paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / CDR Sports Paintball Field / CDR Sports Paintball Field / CDR Sports Paintball Field / CDR Sports Paintball Field

CDR Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 360-424-9440
Address: 3226 Old Goldie Rd
Oak Harbor, Washington 98277
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ColdHam Sunday, May 1st, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 30th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Everywhere!
Directions
to the Field:
Less than one mile West of I-5, just off Exit 218 in Washington State.
Check the Website, if you still need it, there are directions and a Google Map.
Review: This is absolutely the Most-Fun Paintball Field I have every played at in my life!

However,
My review is intended for a paintball field that is now called Paintball Station, not CDR. In early 2010 the paintball field's property owner discontinued the business relationship with his long-time renter CDR. Apparently the property owner had issues with how the property was being used and managed.

The property owner decided to re-open the field, under its original name when he ran it, before renting the property to CDR. Bob originally opened Paintball Station in April of 1999, then he rented the property to a local paintball shop called CDR in (I think) 2004 or so. Bob (the property owner) reopened under his old business name "Paintball Station", and now rents the property to his new business.
When Bob took the field back in 2010, the property was fixed up, and the refs are held to a much higher standard now, so you can see people’s opinions change shortly after he takes the field back.

I absolutely agree with what several others are saying in this thread, about how "Paintball Station" (not CDR) is the “best paintball park in the northwest”, thanks to all of the hard work that old man puts into the field to keep himself busy during the week. I admire that old fart and I hope I can stay as active when I retire...

Visit www.paintballstation.com for everything you need to know about how to play paintball at the cheapest, easy to get too and just plain best paintball park in Western Washington!

Paintball Station is less than a mile off I-5 in Mount Vernon Washington.

$20 Entry with All-Day 3000 and 4500 PSI High Pressure Air Refills or CO2.

You can Bring you own paint, and there is paint available to buy for a good price, like $42 for a case, including tax. I think that is cheaper than Wallmart!

No credit, ATM or DEBIT on site, CASH ONLY! All prices include sales tax, so its like saving %10...

No near-by fast food or Delivery options, and the "Kitchen" menu at the field is less than appetizing... so you may want to bring your lunch!

They are open 9AM until 4PM on Weekends; the first 6 people to arrive before 9AM get Free Entry (save $12, on the $20, but still charges $8 for All-Day HP-Air and CO2).
However, One Saturday a month Paintball Station will host Airsoft games and be closed to paintballers in the near future also…I guess, is what I heard…

Urban and Woods Style paintball fields with fast paced action like a speedball game, but that are no speedball or xball fields or anything like that. Just a bit urban style filed with lots of really good solid bunkers, lots of firing lanes and a big cross bridge that is elevated about 10 feet from the ground. There are big nets for safety, 4500PSI Air compressor with 4 fill stations. Lots of kills!!!
The website has some really good videos of the field and players, and there is a webcam on the website to see how many players are there!

Check out the webcam and YouTube Videos at the website: http://www.paintballstation.com

There are also rumors of a Scenario and/or Over-night Paintball and/or Airsoft games coming soon!
Last edited on Saturday, April 30th, 2011 at 6:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbjornstad Sunday, August 22nd, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Semper Fi in Whatcom County, CDR in Oak Harbor and many other private fields. I think about 4 other private fields. So Paintball Station is my 7th field. In comparison. This field kicked some serious butt. Urban combat style is so fun yet they still have woods around the "city" you can shoot it out in for a rural feel. It's the best of both worlds!
Review: I loved it and can't wait to go back. They have HPA on tap that is filtered unlike CDR :(. If you have a HPA tank and go to CDR be ready to pay to get it cleaned later on. Safety was in general the same as the other fields I'd been too. Goggle areas and barrel bag areas. The field was great both urban and rural. City/woods. Hours are 9-4 Saturday and Sunday. Prices are really cheap in my mind compared to others. You can use off site paint if you want but in all honesty. The man Bob who runs the place is retired and he isn't out to make huge profit margins on you. A case of low grade is $42 but I bought a case of V-1 for $48. Come on people the cheapest stuff at Walmart is still $40 (And it's awful). His paint prices are really reasonable. It's $12 field fee and $8 for all day air both CO2 and HPA included. Rules are normal in my mind compared to other fields. They offered to make some Chili for lunch but I packed one so declined. They don't have a proshop because like I said earlier Bob isn't in it for profit. It's for fun. A proshop is too large of a time commitment. They have all the rental gear you'll need. I had my own gear so I didn't use any but the other players were getting me out with them so it's good enough gear you can borrow. I don't think there is a rental fee as long as you return everything. (Don't quote that I'm not 100% sure). The staff was great. The owner actually came out and played with us :). He got me out once and I got him out once. Because he has Mon-Fri to do maintenance on the field he can actually play on the weekends he's open. I don't know if the field started as a hobby for him or what but he's put a lot of work into the field. It's right by his house.

