paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field

Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
49Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (800) 919-9237
Address: 15112 Sierra Highway
Santa Clarita, California 91390
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
hotfireman51 Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC VILLAGE,FIELDS OF FURY,FIELDS OF FIRE,JUNGLE ISLAND,PARANOID,URBAN QUEST,TPG,HOLLYWOOD SPORTS PARK
Review: This fields sucks. Too many rocks,inadaquate netting, air field is a joke,security is a nonexistent,too long between games,owner can be a jerk, small hyperball field has alot or rocks, large hyperball field is not maintained,bunkers are not equal on each side. Seems that the owner is only into it for the money. He has some sort of relationship with the Acton Fields of Fury field. Now why he does not want to improve the fields in Simi, is the million dollar question. There would be some better quality players to play there if he would improve the fields. He never changes the field layouts. They are always the same. Only one ref (Art) knows whats going on. The others are very inexperience,have no control over the games,and do not enforce the rules. Miss Kim is cool. She pretty much runs the place. She enforces the rules more than the refs. You really have to watch your equipment. It can be there one moment, then gone the next. Stealing someones equipment is something that all of us hates to see happen. Fights are common. Especially with older players. Cheating is very common on the jungle field. You mark someone on the head that's wearing a beanie,he ducks behind the bunker,comes back without the beanie on. We played there every weekend for about a year. Only because of the distance and try to play with others players from the area. I would not hesitate to travel and play at other fields. Fields of Fury in Acton is the best outdoor field in the area. Eric the owner has done a terrific job in rebuilding the fields. The complete opposite of Mike the owner of Paintball USA in Simi Valley. The Acton field has 5 stations to fil to 4500psi,plus CO2 and 3000 psi fills. If you go on Saturdays its normally not too many players. Sundays are their big days. Pro teams mix it up with each other. Its fun to watch how to play the real game. Anyway in conclusion if you go to PB USA don't expect alot in good fields,Watch your equipment.Paint is very expensive for cheap paint. Wear plenty of padding, and watch out for the snakes during the hot weather. For newbies its ok,but don't get frustrated with rate of play, the rowdies,the cheaters, and don't trust everyone. Watch your equipment.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

staticxcky Sunday, July 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A bunch
Review: I went here last weekend, mind you I havent played in probably 7 or 8 months seeing as that my cousin who I normally go with had his gun stolen and he just hasnt played for a while.
But anywho, I went, it was quite a drive for me but oh well, it beats playin next to the freeway.

FIELDS:
I actually rather liked this field, the fields themselves were not that great;

Airball-Not very large, not very many bunkers(about 10 in all), the whole field was about 30 feet long and 20 feet wide. Not very good dirt to slide on(lots of little rocks).

Hyperball-Not bad, bunkers need to be cleaned off, also not good dirt to slide on.

Jungle-Not a jungle, mostly pallets and plywood, VERY large, set on a slight grade which veers off to a large hill. Good cover, not good sliding because bunkers are not really any higher than 3 feet.

SERVICE: The service was, I felt...very good, I went to go chrono my gun and it shot way low(it was dialed all the way out, dunno why). So the ref just asked me to hand him my gun and adjusted it perfect, without my help, very cool. We had a private party so we had to wait for some of the fields but mostly it was pretty quick, games were going on every 20 to 30 seconds. The field seemed to be reffed rather well although the refs do not always respond to a paint check. Food consists of a catering truck in the parking lot. Restrooms are porta potties(whats new). The only quirk I had was getting air, I was standing there and the people were filling some and then talking, and then filling some and then talking, and then finally got to me, picked up my tank, and then a player who looked a little more geared out than me came up and the person behind the counter set down my tank, took 3 of his and filled them although I had been waiting for a clear amount longer than him..not cool. Overall I had a pleasant experience, oh yea, the airball field closes at 2 o clock even though the field closes at 4, I dunno why.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DYE805 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played in alot of fields and they are all better than Paintball USA
Review: I think paintball USA sucked because the refs cheat and they are a** holes they help out the people that always go the teams are never fair and I recommend that knowbody goes there the hyper ball field used to be good but now its worse it will be better to go to other fields like paintball USA in valencia or proving grounds
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

