paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / DFW Adventure Park / DFW Adventure Park / DFW Adventure Park / DFW Adventure Park

DFW Adventure Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
52Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 817-854-0085
Address: 13055 Cleveland-Gibbs Road
Roanoke, Texas 76262
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
eddiev2241 Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xadrenaline
Review: Have gone twice with a 20+ group. Like the fields. Refs are OK (better the first time we went). Prices aren't too bad (better than Xadrenaline group pricing). Was disappointed in the way they handled getting the games going though. They told us we could be there at 8am to get all the pre-game stuff completed so we could be playing by 9am. They did not open the doors until 8:45 which meant we did not start playing until after 9:45 (and still had to be done by 1pm which meant our last game was about 6 minutes long).
If you can get a group together, they'll let you play two very nice woods fields (Deep Woods and El Grande) at the back of their property. They even have a 2nd Headquarters back there for Air and supplies. El Grande lives up to its name and is huge with lots of natural cover. The local woodsball/scenario team, Texas Roughnecks, have built a tower and plan on building an entire fort around it. It looked really nice. Unfortunately the refs would not let us go in it.
They have probably 12+ fields. Several woodsball, a few Hyper Ball, and 1 airball. Both times we have been the Airball has not been blown up (Ok with us since we like woodsball).
Overall liked it better than Xadrenaline because of field variety and pricing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dfwballer777 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
FOTR, XDren, Mountasia
Review: I love dfwap it is an awesome field, it is especially nice now most of the riftraf who worked there have now either quit or been fired and the manager Sam has really turned things around, The refs are all very expirenced (as players and refs) and the fields are amazing and the long wait times are completeley gone(i play there every weekend) heck sometimes u dont have enough time lol...but with fields from airball to Grande(forest) it can satisfy any ballers need

In conclusion DFW is a awesome filed that everyone should atleast play at once.

and ps i would say that all the threads about the park before the 2005-2006 new year are no where near the same as the park is now and would really like anyone that hasnt been there in a while to come out and try it agian u wont be disapointed
Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 10:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

weesnawl_27 Monday, June 26th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 25th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
painball paradise
Review: Ok if you are a serious painballer, [someone that doesnt think that wal-mart has great painball equipment] dont go here its soo wierd you feel like a unwelcome guest there always, loading you on the tractor then unloading you. I only go there now and then beacuse my dad's company goes there, but I dread going there. Prices are way too high I mean who can afford to play every month or so 25$ to get in 18$ for all day air about 60$ for a case of diablo heat it totals up to 103$ GEEEZE. Do you self a favor and don't go there unless you're a richy rich person. Go somewhere else like painball paradise if you want to have fun, or even mad ivan or xdrenaline. You'll be very dissapointed
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

paintballbranno Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The mountasia park (which absoulutely stunck i will never play there again they wont even let u use ur own paintand the feilds are super bad)
Review: Dfw adventure park is an amazing field great freindly staff and an amazing tech.

Fields which range from enomous woods ball fields and speed ball fields that are extremely fun to play on.

Always tons of people there, which makes for long intresting games.

the only thing I dont like about DFW is their paint prices its pretty expensive but worth it.

i highly recomend this field to all players in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

timthedrummer Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Paradise- Best field I have ever been to
No other ones in this area...
Review: DFW has a very large selection of fields, and their refs are very strict, like they should be. Their prices are a little steep, but they have a LOT of fields, so it kind of makes up for it. The wait between games is a little long, but they go out, play two games and come back, so there are two back-to-back games, with no opportuinty to refill air or paint. I would reccomend a large CO2 or HPA tank and at least a 4 pod, 140 round tube harness. Overall, this field was great!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Machine_Gun_Guy Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fun on the Run, Mad Ivan's
Review: I played this last weekend at The Pegasus Bridge Scenario. I haven't played a lot of paintball before but what I have has been scenario woodsball. The place had cool fields and a lot of good bunkers. The woodsball fields were great with the scenario. Me and my squad got lost in the woods once. It was awesome because we got to sneak up on some unsuspecting enemies. The refs were cool and Bill was really nice to. Overall I really like the park. I'm going to go play some paintabll there one Saturday cause I really enjoyed the field. I also got to play with some refs who work there. I thought that was cool cause I got to know those guys. Whenever i play anywhere else the refs just ref. I know those refs are good now. They were really funny and cool to play with. Those guys are good to. I recomend this field. Also they have a nice building. its got a proshop, bathrooms and air conditioning to help keep you cool after a game.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Evil_Sniper Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played most of them in the area.
Review: I have to give DFW Adventure park credit. I have been to some pretty cruddy fields in my days as a baller, but this park is by far the best out there. Located in a dusty Drought ridden area east of the Texas Motor Speedway. The Trip there has become easy since most of the construction along 114 is done. If you are headed there via 114 west WATCH YOUR SPEED ON THE WAY THERE! Trophy Club police are out clocking near The Solana Complex almost every time I go out there.