In mind above all else if you didn't read all of that: It's the best bang for your buck literally in the north sound. I haven't been east or to Canada or south of Seattle so I have no opinions about those but from Seattle to the border it's the best. It's really nice to have 30 people playing because they can actually afford it and everyone can have some fun vs. only 10 playing people no one can afford it. Paintball Station is an A+++ place to play. I can wait to go back. I loved it. One last thing. Get the phone number off of the website. They have regulars that go every two weeks. Call ahead and plan which weekend to go and on which day to be able to play with them and in turn more people.

Best $20 I ever spent!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Adam78K Sunday, July 18th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Forrest Fire, Skinny Joe
Directions
to the Field:
N/A
Review: I agree with the previous post about how you hear about every other type of paintball field, that is in the Northwest other than this one. I'm glad I gave this one a try, because it was a great field.

At a 20$ price entry fee, you just go wrong with this field. I also rented a HPA tank for only 4$. Oh did I mention in that 20$ price there is unlimited air tank fills.

There was plenty of tables and a area outside of the game to place your gear on and work on it. More than enough to fit crowds of 40+. Also had nice relaxing chairs to sit in and the area was very easy to chat with other people to get know them.

The field was the best part of the day. I would categorize it as a urban feel to it, that had a bridge and 4 bunkers on the bridge.Also it had tons of barricades and plenty of areas to find a good spot in around the bridge area. There was a grass and tree area around the outside of the map that you could take advantage of also. So they did a good job mixing urban and woods ball together.

The owner was very nice and also had plans to keep the field fresh by moving and rearranging bunkers and pinwheels. He was dedicated and passionate about paint-balling which is always a good sign.

One of the best features of the field is that it had a self fill HPA/CO2 Compressor for 3000 & 4500 PSI tanks. Was quick, easy and one of the nicest system's I've seen.

Only complaint of the day was that sometimes the waiting between games was a little long. Could range from 5-25 minutes depending on the ref. A lot of people had to get on him to get it going.

Overall was a great field that suited any type of player, the staff was friendly and helpful and great price for Northwest paintball fields. That is why I give this rating a 9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

**T1** Sunday, July 18th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
You name it, I have played it.
Review: **Played at PB Station on 08/02/2010 so I am revising my review**

Once again, the Ref is horrible. One Ref for an entire 2+ acre (could be wrong on the size) field is just not enough. Especially when the game is going and he walks off the field to talk to friends. The safety for the little guys and new players is really at risk.

Second, the field does not change and there are so many bunkers that people just camp the entire game. In other words, its get boring.

The owner of the field is FANTASTIC. When my Ego was down for the count he loaned me his Angle and Barrel kit. He saved the day for me. You can tell that PB Station will be VERY good in the future but right now its a work in progress.

I am going to stay away for a bit until things improve. Changing my review from a 10 to a 6 based on the poor reffing.



When playing paintball in the Northwest there are a few fields that you always here when the topic comes up. Doodlebug, ForestFire, Mad Dawg, KC Crusaders and Skinny Joes.

The hidden gem of the Northwest is easily Paintball Station.

