paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Apocalypse Games Paintball Field / Apocalypse Games Paintball Field / Apocalypse Games Paintball Field / Apocalypse Games Paintball Field

Apocalypse Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
28Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (260) 668-1022
Address: 302 W. Gilmore
Angola, Indiana 46703
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
kory_martin Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: We recently played a 3-man open tourney there. I was happy about the field set up and the people there are nice and all but the one thing this management needs to work on is penalizing teams and sticking to the rules. We had a kid turn his gun on and off during games several times in a row. We were getting called on out on splater. We also sat and watch a kid get hit off the break in the tank and the ref was in clear view and he was not called out. I mean i know people make mistakes but if the rules dont apply to everyone then y have them. I mean if we put our time and money at a place it isnt a hard thing to have to follow the rules and make things fair for everyone. We will never attend another tourney at this field im sure the rec ball is fun there though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tim B Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only played at Rat city back in 2000 this is 10 times better
Review: This Field is one of the best i have been too with a Sub Air Field. There Woods Ball Field is one of the BEST i have Been too. Price is Very good with $10 for all day play and you get free CO2 or comp air. Great Deal. you can Bring your own paint too. They have a very good proshop. prices are desent on some things. could be a little better but how is any one going to make money that way? They stock a Lot of guns for the size of shop it really is. I would rate this place a 8.5 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JesusCorn Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
recball
Review: I started out playing here alot, good recball field, easy tourneys to win, but you feel like a douche winning them cuz theres no competition. dominion kids came and cleaned house...but the prizes suck..so once again...pointless. CTS and ICC suck too though, so youre kinda screwed on tournaments in indiana, unless its a cash bash somewhere...

I remember playing team jim and wild cards...who would go to a little tournament like that and play rookie? oh well....they were never really good, thats why there's no need to pay attention to what they say.

they do have faster guns now, and a different name...new gangster lifestyle..i can understand. but you still dont have shizzle on dominion kids...oldschool or new..

apocalypse is a good rec field, if they got an airball i might go out there and mess around...otherwise, go where the competition is at.

Last edited on Sunday, March 13th, 2005 at 9:19 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

shocktherapycap Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball park (closed), michiana pb(closed),pb usa, pb heat, sherwood forest, hell survivors (MI), XTC (Portland IN)
Review: ok, at the risk of starting this little war again i'm going to put in my $0.02. let me start by saying that i am not doing this at tony or kathy's request but as a veteran baller that is sick of a few immature uneducated punk a$$ kids that refuse to LET IT GO! nearly everything you kids have been complaing about was brought on you by yourselves and your actions. yes, i agree with you that the feild overall needs work but the reason i come back year after year is simple, for the most part i just play for fun and apoc has the most important thing to accomplish that, people. you snot nosed punks playing tourney ball on mommy and daddys money wouldn't understand that though, no your more concerned with flaming apoc for the "wrongs" they've done to you. well i have a question for you, if apoc is such a $hitty place with horrible fields, know nothing ref's and owners that don't care then why do you seem so hurt that you can no longer play there? why do you constantly put it down? if you will spend the time to check out the other reviews here you'll find that no one but you repeatedly posts about how bad a field is, once again you wouldn't get that for your lack of maturity i guess.
there, that said lets get on with the review, i'm tired of typing so here are the pros and cons

pro:
people to shoot, lots of them usually, last season i was never there with less than 15 people
BYOP
competitive paint prices (Evil Wal Mart prices not included)
year pass $50 (saves tons if you go alot)
all day air only $3
friendly owners and staff
low cost tourneys

cons:
woodsball field can be a little tough to play later into growing season(really hard to see)
static speedball field rarely changes much
air fills off of scubas, lucky to get 2000# let alone a full fill.
speedball field a little rough (uneven ground)

that's about all the major gripes i have. overall if your just looking for a place to play and people to shoot then it's worth a look. however if your a dedicated tourney baller who can't shut it off then don't bother.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
16 Comments - Add Comment

burnt_toast Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Many fields in Indiana, Ohio

they are much better than this one
Review: I started playing here a year or so back when i personally didnt put much thought into where i would play paintball i would just go where my team went

I would come here every once and awhile and i guess it was fun, hangin out with my friends playin some "speedball" on a field that was so uneven and full of pot holes, glass, rocks, and metal that there was a good chance that you could die or get seriously injured from playing here, which was actually the case when one of my teammates dove into the "snake" and cut his arm open on a piece of glass that was protruding from the ground of the speedball field
much blood has been shed from playing on this field, which is why i personally will never go back there again, even if they do decide to unban me, my teammates, and my family from this field i will never go back

The fields are in terrible shape, the grass never gets cut, the trash has never been cleaned up the refs have never been trained
The price for air/entry/paint wasnt bad but it would maybe have changed my mind about this place if you actually got to play on a nice field with nice people