COTN Sunday, May 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone (Great fields, A lot of fun, Must try)
SC Village (great fields, Beware of Crowds, Disneyland of all paintball Parks)
Jungle Island (Nice fields, Some fields are flooded, A long drive)
Conquest (Fields are Average, Have the best refs, no shade)
PBUSA Close Encounters (Newb Magnet, being remodeled reopen summer '05, worst refs)
Fields of Fire (HORRIBLE FIELDS, prices are good, Refs are above average)
Review: I went to PB USA simi valley for the first time on May 28, 2005. This review is given by me, an ADULT, not a kid. There are many similiarites to PB USA close encounters. They have 4 fields: Jungle, 2 hyperballs, and 1 airball field. Jungle field is a good size field, not as big as the one in close encounters nor does it have a big hill. The hyperball fields are very small and weak. No one was playing on the airball field for whatever reason. The airball field is also small and does not look like it is much fun either. I have noticed over the years while playing at PB USA that it attracts many new players, kids, and CHEATERS. Many new players because they offer a special for rental players. $35 will get a rental player a gun, mask, all day C02, 500 paintballs which is a good deal and that is why so many new players show up. When I say cheaters, I mean people who wipe their hit and this happens on the big field JUNGLE. Their weren't that many people there which lead to long delays in between games because refs waited to gather enough people to play on the field. PB USA has the WORST REFS!!!! And I am not kidding. I been to many paintball parks and there is no comparison. The REFS at PB USA are young, immature, can't stand up for themselves, don't do paint checks, they can't enforce the rules properly. The quality of players is also horrible because they are mostly kids. I have nothing against PB USA but I am giving my honest review.

Pros:
1. $25 for self equip players includes all day air (they do 4500 fills) but the first time they only filled up my tank up to 3300 and second time up to 4000.
2. There isn't a crowd which is good and bad.
3. Plenty of parking space.
4. $35 Special for rental players. Can't be beat

Cons:
1. Have the worst refs PERIOD.
2. $80 a case of paint
3. Port a Potty
4. Fields are just below average.
5. Too many kids,new players, and wipers
6. LONG delays in between games.

This park is definiately not for a experienced paintballer. They will be extremely disappointed. If you are new to paintball and want to try it out, this is a good place for you. Can't beat the special for rental players. If you are a parent and have young teenagers who want to play, bring them here. I will have to rate this park second to last. Only Fields of fire is worst then this place. 3.5/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

newbieassassin Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: i went to this field on the advice of a guy i met at skirmish the store, it looked like a fun field considering i live in the NW and only play in cali on rare occasions. I left my gear in Washington so i had to rent and of course the equipment was n00bish but then again all rental gear is like that so no complaint there. I got through the lines fine and i met up with my friend to start ballin. The fields are nice but the refs im sorry to say are young and cannot defend themselves from verbal abuse from even the youngest ballers. Which brings me to my next point, OMG players that go to this field swear sooooo much. Im telling you it was unbelievable and even when this party of little kids was right next to these 'big ballerz' these guys would go off and shout the F-bomb at a ref half way across the park. Let me tell you that was not at all cool and those players are really dumb for thinking they are cool, the owner should make a policy that bans players if they swear. I had a pretty good time and would come back but changes defiantly need to be made
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

toomuchice Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: When i first got tto the feild , the lines seemed not too long, the staff got me and my friends through fast with no problems. the place has a picnic tables so people can put their stuff down and there is no worries about where to put ur stuff. we went in and got our guns chronoed. the girl chronoing our gun wasa nice, and quiet. after that we went straight to the airball feild. it was small but nice. the ref didnt seem to be reffing though. We played and in my first game I took out like 4 members on the other team. i noticed that one side had an avantage. this means the feild has abad setup if the feild is one sided. we played more times and had a blast. after that we went to the jungle feild. It was nice. we played their on a 20 on 20 match and it was a lot of fun. i really like it. the people were friendly and there was a good number of refs watching the game. we played the hyperball feild and that as well was a good feild. me and my friends had a blast playing that feild. Overall i think this park is a lot of fun. I would definately suggest trying this park out. I had a lot of fun their and i now go there almost every weekend.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

