paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field

Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
49Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (800) 919-9237
Address: 15112 Sierra Highway
Santa Clarita, California 91390
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
NET Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
crossfire and urban quest
Review: This field is great. Because i live in Sime Valley, i can get to the field in ten minutes. The fields are good depending on what u like. If u have a scenario gun play jungle and hyperball. If your have a speed gun play airball, hyperball, or mini hyperball. The food truck that comes also has great food.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xxChalongOxx Wednesday, January 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 9th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
crossire, urban quest, dkz, usa tha best and its not just 4 newbs
Review: wow this place is tha best i think. mini hyperball is the best its just so ...i dont know wut to say bout it but its tha best 1 there, jungle is tha funnest, least useful (in building up ur madd skillz), paint wasting and wiping field known to mankind, sheesh 1 ref in tha middle and on tha side of tha bigest field ever sure will c ya get shot, my adviece, take tha high rode on jungle, paintballs cost ALOT, $80 freeeekin dollars 4 2000, go here u'll havvva blast my pplz...


my dad recently saved paintball usa when tha fires came thru tha area, he kicked open tha land owners door and told him to leeve tha area, paintball usa was eventually protected by the fire but it was a close call...dont you think we should get a like, forever lifetime pass for saving there fields?
Last edited on Friday, January 20th, 2006 at 10:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballerz123 Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 31st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crossfire SC village
Review: This place is my favorite field out of any near my area. The refs are nice, the fields are ok, and the players are really nice. The only problems are that paint is REALLY expencive, and the players there wipe like crazy. But besides that, the place is great. I personaly like hyperball the most. The airball field is kind of a joke though. The bunkers are unevenly placed and sort of flat. The jungle is AWSOME. Its better when you get like 15 on 15 or something. The food is really good but extremely overpriced. Its alot better to order pizza from a nearby pizza parlor. I would suggest west coast pizza because their fast and really tasty.Sorry, I'm really hungery right now, back to the review. This is an overall GREAT field. The fields are good, the refs are nice, and the people there work as a team and can help you out with any problems you may have with your gun, gear, or any other odd problems you may have like going to the bathroom or something crazy like that, well, they may not help you go to the bathroom or by a car.But that would be totally awsome would'nt it! Sorry, I'm getting kind of carried away. If your going to go to any field near Ventura or Simi Valley, I would suggest going to this field. Now, I'm gonna go eat an entire cow because I'm going to die if I don't eat something. Shut up you vegitarians who say it's bad for me because it's not. You can just blow it out your bung hole. See Ya at PB USA!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

phreakus Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 3rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pretty much all of them
Review: Pretty much most of what I would say about the field has been said ... alot.

Just take a look at the length of time playing paintball for most the people that are leaving fabulous reviews vs. those that are leaving negative reviews. The people that are newer (less than 2yrs) love paintball usa / close encounters (all locations). The more experienced players will not enjoy the paintball usa experience. Yes, Mike caters to alot of the newer players who are not familiar with the sport or going rates for paint etc.

I started playing at Close Encounters when it was located by Calamigos Ranch. I've had many fun times over the years. I personally will only go back if its with a private group or similar scenario.

Older players look elsewhere for a day of fun. If you want to deal with thing like a 3-shot rule or 10 foot rule (i.e. no bunkering) then fine you might enjoy it here. If your Idea of fun is running the arenas at SC all day then avoid this place like the plague.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

yellowjacket Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 3rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of Fire
Review: lets start with some basic pros and cons
pros
-lots of people
-location can't be beat if you live in simi
-most hyper ball players are intermediately skilled
-most refs are cool guys to talk with (if they last more than a month without getting fired)
-new road owns for getting in and out of
-food truck rocks, good deals and hot dogs are big!
-Miss Kim owns!!
cons
-Jungle- this field is crap.
The owner does not up-keep the field at all and it is through dedicated players that have some free week day hours that the field is maintained.
^please maintain the field!
- The air-ball field is totally one sided and the owner desperately needs to buy a new field set.
-All of the fields are full of rocks and golfer holes, so watch yourself
-80 bucks a case of house paint!!! I think the owner believes he can rip off suburban children.. so far its working. -buy your paint at the stores!
^free online coupons exist, take advantage of this to get around the problem, if your new to the sport and don't have a marker/paint/etc.
-too many newbies!!!! yes, that can be a problem...why? they do not separate higher level players from newbies! this brings about lots of after game conflicts and fights as new players bicker at getting out so fast or getting "lit up".
^cops have been called to this field on more than one occasion do to physical fights because of this! do you want your kids playing in this environment? <issue needs to be addressed. I warn parents about this field!
-too many newbies also = lots of hot guns.
-The chrono booths are not as safe as everyone thinks. I have been going here a long time and I have received wounds that last more than a month< most of these are from some regulars at the field, ahem....
- This place for 25 bucks feels like a mound of dirt......what can I say?

conclusion: I have seen a lot of stuff wrong with this field... I mostly continued to come here because of certain regulars and its popularity. Don't get me wrong, the staff is friendly but some serious issues of safety need to be addressed as well as issues of field maintainment.

