paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field / Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field

Paintball USA Close Encounters (Simi) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
49Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (800) 919-9237
Address: 15112 Sierra Highway
Santa Clarita, California 91390
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
hunter1212 Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Quest (if you like to cheat go there), SC Village (GREAT place once you get past the smell of cows, but that happens farly quickly) Paintball USA in Santa Clarita (great for airball/ speedball)
Review: This is a great field! It's clean, has a great staff, is 30 min. away on a bike, they will order pizza for you, has good fields, and strict rules against cheaters. Although this field is very close to me and my team meets there I would still go there even if there was another field that was closer to me. (Even though that isn't possible). It's a great place for beginners and pros alike. They even out the teams so that they are as fare as can be, and their schedules are very flexible. For example, if you want to play a game with your friends than they will be happy to make that possible, all that you have to do is ask a ref. They don't have a schedule. For example, a game every 30 min. They play whenever there are some people who are ready and willing to play. They just ask very politely ever 10 min. or so, and if you tell them that people are ready to play they will jump at the chance to get a game started. The refs. and the people at the little office know ALOT about paintball guns so they can help you fix just about anything. They instruct readily although they arn't allowed to touch the guns. (company policy). The speedball, hyperball, and airball fields are not the greatest for beginners they have a woodsball field for them, but they are great for intermediate or advanced paintballers to develop their skills. That is why this is such a great place to paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Little Joe Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Had a great time!!!

They had 4 different fields, jungle, airball, speedball, and an arena. The key for me was the fact that games were constantly going, and there wasn't much of a wait. The rest area is in a centralized location, not much walking to do. I like to play, don't like waiting around, tinkering, reloading, etc. just wanted to play that next game as soon as i brush the paintball splats off the clothing. Another plus was the fact that we could bring our own paint. Good for new people, you can lower the cost that way (or bring higher grade paint if you like) and it wasn't too overwhelming.

The service is good, the people at the check in are friendly. The refs seem to be different every time I've gone. (too early to tell if thats good or bad) If it gets crowded its hard for them to ref the game. Air facilities were fine, toilets were porta potties. Pretty affordable as i price match with other places. With regards to food:Drinks and pizza (order) are available, but there are a couple of fast food joints down the road. No running water.

Its kinda hard to find, its just a dirt road turnoff, there is a large address sign, but i missed it the first time so becareful. Sun plays a factor only in the later hours of the day, mainly jungle (on hillside) and airball, one side looks into it. Also, the airball bunkers started falling over and rolling around or tipping over. Not staked very well. My friends and I used rental guns and equipment, they were pretty beat up, but thats what i kinda expected. We had problems with them, stuck paintballs, wouldn't shoot, one of my friends loaders opened up while playing and spilled out. Not to sure if this is comparable to rental equipment at other fields, it was fun regardless.

They seem to have lots of space, so i wouldn't be surprised if they expand and/or increase the number of fields. Jungle is fun because theres enough brush that line of sight is tough. Other then what i mentioned above about bunkers, airball is fun too. The arena field probably should be destroyed. It is designed for 4 v. 4 or maybe even less, but sometimes they have those games on the speedball or airball field as well. Also, they call out when a game will start and where, and they didn't very often for arena. Its also in a bad location, and can't be seen by the rest area, so you don't know if its busy or not. I hope they get rid of it and expand the speedball and airball fields. We'll be coming back again.

I gave it a 7 because when it gets crowded, they don't really have enough seating, and of that seating, only 70% is covered. With only 3 fields (arena is for like 6-8 people) they don't have the capacity to handle large groups. Not enough trash cans in rest area, so pizza and paint boxes all over the ground, where people are slipping or knocking them over. When it gets crazy we would be playing 25 v. 25 on jungle, and at least 15 v. 15 on speed ball. Hard to find a bunker that 3 or so people weren't using for protection off the break.

Last edited on Monday, February 9th, 2004 at 7:57 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

I3est21 Monday, February 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fields of Fire and Paintball USA: Close Encounters
Review: very fun field, I prefer the jungle field even though it is NOTHING like a jungle. lol.

the speed ball courses are fun also. My favortie part of this field is its compadibilty, only 10 minutes away! great, fun local field! go to it!

