paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Hawaii Paintball Field / Paintball Hawaii Paintball Field / Paintball Hawaii Paintball Field / Paintball Hawaii Paintball Field

Paintball Hawaii Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Marine Corps Base Hawaii
Kailua (MCBH), Hawaii 96734
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
xsylancexx Sunday, December 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bellows AF station - last time I played there was 2003 so I do not remember much of the field except lots of woodsball
Directions
to the Field:
H-3 to the MCBH entrance then go to the 2nd light turn right. Go down to the next light and turn right, its on the left behind the bus parking.
NOTE: if you are not military call ahead so Roland can put you on the list to get through the gate.
Review: Let me first start out by saying the field really is a great field. Roland and his family are excellent hosts. My friend Don brought me to this field prior to me heading to Iraq and from the first day I was hooked. Today will unfortunately be my last day playing here for I am leaving to head to the mainland. Thank you Roland and the crew at Paintball Hawaii for everything.

Safety: The safety briefs are always great. Very informed of the rules. They even take it a step farther and walk the beginners through with the in and out of the rental markers.

Fields: Airball field, lego field and the blue field. There is a Airsoft field which I think I have seen the beginners play on once or twice. Each field is excellent for play, I personally like the airball field, but im happy playing any of the 3 fields.

Hours: Of course they are open Sat and Sunday with I think the ability to do appointments for friday.

Prices are very good, 15 all day compressed air, or 5 dollars for a single fill. I dont remember the prices for rental gear but I do know its very well priced.

Staff & Refs: Like I said in the beginning Roland and his family are great hosts. The refs are also really good. They cover the rules and stick to them very well. I watched one kid get shot in the mask and while still being shot at start to lift his mask, one of the refs ran up and covered him and made sure the mask was down, it was a very attentive ref to say the least.

Rules: The rules are pretty standard for most fields Ive been to, everything you bring on the field is in play, if you get shot in it your out. The big rule is if your caught lifting your mask while on the field, you sit for 5 games. You do it a second time your done for the day, in my opinion a great rule for safety reasons. Also usually when beginners and advanced players are playing together theres no bunkering which makes for happy beginners, if your advanced and playing with advanced, they usually let you bunker each other.

Players: There are a lot of return players to this field. A few teams are always there and don't mind playing with others, IE Tropical Lightening and Rapture. Thanks guys for the advice and help you've shown. Its very rare you run into a upset player, but like any field they do exist from time to time. It usually amounts to a disgruntled player to a actually fair call.

All in all this field is one of the biggest reasons I wish I wasn't leaving Hawaii. I could play there all weekend and never get tired. Also for those who don't like the drive from one end of the island to the other, Roland is opening another field at Wheeler Army Airfield. It should be opening soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mdheath Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Allstar paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Straight through the main gate at Kaneohe past McD's..behind the bus parking lot
Review: I came to HI from Korea looking for some good fields and played at All Star Paintball first. Man, I thought I'd stop playing ball while I was here. Then I found out about Hawaii Paintball from a few guys around the island and decided to check it out. I was so impressed, I doubt I'll go anywhere else during my stay on the island. Got there and the safety briefing was top notch. The ref's even took extra time out to explain to brand new players all the basics they might not have figured out. Games were split up by ability, which is always good for new guys, so they're not overwhelmed. Refs were very strict about barrel plugs and keeping your masks on at all times.
The owner, Roland, was awesome. My buddy had his marker transferred from Korea, and when it wasn't working for him, Roland offered him his personal marker for the day...Thank you for that Roland, my buddy was about to leave all angry..you rock.
Prices at the little shop are pretty decent. Best part is B.Y.O.P, though they sell field paint for pretty good prices. The shop isn't really a proshop, so don't plan on showing up with all your stuff jacked up...but they do have the things you tend to forget (like a barrel sleeve myself). The air situation is good too, a flat fee for annual air, which pays for itself after 5 visits I believe (don't quote me on that :P).
Depending on what everyone wants to do, the field shuts down for an hour or so, giving everyone time to run down the street to grab some food. If you want to play, the refs seemed more than willing to go out with you so you can play.
The fields are pretty diversified. There's one airball field, which I would play all day if I could, then a few more fields with a mix of stuff on them. Best part about the fields...GRASS! Allstar was like playing in a rock pit!
The atmosphere at the field was excellent, everyone seemed to be having a great time. Had a chance to talk it up with some people in between games in the staging area (a ton of tents and tables...plenty of room), and they all seemed to have been going there for awhile and had no complaints.
Again, I don't even need to try out other fields on the island..I know there are a few more, but I really don't think any of them will top this field. Great job Roland and everyone else involved!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jah808 Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All-Star, Bellows AFS
Directions
to the Field:
Take H-3 to the front gate of the Kaneohe MCBH and go to the Lemon Lot with all the buses
Review: Well first off this field (in my view) is the best field there is in Oahu!! VERY VERY friendly staff....THE REFS RULE! all of the ref staff to me are very dedicated at what they do. They have 6 fields woods ball, Renegade, Air Field, Lego Field, Blue Stand up, and a X-Ball field...WHICH I MIGHT ADD IS THE ONLY X-BALL FIELD ON OAHU!!! start off the day by sitting through a very detailed Safety Brief.....which the ref who gives it is very very strict on safety...which is key. Like i say one day of fun could mean you could be blind for the rest of your life...MASK ON AT ALL TIMES! They have 7 minute games with a 5-10 break for all of the players to pod up and put air. Some days lunch is optional.. i mean you came to play not talk story right!?!?! BYOP is the best. They break up the groups by experience Beginners, Intermediates..(i think they have a X-Ball team) the fields are kept very well maintained. Roland (the owner) is very friendly...and is quick to help anyone and everyone. The Refs are the best if seen so far i mean who would you listen to a little kid or an adult?? you choose.