Places close and a lot better
Fields of Fire - can be explained in a review
Warped sports paintball-review can explain also
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ifightthefoo Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 4th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Proving Groundz, Close Encounters
Review: I like it. Its kind of stupid that you have to have a waiver everytime you go, so print one out before you go. The staff is cool and good. They make fair teams and keep games going. Its nice that you can have any paint there. There airball field is fun, when it is blown up. It is only blown up for the first couple of hours, and a lot of the time the sides are way uneven. So I dont play that field very much. Their speed ball is fun but the left side doesnt have very many places to go off the break. The mini speed ball is alright, its set up is fine, and isnt all that bad. The jungle is probably their best field. This is were most people play. All the newbies go up there and play so its fun to take them out. There are probably as many rental people as there are self equiped. I would suggest to go and check it out at least once. I would give it an 8-10 and I like it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBman173 Thursday, December 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 27th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sports - Much Nicer Facilites and Much More Expensive
Review: Paintball USA is good and inexpensive. Their is a coupon for gun rental, admission, mask, pods, all day air, and 500 paintballs. If you search the internet you will be able to find it. All the fields arre on dirt, and the airball field is very small (around 8 bunkers) and closes at 2pm instead of 4pm. One ref sometimes dosn't care if the teamms are even so it could be 5 electros vs. 5 rentals, but usually the teams are very fair. One guy who works at the front desk is really nice. If you lose a part for your gun he'll give you an extra, and if you need help to fix your gun he'll teach you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

censored Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 29th, 2003
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sport, SC Village
Review: The reason why I went to this field is because I was able to get "discount" tickets at this field. The website has the same pics as Paintball USA Close Encounters in Santa Clarita so I didn't know what to expect. The ticket allows free entry and rental equipment but you have to buy your own air (I think it was $20 buck maybe $25) and their paint if you use the ticket.

I'm still new to the sport so I only have two other fields to compare it to. To get there off the main highway, you use an unpaved dirt/gravel road (1/4 mile) and park in the unpaved parking lot.. There are no real permanent structures there like a proshop or bathrooms. There are two port-a-potties and the main place is basically a storage bin.

There are 4 fields, 3 speedball and 1 called Jungle. It liked Jungle the best but the field is large and there was only one ref. Since there is only one ref, there were a number of guys blind firing and shooting either in burst mode (possibly full auto) since the ref can't see the whole field and all players. I think overall, this field is for those who like speedball and would like to use their electronic guns in burst modes or automatic.

There is nothing to eat at the location you tell them when you sign up that you want pizza at noon. They have Papa Jons deliver the pizza. They also gatorate ($2) and water($1).

The cleaning station is a pair of spray bottles with water and some old t-shirts to wipe.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cheezmaster Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of Fire, The Proving Groundz, Paintball Fury and Many More. But uh Paintball USA Simi is the worst.
Review: This field is great. Here's some of the pros:
-Unlimited CO2, Compressed Air, and Nitro included in entry fee
-Self serve Nitro and Compressed Air

Cons:
-Some of the refs are complete jackasses
-Some of the staff are scared to fill up your CO2 and Nitros
-The scenario course needs some remodeling after the rain
-The food truck leaves to early
-Expensive paint($80 for decent paint)
-The Dirt is Kinda a Bummer and they need astro turf or grass for speedball
-Airball field is a joke
-Uh this field sucks!!!

This field is pretty good but it has some flaws. One flaw is that its scenario field was badly damaged after the rain. Some of the boards are barely standing and some of the dirt is really loose and this causes you to slip when hiking up a hill. The sides are well balanced. The speedball is standard, nothing original though. But again on the negative side, the airball field is absolutely pathetic. There are only about ten bunkers and two of them are deflated. Also the gound in the speedball fields is all dirt and rocks. Of the break at their large speedball course I sprinted to a middle bunker and then I hit rocky terrain. I almost fell and to avoid getting shot I had to slide. This was very painful because I landed on a hard, sharp rock. My knees were badly injured and I had to rest for a few moments. When I looked when the game was over, I was had a bad scrape on my stomach and my left knee was slightly bleeding. But hey, no pain no gain right? I also noticed that some of the staff members were inexperienced. Most of the staff is friendly but there's always a couple bad apples. Oh and they are all about safety. Before each match you have to have your marker chronoed and then they put a piece of tape on to show that you are ready to go. But they Go to far with safety. I had my feed neck completely off, my barrel off, and my gun turned off but they still yelled at me to put on my barrel plug. I told him it was turned off but he still yelled at me. He even threatened to kick me out. So I muttered a few swear words and we left this piece of crap field. It was pouring rain to and all of the fields were flooded. Before we play they try to balance the teams but sometimes fail. I mean once it was me and a friend and everyone else on the team was rentals againt real Navy Seals. During the game most of the refs are pretty good and if it's a large game they'll have multiple refs on the field. There is some cheating but spectators usuallt point it out to the refs and they are caught. THIS IS NOT A REVIEW THIS IS A WARNING!!!

DON'T GO TO THIS FIELD!!! The only thing it's good for is shooting up noobs. So don't go here. NEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!
Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 11:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Capital23 Thursday, September 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, X Park, Proving Grounds.
Review: This is one of my favorite fields, the speedball is great, i personally do not like big crowds, so this is a great field for me. The Jungle, is awsome, it is a capture the flag map with usually about 15-20 per team. They do make the games even, like take the guys with good guns and split them up. They also have begginer and advanced games, so the teams will not be all screwed up. The Speedball is also great. I also like the service, they are very helpful. Only complaint is, just like all fields there are pricks and complainers there. But the cheating is not as bad as most fields, there are cheaters, but not as many.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media