This review may not be up very long so read it while you can, because it seems like all the "bad honest" reviews keep getting deleted because the owners dont want people to know what this field is all about


James Beaman
Hysteria G*NGST*R
# 665

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
10 Comments - Add Comment

Ultimatium07 Thursday, December 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Kobra Field, PB USA, Chase Paintball
Review: This field in Angola, IN is very nice. I played in a tournament there one time and was very impressed by the ref's. There are some flaws but not any that you couldn't find at any other field. The owners are very kind and helpful. They have three or so tournaments a year. The only thing I would say is that they should look into getting an airball field. There speedball field is alright but it is kinda old. Other wise, Great Field!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer_08 Tuesday, November 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Kobra Paintball, Paintball USA,
Review: I think this is one of the better fields in northeast Indiana. They are very friendly(the owmers) and do there best to find you the cheapest price on markers goggles etc. and their field has something for everyone there is speedball, woods,swamp,ambuse. The refs are players who are good at knowing what to watch for. The people who go their will help you with any mechanical problem you have.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guess Whoo?? Sunday, November 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Many other fields in Indiana, Ohio, Michigan , And Illinois. The only field I've ever played worse than this field is PB USA, in Ft. Wayne
Review: This place is totally a beginners field. If you wanna play woods ball with a bunch of wannabe paintballers, who think a stock Impusle or a Tippman A5 is the baddest marker there is then go here. If you like shooting CO2 with very limited air fills, that are always in short supply, then go here. If you want someone to send your marker back to the manufacture for you when they haven't a clue as to how to fix it, then go here! If you want to have a female pretend she's reffing from the sideline on a plywood speedball field go here. If you like waiting till the woodsball games are played till you can play some speedball then this is the place for you! If you don't mind hiding behind twigs and blades of grass then this field is the fishizzle! If your not worried about sliding and cutting yourself or falling on a giant rock and exploding your knee caps, Call this field home. If you want an easy trophy against teams not good enough to make it in any other series then go here.Oh wait unless you count the CTS as serious competition, personally I think it stands for Can't Take Serious competition. If you wanna play on a field that sponsers no one then this is the place for ya! Oh wait they will let you buy things from the manufacture for the manufactures team discount rate, If you'll agree to ref for them! Still wondering what they are putting into that deal. You can get the same deal on your own, but hey these guys like the unknowing in this sport! if you wanna play some serious paintball keep looking for other fields in your area as this one only caters to the unkowing beginner and will go to great lengths to wipe off any unfavorable review from this site. This one probably won't last long as I obviously don't ref or work for this field like some of the other posts on here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

cathyblowsme Thursday, September 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
not much...that is probably why people would actually go there
Review: If i could describe apocalypse games in one word, it would be horrible. Nobody there knows what they are doing. especially the owners wife. i saw her flipping out on some kid and making a huge scene. the owners are hillbillies. the field is horrible. there is a tree in the speedball field. yeah a tree. and big rocks and gravel. the "bunkers" are homemade with plywood and pallets and foam. the refs arent exactly good. usually they are just people that cant afford to play that day. it seems like the only good reviews are from the people with no experience. i give the field a two for not being out of business yet.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Timmmaayyy Sunday, September 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Kobra, Pb USA, Chase Paintball, XTC, Hell Survivors, Assorted others and some back yards. Some are equal or as good, some not as good.
Review: The staff at apocalypse are friendly, helpful, and are willing to order most things you cannot find in the store. Prices are nearly as cheap as you'll find any where in the area. Unless you can order from the net yourself. Most the merchandise is geared to a newer/ lower middle ability player, while there have been steps to provide some higher end markers for customers to view in store. There is usually a variety of paint available, most of which is usually fresh. Rates are reasonable as one will find any where. However if you use hpa instead of co2, you may find yourself going home early, as the air supply is usually consumed by a growing number of users with markers that cannot shoot co2. Under semi usual conditions the referee's are also players from the area that try to do the best they can, along with the owners who usually each take a group of players off to play different formats. Open play is usually on sunday's at noon, although one should stay up with the calendar, as tournaments and scenario games may move open play from time to time. The speedball field has recently had netting added, and is a nice touch, for players and spectators alike. There are what appears to be a large number of players that would like to see the addition of an airball field here??? Is this in the works???? While I can neither tell you this field is the best, or the worst. I will say that if you are looking for a large number of players to play with, open play here is something you should look into. The scenario games and such usually have a large turnout as well. Also on sundays the crowd is usually 60%woods / 40%speedball. However there are usually a good number of woods ballers that come over and try a few games of speedball b4 they go home for the day. 9-2-05: Its a new year some of the criticisms made have been addressed: air bunkers are in place with future plans for a seperate air only field. The issues with hpa fills have been addressed higher pressure fills are available and more air in general is available. Thank you to the owners for addressing the concerns of their players/customers, and aspiring to become better than they are.
Last edited on Friday, September 2nd, 2005 at 10:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media