paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hell Survivors Paintball Field / Hell Survivors Paintball Field / Hell Survivors Paintball Field / Hell Survivors Paintball Field

Hell Survivors Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
64Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (734) 878-5656
Address: 619 D-19/Pearl St
Pinckney, Michigan 48169
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
PBking4ever Sunday, December 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Futureball- its a little bit cheaper because you can bring your own paint but not al big.
Review: My first time at Hell Surivovers was AWSOME. I loved it because the playing feilds where fun. My faveorite was the village map and I loved it. The refs covered safty very good with a 5 min talk or so about the rules and another 2 min or so reminder befor each game. I give safety a 10/10. The feilds where very fun. The woods ball feilds where big and tactical. The speedball feilds where a little bigger than normal but still fin. Also the Village map was AMAZINGLY fun. Loved it. There prices are their only downfall because of their rule of only being able to use fireball wich is a little more expensive than other paint. Their proshop-mobile thingy was pretty cool. good prices. I liked the air fill station. pretty easy to do by yourself but incase u screw up theres a qualified person willing to help you there. I give this feild a 9/10 because of the fact you have to buy the fireball paint which is like $60.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluewolfsoul Wednesday, July 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Excalibur, Splatmandu, Futureball
Review: While Hell Survivors offers a great deal of opportunities and style of game play my only complaint is the paint. I'm sorry, bot for those of you who say Fireball is a great paint it is not. A flatline will break every 1 out of 10 balls (being generous) and Tippmann's TPX fairs little better. If you don't believe me, ask the guys working there. They know their paint will not shoot well in faltline barrels. The fields are great, and they run a good show, I mean Tippmann Challange, Day of the Rangers. . .all great game setups. I just wish they'd make available another brand of paint on the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

killerpb Thursday, February 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: June 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
NEW killer paintball indoor/ outdoor romulues
Review: I like how they change the field from yr to yr. safety is at the top of there list. I tell all my friends to plat there. If you got the balls play there. O wait there field paint only. but the paint is real good for the price. go play some paintball people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MIIronWolf Tuesday, November 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: July 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: This Field is awesome. I have played the Tippmann World Challange, Global Conquest (2 times), and the Monster Game. Each time I have completely enjoyed myself. The various fields are fantastic, with a wide variety of cover. The paint prices are competitive and Fireball is a great paint (I have shot it in flatlines and Apex barrels with little trouble). The vendors at the large events are great. the only down side are the porta-johns (although they are fairly clean).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FecalNinja15 Friday, October 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chaos, Colors, Lone Wolf, etc.
Directions
to the Field:
From Lansing, take I-96 east to exit 137. Turn right on D-19 and go about 9 miles. When you get to the 25 mph curve, it'll be about 1/2 ahead on the right.
Review: I started playing paintball at Hell Survivors in back in high school in 1995, and only stopped going in 2006 because I joined the military and moved. When I was living in Lansing during college, I would play there Saturdays and Sundays (for you guys playing regularly in 2000-2003, this is Ben from MSU, aka 'Goat'). I still go back there and ball when I'm in MI, which isn't all that often, unfortunately.

Safety is their top priority. You get 1 or 2 warnings, depending on the severity of the infraction (they'll punch a hole in your collar tag); if you screw up again you're either sitting for a game or two, or you're going home...no refund. IMHO, that's how it should be: you do something stupid, you sit out for a game. The refs are excellent; most of them are younger, but not the stereotypical slacker type. I've played at dozens of fields in the eastern US, and this is one of the few where the refs are actively in the game...they'll jump in the middle of a firefight to check someone (or pull a cheater!), and in the unfortunate event of goggles falling off, I've seen them dive on peoples' heads to protect them. Can't get much better than that!

HSI has a decent number of fields, and I hear they've added more since I've been gone. The Master's field is great...a steep ridge in the middle, with a team on the top and bottom. The Village is great, but I preferred the old village (for you newer guys, it's where the parking lot/dead zone is now!). I have seen their newer airball field, but haven't played it yet. A buddy in the area says it's sick.

Hours: I believe they've cut the hours back. They used to have Sat and Sun games every non-holiday weekend, in the scorching sun or 3 feet of snow. I've heard Ed and Dave cut the hours back and close around Oct or Nov.

Prices...I honestly don't recall. Check the website.

