paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Swat Paintball Field / Swat Paintball Field / Swat Paintball Field / Swat Paintball Field

Swat Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Address: 6314 Washington Ave
Ocean Springs, Mississippi 39564
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
KBug Monday, June 6th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 7th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I went here and played with some of my friends. The fields werent to bad. They don't have a woodsball feild(what I'm used to playing on) but there were 3 decent sized speedball fields. They have to fields that they can put together and make one big L shaped feild in case there are a lot of people playing. They did look a little run down though. There were weeds around the edges of the feild and bunkers, the net had rips patches in it, and all the grass was torn up so it was dirty which gets in your gun and paint. The pro shop is pretty nice though. It has a good amount of paintball gear and some skate stuff (it's a skate shop also). The refs were pretty good on safety. They tried to make it fair for everyone and still keep it fun. But the prices were kinda high. A $5-$10 feild fee and $50 for a case of paint isn't bad. But $15 every hour that you play? I though that was really dumb.
Last edited on Saturday, October 22nd, 2011 at 4:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

agent22 Monday, May 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: very good field
only speedball or x-ball.

lacks the woodsball field.

staff is very nice and helpful. refs are very aware and fair.

prices are very good compared to other fields.

proshop is one of the best i have seen.lots of; guns, parts, upgrades, gear, ect.

for food subway and a gas station are next door.

they also do gun repair but i didnt get any done.

i played with guys that are sponsored and they are good and were very helpful.

i played here while i was stationed at Keesler AFB and was very impressed.
i do recommend playing at this field.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

conch Thursday, May 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in this area!
Review: Swatpaintball.com is a great field! It's professionally run and they have a nice pro-shop. I have played there several times now and am impressed with their coordination and effort to keep the business running smoothly.

There are 3 fields at SWAT to play on. Unfortunately some vandals tore up one of their air bunker fields. So only 2 fields were available when I went to play. There is usually enough people to play against to never have to leave the field except to get air and paint.

Referrers. The number of refs seems to vary. Sometimes they have a lot of refs. Sometimes they don't. A lot of the refs are usually guys who practice with teams early in the day at the field. Reffing seems to be hit or miss. When the owner of the field is out there, the reffing is good. When he's not, well, its hit or miss. But reffing is not much of concern unless someone is blatantly cheating. Most of the players I have played against seem pretty good about calling themselves out. But they are on the ball about safety and making sure markers are SAFE!

Cost is a bit of an issue. At the present time they charge $15.00 for entrance. I believe this is a bit high. Especially since one of the 3 fields are down. But since I love to play I decide to pay. Now as far as air goes you can fill up and pay each time or pay $12.00 for all day air. I also believe this is a little high, but if you can manage to play every single game from start to finish it might come as a deal. Paint seems to be reasonable. They have good quality paint and at several different grades. Twice I have purchased a case of paint that contained a bag of broken paint which ruined the entire bag. So check the paint before you leave the shop to head onto the field.

The Pro shop! They are a Warped Sportz dealer from what I can tell. They carry a good variety of markers from top of the line all the way down to beginner. Customer service is hit or miss from behind the counter but they get the job done. Prices are reasonable as far as products go and they always seem to have a good stock.

Nice Website! www.swatpaintball.com

They get a 9. Because they are a great business and people love them. Prices are a little high and they need to get their 3rd field up (which they are working on!) But I will return!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartguy41 Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 5th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Freestate-closed
Sharon Paintball-closed
Game On-doesn't compare
Hattiesburg Paintball-Improving
Paintball Project-Reball field
Abbeys Paintball-Great!
Directions
to the Field:
Take Exit 50, the Ocean Springs Exit, off of I10. About 4 miles down the road on the left you'll see SWAT, right next to the Exxon Station.
Review: SWAT Paintball is quite possibly the best paintball field I've ever played at. It's a great facility that's home to everything a paintball field should be. I'm going to go over the details right about now.

