paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Pirate Paintball Field / Pirate Paintball Field / Pirate Paintball Field / Pirate Paintball Field

Pirate Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
14Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 208-251-2908
Address: Tyhee Rd
Chubbuck / Pocatello, Idaho 83201
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
el.gecko Saturday, March 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PASS- Totally different kind of field
Review: Pirate paintball is awesome. It is in my opinion the coolest field around. It is in the middle of nowhere and all the bunkers are home made and that makes it awesome. Everyone there plays safe and Mike, the owner, really drills safety into the new players heads. Pirate is the coolest field around and is pretty big and has a tower in the middle of it. It is usually open on saturdays in the spring and summer. Its 5 dollars to play or 15 dollars to play with a rental gun. The players at pirate are what really make it fun. There are always lots of players there with all different skill levels from kids who have never played before to speedballers. Everyone is always very nice and the speedballers are very helpful to the new players. Pirate Paintball is awesome and is the coolest place to paintball around
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rambob Thursday, February 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
JBI Paintball, Idaho Falls
P.A.S.S. Paintball, Pocatello
QC Paintball, Rigby
And many more small fields
Directions
to the Field:
Off Tyhee Road in Chubbuck, Idaho you will need to call for directions if you have never been there before.
Review: I play in some larger Tourneys as well as local events. My team and i use this as one of our practice fields. We usually are out there on a week night getting our game on. the field is not pretty but it is fun and offers some unusual challenges along the way. Everything from trenches to a tower. Yeah the bunkers are all home schooled but that is why I love the place. I go and try others but still keep rolling back to the Pirate when I want some good old rec ball.

They are mainly open on Saturday. 9 Am to 4 Pm.
You must follow all the safety rules or you will be put in your place. No auto or R/T.
One big field with wood bunkers. Great for scenario games. ok area for speedball.
5 bucks to play 15 for rentals
They have paint for sale but you can bring your own.
Air is free if you bum it of the crew. Co2 is 5 fro the day.
Refs are few, but get caught cheating and you will be heckled.

Just the way i like it fun and easy. My team and others do not get all excited about shooting up beginners. In fact we love taking kids and beginners and teaching them the ropes. This is the best place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gambitz711 Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-The P.A.S.S. It has air bunkers
- Others that have been closed
Directions
to the Field:
It's off a canal and look for a pirate flag floating in the air
Review: Great Staff, great paintball, Great grass untill you slam into some thissels, and my favorite everlasting friendships.

Thursday nights during the summer are set apart for tourney players, and saturdays were set apart for everyone which helped bring in newbies. There is a 3 ball rule for saturdays just so it's fair for everyone.

Potlucks are on the last thursday of the month. bring food and it's free.

There are 3 fields, but it looks like one big one. Just watch when you slide you don't hit horse crap you will slide out of your bunker. the horse crap adds style to it.

But overall this is my birthplace for speedball and will always have a part of my paintball influence.

I recommend going out when it's open and the best part is it's only $5.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

caveman55 Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 14th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
first time at a field
Review: They have a pretty good admission fee 18 bucks with rentals they enforce safety rules pretty good so that none gets hurt they have a lot of bunkers and the owner is awesome helping you find out whats wrong with your gun and stuff one downside is that your car might get shot because the field doesnt have nets and there is no bathroom and they're not afraid to try new games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sgent35 Friday, August 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All the fields in the area are similar, woods ball is the best at Menan field.
Review: The guys that run Pirate are excellent. Cozy, home-like fun feel, good sense of humor, make you feel welcome.

I've only been down there for small tournaments - which are a bunch of fun. They work lots of hours to change the field up - wood barriers, spools. I like their tournaments, because they pay cash directly after the games end, round robin format, and they have ample refs.

The only drawbacks are the very limited amount of shade (it's an old ag. field) and the grass is a little long in spots. Go help them trample it down - it's cheap to play there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bohdisattva Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
APG in American Falls, Better though no longer open.
Review: THE GOOD: Reasonable field fee. BYOP which rocks or you can buy paint on site for reasonable prices. (If I havent bought all of it first) The field has come on long way in 04' Many more and better bunkers. Alot more rental equipment. Mike the onwer is a friendly bloke, easy to deal with. The safety rules are enforced without being gestapo like. Mike and the people that help him serve up a killer day of paintball.


