paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Strategy Plus Paintball Field / Strategy Plus Paintball Field / Strategy Plus Paintball Field / Strategy Plus Paintball Field

Strategy Plus Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
69Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 800-952-9007
Address: Bear Swamp Rd
East Hampton, Connecticut 06424
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Playinharder Tuesday, August 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
We almost missed the field, there was a small sign on the tree that lead us to it. Just go towards the bowling ally and you can't miss it off the main road.
Review: We were up there for a bachelor party there were 21 of us. We got there around 10am and played till about 4pm. The staff was very helpful and the fields were allot of fun to play on.

There were only two of us that had our own equipment, but the rentals were pretty decent. Out of 19 that rented there were maybe 2 that had continues problems with the guns. The only thing I would suggest if you are going out for the 1st time is BUY A MASK. That was the #1 complaint that the guys without their own masks was the fogging.

We were originally told that we would be able to play on any field that we wanted to. The only problem was that there was an airsoft scenario going on which limited us to 5 small fields. This was kind of a bummer as we really wanted to do our own scenarios. We were un-able to that do to the fact that the fields that we were allowed to play on were so small.

Other than our group there really was no one else there to play paintball which would have been a bummer had we been a smaller group. If you have enough people you can have a really good time here.

There was this one tool who came in looking for a game. He was not that bad at first, very helpful and very informative. But once you got him talking you could just not shut him up. He would just not stop talking about how good he was, how great his gun was, blaa blaa blaa. We just ignored him and decided he was our groups BFF.

All in all it was a good day. I would definitely recommend you go here!!!!!

Safety +10 (Our ref was very adamant about keeping our masks on and let us take them off when he was sure all our guns were plugged when we were in the field)

Fields +8 (Good woods ball fields still kind of small would have liked to see some of the bigger fields)

Prices +6 (from checking the internet they seemed to be competitive with other places)

Refs +10 (Our ref was fair and safety was his top priority while still letting us have fun)

Staff +10 (They guys were very attentive to what we needed, even the tool was very helpful)

Food +3 (There was not really any onsite food but there was a McDonalds and a subway down the road a bit)

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PatrickEddy Wednesday, July 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I had the most fun that I've had in a single day in the entirety of New England since I've been stationed in Connecticut the past 2 and a half years. Everyone who works at Strategy Plus is very helpful. All the refs seem to be there to make sure people are having fun. They told me of some ideas that they have to improve on some of the fields. This place can easily become one of the better fields in the country. I've been playing paintball for roughly 13 years now, and this is one of the better paintball fields that I've been to. I will be bringing friends of mine to Strategy Plus.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 1st, 2009 at 8:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXpainXballXx Sunday, June 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
matts outback hogans alley
Directions
to the Field:
all the way down bear swamp road
Review: this is a great field i have only paintballed 2 times but it was great they have over 165 acers of palying field on saturdays and sundays 10:00A.M.-2:00P.M. you can paly any field just suggest it to the refs it is $20 bucks for the weekends every week except for thier rolplaying weeks and $35 bucks for 2000 paintballs the staff is great james and his brothers(the owners) are great they are both very helpfull they allow semi-auto but i'm not sure last time i went(saturday) the were only 4 of us and one guy was ramping and bursting so they might allow all the other modes in small groups the allow barrel tapping non explosive paint and smoke grenades surrendering this is over all a great place to spend your weekend but please if you are reading this they need more players PLEASE it is not as much fun with 4 people
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintball gamer Thursday, June 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: One thing i can say about this place and that is excellant. I know i havnt been playing long but i have been tryin diffrent fields in ct and so far this is the best one,cant get any better. The first time i went here the people are very friendly, when i got there the people i went with we already made two friends in not even 10 min. They showed us around the speedball field and were to go and sighn up. Even the people that have been goin here for years gave us tips and were very frindly also. And the coaches are fair and very protective and coucious however you spell it ha ha. Anyways the pricings are fair, and resonable. Plz go here u would be 100% happy after goin here

HAVE FUN
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dreadpirate Tuesday, April 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Subase Paintball Field
Review: Safety: The field is run by a former Navy 'nuke', you won't get much safer than that. The ref's are always on the ball keeping players safe.

Fields: When I played last, there were 4 woodsball fields, an X-ball field, and a 'battle village' (which is great fun, definitely recommend it if it still exists). The woodsball fields are characterized by stands of trees and brush, with rockfaces here and there which make for great cover. The 'Twin Peaks' field has two hills tall enough to allow for the opposite hill's tree canopy to provide cover.

Hours of Operation: When I first started playing here, players were so rare, you had to call and tell them you were interested in playing, and only if enough people wanted to play, they would open the field. I recruited 4 Navy buddies of mine to play there, and over time we watched the field grow to a regularly scheduled operation. The hours of operation seemed to make more sense than other fields, and there was never a overbearing push to make sure everyone got out there for the first game, which is nice if you're running late, or have gun issues.

Prices: Were -very- fair, though I was biased. My Navy team played there so often, and generally bought -all- our gear from them, they started giving us their old boxes of paint for free.

Proshop: They had a trailer which carried various repair parts, and a storefront over in New London, fairly close to the Subase.