Overall this fields is the SH**!! I'M NEVER NEVER GOING TO ANOTHER FIELD.....and to Roland and the Entire Ref Staff Keep Up the Good Work...and im waiting for the AARON CARTER TOURNEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Empire86 Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All-Stars, was my old home field, but Paintball Hawaii was more friendly to me
Directions
to the Field:
Check out www.paintballhawaii.com for map and information
Review: First off.... Yes I am a ref at Paintball Hawaii.... and yes i did ref in the tournament....

This was not an NPPL sanctioned event.

As for the paint.... If the facts are not clear to what happened on the situation with the paint.... then i suggest you obtain the true facts before pointing fingers, and suggesting someone take the blame. But know this, Roland did his best to offer...out of pocket.... the best paint he could afford. This is not the mainland and we do not have a paintball factory that can offer us fresh paint when we need it. as for the results in damage caused by the paint.... I know from first hand account, and through personal visual account. Two of our refs were stitched with not one or two but a whole stream at no farther than ten feet... and if i do recall.... one team captain even went as far as to say that even though a ref was injured and removed from the field that she should suck it up and make the call and not leave after a call. Our bad... that person...knowing that she was injured... should of been eliminated for verbally expressing in one way that he did not care for the safety or well being of the people on the field. A violation of safety and well-being of players and staff. And also a personal attack.... we do not promote in any way that type of behavior or playing style.

As for the ejections from the field... we are not mind readers or have the ability to see into the future. If the persons ejected from the field happened to be from a diffrent field... that is something we can not control. As for their situations... you are responsible for your own actions....be ready to take and handle the consequences no matter who they affect. We do not assume the responsiblity for minors if they are left behind becuase someone decides that they have to disrespect people in front of families friends and children, that is something that should be considered before acting out. Disrespect, vulgur language, or personal attacks wether it be physical or verbal towards a player staff member, or spectator is not tolerated. This type of behavior if not controlled creates a hostile enviroment. Something we do not promote no matter if you are adult or teenager. As for the treatment towards players..... nobody on the teams was handled or verbally abused by the refs.... we treated every team equally..... even though we were accused of favoring home teams, I do recall Two outer island teams doing very good in the tournament. As for the quote from spider man,"With great power comes great responsibility." Yes this is true..... we did not in any way dissqualify a team or person cause we felt like it or wanted to. However we did excersice the right to defend ourselves when needed and to preserve equality amongst the teams due to accusations from teams or their persons, this involving personal attacks. But notice... was there any physical confrontation... NO! This was done with the least amount of confrontation and with actual fact background....Rules! One thing nobody realized is that those situations were handled on the field where spectators or unneccessary personnel could not interfer... This leads to hear say opinons and self appointed opinons. Again if you do not know the facts from first hand account why say anything... unless you are looking for answers or have the intentions of causeing harm/damage whether it be verbally or physically. If it's answers.. go to the source... ref staff.... Nobody once walked to us and asked, they just assumed because someone said something! A rumor that may be small passed on from person to person with their added personal touch, becomes overexaggerated. "SNOWBALL EFFECT"

As for the side line reffing, four refs each side, two down on the field... refs constantly moving to gain better visual opportunities, and you say we did not move in to check players but yelled from a distance... tell that to the refs that took streams of paint to the back and chest... better yet tell the whole ref staff, every one of us had welts or bruising from being shot.
As for the cool heads... I'm sorry I didn't notice any of the refs shoutting loud obscenities towards a player or staff member or making obscene gestures towards them on the field.