The field is has a great urban warfare flavor with two bridges that include bunkers on them. There are numerous bunker, brush & trees ks to use for cover and the layout is amazing.

The new ownership cares about its customers and offers a clean area staging / seating area to get setup and watch the games. The staging area is well barked and they offer an array of food food and drink option during a hot summer day.

The air setup was SELF SERVICE for both 3000 and 4500 tanks and was brand new. At a $20 field and air fee it was the best price in the northwest hands down.

As far as game play, it was a good time for all. The only were only two real areas of concern and that was the time between games and the organization of the referees.

I am used to parks where games will start within 5 or 15 minutes of each other. At Pball Station it can be anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes depending when the ref feels like getting it started. The players were always getting on him to get moving. He really needed to take control of the games.

Also, there was only one ref for the entire field and there really should have been two for everyone's safety.

Other than the above two items, this is by far the best field in Western Washington. I spoke to the owner and he has big plans for the field. I cannot wait to see what they do next as I will be playing there at least twice a month going forward.
Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2010 at 10:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ring Sunday, May 2nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Played Saturday May 1, 2010. The first six player to sign in get on for FREE after the fthe first six its $20 for the field fee and all day air.. First thing I notice was how clean the grounds were. there are clean tables for you to put your equipment under cover.. Bob has installed a 4500 psi air system which is top of the line. 4200 to 4500 fills all day. NICE. He has 4 different type grades of paint with Marbaliizer being the top and formula 13 being the bottom so he is selling great paint for a great price, you can also bring your own paint. the feild is a kick, with brigdes with sniper towers and lot of bunkers and a large wooded area. . There was only a short waits between games and the people playen were great. This feild is a good one to check out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

marinewarrior Thursday, September 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pure Adrenalin, Forest Fire, West Side, CDR.
Directions
to the Field:
Listed on Web Site.
Review: Ok now for the up dated review since it has been more than a year or two since I have been visiting the field.
The refereeing has changed substantially and the games are turned a little more quickly. This can still be worked on but hey they have improved so I am happy.
The field has yet again gone through a change with castles added and more mounds, definitely a much more fun place to play!
I do wish they would add the woods in the game play a little more often even if it was a woods game only.
The low compressed air volume that I previously complained about is no longer an issue. Now I would have to say they have a system that all other fields should look in to. I believe in this area they set the standard for ease of fill and the least amount of wait time to get the job done!!!
Since I have been playing there for a few weekends in a row now I have noticed that the regulars that I and many others had complained about are now not allowed to play there now. I think this was a good move on the behalf of the staff and I think it will pay off for them in the fact that they will gain more business from having wipers and cheaters banned from the field. Hopefully lesson learned for them.
Ok now the only short coming I still have for them is the Sani-Can issue. Brothers this thing is nasty it needs to be cleaned if not weekly at least bi-weekly.... I do not think it has been emptied for at least a couple of months or so.....
Also I would like to note that now there is a mobile pro shop on site for marker, clothing, and equipment purchase. Good idea here to fellows!
I hope this helps out for the last, not so impressive review I made. It would appear that the staff or some body close did in fact read it and take it to heart.
Last edited on Monday, May 26th, 2008 at 4:35 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nightwolf5523 Sunday, July 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
180* NW
Pure Adrenaline
Directions
to the Field:
Take pioneer highway, turn on milltown road, take a left right before the graveyard into a driveway that has a paintball sign... if u cant figure it out from there, u shouldnt be playin lol
Review: Ok im changing my previous review on this field cause i made 1 the first time i went to the field and it wasnt a good rating but heres what i think now that i have been there a couple times more.

They have changed the field a lot and it is a pretty awesome field now, i would prefer a pure woods course but i havent heard of any good ones around so im waiting for mad dawgs for that but anyway this field is cool, there is a tall mound in the middle and a couple castles and little mounds and then a woods part on the side of the field so its quite fun.

The refs this last time out were amazing, always checkin paint and anytime i asked for a game they set it right up it was awesome, they are nice guys just wantin to do whatever u wanna do.

