paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field

Palmetto Hills Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 803-366-3801
Address: 1481 S Anderson Rd.
Rock Hill, South Carolina 29730
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
coconut18 Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC-Great if you like speedball, otherwise it sucks. Plus it is field paint only so you have to buy their stuff.
Review: When my friends and I went to this field we immediatly noticed how friendly the staff was. Everytime I stop by the shop and Field the lady that run's the place is always very helpful. She has been able to answer all my questions, order any part that I may need, fix any problem that I can't. In fact just today I went there to pick up a part and they did not send an invoice with the piece, so she just gave me the piece and said that I could pay her back later, that is awesome.

I have played at this field several times. It is a great field with 3 different woodsball fields to choose from. Best field in Rock Hill area, (for me anyway cause all I do is woodsball, played speedball several times it just isn't my thing. I don't like how short the games are, how much paint you will use, etc...)
Pros
* Very friendly staff
* 3 different Woodsball fields, and even 1 Speedball field if that is your thing
* They let you play as a private group
* Prices are really reasonable/cheap
Cons
* None, great field all the way around
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shooter_mcgavin Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in the area
Directions
to the Field:
Use mapquest... I'm not from the area!
Review: I played at Palmetto Hills twice: first time in Dec. 2005 and then again in Dec. 2006.
First time I had to rent all my stuff, second time I had my own gear.

Safety: They are very good about enforcing safety such as barrel covers and masks. Everyone MUST be chronographed before stepping onto a playing field.

Fields: I love the fields at Palmetto Hills, especially the 'woods course' and 'assault course' (both are woodsball fields).
1. The woods course has a creek running down the middle with a a large bunker on each side and 2 wooden bridges across it. Plenty of oil drums to duck behind and tall grass to hide in. Excellent field for "capture the flag".
2. The assault course has a large pond with a narrow pathway around it... very cool, if a little swampy/muddy (wear boots). Better for 'elimination' than 'capture the flag.'
3. The 'hill' course is another woodsball course and you can either play full hill (HUGE) or half hill. It's ok, but can be tiring with all the uphill running.
4. The speedball course isn't bad, I'm just not much of a speedball guy. Has all the standard bunkers: doritos, tombstones, beer cans, and a snake.

Prices: can't recall, but I think they were about average. You can bring your own paint, which is nice and many places don't let you do that. The "all day air" isn't really worth it because it will be cheaper just to fill your tank once or twice.

Services: You can rent everything you need (marker, mask) and get your air filled. Rentals are Tippman 98 Customs. They also have drinks/snacks for sale, but you can bring your own as well.

Proshop: I didn't really buy anything other than paint/CO2 refills, but they have guns/mods for sale.

Staff: There is an older woman and a younger girl who worked the counter when I was there. Both were friendly.

Refs: The refs are a mixed bag and can be a real 'x factor' in how fun a game is. Most are cool and let you play "kill shots" (only head/torso shots count), but a few called people out for taking a hit to the hopper. Weak sauce, in my opinion.
The refs are helpful about fixing markers when problems arise and one was even nice enough to give my little cousin and his friends a few slices of the pizza he was having on his lunch break.

Players: On the 2 times I played here there were lots of younger guys (age 15-20) and also some father & sons groups. Most of them are friendly and play fair, and some more advanced players will even go easier on rookies. One guy spared me the pain of being shot in the back from 15-20 feet and just said "you're out" while pointing his marker at me. Very cool.
Only had one player (maybe 13 y.o) overshoot me after I called 'out', but after I yelled at him (and the ref told me to calm down), he straightened up. My only complaint is that some players go deep into the woods surrounding the actual woods course, and that technically isn't part of the playing field (refs should call them out-of-bounds, in my opinion).

Overall: Palmetto Hills is a very cool place to play with great fields, friendly/responsible staff and reasonable prices.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mcgyver1467 Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 18th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Well, I must say that this is only the second field that I have ever played. I own my own property, so our woodsball games are here at home. The best thing I can say about Palmetto Hills is that they have better atitudes than anywhere I've been. I've only played one other field, but I've done a lot of shopping. When I first got into PB, I shopped around at every field and PB store in the area, and some in NC. When I was doing this, there was no field, just a small store to buy the products I needed. This is the only place that made a newbie feel like he was something other than an idiot. They were quick to answer all my questions, and acted like they cared whether I understood or not. All the other fields and stores acted as if they thought I should have known it all from the day I decided I wanted to play. I don't know about you, but I hate feeling like an idiot.
As for the field itself, they are slowly moving up in the world. Thay are adding more refs and techs, they are adding on to the fields, they are progressing a lot with some needed safety issues, and they are still some of the friendliest people I have ever done business with.
If you are more comfortable with a field or PB shop that only wants your money and doesn't pay attention to its customers then maybe you should go somewhere else.
If not then this is the place for you. With four operating fields now, knowledgable techs and staff, open seven days a week, extensive inventory, and clean restrooms this will be the only field I ever play again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

