paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Camp Paintball Field / Camp Paintball Field / Camp Paintball Field / Camp Paintball Field

Camp Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Pottle Street
Kingston, Massachusetts 02364
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Jimmy Hoffa Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
P&L Indoor, that horrible ripoff in bridgewater, boston paintball
Review: I started coming to Camp Paintball when a buddy of mine was having team practices there in 1999; i was just playing recball while Stu (the manager, who is a really down-to-earth, nice guy willing to answer any question) would send a ref off with his team to run team practices, which underscores the fact that if you show up with a group, they'll let you stay together and by yourselves if you want.

The refs are easy on the newbies, and stiff on the guys who have experience, which is how it should be. they're also mostly tourney players who will offer some advice or comment if you ask for it.

In the last several years, they've gone from a cruddy speedball field and a broken down fort field you couldn't use to a good 5-area field, complete with a well-constructed fort that offers good offense and defense capabilities.

If you bring your own equipment they let you use your own paint, which is a HUGE plus, they even let you use your own air tanks as long as you know what you're doing. These two things are incredibly cool, IMHO.

As stated, the only real drawbacks are the mosquitos (not their fault, it's the WOODS, for cryin out loud) and the lack of bathrooms (don't bring a steak sub for lunch).

All in all, the best value in recball and tourney practice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Riot[Z-Grip] Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ultimate Paintball (one course, indoors, appears to be well run and is often kept very clean, staff is professional though some staffers hold their own opinions in a little bit too high regard)
Paintball Heaven/PNL Bridgewater (only played there a couple times under old management, I can't really comment on the current state of the field except that the owner has always been nice to me when I've visited his other stores/fields)
Painball Alley (falls under the same category as PNL Bridgewater, only played there under old managment, I remember the field to be small and not set up too well, don't know if that has changed or not)
Cape Cod Paintball (have played here only at PNL Series Tournaments and AO NE Days, can't comment on what regular rec days here are like, several fields: airball, hyperball, woods speedball, all well kept, would consider playing here for rec days if it weren't farther away than some other fields)
Review: The Good
Friendly Staff
Good Prices
Diverse Field Types (Speedball-esque, Woods, Forts, "The Gauntlet," possibility of airball fields in the near future.)
Diverse Game Types (the staff will work with you to play whatever type of game the group wants to play; Speedball, Small + Large woods games, "Tower to Tower" capture the flag, etc.)
Great Group of "Regulars" (regulars take an active role in safety both on the field and in the staging area, will support you no matter what gear you use: electro, semi, pump, rentals, essentially the single greatest group of paintballers I've met. After my year of playing at Camp, I am glad to call most of these regulars my friends.)

The Tolerable
Mosquito Problem (in the summer there gets to be a fairly substantial mosquito population at the field due to the swamp area, find a brand of repellent that works for you and this is no longer a major concern)
Lack of Toilet Facilities (this may or may not be a problem for you, I personally can deal with it, which is why I listed it under this heading)
Concessions Are Sporadic (fixed by bringing food or going to the nearby convenience store, pizza place, or McDonald's)

The Bad
Lack of Speedball Fields (while for some/most this is tolerable, I enjoy this type of play most and do miss it at this field, should be remedied in the near future with the addition of airball fields, problem is out-shined by the fun you have in other games due to the great group of regulars and excellent staff)


Overall Camp Paintball is a great experience. Anything that may seem bad is far outweighed by the good. I would recommend this field to anyone interested in paintball, and am glad to call it my home field. Hope to see you there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

monkeyman73 Thursday, December 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox4, executive paintball, p&l bridgewater, ultimate paintball, boston paintball, paintball alley, and so on and so on
Review: The goodness-
its close
regulars discount
prices are very competitive
safety is the primary concern (if the refs don't yell at you for mask lifting its because the regulars already did)
flexibility (you choose the game you'll play)
friendliness, no matter who you are they treat you as one of their own.
open class, no matter what type of set up you use they can accommodate it and the players don't judge you ( wanna use an electro, cool, wanna use a blow back, cool, wanna use a pump , cool, wanna go stock class, cool, they love all kinds here. we had a pump/stock class day for a friends birthday and it was one of the best days ive ever played.)