Field fees... i just suggest u have all ur own gear lol, its not that bad if u do, 16 to get in 4 if u bring ur own paint thats not from CDR and then if u dont have a mask thats another 5 bucks, 3 bucks to rent a barrel bag (and 5$ to buy one), and the list goes on for prices... but if u have ur own gear its really not that bad.

the people there are also really friendly, i have made a bunch of friends there that i still go there and play with, i havent seen a single player that goes around swearing thinking hes the best or anything, just a bunch of cool guys wantin to play some ball. also a bunch of people show up at this field... i went this last sunday (april 13th) and there was about 60 people that showed up for a sunday, thats pretty dang good.

so i've changed my rating on this field from a 5 to an 8. its a very fun field.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 15th, 2008 at 4:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rowesc Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR, Paintamania
Review: I haven't played at this field in a couple of years. The layout has been changed. Not better or worse, just different. I brought a group of kids from church with me and including us there were probably 50-60 people. Naturally this caused a huge slow down on checking in and paying. Took us probably 1 1/2 hours before we finally played. Most of the time there were just 2 refs. Could have been a couple more for the size of the group.

I do have one gripe, this was my first time using my new ION that I got for Christmas, and it wasn't working. Air on, but no firing when you pull the trigger. I took the gun to the guys working the shop and asked if they knew anything about IONs. I was told yes. They looked at it and couldn't find anything wrong. Outta luck. They said to bring it by the shop and they could try to fix it for cheap. Luckily I had a couple other guns with me, or I woulda been done for the day. Well, to make a long story a little shorter, at home I decided to try changing out the battery and now my gun works. No issues with the solenoids, no repair costs. I know I should know how my gun works, but come on. Replace the battery? The guys at the field should have been able to figure that one out.

Overall, I would say that on this day, the field was just o.k. Not too good, not too bad.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

gman536 Tuesday, April 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Semper Fi, Doodle Bug Indoor, Operation Paintball, Black Diamond, Paint A Mania, Doodle Bug Outdoor, Danger Zone
Directions
to the Field:
Pretty easy to find.
Review: We have played here several times. Cedar is very cool and will go the extra to make sure your experiance was a good one. He knows Autocockers. He fixed mine! All feilds go through periods of good and poor Refs. For the most of the time, his Refs are pretty good. I liked his SLUM Village. It could be more even/fair from both sides though. But it was fun. I really like his WoodsBall feild. Lots of trees, logs, stumps, ect. The Hyper Feild is real fast paced. You better know how to run FAST! It's alot of fun though. The POND is a TRIP! It's a fun feild. His paint prices are comparable to other feilds I've been to. Chrono is checked every time you enter the feilds. Both experianced and Newbs play here. The teams are evened out pretty well. Overall this is a great place to play! Garett
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ATTENTaTER Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
I will not tell fellow paintballers how to get here.
Review: Showed up at 1130, on a Sunday. Field fee, air, and lunch costs me 20$, ok that is not bad... then 4 more $$$ for bringing my own paint... Ok I have heard of doing that no biggie.

I asked the worker at the desk to fill my CO2, he takes the tank, and says " oh its full " well the day before I shot the thing empty, so I explain that to him, and he "fills" my CO2. To my suprise, my tank was empty after about 230 rounds... Hmm when did my 20 oz tank magically turn into a 9 oz?

I take it back up for a re-fill, and he messes it up again.

Combine that with the fact that there were people milling around with out their barrel covers on, and there were only about two refs, and the woods were closed, and you get a poorly managed, understaffed, waste of a day. After I explained this, the kid working at the desk did then do his best to solve what problems he could, which is the only good part of the whole expirence. He asked if he could fill my tank again, had a safety brief, and then when he saw that nothing would have kept me there, called the manager, and re-funded me...

In summary, poor knowledge base, messy unkept field, loose safety rules, under staff, and amateur refs, (teenager)

Even if I lived two blocks from this place, I would go 45 minutes away to a better field.
CDR must stand for crappy dumb retards....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media