Here's the bottom line.... if you weren't involved on the field, or in a ref and captains meeting at the end of a game, or even in a team captains meeting in the morning.... and heard what was discussed or said how can you make judegment..... Yes, I know it's called freedom of speech.... but along with that.... comes common sense... get the facts before saying your speech. this right can either make or break you.... And if you were in one of those situations did you bring it up to the field ref or head ref?

I'm sorry Roland and Jedi for the response...But it seems that all these opinons are meant to hurt or damge the creditablity of the staff and field.... Why??? becuase facts aren't straight. I feel if you want to judge fairly then get both sides. the reffing staff is there every weekend.

Thomas Kaneakua-
Paintball Hawaii Refferee/Air compressor mechanic.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rattattat Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
All stars
bellows
backyard
Review: For normal walk on play or private parties this Field is a solid place to be BUT, the recently tournament held at the field was a big disappointment for numerous reasons. Gotta give a benefit of the doubt that things will go wrong, but still, not that much. Anyway,
1) The paint was a total crap. very spongy low grade that REFUSED TO BREAK and very bouncy, expensive, milky, and thin high grade also refused to break. I shot dxs silvers before and I have never seen it this thin and bouncy. I bounced it on asphalt. The make up for the paint on the second day had good intentions, but come on. I paid $70 the first day for high grade silvers. Day two to replace the high grade they brought in a solid brand ALSO FOR $70 dollars and instead of the even trade you had to pay $10 more for a total of $80 dollars spent. Why not even trade. What if those bounces cost us points and games??????A good thing to do in the future is to open a case of each and actually test the condition of the paint.
2) The chrono....Whats up with the guy J**n..Gotta be kidding me. Killing the back of the guns to check for bounce???? Tapping the guns, understandable, but when you gotta wind up to hit the guns, of course its gonna bounce. If with my de-bounce and trigger set as high as possible (like many others) it still bounced.
3) Ref Calling...No get me wrong the staff and refs are usually solid and fair, but there is a difference between splatter, bunker rub off and a hit. I never knew you could get called out if a ref sees you get hit, but it bounces off??? First time me and many others. A splatter off the bunker with leave paint, but without sign of impact on the player how can he be out. And a player check that takes 5 minutes and 4 different refs to decide if there is a hit because of bunker rub off.....something is wrong....shouldn't take that long and that many people to decide.
4) Tourney set up...16 teams, highest 4 go on to semi finals???? In don't know, but you would think that the cut off would have been at the highest 8. Highest 4 in one bracket and the next highest 4 in the other bracket. Then final four.
5) No drama just paintball...alot of drama came from the refs when they were questioned. Come on guys you're gonna have some rebuttles...keep an open mind, justify your call, have the head ref make final decisions and let it go. No need yelling back or gettng aggresive also. Not right to ask the players to keep composure, but lose it yourself. Now if the player starts to get physical or says some f@#ked stuff then warn'em then disqualify. You got enough stress going on, no need for more.

Because I play there about 80% of the time I have to rate it average. The tourney brought down moral for a lot of guys.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

K J Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have not played any other fields on the island!
Review: BYOP , or you can purchase it on-site ! I had decide not to bring my own equipment from the mainland so, We played rental walk on! the Proto mask where clean and well cared for! the owner Roland was a nice guy and his wife and staff where all great! Safety was good saw only a couple of instances of unsafe practice from players and they were quickly reprimanded! The refs where great , the fields were a little close together but clearly marked! All in all I would play there again the experience was a good one!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