For rules, safety is foremost. Bunkering is allowed, with some common sense thrown it (i.e. don't wreck a 10-yr. old first-timer). They do a pretty fair job of splitting up experience on separate teams, and they used to (still may) run separated 'Beginner' and 'Advanced' walkon groups based on equipment, experience, etc. You always get a few ringers and whiners at every field, but they do as fair of a job as possible.

That's about it....sorry for writing a book, but I've definitely got some sentimental attachment to this field. I started off here as the greenest noob ever in 1995 (got owned in EVERY game), and went all the way up to playing on a national NPPL level in 2003-4. This is a great field to play, whether you're a beginner, a straight-up pro, and everything in between. Check it out!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brenpierce25 Friday, December 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: September 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Never been to the other fields
Review: First off I can only tell you about the Trilogy Games (Global Conquest, Michigan Monster Game, and Tippmann World Challenge) as I live 2 hours away and dont go to open play.

Paint: This is a FPO field at $60.00 a case or $15.00 a bag (tax included in price) and is stored in a refridgerated trailer. The paint breaks red (close to blood red as you get) and is made by Draxxuss (Pro Caps) it is called Fireball and has a Custom fill and shell and is Inferno Grade. Its fill is thick and breaks easily on a body. This paint is well worth it for the price and works in all guns and the bore size averages .689. Fireball is the only paint allowed on the field or in the chrono area and the field does hopper and pod checks.

Field: This is the best field I have ever been at. Troop insertions are done by deuce and a halfs and humvees that follow a road which loops the field provided they are not in Iraq (these are actual military vehicles). The bunkers are nice and there are many many base complexes including a village (25 or so 1 story buildings you can go into with a 2 story building in the middle) 2 story castle, 3 story Tippmann Towers, 3 story Highlands, 2 story west point, NEW prop wooden tank and 3 pillboxes including sandbags for Firebase Bravo. Currently the other 3 base complexes are being redesigned and rebuilt.

Refs: The ref are the best I have seen ever! they are at every base 100% of the time and they follow most every firefight. This field is insane about safety. They use color coded ID cards and radar tags which incorporate a 3 strikes your out system for safety violations using hole punches on your id tag. 3 strikes doesnt mean your dead it means your out of the field "possibly for life". They also have 2 chrono stations always manned 1 has 3 stations and the other has 8 stations. In addition to this they have ATV and golf cart mounted chrono stations and pocket chronos for on field tests.
side note: At a game this year I saw a boy who didnt have his mask tight and it got knocked off onto the ground "IN THE MIDDLE OF A FIREFIGHT", within seconds a ref pushed the boy to the ground and shielded the boys entire face and head with his body curling up over the boys head while a second ref retrieved the boys mask. talk about quick thinking.

Refs in play: By far one of the most innovative concepts ever. simply put these are players who also ref but in these games they are UNDERCOVER refs. Play fair and safe cause you never know if the player next to you in a firefight is a ref or not.

Safety: The safest field I have ever seen. Check hydro dates. chrono tags are color coded. 289 FPS or less. Barrel plugs are NOT ALLOWED must be BARRELL SOCKS. Masks on at all times within the field or chrono (signs, tape, and refs remind you of this)
No tools allowed on the field and all gun work needs to be done inside the chrono area with your mask on. You cannot remove your barrel sock in the staging area PERIOD.

Air: Its free, almost. The only air you have to pay for is co-2 being put into your own personal tanks i dont know how much it costs cause I have never seen anyone use their own co2 tanks. The field offers FREE co-2 tanks when you give them your State ID card at the registration window and these tanks utilize the Tippmann quick fill system filling by pressure by 1 one the 30 or so quick fill self serve stations. HPA is also FREE and uses self fill stations that are "idiot proof".

Proshop: It is a custom made, side opening, 53' semi-trailer "SWIIT" a little over priced but usually very well stocked and the guys are pretty knowledgeable.

Bathrooms: well the only bad thing of the field but what can you say everyone knows what a porta potty is. They have 8 of these plus 2 for women. they are changed out at every big game. There are hand washing facilities on site and hoses on a table for equipment cleaning.

Food: lacks a bit but the vendors at the big games and Marcos pizza take pretty good care of you at the normal inflated prices, not too inflated though.

Bonuses: the big games have Raffles except for global which has an auction. Their are mercenanies you can hire using officer money as well as tanks and the tanks are unkillable. You can use money for a airplane mission where you are invulnerable untill you parachute off but can throw grenades while your on it. You can use grenades at this field "Baby Blue Fill" like tippmanns and COLD BURNING smoke grenades NO FUSES "pull pin only".





Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bit Chaser Thursday, June 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hell Survivors Field of Choice http://www.hellsurvivors.com/
Detroit-Ballers · - Http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/Detroit-Ballers
Review: This is one of the most fun fields I have ever played on! Hell Survivors is a woods ball players delight. They have it all; woods, urban, hills, holes, trucks, smoke, and grenades. You just have to go to this field to appreciate it. All levels of experience play here. The referees do a great job of keeping the games moving.

Bit Chaser

If you are looking for some folks to play with in MI check out Detroit Ballers!
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/Detroit-Ballers

This group is designed as an E-gathering place for Paintball players in and around Metro Detroit Any one in south East Michigan who wants to find people to play with, Please Join.

The sight is primarily designed for scenario players however all are welcome. Outlaw gamers are welcome as well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Marich01 Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Killer indoor, futureball indoor/outdoor.
Review: I worked at the brighton store which is a part of hells, that being said, i got to play for free so i decided one weekend to go out and play.

there was about 30 people there, the teams were split up 20 against about 10, I was on the team with 10 as well as one of the merc's to make it even. Being out numbered made the games more fun for me making me to react faster and beeing on top of my game.

First game we played the masters field, I was shot out within 1 minute of the start. Its not the best thing to rush to the top of the hill and go prarrie dog rambo style on people. I only got 5 people out before i was shot in the hopper.

Later on i played the swamp area, i wasnt to motivated as i was getting kind of tired, so i sat back as everyone rused, it was me and two other team mates against 15 of their players , we had them comming from the front and the side so i was tucking into a small spindle as i had a few bunker attemtps i would simply do a quick snap shoot and it was working out well for me until my wingman was shot and the other team came up on my side and shot me.

The village was a fun game, it is like a speedball/ woodsball field. Not to much to say about this field except it is my most preffered field out of all the others.

The refferees are amazing they keep safety top priority, and make the games fun.

The field is FPO and the paint is fireball, they are a nice ball. Consistant overall but they are a smaller bore. They have a nice setup for the fill stations, just a connex that you walk into and fill your own tank, very nice and fast. The C02 is also good, they have the tippmann quick fill stations.

Not to much to eat, but you can buy drinks.

Overall it is a great environment to play in, younger/unexperienced players are widley accepted and the regulars love to teach them little things to improve their game, and it helps the players have fun.


Now the big games on the other hand. Wow if you want to have a great time you need to expereience this. I find the global conquest very fun and interesting. All are great and it is an overall fun event, with the vendors and there is more food/ drink selection at these games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Magus Shadow Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Futureball: Comparable turnout if not greater durring regular open class weekends, with a good choice of fields. Reffing staff is forgettable, safty is lax and in my book, that's a huge strike against them (To be fair, this is much more on the regular players than the staff). A great pro-shop. Cool home team ;-)
Directions
to the Field:
Comming from Ohio via 23 North, Mapquest will give you some horrible directions. The best thing you can do is follow 23 North to Exit 54-B Rout 36. Follow 36 for some miles (Not sure of exact distance... time 10-15 minuts of driving?) being aware that 36 does have a turn or two to follow. Beware the speed limit. Take a right on Pearl Street/D19. The Pearl Street sign is hard to see, there is a "Howell" sign just before the road and you can see an old building that says "Exotic Sports" as well as a gas station. The field will be just a half mile on the left hand side, and the second entrance is reccomended for open class play.
Review: First off let me say that this review is more geared towards Open Play rather than big games. Big games are either something you enjoy or something you do not, and it's a bit of an aquired taste at that. They are far too chaotic for some people and too true they can turn into longball fests, but I personally find them fun. Again, this is for regular weekly open class games.

I've been playing paintball for about 5 years and playing seriously for the past 2. For a year and a half, I've been going to this field and I can honestly say that no other field I have gone to in Ohio and Michigan goes to greater lengths to make you feel at home.

Safety: Top Notch. Rules are simple and easy to understand, and explained well to new players. They check Hydro dates, ect ect. The refs are extreamly helpfull, intelligent and easy to get along with and the players respect them... this helps when they have to be stern and address safty. They watch every player as they leave and make sure that they have their barrel bag on when they leave the field, they police the staging area, and they are set up to do on field chrono checks if they feel there is a problem. The feild uses barrel bags only, not messing around with iffy barrel plugs wich is a big plus in my book. Goggles on is the name of the game on the field, and players are encouraged to remind each other.