*The Field*
There are actually 3 fields at SWAT. There is an Xball field, a hyperball field, and a UAPL style field. The 3 fields are all located in a large box of 20 foot netting, with alleyways in between each field. There is a fill station located on the field, so players never have to leave the field to fill up.
-The Xball field - The Xball field is a good size. It can hold up to 7 players comfortably, and the bunkers are in good condition. The field set up is changed regularly to keep things interesting.
-The Hyperball field - The Hyperball filed is where Gerwin holds his training sessions every Sunday morning, titled "The Dojo". This helps newer players, or maybe just players who want to learn more, enhance their skills. The hyperball field is set up nicely, giving noone an advantage.
-The UAPL field - This field is still under construction, but when it's through, it will be awesome. The field is set up just like the field you see on Ultimate Arena Paintball on WGN Saturday at 5:00. The measurements are, of course, 50 x 100 foot. This will be for 1 on 1, 2 on 2, 3 on 3, etc.

*Safety*
Make sure you have a barrel condom while you're at SWAT, and don't get caught with it off. Masks must remain on the entire time players are behind the 20 foot netting. If a players mask comes off during play, that player should drop to the ground and cover their face as best as possible, and begin screaming "Mask off!!!". Play will not continue until the situation has been handled and everything is under control. Gerwin has made a special safety briefing video for everyone to watch on their first visit. The video is informative and helpful. Waivers must also be signed at each visit. Velocity is to be set at no higher than 285 fps. SWAT is a very safe place, if you don't believe me, ask the other guys who play there. Signs are posted everywhere to ensure that players obide by the rules. The refs are stern, but fair. Your safety is their biggest concern.

*The Pro Shop and Field Rates*
Any skateboarders out there? Well if you skateboard and play paintball you will be in Heaven here. The pro shop carries skateboarding and paintball equipment. Mr. Keith will be there to help fix your gun if it is broken, and they carry an array of parts and upgrades. They provide rental equipment for those less fortunate than us, and their rates are very good. $15 for greens fee, $12 for all day air, and $30-$70 for paint. Gerwin also sells water and energy drinks to help keep players hydrated. If you're in the Ocean Springs area, stop by the shop and talk to the guys. They are open from about 8-6 and the field is open for play on Sundays from 8-4.


*The Players and Players Area*
Most of the players down at SWAT are really nice. There are a few that think they're the next Ollie Lang or Chris Lasoya, but that's everywhere you go. There are players from Team Diesel, and Pros visit every once in a while. Gerwin, the owner, is good friends with Greg Hastings, so there is some Pro influence down there. If you go and play at SWAT, your skills will increase within a few visits. The players area is under a large tent. There are quite a few tables to place your gear on. There is a Port-O-John so players can do their business without having to go back inside.


*The Owners and Staff*
Gerwin Henn, of Team Diesel, owns SWAT Paintball. He has been playing paintball since 1986 and has a lot of experience. Safety is his main concern, and he spares no expense to make sure everyone is safe and has a good time. Keith is the guy who runs the Pro Shop. Keith knows paintball guns backwards and forwards. If there's something wrong with your marker, Keith can fix it. The refs are all players from assorted teams, so they know paintball. As I said earlier, they're stern, but fair. There are always at least 2 refs on the field, so don't cheat.

*Location*
SWAT is very easy to find. Take the Ocean Springs Exit, which is Exit 50, off of I10. You will be on Washington Avenue. About 4 miles down the road you will see an Exxon station. SWAT is right beside the Exxon station. SWAT does not serve food, but the Exxon has a Subway.

Overall, SWAT is a great place to play. There is so much talent down there and it is the home of some of the members of Team Diesel. The only thing I don't like about SWAT, is some of the players can be jerks when you first meet them, but after they warm up to you they are okay. Players will learn a lot down there, and they will enjoy themselves while they're at it.

