paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / First Strike Paintball, Inc. Paintball Field / First Strike Paintball, Inc. Paintball Field / First Strike Paintball, Inc. Paintball Field / First Strike Paintball, Inc. Paintball Field

First Strike Paintball, Inc. Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
28Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 5619 SE CR 337
Newberry, Florida 32669
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
roadkill595 Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
rocky creek paintball, wich is much better
Review: so after about 3 months of play at rocky creek a buddy and i decided to head over to first strike. let me start out by talking about the fields themselves. first strike seams to mainly consist of speed/rec ball fields. these fields tend to be small but very dynamic. they also have a great woods ball area made of high hills and thick brush.
although i found the area and feild setup great i found the service in general was less then par. the good: THEY TAKE CREDIT CARDS, and there was great ref presence during all the games. during play the refs were always activly watching, calling people out and running paint checks. i felt confident in a fair game with no wipes. however in general i felt the refs were horrible and here's why. the wait was at least 15 minutes between games while the refs goofed off and played with the buttons on their loudspeakers. they also made almost no attempt to differentiate between the teams, choosing to band players in only two of the games we played in the 4 hours we were there. to make matters worse every once in a while they would call out "every man for themselves" just as a joke for themselves. (nobody actualy listened.) they also did not show the slightest bit of interest in finding out what the players actualy wanted to play.
to conclude, if your a speedballer who doesn't mind refs that fool around inbetween games then first strike is the way go to. anyone else do yourself a favor and head out to rocky creek.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darthevix Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
In comparison? haha... you guys are funny...
Directions
to the Field:
Umm... go to the light....
Review: Ok, I love the field... that's about it, haha. Good FPS, 280, and a bunch of hoodlems I like to call Zero Effect. Lots of helpful staff, decent prices, good selection of field paint, decent air ball field (only 1... :*(...) and very good woodsball. They have good scenario field set up, they have the "noob air fill stations" that all you have to do is press a botton... PIMP... I can go on and on... Zero Effect no longer practices on weekend, which is good... haha, Its just an overall fun experience. They only other decent field is Shoots and Splatters all they was down in Citra. Rocky Creek is left in the dust. Go, have fun, play safe! 10-out-of-10...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

baconfoot Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rocky creek( fsp is much better )
Directions
to the Field:
Past the town of newberry,
Review: I've been playing at First strike paintball for about 6 months, around where I started. First Strike has a friendly staff, the fps is 280, they sell drinks and snacks, and the field fee is $15. All day air is $10. There is normally about 50-90 people there every time i go (every other Saturday) and they have 4 or 5 big huts with tables where you can set up your stuff. They have one air ball field, 2 hyper ball fields, one big woods ball field that can be divided into 3 different parts, depending on how many people play. On Saturdays, they're open from 9-4 or 4:30, on Sundays, they're open from noon - 4. Their friendly staff will most of the time let you borrow tools for chrono-ing, and rags to wipe paint off. There normally is 2-3 games running at a time, but sometimes they have one big game. They sell off-site paint for $45 (case), but not to be used in rental guns. Overall, First Strike is my first pick for paint balling
Last edited on Sunday, March 4th, 2007 at 7:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Trulyoldnavy Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
First time in that area, we traveled a bit to participate in this scenario game.
Review: I just played the HALO scenario on 1-7-06. This was my first time at First Strike

The fields themselves are very well maintained. There is a lot of interesting terrain (especially for generally flat as a pancake FL) with sufficient natural and man made cover to make each area challenging but not impossible to attack or defend. The field management was helpful and seemed genuinely interested in making sure everyone had a good time.

Now for the bad news. The scenario did not seem to be very well coordinated. The game started a bit late but I blame that more on the late arrivals than the field management. In general the referees were worthless. There were a couple of decent refs ( by that I mean I saw 2 active refs the whole day) who tried hard but most were not paying any attention to the action. More than once I saw groups of 4-5 refs chit-chatting with each other when there was a major firefight going on less than 50 yards away. Because the majority of the refs were inactive, cheating was rampant (on both sides I'm sure, but I was only paying attention to the people I was shooting at, not the people behind me). Players were making obvious wipes and calling for a paintcheck resulted in a leisurely stroll by a ref, if he responded at all. On more than one occasion I saw refs chatting with players who wiped while the ref was within 10 ft of him, the refs never said a word. Players would get marked out, walk out of the engagement area and return immediately after they walked behind a group of trees. Considering the distance they had to travel back to their base for reinsertion, there were quite a few Olympic level sprinters on the field that day. Near the end of the day the head ref (Bob) overheard a number of us discussing the problems we had seen. By this time people were already packing up to leave but of the lack of active refs and rampant cheating going on. He seemed truly upset about the stories and promised to fix it. After this it did improve a bit, but it seemed like the refs that were active before were just working harder and the previously slacking refs didn't improve at all. One consequence was special attention payed to one of the players who complained the most. All of sudden he had at least one ref shadowing him all the time. A previously unseen portable chrono was put in service and he was constantly being checked (field limit 280fps, he was consistent at 255-260). Retribution for stirring the pot? Seems like it to me.

OK the gist of this is that we will not be returning to this field again. No matter how nice the field is physically, a game with this many people HAS to have an active ref team in order for the play to be fun. All 7 of us in my group (and at least 20 other people we met/talked to that day) agreed that the day was mostly a waste.