memers0n Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
urbanquest is really the only one less than 45 minutes away
Review: Well this is the second closest field to me, urban quest is the closest but it in general sucks ass...
They have 2 fields with hyper ball tubing, 1 large and 1 small, and 1 shoddily set up air ball field. They also have jungle which I havenít played at but it looks nothing like a jungle. They fill air to about 2800 phi at the self fill and usually 3500 at the front desk, so the airfoils arenít that great. The people there are nice though, although sometimes they donít do their jobs, I was hanging out with a ref for the last 45 minutes the field was open last time. The air ball field is sometimes good, sometimes bad...by the end of Sunday the bunkers just roll around and arenít tied down; they donít seem to be able to put them into the ground successfully. The field is more knob friendly than others; I really liked it when I was shooting a spider, but if you're more than an amateur division player than itís probably not the field for you. You need to bring your own paint! They sell crappy stuff at 80 bucks a case. The staging area is just a bunch of tables with canopies over them, its fine for California but if it gets cold and windy it sucks. Overall this is a good field, the people are really friendly but seem somewhat reluctant to start games...and some of the newer refs only yell on the loudspeaker and refuse to do a paint check unless the guy is right next to him. The older refs are good though. And if you're a regular there itís nice, people seem to get friendlier and friendlier.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Agaiplt Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Well this is the first and Only professional/reffed field I have been to, and since I live 5 minutes away it is my first choice. It is easy to find, you can clearly see the field on the hill and they usually have signs and an American Flag showing the entry way. The entrance has major pot holes and if you have a low car (which I do) go slow or you are going to bottom out. They have plenty of Refs and usually two cashiers up front to get the line moving faster. They are only open on Saturdays and Sundays from 9am-4pm. They rent out Tippmann 98 customs, which are decent guns for rentals. They have plenty of Picnic benches in shaded areas (either trees by the front, or covered areas by the fields). They have 4 main fields, a "Jungle" (more like brush with wooden palletes), Two hyperball fields (which have the black pillar bunkers and a mixture of hay) Then the Airball field (which is what one would expect from an airball field) There is no grass on the fields it is mainly dirt (and some rocks like other reviews have mentioned, but most have been removed by now) sliding is possible and I do it a lot. They have a chronoing station/ target range. It is a very nice field, fun to play on and they order pizza for you from Papa John's (which is my favorite pizza =). You can get a medium cheese for 10 dollars and pepperoni for 12. There is no running water, they have 4 porta-potties by the parking, but there are ghetto wash stations (wooden counters with white T-shirts and spray bottles to clean your stuff with.

Some of the bad things about this field...If you go on Saturday the Airball fields are nicely set-up, with fully inflated bunkers, but since I usually go on sunday, it seems they just leave the bunkers untouched from the day before and the bunkers are not securely staked down and are half inflated, is it really that hard to inflate them and make sure they are staked down? its a pain to have to hang on to your bunker so the wind doesnt blow it away. The refs are all usually nice, but i hate how they pick the teams by the gun you have. They usually have 1 ref in the chrono station, 2 at Jungle and 1 in hyperball and 1 in airball, but lately these refs seem to be slacking off and go and disappear which is annoying since you have to wait like 20 minutes for another game to get going, and they have A lot of private parties (AKA a 12 yr old's B-day party) so they close the airball so that the private party can play on it, which is annoying since that is my favorite field, and when there is more than 1 private party dont expect to play many games that day.

This is a great field to play on, you should go at least once, most of the time there are plenty of refs and there are games going every 2-5 minutes. Nicely shaded, good food if you got the money (go with a few friends and just pitch in 3 bucks each) Chronoing is mandatory so you're not going to get shot with a hot gun, there are a few good players that go often so even if you are a 'pro' you'll get some competition. Im going to give this field a 9, but i have gone a few times where i would have given it a 10, but since the few times i have gone with the private parties and slacking refs it was a bumer to spend 25 bucks to play 5 games.
Last edited on Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 at 9:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

miles shapiro Saturday, October 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
urban quest, sc village, usa (newhall), hollywood sports park
Review: The staff at paintball usa in simi valley California is great. They are very safe and have lots of rules(like all placs do). I have no complaints except that it is to small! There is so much room around them that you think they could expand. More hyper ball courses are needed. and the maintenance of the fields is alright but whenever I slide i go over what seems like every single rock on the field. And the air ball is extremely small i played a 10 man team game on it and you had 2-3 people behind a bunker. But for a small local field it just just fine.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

to_titan80 Wednesday, September 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB USA in Santa Clarita
Review: READ BEFORE GOING- POSITIVE REVIEW

After hearing some good comments of this field from friends, I decided to come and check out out this field. Man did I love it. I think if you want to have real fun, this is the place to go, especially people who love to play huge courses that are not associated with tournament play ( However air ball and hyperball are still cool and fun). When I arrived I was helped with very nice and helpful staff who took my coupon, and instead of recieving 100 paintballs as advertised, I got 500, which really shows how nice the staff was. After, I went to chrono my marker. It took less then 1 minute and the employee there was quick and courteous. After hearing the last minute bell, I tried out the Jungle field. Boy was a treat. There were several strategic areas and tons of protective and large bunkers. Amazed I walked to the table area which was filled with kind players who always said something positive about you, and never made fun of you do to your marker or age, etc etc... Then I boarded for Hyberball. That course was good and bad. The ref's were never were in your way, but the part I didn't like was that it was sort of rocky, and I recommend you don't try sliding. That was the bad part. Then I tried the Airball and it was similar to the hyberball, with the same bad parts. Some other downfalls was expensive paint and if this ever could happen, shade in the Jungle staging area, cause I hated the heat while waiting for teams to be sorted and choice of game type. Overall this course rocked.
Last edited on Thursday, September 9th, 2004 at 10:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media