Last edited on Friday, November 24th, 2006 at 9:11 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WiccanBaller Thursday, June 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none that i know of
Review: This is where i would go when i lived in mobile. I only went there on sundays for the team practices which were very helpful. they seem to have about 4 or 5 fields but ive only played on two. One was the xball field and the other was a smaller field on the sand. Both were very nice, set up well, the xball field is obviousaly larger and is on grass. If you want to get into tournament paintball go to the team practices on sunday mornings. A lot of talent plays on sunday mornings, including a couple of guys from team diesel. The pro shop is very nice with a lot of high end gear. I highly recommend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RifterAD Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No others in this state.
Review: To begin, I was on a temporary duty at Keesler AFB for a few months. Luckily, I was able to google and find this local field. Boy was I was delighted to find it so close to where I was staying.

Initially, I was a bit disappointed to find out that there was no woodland field. Keep in mind that woodland fields were all I had ever really played on (except when I was a newbie...and that wasn't a good game so I stuck with woodland fields). But seeing as how it had been a long time since I had played, I was more than happy just to break out my marker again!!!

The place consisted of 3 different fields, but one of them was closed (it was being moved around to change things up for the next week's tournament). So that left a Sup Air and a Hyperball field each. All three of the fields had good, tall and secure netting around them. The fields were set up evenly on each end so as to not give either side an advantage.

The staff is very adamant about safety. The "goggles on" area is always enforced. In addition to that, the barrel condoms are just as strictly enforced (yes, condoms...barrel plugs are not allowed). All guns are chronographed for under 300fps. Actually, I think they enforced 290 or 280fps...but I don't remember. Also, at the beginning of each day, they give all players a safety briefing that is short and to the point so as to not cut into the playtime.

The staff is very nice and helpful. There was a nice mix of newbies and seasoned ballers. The staff showed a fair amount of attention to both types of people. The reffing was just as evenly equal which was nice. Of course it is a lot easier to ref a small field such as these (as opposed to the wooded fields). I even noticed the refs giving coaching tips to one particularly good player who was on a local team that was practicing solo that day. I thought that was neat to see them helping out while still keeping things fair once it came to game time.

Also, the refs were great in letting us pretty much do what we wanted....no I don't mean getting away with breaking some rules. What I mean was they let us play when we wanted (it was hot and very humid...so it was hard to play non-stop). They would also let us chose our teams if we wanted (evenly of course). Plus, they'd let us choose the type of game and which field we wanted to do it on.

Their Pro shop is loaded with a lot of the essentials to make it a worthy shop. It was run by a guy with a shaved head that has one of those intimidating looks to him...but he turned out to be an overall nice guy who answered my questions easily.

My only problem I encountered was the lack of a drinking fountain or a water cooler at the staging area. I had forgot to bring my water bottle, so I bought one off of them. Due to the extreme humidity and heat, I downed that and was still dehydrated. I only survived by re-filling that bottle up between every game with a hose on the side of their building. That was the worst onset of dehydration I had ever encountered! But I sure did have fun getting myself to that point! =)

Overall, I gave this field an 8 due to the lack of a woodland field and a lack of free water (a basic minimum for a field that you have to pay to use). Being able to hydrate is a big safety issue. But the lack of a woodland field was only a minor setback. The fields proved just as exciting (in a short and sweet way) and would gladly do it again. I believe the wonderful staff and the fair reffing made things easily enjoyable. I would highly recommend this small but exciting field for all levels of players who want to play in a small 5 to 7 man (per team)field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

knockover Wednesday, February 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in mississippi
Review: i will break up the review into sections and give a brief description on each.

Fields: the fields are set up very well, and they do not give one side a advantage over the other. with two inflatable and one hyper field, you do have a variety when you go there. with having 3 fields there is always room for a walk-in player to just jump in a game.

Field Safety: they are really good about safety here. everyone goes through a safety orientation each day and has to get signed off that they have received one. it only took about 5-10 min. so it didnt slow your day down. they require barrel bags on at all times just until they have the countdown to game start, and then right back on once your eliminated or the game ends. no dry firring in the staging area also.

Other players: most were fine but a few of the "i think i'm going to be the next up and coming baller" was being jerks, but that is expected from every field.