Fields: Awesome fields, with good variety. The setup is usually to play a Field twice, switching sides and then moving on. The more unique/famouse feilds such as the Village and Masters field are great for experienced players yet still acsessable to newer ones. Other fields, such as the Highlands and castle offer unique structures and surrounding setups that make awesome attack and defend situations and fields such as the Everglades have the usuall spool setup you find at many fiels, except they throw things into the mix like having the two sides sperated by water with only a few ways to get across. These fields never seem to get old to me, and many agree.

Hours of Operation: 2 3 hour sessions on saturday and sunday, with a 2 hour break in between the sessions (Enough time to sit down at a fast food place or resturant, and the field is more than happy to let you chill there)

Prices: This field is field paint ONLY and they are extraordinarily strict with this. At 60 bucks a case, this may frustrait many people. I can assure you the paint is very good quality and seems to fit the needs of everyone, trouney style player to woods style player alike. Its durable shell goes through flatlines with no problems, and yet it's consitant enough for barrel kits to be extreamly usefull. Personally, I love having this paint leftover so I can use it at other BYOP fields/outlaw games because I can depend on it no matter what the weather is doing or what marker I am using. Thats important to me. Also, this field has its OWN brand of paint made by Pro-Caps (who own Draxxus) with it's own special shell color and fill, so its impossible to try to subtitute another brand. The other part of the cost is Entry, 15 bucks for a 3 hour session and 20 for 6 hours totall. This includes all day air, with THE ABSOLUTE BEST AIR FILLING STATING I HAVE EVER SEEN AT ANY TOURNEY/FIELD EVER. Nitro is fill it up yourself, wih an idiot proof system. Co2 is ALSO do it yourself as they offer special co2 canisters that operate via pressure instead of weight (you need to turn in an ID to rent this, at no cost). I cannot remember what rental prices are, but I belive they are 20 bucks with gun and mask. Dont quote me, but I DO know they use those V-force Vantages with the cool foamless system, so you get quality in that respect. One of the best things about the paint price is there is no markup for buying individual bags... some fields if their case was 60 bucks two bags would be 40, one would be 20, ect. Here, a 60 dollar case can be broken down to 15 bucks a bag, and all those prices are including tax so its EXACTLY 15 dollars, 30 dollars, ect. Personally, I feel playing here and another field is like going from a small theme park to Dinsey land. You pay more, but you get what you pay for in an undeniable quality. Your paintball experience is just that... an experience.

Proshop: They have a little bit of everyhing. They definetly have everything you need to make your marker work, so have faith in that. Prices are up there, unfourtnatly but not totally jacked up for neccesities (The high prices are on things like barrel kits, some high end masks, ect).

Facilities: Good. Huge tent for the staging area picknick tables and enough room for everyone. Portopottys unfourtunately, but there are SEVERAL of them so none of them are run down to a disguting level wich is a plus. No REAL food, just snacks but they do have their own bottled energy drink, wich is actually pretty good :-). AIR FILL STATION IS AWESOME.... can't stress that enough. Wonderfull buiding for us VIP's ;-)

Conclusion:

I love this field. The reasons are numerous and many are explained above, but I often find no matter how good the field, the make/break of it all are the players. Hells has a GREAT group of regulars that take just as much pride in the field as the staff does. Amoung them, there is a great vareity of talent yet all of them balance it out with enthusasim, friendlyness, and easygoing nature. They are just as concered for safty as the staff and it's second nature for them to remind other, newer players of things like keeping your mask on and not taking off yoru barrel bag. When someone comes to this field, they are going to have a great experience all around with a great field. You can't ask for much more than that... in my personall opinon, while there are some things I would like to see (Food, slightly better prices on Pro-shop items) there is nothing that could possibly take the 10 ratting away from this field. This is what a true paintball facility is ment to be.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

litehwk356 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Futureball.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest FTW.
Review: Great field, many different fields, Great prices, Very helpful. They are very strict on safety, and use the 3 punch system. the staff there are very knowledgable, and can help with almost everything. If there is anything you need to know, send me a pm and I can answer it. (I know 2 refs and the manager, so I can aswer almost everything.).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media