radoilanit Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: January 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pattaya, Thailand All American Paintball Las Vegas, Techtonics Las Vegas, House of Paint Las Vegas, Performance Paintball Hawaii, 18th Services Okinawa, Israel, San Diego, Cali
Directions
to the Field:
Marine Corps Base Kaneohe HI
Review: The field is a well organized and safe environment for player of all levels. Players are broken down into ability groups and moved from a number of fields. There was an Airball Field, Hyper ball, NXL field, and what I would call a port-o-john field. There was also a woodsball and airsoft field both in use during my time there. From talking to other player they also do private parties.
-The owner and staff were helpful, friendly and concerned for the well being and entertainment of all levels of players.
-The field has a BYOP (Bring your own Paint) policey. As well as field paint of many grades.
-They have compressed and air and Co2 with fill stations that can fill both 3000 and 4500 psi
-The rental gear looked well maintained.
-Tents and tables were available and gravel covered the staging area to ensure your weren't standing in mud on wetter days.
-A major benefit was the GRASS that I was able to play on.
-Half way through the day the field took a lunch break, for both players and staff.
-I didn't see other players with that "tournament player" attitudes (Bonus balling, wiping, cheating). I would attribute this to the excellent reffing provided by the staff, and the general attitude of the other players on the field.
-I am not sure if food or drink was provided but, besides that I would highly recommend this field for players of all levels.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chezta1 Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bellows (1x)
Review: Owner very nice and helpful, refs give a excellent brief on safety and field rules. Best Part is that u can BYOP ( bring your own paint) and buy year round air. that is why i use this as my home field of play. Only down side is that on some days, it can be very very hot. Field has nice staging area where u can re =up and cool down. Filwd set up is unique and fun, but it wouldn't hurt to expand each field size by 15 yards. I reccomend all first timers to play here.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 at 11:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Daggetbevr Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
The directions were precise. I had no difficulty finding the area.
Review: First off, I chose Paintball Hawaii by looking at all the reviews here. Let me say IT was the RIGHT choice. I was visiting from Albuquerque, NM. I packed all my gear minus my tank. I visited Paintball Hawaii twice during my stay on Oahu. This review covers both Sat's I was there. From the start the staff and the owner (Roland) was very inviting.They made my family and myself very welcome. Roland answered all my questions from the start. He and his staff made sure I had everything that I needed.

The safety briefing was very in-depth. They covered every possible angle. They made sure that everyone understood the rules. Especially the inexperienced players... Making sure that the first time players understood what to do so that they were not overshot (bonusballed) even by accident.

The staff was very clear on times of each game. Calling out over the PA to let players know when the next game starts (7, 5, 2 min intervals).

Fields Were very clearly marked. I played all 3 fields. All 3 were very well maintained. I didn't note anything on any fields that pose a hazard to anyone on the field. I would let any of my children play these fields.

The walk-on teams were very well split up by experience. At no time did I feel that the teams were uneven. There were plenty of refs per game. They positioned themselves in key positions, able to see everyone in there sector. The refs were quick on players for paint-checks. They had no qualms taking a few rounds in order to check a player for hits or to jump in to call a player out. They were outstanding in protecting the new players. I was very impressed.

During breaks, the staff talked to all the players. Making sure that everything was going well for them. They even brought out folding chairs for my family, who were there only as spectators. They constantly made sure that they were comfortable. They did this for all the patrons.

On my second visit, my marker electronics went down. A problem I couldn't fix without a solder. I was very impressed with Roland (owner), who without knowing me from Adam, gave me a replacement marker to use. He made sure that I was comfortable with the replacement. Had he not have lent his personal marker to his son to use that day. He told me I could have used that.

I have played and worked at many fields. But this field was top notch. I plan to play here every visit to Oahu. I have not experienced the professionalism seen at this field before. I will recommend this field to any and everyone I can. Thanks to all the staff and especially Roland for making my Hawaiian paintball experience the best.

Looking forward to the new Airsoft field in my next visit.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 17th, 2006 at 12:51 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

doughboy99 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Allstar (nimitz), Bellows, Extreme (Campbell)
Directions
to the Field:
Love it!
Review: I only went to this field for the first time last month. I absolutely loved it. The people i met there were really cool, and the staff did their jobs. Refs were very keen on making sure people did what they were suppossed to be doing. They dive right in when you call for a paint check and they prevent bonus balling wherever possible by stopping fire on a dead player. Field layout is nice, one large Lego field, perfect for the big games, on medium sized field, great bunker placement, one small air-field, great for the speed ball games.

The only problem (if you could call it that) with the field is that the grass is very tough grass, and can prohibit sliding if your not wearing tougher pants, and can actually hurt on impact if your not wearing pads. And the staging area is a little limited, which is unfortunate since they are getting more and more business.

Conclusion:

Worth the long drive if you want to have a great game day, but get there early!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media