny...except the imature people there.

The lack of refs...(4 we think) was just wonderfull....no one to enforce anything...lots of wipping going on. Of course there were minor things in the rules..but those arent really big reasons. The fact that they said they were going to use on set of rules and actually used a diffrent set is annoying.

After thinking about it with a bunch of people we relized we never signed a waiver for the field. This brings to light, while everyone was breaking down camp and what not a kid shot himself in the face trying to take off his air. I know this isnt Onarios fault..but it still should not of happened if the barrel bag rule would have been enforced. I saw people using a glove for a barrel bag! There is no safety netting inbetween the game play area and the campsite

It seemed as the people running the event could not keep time at all. Games started 1-2 hours late. The call would come that game in 5 mins..when they still had to chrono 40 people. Night play was so off that there was no way to tell when game started....I think finally 2am.

I doubt I will ever return to this field.....I am sure people will say I am full of garbage and that OTC is the best field ever....So all I ask is that you go and see yourself. I feel Tacscn needs to do alot more work on producing a event if they want to be a big name in scenario ball!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Bennyboy23 Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I have been paintballin' for one year now, and i have gone to OPC every time. Nate, the really sole runner of the place is always willing to help you out when it comes to any questions you have, he lends out guns and barrels like no other, if you know him good enough he never charges for you to barrow a Big Shot or a mask. Field entry is 5$, Paint prices are great if your going for lower end stuff, I only shoot high quaility paint out of my phantom, so when i ran out of my marballizers which i order online i ended up buying a bag of anarchy from the field for 20$$$ !!!!! The batch was horrible too, i'll never buy high grade from the field again, ill stick to my online sources, but if you want to shoot field grade they have all you need for a good price. The field use to have a hug castle like fort on the other side of the river until this winter when our record rain fall and snow made the river cover the entire field, and wash away the bridge, sections of the castle, bunkers, and several speed ball courses. About speedball, Nate just Bought 9,000$ worth of speed ball course, there is two tournament grade courses each big enough for Five man, and they have a wide variety of obstacles. OPC also has a pretty nice woodsball, while it's only about 6 acres, its packed full of bunkers and thick grass and trees, aslong as enough scenario players show up on the weekend, you can have awsome battles in the area. Great field, great prices, great people, it doesn't get any better. 10/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NilartPax Tuesday, June 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat and Aktion Zone. OPC is the best out of those three.
Directions
to the Field:
A few miles past the airport in Ontario.
Review: I would like to start by saying thank you for providing a very good woodsball field. I am primarily a woodsballer and play around cascade/McCall. IT was nice to play woodsball somewhere where could get to meet new people interested in the sport and play with a larger number of people as well.

The price: 10$ field fee, 5$ all day air. Not sure on paint, used stuff from home.

The owner was nice, let people shoot an awesome gun he was working on, and was helpful in every way. If the guy who was helping me and my friends was not the owner than I hope he's being paid well!

General vibe of the place was interesting. There weren't tons of people and it was split about 50/50 with people preferring more speedball style and those that preferred woodsball, which caused some odd situations.

This place is very obviously into this sport and spreading it's popularity. Very good prices IMO. I hope they stay in business!

Only gripe would be lack of bathrooms (?)

rating:

Staff: 9.5

Field: 8.5

Prices: 9

Average: 9 Good job!

Last edited on Saturday, April 14th, 2007 at 8:55 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dewcraver Friday, October 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I believe I played my first "real" game here. I guess I have been playing here since I started playing pb.
Oh man, where do I start?

Good: An unending list. The owners, Nathan, in particular, are awesome. They want everyone to have an awesome time, and making money is secondary. Nathan once offered to take my gun apart with me since I didn't have a clue how to at the time; I never took him up on it, but that kind of commitment to customer service is rare. The CO2 prices are standard, not cheap or expensive ($5?). The entry fee is $5!! I guess the CO2 price makes up a little where the admittance fee lacks. $5 all day playing is ripping THEM off, in my opinion. Pop prices are not bad, 50 cents a can...

I'm not a speedball player, I don't enjoy playing it much at all, so I don't have anything to say about the hyperball field, except that it isn't bad. The castle... I can't decide about that. It's a mix between speedball and scenario. It is fun to play, but I like it when a smaller # of people are playing (i.e. not a big scenario war). Woods/field: the best part of the course. It is my style of play, and I would go every weekend to play that place if I lived closer...

Improvements that would be nice: Restrooms; I'm not sure if there is running water out there or not, so this may not be possible. Note: they do have portapotties.
The castle area: the castle could use some TLC, but my main beef is that the second story walls are too short. The tunnel could have a little more head space as well...
The speedball field: Like I said, I don't play that tra$h, so I have no problems with that part of the field...
The woods/field: More cover, i.e. hay bales, in the field... A bridge across the little swamp area? Maybe some bunkers half-way in the woods...
The bridge going across the river needs some attention, but I'm sure it will be taken care of very soon... The staging area is kinda dirty (it is natural to a certain degree), so perhaps a sweeping more often, and more garbage cans...
I don't expect all of this to be done, as the owners have lives outside of pb, so they are just suggestions.

