paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Bushwackers Paintball Field / Bushwackers Paintball Field / Bushwackers Paintball Field / Bushwackers Paintball Field

Bushwackers Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
81Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (314) 579-9933
Address: 5893 Lost Hill Lane
Pacific, Missouri 63069
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
DA|2k 4NG3L* Saturday, October 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky
X
gateway-pretty nice
Review: Well let me start off saying to the reffs at this place i love you guys, i give outrageous tips to you. I gave 40 dollars to..damn i forgot his name hes half black, i think his name is Chris...anyway. i love the field i hate the new speedball, but oh well. Twin towers is nice, i love to own the newbs up there, sadly i have a raven nexion. Soon to be the DM4 because i got 2,000 dollars to break.I know, huge upgrade lol. Speaking of which its my teams Session. We look forward to being up at Bushwackers every weekend. Also, the tourni in the past few months had helicopters and night raids, it was ill. You guys do a really good job planning those things. All your fields were pretty good last time i visited, and clean as well. Then only thing i would say you need is lower prices..its not an issue with me i work as hockey reff and get paid ok, but it wouldnt matter cuzz it all goes to paintball. Its an issue to a lot of people tho. To end i love this field....the courtyard is cozy 2, makes me feel at home when they got a fire goin...9...9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ramstang Friday, September 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors, Xtreme PB Park
Review: OK, sorry to say, I deleted my original post that gave Praise to Bushwackers. I must also begin by saying that the only person there who gives a lick about paintball, is a kid named Pete. He is great. I was once a regular to the field, sometimes playing 2-3 monthly. The field fee is $20, which is fine since I live about 10 miles from there. The refs are pretty uneducated and are only there to make sure the game is safe, not fair. When I say not fair, I mean, I have watched refs put people back on he field after they were shot out. What good is a ref that sits outside the tape area and watches hit from 50 yds away? A good ref is in there with a shield listening for kids yelling for paint checks. There was a ref that let the loser of the last game, pick the starting side for the next game, that was a great idea, but sadly, isnt an option there anymore.

I heard that buswackers installed a self-filling station for HPA tanks. Hey what better way for someone to get seriously hurt, hope your insurance is up to date. Overfilling can kill someone. Talk about safety, why is the chrono station, there sometimes and then taken away? Why do the refs only use handhelds once or twice in 5 hour open plays? How about an indoor chrono station, its easily possible.

I would often get there at opening time, the people at the counter would be nearly sleeping as they grumpily took cash. One employee even let his dog run around while he worked once. Refs and the owner would literally yell at kids that might have lifted their masks, almost putting kids at tears. Very unprofessional, there are better ways to get a point across. If someone lifts their mask, blow the whistle and stop the game, then explain the situation. Yelling just makes parents and kids angry at the field. Thus losing customers.

I do feel that there fields are somewhat fun. The starting points for both sides are spaced just far enough apart, that you have to do some moving to get a few hits. And most of the fields provide just the right amount of cover for hiding. I am upset that ho-chi-mihn field was shortened to make way for speedball.

The staging area is big, picnic tables and benches. One time not long ago, i was sitting at a table by myself, and the owner asked me to move so 5 teammates could sit there. Last time i checked that bench was big enough for all of us. It was open play after all. If you go there, lock your gear when you play. You are better off leaving things in your car.

A review by Shives, and a recent outing that my friend told me about, sparked my updated review.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

Shives Thursday, September 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme
Whacky
Bushwackers (played old location regularly 10 years ago)
Review: The good, the not too bad, and the ugly

Charity day at Bushwhackers

Well, I’ve waited almost a week to write this little report. I hoped that something would change to “fix” the ugly part. I wanted to see if a little time would turn the heart of the field owner in question. It hasn’t, so I’ll report the facts as they are.

The set-up: Several years ago, some friends of my wife’s family had a son born w/ severe birth defects. They knew at the outset that the child would not survive long, but carried it to term anyway (good Catholics that they are). The baby only lived a couple of days. During that time, Mother and Father spent time in the Family Garden at St. Louis Children’s Hospital. The garden helped, as much as could be expected, to ease the pain they were feeling. In memory of their son, and in thanks for the peace it gave, they wished to make a donation to the garden. Being an occasional recball player, the Father decided to stage an annual paintball event to raise money to give to the garden. I missed the first year, but have played the past 2 times. Not being tied to any specific field, they play wherever they can make arrangements w/ the field owner. This year, the event was organized at Bushwhacker’s Paintball Park near St. Louis.