not so goodness-
summer time you will require large amounts of bug spray.
no bathrooms. (other than a tree)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Demslam Thursday, November 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: The good
-Great Prices
-BYOP if you have your own equipment
-Safety #1 Priority
-Finally has HPA
-5 different fields that can be combined to have big games
-Reduced prices for Regulars

The bad
-The bugs (Bring bug repellents)

Thats about it the fields are great and the regulars always are always willing to help others if they are having a problem with there markers. Camp also plains on adding in 2 new fields a sup air and hyper ball I don’t know when that will happen hopefully soon…


PS yeah I know I have terrible English
Last edited on Thursday, November 6th, 2003 at 1:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

EqualsP Wednesday, November 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cape Cod Paintball
Ultimate Paintball
Randolph Paintball
Hanson Paintball
Boston Paintball
P&L Indoor
ESP
Review: the Good:
Cheap
Deals for Regulars
BYOP (with own Equipment)
Relaxed Atmosphere
Woods, Speedball and Fort fields
The Regular Players - everyone looks out for everyone else - A.N.T.
HPA

5 defined fields. Fields can be combined or limited to allow for different game times from Full Field capture the flag or 4 Team games to a Small "Gauntlet" game

Safety First - Enforced by the Field owner, Refs AND the Regular Players

Fun Second - Games are usually suggested by the players and you can play what you want. It's not like some large fields where you are shuffled around to cover as much of the field as possible, only playing on each field a few times.

"Best kept secret on the South Shore" - Little advertising is done, so only the dedicated paintballers who stumble accross it via Word of Mouth Play here. We are a tight knit group. every style of gun is welcome, as long as you leave your Bad Attitude at home.

The Bad:
Mosquitos - Bug repellant is a must
No Power - Cash/Check only
no onsite Bathrooms
Last edited on Friday, May 7th, 2004 at 1:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

backfire2k3 Sunday, August 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball heaven, larger and under new management?
Review: Camp paintball is a well run outdoor rec-ball field in the woods. We play there pretty often and always have a good time. We really like the tire field, lots of action, and I really know all the sweet sniper spots. Our squad can beat most anybody on the tires. You can find Camp paintball really easy. Nice guy who runs it too. Paintball Heaven is just too big I guess, and needs some work.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

comovartia Tuesday, July 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Heaven(gone) Great fields bad management & Refs High paint prices
Ultimate: Indoor speed ball. Small but well run
Fox 4 Paintball: My other favorite field
Review: Camp paintball is the ultimate rec ball field. Very well run. Reasonable costs. Lots of regulars who are there to have fun. Owners and refs are friendly and knowledgeable. The also do not bad mouth other fields but talk highly about the other good fields in the area. Safety is of the utmost importance. Next is having a good time. I would highly recommend that if you are looking to go shoot some paint and have a good time to check out Camp Paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rathbaster Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox4 (Larger but further from me, my home away from home.)
Ultimate (Speedball only, indoors so good in bad weather)
Showtime (mostly outdoor speedball)
P&L Bridgewater (Very close by but very expensive)
Review: The Good

Safety:
First concern, excellently enforced.

Reffing:
Fair and impartial. Regulars get no special treatment.

The Regulars:
Also fair and impartial.

Prices:
Competative field fee and paint prices. BYOP allowed with your own equipment.

Discounts:
Camp Paintball is unique in that it advertises discounts for regulars. These are not under the table type deals, but if they get to know you, they let you play cheaper. This encourages a regular contingent of people who are all friendly and helpful. Sine you can BYOP you can play very inexpensively here.

Pump Friendly:
I am a stock class player and get mixed reactions at some fields. Camp Paintball is a great place to play pump. The field owners like pump players and there are several regulars who will play pump when they have little money for paint or when they are feeling like going against less experienced playerson more even terms. There are a growing number of stock class players at Camp Paintball as well.

The Neutral
Bring bug repellant, a swamp is a prominant part of the fields.

The Bad
-As of 9/22/03 no bathroom facilities.
-No onsite water.
-Concessions: Currently (as of 11/15/03) variable.

Overall:
I give the field a 10 out of 10. I like having aplace I can go as a regular and call my home field. Camp Paintball is safe, well run and affordable. It is not a huge field like Fox4 but it is a friendly place close to home where I can play recball.

I update my reviews on occasion to keep them up to current conditions.
Last edited on Thursday, November 20th, 2003 at 8:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media