paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / DFW Adventure Park / DFW Adventure Park / DFW Adventure Park / DFW Adventure Park

DFW Adventure Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
52Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 817-854-0085
Address: 13055 Cleveland-Gibbs Road
Roanoke, Texas 76262
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
SuperMax Monday, September 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenalin - #1 in area
Fun on the Run - :-/
Mountasia - #2 in area
Review:
Long wait in between games, good refs, fields were pretty cool, well built. The paint was very expensive, I had to use a rental because my marker was messed up ~ they graciously allowed me to put the paint I brought in it ~ the rental was a Pirnaha GT and shot like crap. I broke 12 balls for every 200 [ and my paint was a good fit for it ] and after I broke a few balls the marker gave in on me - I couldn't shoot more than 25 feet and they curved like crazy ~ 12-15 feet at least for each shot! I'd cleaned in every time with my squeege and it still sucked.


6 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

knucklebone04 Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mad Ivans and Fun on the Run
Review: The location is great, the setup is great, and possibilities are endless. It is just very unfortunate that bad referees can make the possibility of a fun expirience into something somewhate of the opposite. While playing, the three referees that were with our group continually talked to us while we were playing, repeatedly giving away our location to the other team. Multiple members of our group were ready to get in an altercation with one of them, before coller heads prevailed. The referees were also so busy talking to one another during one game that multiple players were seen rubbing paint off of their masks and markers so as to not be eliminated. It is assumed that with three referees, they would be spread out viewing the entire playing field, however this was not the case, as they were huddled up in one corner. Like I said, great facilities and possibility, but bad referees can change the expirience, for better or worse.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBplaya001 Monday, June 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Farmers branch Paintball
Loki Paintball
About to go to Fun on the Run and Fort
Review: This was my first field, and it is not bad at all. I go there a lot with my team for fun or to practice with the walkons. A LOT of people show up to this field so it is a lot of fun, especially having 11 different fields to go on (I haven't been to all of them yet)

HyperBall-
Awesome field. Netted and lighted, right next to the pavilion area.

Trench-
This field is the best recball field I have played on. It is massive, 2 fields are splite by a trench running along side of them so it is a big fight.

Mounds-
Like 5 6 foot hills right after another in a row and the middle one has a tunnel through it. This field is pretty intense because you have to run over the hills while getting shot at.

Ponds-
Awesome castle field with a pond on the side with a bridge accross and a road on the other side.

Spools-
A huge spool field, what else can I say.

Power Station-
This is a great woodball field, one defensive side defending an awesome fort, and one attacking.

Deep Woods-
Haven't been here yet but heard its a blast.

Airball-
Awesome airball field from what I hear, and they have nightball here on saturdays.

Now for the Service

Refs-
They used to get complaints but lately they have gotten a lot better. They are really cautious with saftey and even though most of them are young they pay attention.

Service in general-
The service is great, awesome concession stand, nice pavilion area, and if your gun is screwing up they usually fix it for free there. And the price isn't bad either. Go to nightball its awesome.
Last edited on Monday, June 7th, 2004 at 4:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MAJ. RaZoR -MR- Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None yet.
Review: This was the first actual field i've played on. usually i play on the land we own. Anyways.. i played this weekend. Friday night on the lit up speedball field, and saturday in the woods, trench, and mounds field. The lit up speedball field was a blast. Back in the woods was a lot of fun too. plenty of bunkers and natural bunkers as well. The grass was tall so you can lay there and pop a guy right up close without him even knowing. (yes, i was the one who recieved the pop) The trench field was also fun. theres 2 sides with bunkers, and a trench that runs down the middle and you can go through it and sneak up on ppl, and use it for cover. Mounds was really fun. theres an up hill that goes into a pit, followed by another hill and a pit with bunkers in it. Then there are 2 more hills with pits in between where the other team starts.

The refs were good. out in the forrest they are mostly teenage kids, but they do thier job well. On the speed ball field the guys are older and know more what their doing.

The biggest complaint i have with um is the bathrooms are dirty and the smell bad, but hey.. their bathrooms.

Very Very fun field and experiance. hope to go back soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zakiah7 Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fun on the Run
Review: My family and I played again yesterday in the rain and the mud! It was a great day in spite of the weather. The fields are very good! They seem to make improvements every week. This Park has the best refs around! They are very patient with the newbs and are very careful concerning safety.
I have found less cheating here than anywhere, so if you are a cheater this is not the place for you to come. Hehe You will be removed from the game! And good riddance to you.
I bring 4 to 7 people with me every time and there are usually one or two that are new to the field. They have all loved it.
There were 2 or 3 large groups ahead of us yesterday and it still only took about 5 minutes to check in and get our paint and one rental marker.
As far as prices go, I don't have any problem with anyone in business making a profit from paint or equipment. No profits = no park! Duh!
The management is very helpful and friendly and told me they wanted constructive criticism. That is always a good sign to me that they are on the path of success.
We arrived at 1pm. and were on the first field by 1:20. No long delays for walk ons at all.
We played 8 times by the 5 pm close. This included taking a 40 minute break to catch my wind and repair on of the markers we use.
The last thing. The player to ref ratio is usually very good. Even though the refs are young they are very serious about doing a good job and making sure that everyone has a great time. I saw refs encouraging many players (mostly newbs) and helping them to understand some of the strategy needed to play specific fields. They were quick and fair on doing the paint checks, help with equip probs, firm with safety, and clean with conversation.
This is a great park for families, churches, groups, etc. I think it must be really good for the very competitive young (late teen, early 20) crowd as well. Those guys were all grinning the whole day.