The good: Saturday morning arrived splendidly. Last year it was hot and wet (which is good if…never mind), it certainly wasn’t this year. It may have reached the 80’s, was mostly sunny, and there was a slight breeze blowing. When I met Steve (the Father) at the field, he was fretting that he had gotten very little response on his emailed invitation. He worried that we may not even have enough people to play as a group, not that mix w/ the walk-ons would have been bad. His wife had told him not to worry, but go and have fun. It turned out we had ~20 people show up, several of who were paintball virgins. He was happy w/ the crowd. In the end we brought in almost $500.

The not too bad: I had played at Bushwhacker’s perhaps 10 years ago. It had been one of the first fields around. I recall it having been a good field to play at. Only negative I recall was one game when the field-sponsored team beat the snot out of the walk-ons. Since then, the field had moved to a new location w/ the same ownership. I got to the field early hoping to get onto the chrono range and make sure all of my guns were humming along (I had brought a handful or so). Turns out they don’t have a chrono range, they chrono groups as they go on the fields w/ those little handheld chronos, and even if they did, I couldn’t do anything w/out first hearing the safety talk w/ my group. Now, I respect the need for a safety talk, and would have willingly sat in on an earlier groups talk, but according to the owner, I had to wait for my group. OK, minor gripe. Also, minor gripe, I like to keep my gear locked in my car and go from there to the field; I couldn’t do this at Bushwhackers. They did not have any true “concept” fields, which didn’t bother me any. However, all of there fields were very one sided, and w/ the exception on a couple, we never switched ends to replay a field. Our ref was a very nice kid, who did a great job of turning games around. The only time I recall waiting more than 5-10 minutes was when we took an actual lunch break. I think only once did we play a capture the flag game, all the other games were mini scenarios. Don’t get me wrong; scenarios are fun, and a nice diversion from the normal, but not every game. Being forced into a “role” for every game kind of weighed on me after a while. All in all, we had fun. The first timers all said they wanted to come back.

The ugly: And boy was it ugly. At the end of the day, Steve went to the owner of the field to get the money that was supposed to go to charity. It had been agreed that a share of the field fees and a share of the paint price was to come back for the charity. The amount he gave Steve was much less than it seemed it should have been. Turned out, the owner had not given any of the field fees. He claimed that he should have charged us more if a part was going to go to the charity. Steve pointed out that that had not been the agreement. The owner admitted that was his mistake, but he couldn’t loose money on the day (the place was packed all day w/ other groups and many walk ons). Steve protested that it was for charity, to which the owner responded, “don’t play the charity card on me.” Needless to say, Steve was very unhappy. We all agreed we would not return to Bushwhackers anytime soon. Adding insult to injury, when we got to Steve’s car in the parking lot, an errant paintball had escaped the netting around the fields, crossed the parking lot to the far side, and left a mark on the rear window of his mini van.

That’s the story.

Shives
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tipp_98_Command Wednesday, September 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors
Merrimac Challenge
Oklahoma D-Day(not really a field but an event)
Review: I dont know, to me, it was clean and tidy, but usually all PB fields get dirty by the end of the day. Prices wernt THAT bad compared to other places. Nice woods ball fields. They're making an X-Ball field soon. Very creative on types of games, unlike other fields where all you do is deathmatch.
Only problem i had was there lines. I would go up and get some Air and all these kids would just come up and hand em their tanks and instantly get refills while i was waiting for bout a minute or 2. Also lots of butting in line. Not by just kids, but adults.
Other than that, this field is a blast.

I would go here if you like Woods ball and a big player turnout.
Oh and bring water or gatorade. $1.25 for a bottle of water there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

horns800 Saturday, August 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gateway
Wacky
Fearless
Review: Ok.. first the fields r not bad. nice and wooded. the radical town and ho chi mihn trail r my favorite. the mangement is not verygood. the refs r lazy in my opion. HIGH prices for paint. um IT IS TRASHY AS HELL. i don't know what the other noobs r talking about how it is clean. it is a mess around the tables. IF U EVER GO THERE ALWAYS LOCK UR STUFF UP. I once had my last bad of 500 in my duffle. so a** hole stole it and my (crapy) evolution hopper. but still all ways lock stuff up. the rental stuff is in bad condition. the refs almost NEVER check the veolocity on ur gun cause they r lazy. and take ur pizza u order when u r playin.don't want to go into that. i don' care what other people say but GATEWAY IS THE BEST. TRUST ME . I WOULD TAKE GATEWAY OVER BUSHWACKERS ANY DAY. if u have a choice go to gateway. 1-10 i give it a 4
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