Jungle ball is fun because it is a mdeium sized field and its chaiotic with all the flanking and rushing uip the middle.

speedball field is VERY small. maybe 50 feet long and 25 feet wide. it hurts when you get hit :P
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AlwayszTippmann Sunday, January 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hmmm
Review: I thought it was a great field. There is one jungle course, an arena, an airball, and one speedball. In two weeks they are putting a new speedball field in and i hear it is going to be fantastic. They people there are some of the nicest people I have met. Thats the only field I go to now a days.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

flashfella Wednesday, January 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I don't remember them all... A lot
Review: I think that these are great fields. They are perfectly set up for fast quick speed ball games, unless you cram 20 guys on each side. There is one speed ball field that is pretty small, (they say is only made to support 3 to 4 players on each team). So that is kinda lame because you don't have a lot of those types of games as a walk-on. The capture-the-flag field is awesome. its very big and lots of bunkers. they did a real good job setting up that field. So overall the fields are pretty good playing fields, and the refs get games going fairly quickly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8baller3 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC...
Review: I like this field...and my friends like this field. We go to it all the time because we live near it. It has airball,hyperball,and some forest fields. Me and my friends stick to the airball and hyperball because it is what we like to play. The people that come here are friendly and good competition. The only bad part about this field is that 25$ to get in and there is only 1 airball and 1 hyperball. But it is never to crowded to wear you cant get to a bunker. And you can actually play whenever u want you dont have to wait for a ref to come and say u can play. and u can use whatever paint u want.
Last edited on Saturday, January 3rd, 2004 at 12:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

saucey360 Saturday, November 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
cpp, urban quest , proving grounds, little nom
Review: Ok first of all the first guy who posted obviously does not know anything about paintball because no one does full auto or burst. they can just walk the trigger fast or the have mad bounce. For a new person who is renting i would not say this is the greatest field to go to but it is still fun for all the newbs. If you are looking for a place to find good airball (almost always up for everyone to use everyweekend) hyperball and speedball this is the place to come. all their feilds are very well put together and orginized. Unlike quest and cpp the games are always going on and you dont have to wait long to start a new one. the refs are nice and pretty good. most of them are not afraid to get in their and check someone. There price for a self equiped player is $25 for addmision and all day air. which is alot cheper than cpp with addmision of $20 and then you have to pay another $20 for all day air. also there is never a line for air and they have 2 good compressors. the feild is relitivly flat exept for jungle feild. there is no long ass walks up huge hills like cpp. I like this feild alot exept airball is a little crappy and is not always blown up all the way. but i can deal with it because there hyperball is great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

doubld Tuesday, October 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
excalibur, conquest, urban quest- paintball usa is hands down beats these other fields
Review: ok, first off this field is only 3 months old. there are actually 5 fields at this location. 1-jungle 2-jungle/scenario i don't play jungle ball, but i know that there are plenty of hiding spots and walk ons love these fields. 3- small speedball this field has wooden stand up bunkers. this field is best played 3 on 3 or less, very small and quick 4- hyperball - very nice setup, big, netted field, plenty of bunkers, small and large we've had plenty of fun all summer long 5- airball this field is finally coming together, the air bunkers are older and need to be pumped up every so often, but this field is rocking. rumor has it that another airball field is in the works.

there is alot of referee turnover but they do have some really cool people running the place. they have a chrono station setup and they chrono everyone (280). and unlike the other reviewers comments, no one is playing with automatic markers. it may seem like they're auto to the walk ons but they're not.
as far as bathrooms go, what do you expect. at least they have porta potties.
pizzas are 10bucks, however fast food and restaurants are a mere 5 minutes away.

$25 if your equipped
$35 to rent
they have self fill stations to 3000 and they do fill 4500 if you have one
paint is a bit steep - 80 a case but you only have to buy if your renting their equipment
they have a year pass for $250 includes admission, air and half price paint (40 a case)
this pass is good for simi valley, newhall and the coming soon fields for 365 days

this is my home field so im a bit partial, i wasn't going to rate this field but after reading the other review i had to give this field its due respect. he obviously had no business writing a review without all this info included

saturdays have more walk ons, sundays get intense
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bcsbeancounter Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sport, SC Village
Review: The reason why I went to this field is because I was able to get "discount" tickets at this field. The website has the same pics as Paintball USA Close Encounters in Santa Clarita so I didn't know what to expect. The ticket allows free entry and rental equipment but you have to buy your own air (I think it was $20 buck maybe $25) and their paint if you use the ticket.

I'm still new to the sport so I only have two other fields to compare it to. To get there off the main highway, you use an unpaved dirt/gravel road (1/4 mile) and park in the unpaved parking lot.. There are no real permanent structures there like a proshop or bathrooms. There are two port-a-potties and the main place is basically a storage bin.

There are 4 fields, 3 speedball and 1 called Jungle. It liked Jungle the best but the field is large and there was only one ref. Since there is only one ref, there were a number of guys blind firing and shooting either in burst mode (possibly full auto) since the ref can't see the whole field and all players. I think overall, this field is for those who like speedball and would like to use their electronic guns in burst modes or automatic.

There is nothing to eat at the location you tell them when you sign up that you want pizza at noon. They have Papa Jons deliver the pizza. They also gatorate ($2) and water($1).

The cleaning station is a pair of spray bottles with water and some old t-shirts to wipe.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media