Thanks to the Owner and his great crew for all the hard work.

zakiah7
Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2004 at 8:08 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bustinballs Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fun on the run, mid-cities, mad ivans
Review: ever since i began playing paintball i started here cuz i didnt want to pay alot on my first time i play thinking i may not like it. but i loved it there the fields where fun and there are also a lot of them and they have an experced walk on group and a novice walk on group so u dont have to worrie about gettin your but kicked. the refs are great the cost is cheap friendly people. maybe after a month of going there and bying my own beginer gun i went to mid-cities to try out a new place. and i thought if i would have come to mid-cities first i would have given up paintball right there. so i thank dfw for hookin me on to paintball havent had more fun out side since.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Be0da0o Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fun on the run- i like the speedball/hyperball better at fotr
Review: I think this field was really fun, especially the hyperball and lagoon. I'v gone there 1times. i really like this place, and it is as good as fun on the run if not better for woodsball, and almost as good as fun on the run with their airball field. I reccomend this field to anyone who wants to have fun with birthday partys or church groups.
Last edited on Saturday, June 18th, 2005 at 9:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hijodelsol Monday, December 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Official Paintball, Denton
Review:
Ok... I wrote a review a while back and said it had great possibilities... and it still does. But the Ref problem is still bad.

After not going there for a while we decided to try again. They have rearranged a few fields and are starting to play some of the fields that they previously ignored. For the first time ever, they had very short wait times between games. (I am hoping this stays consistent). They still insist on playing the Mounds field, which the majority of people hate, but other then praying for enough rain to wash it away, I think we are stuck with that.

The refs however are PATHETIC. They take no interest in reffing the game and stand (usually together so they can talk) at the sideline and make paint checks from 100 feet away.

Fix the refs, keep the wait times short, keep it fresh, and people will happily come play there.


Original Review...
It is a good park with great possibility. They have several fields and they all play pretty well. They could probably take a trip to Official paintball and get some ideas on how to make some better wooded fields, but what they have is not bad. The only downfall is the lack of interest by the refs. They usually have a bad Ref to player ratio and their interest in doing paint checks and actually reffing is sad.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 at 10:28 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wUrFanTasyPball Saturday, October 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mad Ivans.- Its Horrible. I think the paint has been there since they moved in.- DFWAP you cant even compare!!
Review: First im going to start out by saying to my fellow guys that there is this one really hot chick that works there. No doubt. I can tell you for real that this is one of the main reasons i will be returning to this field for sure!! And she knows a lot about paintball!

Anyway. THe paint is really cheap and the refs are really cool. They make paintball fun. I also noticed that they make you feel really comfortable when you first walk in. THey always say hello and greet you with a smile. They have an airconditioned building and they even have showers with hot and cold water. DFW is a great field and i will def. be returning to this place. It is not only a place to play great paintball but they also have canoeing, ATV trails and a soon to be rock climbing wall.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

csj0017 Saturday, October 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boonie Rat Paintball (Denton), Fun on the Run (Ft Worth), Paintball Paradise (Rhome), Mad Ivans (Ft Worth)
Review: Pros:

- Grounds Setup; When you first pull into the parking area you can feel this is not some "thrown together field in your friend's backyard". There is a large building that houses the rental area, pro shop, concession and group activity area. You also get a to see the netted speedball field just adjacent to the the main building.

- Cover staging/pavilion area; This is a nice way to spend time in between games. It's covered and has plenty of picnic tables to hold you equipment and supplies.

- Shower area; Very nice to have especially in the summer. Assuming you ask permission it's a great way to finish off you your day there. Anyone who has been in Texas for any extended period of time can attest that nothing beats being able to shower off after running around in 100+ degree weather.

- Personable staff and players; very nice plus to this field. Everyone from the Refs down to the regulars there can off as comfortable to get along with. No one made me feel like I was some sort of outsider. I have been to some fields were it was evident the cliques that were going on from the outset, I saw none of this here.

-Price; Inexpensive can describe it. $10 field fee(full day)/ $10 paint fee (can be waved if you buy at least $10 in field paint)

Cons:

-Limited staff; God bless them but there weren't enough refs to go around the day that I was there. At the biggest there were 70-75 players there and only 4 refs. They needed at least double that.

-Wait time between games; Quite possible due to the first con but there was an average of 20 mins in between games. It could be different on other days but no the day I went out there.

-Field rotation; For some reason they limited use to 4 fields- Speedball, Spools, Powerstation, and the Trench (my favorite by far). Would have loved to see some of the other fields on site.

-Advertising/Directional markers; Unless you pay close attention or have driven by you can outright miss DFW/AP. There is one small sign on Westbound Hwy 114 and no sign-age on Eastbound Hwy 114(the way I come from). Once you turn on the right road (Cleveland-Gibbs) you really can't miss it.

Conclusion: Great place to play despite the minor issues. Quite a few nicely added features. Inexpensive to play,, not a bad way to spend a day playing paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media