I would recommend this field to anyone; it is fun to play and the customer satisfaction is high. It also makes pb affordable for the player on a budget. I give this field a 9 out of 10, and I heard that it would be expanding permanently, so perhaps a 10 if that happens.

One final note: Ontario Paintball Challenge is NOT run or owned by Kurt Branham, owner of Aktion Zone. Aktion Zone hosts games there once in a while, but they don't own the place... that is a different story see reviews on them to see what I'm talking about.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

deadeyedink Thursday, September 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mainly just sections of woods
Review: I've played rec ball here for quite some time, and have never had a bad experiance. Rules are simple, people are friendly, and always new people showing up. They have a bit of everything for everyone. (woods, castle, speed ball, air field once in awhile, alamo, and from what i hear there gonna have sort of an urban "city" area soon).

For anyone wanting to take a group to play or just play solo, this is the place. You can always find a group to mix in with and games are running constanly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pacman1961 Wednesday, July 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Aktion Zone, Splat Action, many outlaw fields. None as good as this field.
Review: This will be a short review, but more will come in the future. I have played at OPC for three years at scenario games put on by Aktion-zone. I have really liked playing at this field. I continue to play there even though when others (not the owners) have run the games, the rules and safety are relaxed to say the least. The field owners are great and have agreed to sponsor our scenario team (TeamSPUDS). In return for their sponsorship, we (TeamSPUDS) will be committing a lot of man hours in sweat-equity to improve the field from its current size (14+ acres) to enable play on 140+ acres.

To kick off this new and improved field development, the TeamSPUDS scenario production crew, "TacScn Productions", in conjunction with OPC, will be putting on its first true 24 hour scenario game this fall (Oct 15-16, 2005), "Bloodlands 2005". We should have the TacScn.com website up and running by August, with plans to be updating the OPC web site as well.

Now - back to the field review. The current field has, as everyone else has stated, a river, woods, speedball field, and a 2-story castle. It is also fairly flat (ok, it's really flat). The safe zone is in the middle of the current playing area, making it kind-of awkward to run a large scale game. Remember I just said awkward, not impossible as we make the best out of the situation.

The river is one of the best parts of the field. There are several places that are safe to cross, with the water level ranging between knee and thigh level. Cross else-where, and you'll be swimming in the swift current and wondering why the river runs green with paint.

Another great part is the Castle. Even though it is starting to wear, it is still a fun objective to assault and defend. There are only two entrances, one from a tunnel, and the other, the only door (which faces the river to the west). Most defenders forget to guard the river access because the usual assault comes from the south. No portals on the second level makes it a little hard to look about as your head and gun end up sticking out over the top of the wall, very conspicuously. Sending an assault team across the river or down the river bank (on-the same side as the castle) are typical ways of sneaking past the usual defenses.

The woods: Great woods. There are natural bunkers, and many firelanes to be had. I just wish there was more of them (woods that is).

There is also what I like to call, the farm. It's an open field between the woods and the river, south of the safety zone. With the river bank being about 8 feet below the ground level, it makes a great area to flank teams in/from the woods.

The Speedball field, well, since I'm more of a woodsball/scenarioball guy, I'll just say that I have heard a lot of speedballers having a lot of fun on it. We've used it during scenario games and it has made for some interesting action (but that's another story).

Over the next 3 months, we hope to transform the other 130+ acres into a giant scenario field that could hold several simultanious games, or one big game (like Bloodlands 2005) with over 500+ players. The owners have some great ideas and we have a lot of plans for the field. Come back in a few months and look for updated posts covering the new changes and challenges at OPC.

Currently I rate OPC an 8 out of 10. After we, and the owners get through this next upgrade, it'll be a 10+ for sure. At least that's our plans.................
Last edited on Thursday, August 25th, 2005 at 3:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sk8erjoel Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
sandhollow, just outside of caldwell idaho
Review: Best field i have played. They only have one hyper ball field now, the spools and air field are gone. Castle is fun there isn't a lot of options when you are in it but it is still a blast. the woods is the best i think, it is nice and big with lots of trees. The price of paint is a little high, but they let you bring your own so its all good. Cost is 5$ entry fee and 10$ for all day air. All in all i give it a 10 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LuckShot Saturday, August 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Aktionzone, and splat
Review: Ontario Paintball Challenge has to have the most friendly staff and owners around, that are highly conserned with everyones needs. Their number one goal is to make everyone happy and to have fun. For example if you forgot ur mask and your air tank they'd let you borrow them for free most likely.

price is greet and they have a good selection of paint.

The field is over 100 acres conisting of 2 speed ball fields larger woods area with a small base on the river, large 2 story castle and a foot brige spanning the river.

Every year they hold the Idaho Cup and have 2 annual D-day senario games with boats, tanks, mines, gernades, ect. they also have started having night games with glow in the dark paintballs.

Although the field is'nt always open everyday if u call them they will always come out and open it up for u and ur friends to play. Even if you call and ask to feel up a Air tank and no one is out there they'll meet you out at the field and fill it.

You cant go wrong coming to play in ontario i just wish that there would be more of a turnout so i could come play everyday..........
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media