luvtopb Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
golddiggers and cjs
Review: This is a graet field to play on. the prices are very cheap to get in and for all day air. it is 7 dollars to get in and 6 for all day air. the paint is normal priced like at stores instead of the normal field paint that is more expensive. there are currently 4 fields, the hill, jungle, assualt (sorry for misspellings) and speedball field. the people that own the place are very helpul and replaced a spring on my gun for FREE. they have drinks and when i was there one time someone ordered pizza lol. overall great place i highly recommend it. i would give it a 9 but guess what the bathroom was clean!!! that boosts it up to a 10 lol
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintme Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I have played this field for as long as i have played i have never tried another field because i like this one to much. They have four courses, Jungle, Speed ball,Hill and, a new course that they are currently working on. These courses are in good condition. The reffs are friendly and provide help while on and off the field. I would defiantly recommend this field for any body who wants to play!
Last edited on Saturday, June 24th, 2006 at 4:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZelosXT Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: This field is great for the price. You only get 3 fields but for me thats all I need. The refs and staff are nice and so are the players that come to the field.Safety is ok. From what I hear they are going to change some stuff to the fields to make it more enjoyble. I think they are changing the bunkers locations. The field owner is the best because I hear on weekdays he sometimes fixes guns for free or charges a small fee. The thing I like most about this field is that it is the only field in the area that lets you use your own paint. That is what sold me to use this field. I havent tried the other fields in the area yet but maybe one day I will. Until then Im playing at this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryan89012345 Thursday, March 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC charlotte right down the street
Review: palmetto hills paintball is not the best field i've ever been to if you don't want to spend any money you should play there and you'll get what what you paid for, if i was going to choose i would go to paintball central (PBC) charlotte right down the street. i don't know why it has charlotte in the name because it is in rock hill. it is a little more expensive but once again you get what you pay for, there is a woods field, a field made of giant mounds of dirt, a pipes field, a super 7 airball field, and depending on the day 1 to 4 xball fields. also the field is owned by people who use to be on a pro team , baltimore Trauma, so if something goes wrong with your gun you can usaully ask one of them and they can fix it for you no problem. so go to PBC you'll have a great time
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

jetsniper Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cds paintball

cjs paintball
Review: This is one of the best fields I have been to. The fields are good but they only have a scenario, speedball, and a woodsball fields only one of each. But anyway this pacce has a nice atmosphere everybody is freindly and the store is well stocked for a mom and pop shop I would recomend going asap.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

extreampblr789 Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 17th, 2002
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CJ's
Review: Ok, well i have gone to this course quite a few times and i have got to tell ya, it is a great place to be! It has a wonderful atmosphere. The people are great and so are the courses! Ever since i have started paintball, i have always wanted to play on an old golf course. And guess what,... this great place is. The refs are always very nice and funny and always helpful. You have the speedball, the jungle, and the hill. One of the refs, Eral, is a great guy and very knolegable of the great game. This is a wonderful place and it will always be my "home course"!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thunder Wolf Saturday, October 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Triggertyme north of columbia
Paintball Central Sports Park (down the street)
Review: This is the field I started at and I consider it to be my home field. With what other people have said it is kind of small and it looks kind of like a mom and pop's kind of place. But overall this place is great as most of the people who work there are very friendly and if you have a problem they will try to get it fixed. The older guy who owns the field will do most light to moderate gun repairs for free or like $10. If you need new parts he's not overly high on prices for them too. The prices are also just right for this place.
$20 gets all rental gear, field fees, all day CO2 and HPA, and a bag of 200 rounds for your first few games.
$13 gets field fees, and all day CO2 and HPA for those who bring their own gear.
Paint prices are resonably priced with recball at $25-$30 case
X-Ball bronze $40 case
and some pro-grade stuff about $50 case (don't know what brand)
Plus you can buy by the bag if you want for less.

They are working pretty hard to get the place fixed up. The woods filed has netting at the entrance now so spectators can stand fairly close to the field and look into the valley. The refs are getting more into thier job as they have gotten rid of some of the bad refs. The head ref David usually works the pro shop or refs the woods. And yes the chrono area is not netted so they have a goggle rule when you go up this embankment to the chrono and speedball field you can have goggles of in the speedball staging area though.

The woods field has been getting better. This summer someone posed the idea of just not doing any thing to it and now the field has 6 foot tall weeds everywhere. The bunkers have been eveloped and the woodline on three sides of the field is incredibly thick. Its a hunter or sniper's dream field. The one bad thing about it is that due to its size its not really suited for big games of 20v20 or scenarios though sometimes we may have hostage rescue game or a defend the president type thing. The speedball field is okay in its own way. It can play easily up to a 5on5 game but thats about it.

In final all this field needs is a little work to extend the woods with maybe a village or something, and a little bit here and there and this could be great field for everyone
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media