There's something about the environment at this field that just brings out the 'helper' in more experienced players. I think it must be the way the dead zone is in a well-wooded area, instead of out in the sun like most fields. I found myself helping out all the newbies, even to the extent of loaning out the old Spyder and Automag Classic I used when -I- was in their shoes. My team used to grab one or two new players each game and show them some of the basics. At my current home field, Hellsurvivors, in MI, things are just so rushed all the time, you never get a chance to, say, teach a new player how to leapfrog, like I did during the 'Eight-legged Spiders' scenario in 2005.

I give them a 10, because I gave Hellsurvivors a 9, and this field is hands-down a better experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pmoscato Friday, December 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ive played at Hogans alley, and been to Matts outback in coventry.
Directions
to the Field:
I live about 15 minutes away from SP, near Hebron and colchester.
Review: Im a releatively new player ( 1.5 years) to the game, but I know a good place when I see it. I had never really played at an official place before, usually in peopls backyards. The first time I went to Hogans alley, I thought, wow this is a great place! Hogans has 4 speedball feilds and 2 woods ball field. I really took an interest into woodsball, but Hogans didnt have many. My freind who is also a ref at SP invited me to go to the field. I got in the parking lot and the first feild I saw was the speed ball field. Then I say 1,2,3,4,5 woodsball fields(!) I had a great time with the refs, got lit up, but all in awsome fun. Then I invited some of my freinds to play there, and by the end of the day we had all agreed to buy a season pass to SP because there prices actually make sense(unlike hogans) and there fields are great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

theFLA$H69 Thursday, December 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played Xtreme, Matts, and Hogans.
Review: This field is great. Chrispy is a great owner, and helps tremendously. The safety at Strategy is great, players and refs are on key if they see someone without a condom on, or taking there mask off. Also prices, I have not found a field with legit prices like these. To play on there new NPPL field, it is very cheap. Paint is great there as well. There is a trailor as a "proshop" but believe me, if you need anything the Factory team and the players there will be fast to lend you the piece of equipment you need. The players there are also very impressive. Not only great competition every single weekend, they're very understanding to the lower skilled players. Every single one of the players I have played with there I have witnessed help others, such as rentals, woodsball players, etc. I have not tried the woodsball field, but as I referee, I see the woodsball field is amazing as well. Great place to play 10 out of 10. COME TO SP, YOU'LL BE 100% SATISFIED.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shlugengruven Thursday, December 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme Paintball - East Windsor: main reason that this field does not come close to StrategyPlus is safety. Xtreme is UN-REFFED paintball (not safe) and Strategy places a great deal of importance on safe play.
Directions
to the Field:
Very easy to get to... Turn left at the Bowling Alley off of 66 (check website for directions)
Review: I had my 12th birthday party at Strategy Plus. We played with Sheridan pump pistols and had the best time ever "playing army guys." In the few years that followed I invested my allowance in a Spyder gun and then another and evreything else that paintballers "need." I played for a few years but eventually lost interest in high school.

About a month ago, at age 22, I decided to go to Strategy Plus and rent for a day, for old times' sake... It took maybe 10 minutes for me to become fully addicted again. Within one week, I had picked up a new marker and mask, entrenched myself in the online forums and most importantly... bought new camo.

In the 8 or 9 year gap since I had been to Strategy Plus, not much had changed, but that's because it was GREAT to begin with. Bunkers had been rebuilt, boundaires re-taped and various other improvements made. The operation is still run out of the back of the "paint truck," which is a full tech-shop on wheels. The atmosphere is very much friendly and family oriented. THE FIELDS CANNOT BE MATCHED! You can play from 10am to 4pm and never play the same field twice. I saw that some speed-ball fields had been added - not really my thing but it's nice to have options.

Safety. This is the operative word at StrategyPlus. The refs are very concious of what every player is doing and will quickly and sternly remind a player to adhere to all rules. At another CT field I honestly worried that I or someone else would lose an eye - at Strategy I feel very safe.

Finally, the players at Strategy Plus are the type that keep people coming back to the sport. Everyone shows up to have a good time and take out some aggression in a healthy way. Nobody gets overshot or verbally berated to being new to the sport. I also went to the Toy's for Tots Charity game on December 6, 2008 and the cameraderie amongst the 100+ particpants was amazing.

Bottom-line: StrategyPlus has remained true to their roots by remaining the BEST woodsball field in CT, if not New England. Go there on a Saturday or Sunday morning and you won't be dissapointed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MadMoose86 Sunday, November 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: First off i have no been playing long, just shotting with friends in backyards and woods a couple times over the years, nothing too serious. Coming here was the first time at an official field, and i loved it. I enjoyed how the different fields were set up, although i didnt like "the village" it was too much like speedball. The only problems we had were with one ref, who ended up with my team most of the day. He kept standing directly next to people and even noticed on occasion him pointing out people. Thankfully at the end of the day we got another ref and it was much more enjoyable.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TEM TANK Saturday, November 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i dont play at other fields
Directions
to the Field:
i live in NH, so i come down 91 to 84 east, take rt 2 south to exit 13, turn right, go about 4 miles and turn left on bear swamp rd, then down about 1/2 mile on left
Review: I have been a part of this field for 3 years, it is constantly improving, i have been making props for the field, and putting up buildings, right now i am working on a huge castle to add to the field, don't want to give away too much info on it, but it is looking to be 80ft by 64ft and about 12ft tall, its gonna be great, if you haven't been here in awhile, its a good time to come back, and see the changes we have made to the field, and the atmosphere. look forward to seeing alot of new people there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media