Refs: i really like the refs there for the most part. they did a good job reffing the walk on players, but when it came to reffing some tourny team they had there they let kinda slacked off on them. this is how: they have this rule there were you cant shoot and run at the same time on one field (because new players have shot over the netting and the paint landed in the busy highway), but the refs werent making that tourny team stop doing it. i went three games before i told the ref what he was/wasnt doing and then walked off the field.

Staff: the staff (other than the short white guy, you'll read about it later) was very helpful. the person who was running the refill station and registration booth, was fast and courdies to the customers. an older Asian looking guy (who i would guess is the owner) was really cool and helpful too. he was going around talking with the players and making sure everyone was having a good time. when he got around to us he helped my friend figure out what was wrong with his autococker which would have normally cost my friend at least $25 to fix.

Proshop: they have a decent proshop there with a wide variety of equipment. they have guns arranging from DM5s to M98s. And they carry lots of spare and upgrading parts. they also have a decent mask collection there as well. and they let you buy the field paint from there for $35 at the low end. the one bad (and in my opinion BIG) thing with the proshop is the short white guy who runs it. he is inconsiderate and just makes me mad just looking at him. he has this persona about him that makes you feel like he thinks everyone is a moron.

Conclusion: i would recommend this field to anyone from the new player to the experienced player. the staff and refs are good for the most part. prices are very reasonable. and the fields are fun to ball on. but for the unfair refs, the guy running the proshop, and lack of a woodsball field i have to give it a 8. but if speedball is all you play think of it as a 9.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

LUAP Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: SWAT is an awesome field to play at. the staff are nice, and the players respect the newer players, to an extent. the fields (3) are a blast to play on. they have a 5-man hyperball field, a 5-man sup-air ball field, and they have a 7-man sup-air ball field. the players have a great time, and the fields themselves are great fields. they move bunkers around every once or twice a month, to keep the airball fields from getting to monotonus and boring to play on.

great field, and a great place to play at. so if your in the area, come and join us there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

azn Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: This is a great field to go to if your near the area.They always have friedly people during games and the ownwes are funny and nice to anyone who are just getting into paintball.This field is a great field that has 3 fields to play on.You should buy your gun here because they are nice enough to throw in a mebership.Everything in the store is a great price and a large selection of markers,upgrades,and clothing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

misnblu Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gulf Coast Paintball Cooperative
Review: This by far is the best paintball fields I have played on.
Originally, the Swat fields were located in the woods of Saucier MS and even there, were great fields to play.
With the hyperball (corrugated pipe), s'up air, spool and woods field at your disposal, there wasn't any way you couldn't have played any type of paintball. From woods to tournament grade fields, SWAT had it.
Now (as of 3/28/04), they have improved 10 fold.
No more woods ball field, just a hyperball field and two s'up air fields to choose from.
All fields are tournament ready, have great surfaces and are professionally maintained and cleaned.
The staff at SWAT are the best in being help out the noobie player to the pro player needing more help in his/ her game.
Gerwin and Roger (both pro's) will help you with all of your needs, have been qualified to work on all markers coming into their pro shop and the shop is by far the best I've seen in three states. Nothing compares to Swat or their extreme pro shop for paintball or skateboarding.
Swat has been around for 20+ years and the staff shows it. Many tournaments have been held there and the safety factor at recball or tournaments is unparalleled.
Paint prices go from 50 dollars per case with an admission of about 10-15 dollars for recball on the weekends.
Swat is open all year round too. There will be more to come from SWAT paintball as they plan some paintball leagues and staying open for more than 3-4 days a week.
There is something to be said about a place that is run by a group of ppl that kick butt when it comes to their own play of paintball. Many trophies reside at the pro shop and is a testament to the quality of play at the fields, the sportsmanship and fun you can have at SWATPaintball.
Easy access from I-10 to exit 50 South, through 4 traffic lights, on the left , next to Broomes Exxon.
Hope to see you there at the best fields on the Coast.
Misnblu
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media