THE BAD: The field is fairly small. Its great for like 10 on 10 games but it can get crowded. While there have been leaps and bounds in improvements on the bunkers there are still some weak spots. There is still some amount of horse manure on the field. Which isnt real cool when you slide into a bunker and grind it into your knees. No safety zone or netting so you always have to have your mask on while a game is on. There is a 3 shot rule. Meaning no more than three shots in a string. I'm fat and slow how else am I suppose to keep the runners pinned in a bunker.


THE UGLY: Or I guess "In summation" If the field was rated only on the people that run it and frequent it it would get a 10.96575. You get a nice mix of expierenced players and noob's. There is no "house team" that beats up on the new guys so if your new to the sport its a great place to start out at. I cant give it a 10 cause nothing is perfect and it can handle some improvement so it gets an 8. Maybe if there was like a pool and hot chicks....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilomen711 Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Review: It's awesome. MIke is the coolest.(owner) Everybody out there is helpful and nice. Paint is for sale but you can bring your own. C02 available from Mike. You can buy air from anybody else at the field. $5 entry fee. Bring a barrel plug, as rules are enforced. No fully auto or R/T systems alowed while playing. Best field in Idaho. Field layout is changed for tournaments and is also changed every year.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

waffles Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Couple of "home brew" fields we've "made." American Falls field.
Review: I was just there TODAY 4-10-04. This field is SIGNIFICANTLY better than it was last year. We had at one point in time 40 people playing today, and the field handled it quite well. MANY MANY more bunkers were put up compared to last year.

It is not complete however, and there is still plenty of room for improvement (which Mike the owner acknowledges, and says he's only about 80% complete with what he has planned). This is a good thing, because I had a blast out there, and its only going to get better. They mixed things up a bit with different game types. Not all of them were great, but they were fun to try out. The field needs a FEW bunker improvements on one side of the field before 3 team games can work.

Mike had one other gentlemen helping with the reffing. They did a VERY commendable job, kept things honest and fun. 4 refs would have been ideal though simply because of the number of people there. They did a SUPREME job at making sure people had barrel plugs in and masks on, and making sure people were safe. There were quite a few people using rental equipment (BTW they use VFORCE masks for rental masks! Excellent.), so it can be expected they weren't used to the safety standards of barrel plugs and proper use of masks.

Mike is also trying to work out a TEAM practice day on thursday. Free practice for organized teams, in the hope of having tournaments later on. This will of course depend upon the ability of people here to form teams :) Not set in stone. Great idea though, hope it works out.

At this VERY moment in time, simply because there is so much room for improvement I feel I can only give an 8 out of 10. HOWEVER because of some of the other low reviews around here I'm going to give a 10 of 10 just to help "nullify" some of those other reviews that really don't apply anymore.

I WILL update this review when appropriate as they improve the bunkers. This has the potential to be a VERY good field. I will DEFINATELY go again (Its only 7 minutes away from my house! w000t). And besides....ITS ONLY 5 BUCKS. 5 BUCKS!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mch Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action persute games-best field Ive ever played at
Review: I played at this field once and I hated it. I dont think its worth the gas or money to play there its to small when you get so many people out there and theres just crappy bunkers to hide behind there. I am never going there again cause there is horse crap everywhere there and everyone else that has made a review about this place thinks its the best field ever but its not. The field in American Falls is way better and way bigger. So if your thinking about going to this field dont do it cause it sucks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kalabor Sunday, February 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Soda Spring paintball field, Idaho Falls outdoors field, Burley ski and sports, American Falls field, Malad field and others...
Review: The field is built on a common speed ball course, that most people now days play on any ways.

GOOD THINGS: The bunkers have a number code on each one of them in which I find helpful when youíre trying to tell a teammate where another player might be or where to go. Just simply yell the bunker number and what to do. Yes the people there are friendly and are not on their power trip to tell you what game you are going to play. Very open minded and willing to try new games. The last time I was there they didnít charge the odd ball fee or demand you buy their paintballs. Thatís great to hear for major paintball junkies like myself, who go out and buy 3 2000 round cases just to find out you canít use it at the field.

BAD THINGS: The field is a little small. This makes games sort of limited. The bunkers do need an improvement. The rented guns are very limited. The place is sort of hard to find do to the low quality sign posted on the side of the road. Playing days are sort of a bummer do to the days they are open. And now you have to make arrangements to have a game played. Need to improve Ref. Last imte we went the Ref only went out half the time and the other time he sat at the dead zone. Where people noticed and wipped goggle shots.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 21st, 2004 at 2:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media