RAT77 Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Look I have been playing for a long time off and on . I am in the military so I have traveled the world and played at many fields so I know a good field when I see one . B-wackers has diverse fields and good refs and they accommodate newbies and tourney players alike making it a very balanced playing experience. I hear that they are making a good thing better by adding a sup-air field ... I think it might be an x-ball style set up .. Well every time I come to St.Louis I choose B-Wackers it is a great field I hope you check them out if you are in town. Sincerely, RAT

Last edited on Friday, August 20th, 2004 at 1:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kirby888 Sunday, August 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played all the major fields in this area and across the globe...this park is really world-class! They are organized, clean, and safe!
Review: I have been playing paintball for over a decade...for those of you who have been around that long I used to sport a SL68 II(thats a pump kids) and a PMI-3(VM68)...I used to play paintball at the old Bushwackers field and it was #1 then as it is now. They have, by far, the best all around set-up for everyone. From rec-ballers to tournament players Bushwackers gets it done. Their fields are clean the refs are fun and they even provide cold water for you open players who forget to bring your own!--on top of that they have FREE hotdogs for open players on Sundays...free hotdogs people come on!!! They have a regulation X-ball field that will be going up soon too. If your tired of playing on horribly over-grown fields then this is the place for you. They even have a table where all of us high pressure tank guys can fill ourselves (no more waiting in fill lines). To top it all off when you tell them your tank is a 4500 they will fill it accordingly!!!--they don't get cheap on you and only fill to 3000!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Buzz_88 Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors (east and west fields)
Review: Pros-Fields have decent cover and allow you to move arouind, the owner is nice, and the prices are ok..

Cons-DOWN TIME. we were with the open play group and we would play 10 minute games...that was cool...the problem was the 20-40 minute downtimes between EACH GAME! UGH...we were there from 10-3 and only played 8 games....that is and hour and 20 minutes of actuall game play....do the math...how long were we sitting around?? UGH! !0 minutes or less is more than enough time to get reloaded and aired up.... That is my biggest complaint is the down time between the games.

-72 players in open play?? Yes...we had that many...which i don't have a problem with...untilll you try to crap us all in a tiny tiny speeder field. Get us to the back of the property where there is more room..and everything would have been fine...but...the ref kept going to the same ones over and over again. UGH.

All in all...it was fun..but the down time sucked. were there for 5 hours and only got an hour and twenty minutes of game play. Not very efficient.

BUZZ
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

eatmypaint90 Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
mcchallenge:bushwackers was much better. At mcchallenge its unorganized, dumpy, and sometimes there is no ref.
Review: Bush wackers is a great woods ball course. There are many fields and each has a different style of play. the courtyard is great. There are many tables to sit at and put ur stuff down on. There are also a couple of pizza place around so u can order pizza. The refs there are fun and help u with whatever u need. the owner actually knows what hes doing and can talk to u about paint balling forever. The fields are clean and there are no holes that u can step into. The bunkers are put in great places. At Bushwackers you can find a wide variety of experience levels form newb to expert. Bush wackers is a great place to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

EBlader Monday, June 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played ever field in the greater Saint Louis area, at least two times, with the exception of Top Dog (which I have still seen in person). I still prefer Bushwackers.
Review: As I have said I have been to ever park in the greater Saint Louis area, and I include the extreme park in IL. in that. Bushwackers has some of the most intresting fields out of all that I have played. Bushwackers offers speedball, King of the Hill (one hell of a hill by the way), Urban warfare, and a really big scenario game The Hochi Minh Trail. That is what I like in a park, dynamics. Many argue that Bushwackers is old because they dont have those air ball fields. Well I argue this two ways. 1) I play on those all the time and enjoy playing on some variaty once in a while because air ball fields are boreing. 2) Bushwackers is in the process of building a new "more up to date" speedball field, so if u must have it, there it is. I have played this sport since i was 10, and competively since I was 15 and there is one major thing that sets Bushwackers apart from all the others. That is their staff. No where, and I repeat myself, no where else have i seen a better staff. From Jason to Slim to Kirk (get well soon) I can tell you they are some of the friendlest field staffs I have meet. Usually I get reffs who are pissed as hell that they have to work, but at Bushwackers I have yet to see that. As for prices everything about Bushwackers is very good. Field fees are low, and u pay for all day air not that per fill crap I have to do everywhere else. Bushwackers uses Draxxus paint which I have yet to hear a complaint about. I am free to bring my own paint if I chose to any open play game, unlike other fields. As for the Hochi Minh Scenario game, I have gone to D-Day and other scenario games, but nothing compares to the experience I just had in that game. I was extremely well run, and went very smoothly even considering it was the first annual game.
In closing Bushwackers is set far apart from all the other fields in the Saint Louis area. If you have not played it yet, I strongly suggest that you do. I promise you that you will not be disappointed. It offers great variaty and a fun experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media