But to the point: This field has seen some amazing growth over the last 2 years. Every Saturday and Sunday I can guarantee people will be there playing. That is a definite plus. Keith(The Former Manager) helped keep things going. When he left, things got a little shaky, but this new manager (I think his name is Sam) really seems to be trying to get things back in shape. Already things are great. There are definitly some good refs out there too. Corey and Sam always keep things moving. Sam is an awesome gun tech and has helped me out with some problems. There are definitly some idiots there too. I'm talking players and refs. I was playing walkons back in december or so and a ref and a regular customer got into a shouting match. You have to watch out for some of those guys. It happens though. Also there are a few lazy refs who would rather stand on the sidelines and hold their crotch instead of get on the field and check players. A couple of the refs need to get some pink tutu's and take up ballet since they don't want to get shot. Since Keith left, I have preferred Sundays for play because the staff seems to have a little better idea of how customers should be treated. Chris has been a great help. He always greets you with a smile and a nod and is ready to help. I have seen him run the place alone with no help in sight on some busy Sundays. You might have to wait a minute while he helps another customer, but he'll come running over to help you as quick as he can. Peter has been great when reffing walkons, and he definitly has his act together. His games go smooth, and we spend a lot of time on the hyper ball field. Taylor has also been becomming an excellent ref as the year has gone on too.

OVerall, I Love playing at DFW. They are doing a great job putting an excellent field together. In an industry that has been riddled with crappy mediocrity and attitude, they are stepping out as a definition of how a paintball field should be.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 7th, 2006 at 6:16 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

xrayj Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 31st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played Xdrenaline, which is comparable but smaller.
Review: The strengths of this park are that the fields are good sized and the restrooms and tables are adequate. The chief weaknesses of the park are that most fields are reached by a tractor pulling a trailer which makes the wait between games longer, and some refs are very disrespectful of players.
The owner has done a good job developing the property for playing paintball, but not as good a job in managing the people side of the operation. While most of the refs are reasonably nice, they are all young. Many of the refs would rather be goofing off than taking care of business. The goofing off can also add to the long waits between games.
Because private parties are often present, and seem to get priority treatment, regular folks again wait longer and may not get to play the field they would like. If you push the refs to get the game going, or for a paint check during a game, some refs will stack the next game against you so you get shot up. Many refs will refuse to respond to a paint check call at all unless you happen to be a friend of theirs, in which case a virtual strip search will be done looking for paint.
By way of petty torments, one ref has resorted to refusing to let a father and son who wanted to play together play on the same team. The management so far as I have seen tends to let the refs do pretty much as they please. Its sort of like the novel "Lord of the Flies" where the fifteen year olds are ruling this little island, and if you don't stay on their good side you will be made to suffer.
If you draw one of the better refs like Alex, Corey, Sam or Tinan, you'll probably have some good games. If you are less lucky, you may find yourself wondering why you spent thirty bucks to sit there at a dusty, paint smeared table all day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

2lucky Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 31st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Haven't played Xdrenalin in 11 months, so I really don't know how well it's run now. When last I played there the focus was primarily airball and the facility as a whole is rather small.
Review: DFWAP has great fields and lots of them. The refs are all nice guys, but some rarely leave the sideline for paint checks. It seems to be a combination of laziness and a natural aversion to paint ball welts.

It's not uncommon to have the refs address the guests in a beligerent tone - kids and adults alike. And this attitude is often from refs that are under 16 yrs. old. This just doesn't sit well with your average adult guest.

The primary drawback to this facility, as the reviewer below points out; way too long between games. The refs goof around in the pavillion sometimes for 10-20 minutes after the customers are ready to go play. Even when you reach the field they sometimes play amongst themselves for 5-10 minutes while 20-40 people are waiting to be divided up to get the game started.

30% of the time, if you want a 4,500 lb. nitro fill your out of luck - they don't have the air. When they do have it, many of the employees don't know how to dispense it. You have to wait for someone that does. They can always fill you to 3,000 lbs, but that's just not enough to play more than one long game with a DM5. All day air is $18. That seems too steep when they can only offer the 3,000 lbs.

They have promised the service will be improving soon. I hope they're right.

I've played here every single weekend but one for the last 11 months, normally bringing my son and his friends. We'll be playing elsewhere for the foreseeable future. I hope things improve and wish them the best.
Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 1:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kaze Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
hit and run
Review: played there today with a church group, and this is worse than hit and run go there instead, the employees were unfriendly and would not fill my tank for 30 minutes because they didn't feel like it, then broke the o ring and that took another 30 minutes of them complaining. This fields only positive thing is that the fields were good , but there were no boundaries.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media