The physical field is a 10 but because of the poor quality of staff I have to rate the field quite a bit lower.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

HansAuf Wednesday, October 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 5th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Coast, Murder, Waynes.
Review: If you are coming from Gainesville direction, take the second doggone 330 (got lost in Deliverance woods, banjos and all)!

First glance at this field was pretty darn good. Pretty classy operation. First off its HUGE!!! Lots of playing area to run amok in. Owners and Staff were absolutely top notch and friendly as can be. I had a crazy dwell problem with my Main gun (Impy), the tech guy suggested that I talk to this one player. He even took me over an intro'd me the guy, who was dead on and helped me out. The ref's were pretty fair and square. They have water coolers out there for the players for free. Which if you've ever forgotten to bring water in Florida, will keep you in the good. There were loads of game types (kill the bunny rocks! Guard the prez is horrible!). And if you're not a speedballer, their scenario and woods games have sweet terrain... Hills, valleys, ditches, etc. There is a really good amount of covered (yep, covered! Remember folks, this is Florida.) tables and chairs provided, which is a huge plus. They have a self serve air station that is a really nice quality setup. Ref's were pretty understanding with all the noobs and seasoned players alike. Oh, by the way tip these ref's if you get good service. There's a tip jar near the air station or where you pay, I can't remember now. Tourney players at this place are good. If you play with them, expect to get worked. They throw alot of paint and you are going to be wearing it home.

Ok, it can't all be good you say? Yer right. a) I was disappointed with the amount of time between matches though. It seems like you sit around a lot waiting for a match. Getting water and jawjacking is ok after a match, but 20-25 mins is a bit much. Get some more games going with a little less of a down time in between. b) The little kids kept hammering me in the back with rental guns from point blank range. I had an 8 ball impact strip up the left side of my back from one little fella at about 5 feet away! So maybe I'd suggest letting the younger little guys have some rounds specifically for them. c) Play all the fields! They have plenty of space, let's use it.

Bottom line: This field was great. I highly recommend it. I am going back there weekend after next.

Follow Up - Well went back and was pleased to find things that I did not like before had changed. For one the amount of time between matches was less than 10 mins. Perfect! Also I think I played on every field. Their newest hyperball field is my favorite.
Last edited on Monday, November 28th, 2005 at 4:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frost220x Tuesday, October 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Great place to go. People are friendly and listen to what you think if you have a plan, and the staff was great. People had great time while playing kill the bunny (Fun game) and a lot of hyper ball. This was my first time playing and being their as well. The fields had great places for coverage and not so crammed. I recently went to splatter park up in Ohio (was pretty fun) and there speed ball arena was so crammed, that you could shoot the bunker behind the person who was shooting at you and hit them. It would bounce off the bunker and hit your opponent in the back. Here I did not have that problem. Good place to go!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

templehotrod133 Wednesday, August 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fields up North in PA and NJ
Review: WOW I have to say this is an incredible field! The staff greated me with a smile, and truely made my paintball experience great. We played a game called kill the rabbit...a very cool game indeed. They provide FREE water and towels....and tons of seating. The feilds range from dense woods to sandy beaches, and several speedball courses. What was honstly the best part, was that several local colleges run their pro-teams there, and numerous pro-teams play there as well. So it was very cool to meet some of my favorite players....but it was even cooler to get to play against them. The skill level of this field and it's players is unmatched. I truely got an education. Great prices, friendly staff, and good skill level. I will defintly be back!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Notorious Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the Gainesville area
Review: We played at the PMI 5-man Pure Energy Series tournament there on June 5th, 2005
The fields were in great shape, everybody there was good to us, and it was a great experience! (and we finished in second place) I loved the two fields being at different levels, you could be at the field at the top of the hill and look down on the one below, that was cool. Kudos to everyone there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gatorpv18 Friday, July 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rocky Creek
Review: I came to First Strike after only having played at Rocky Creek. From the very first moment I got out of my car in a nice mud free parking lot, I could tell there was a difference. I was actually greeted by the friendly staff and the owner herself.

I have since played there almost every weekend. The staff is amazing; the refs are on top of every hit, with 2 refs usually per game. I got a card for my birthday for some free paint, and the owner even remembered me when I came back and gave me the paint even though I didn't have the card! They offer free water, towels, and every table is covered with chairs. HPA users can also use the self serve air with an all day air pass.

The fields themselves are nice...I'm still not sure if I've seen them all. There are at least two two story forts that make for some great scenario/woodsball games. For the tourney players there is a hyperball field a 1 or 2 airball fields depending on when you go out. My only complaint is that the airball field is not always up. That is my favorite field, but they take it down every two weeks to let the grass grow back.

I would highly recommend this field to anyone looking to have a great time with some great competition. I only wish they could control the weather! Maybe an indoor xball field? :)

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

proballer88 Sunday, August 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dunno not from that area
Review: Great field, super friendly owners, refs were great, very informative about the field, split the teams up even. Great prices they just started the BYOB every play day now, so for $15 you can shoot your own paint. All day air only $7. And even if you have to buy paint its at a great price to for PMI paint. The fields were nice, several different speed ball fields nice woods, maybe not ideal for a trounie player but for rec. or scenario players you cant bet it. The speed ball fields were all hyper-ball fields I like but some players don't just personal opinion I guess, I think i did here the owner say that they did have an air field it just wasn't up the day I was there, didn't need it though. All in all great field, super nice owners and refs, prices are good to. I would recommend this field to anyone looking for a good time
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media