paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Hawaii Paintball Field / Paintball Hawaii Paintball Field / Paintball Hawaii Paintball Field / Paintball Hawaii Paintball Field

Paintball Hawaii Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Marine Corps Base Hawaii
Kailua (MCBH), Hawaii 96734
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
disgruntled Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hawaiiallstarpb.com (Nimitz)
Review: Well me and some friends went to this field and paid for a day of paintball. What we got instead was treatment like second class citizens. The first thing I noticed was that all us other paying customers that weren't affiliated with the field teams or knew the people there was to mainly push us on the farthest of the fields away from the staging area. This would have been ok if the fields were fun to play and had supair, but they were not. These were mainly orange pallets with tire bunkers and a few tubes lying around. At least nimitz lets you rotate on all the fields and you get a fair chance to play on the air field.

The field is not organizes as well as nimitz is. There was no one announcing games.
The fields are laid out for the sit in your bunkers and spray paint type. You can be on the opposing sides 40 yard line and not shoot out the back castles.

The fields do have grass BUT the grass also hides a bunch of dips or small holes on the field. I think a team by the name of the DAWGZ had a player mess up his ankle because of him falling down.

The so called air ball field is only about 16 bunkers inter-spaced with tire bunkers and plywood bunkers. (Hey they advertise an air ball field. We thought it would be like nimitz with 40 plus full size air ball bunkers well that was out BIG mistake to assume.)

The reffing was ok over all. They were kids but kids will be kids. Some bad calls here and there, but everyone is human.

There entry fee is $15 which is allright. Although at nimitz you can bring in 5 cans of food and pay $10! They raised the prices last month.

The all day air for $15 is a rip!! It is such a hassle because you have to take your tank off your gun be so that they can fill the tank. Then you have to leave the tank on a rack and WAIT for them to fill the tank. It's not that bad of a problem if they are not doing anything, but if they are selling paint or they are busy doing other things then you will have to wait. Then to add insult to injury the tanks are filled to under 3000 psi so you have to fill up after every game and waste more time. At nimitz you can get all day air for $10 and get a full 4500 fill whenever YOU want. You don't have to take off the tank to get a fill and wait for someone else to do it for you and then only get 2700 psi fills. The last fill is before the last game and no more after that. At nimitz you get a full 4000 psi fill before you go home. Did the sign say all day air ONLY while playing here for $10?? Hey If I paid $10 for ALL day air, why can't I fill one last time?? Pumpitup said that the owners will have 4500 fills soon. Its been almost 6 months later and they don't have on yet. I think they tell everyone that so they can string you along. Come on now if your telling guys 6 months ago that the 4500 fills are coming (look down some posts), I thought they would have by now.

We went to Kanehoe based on previous reviews. We all read the posts and said why not give it a try. It seems that the first review done by fuji808 is biased because he is the head ref there (check their website out.) We are also skeptical of the review by 1bigboto (again check their website out) because it seems that he is on a field sponsored team.

PB REVIEWS policy is " If you are associated with this field in any way, including, but not limited to, owner, employee, ref, or a member of a field sponsored team, then you are not allowed to post a review on this field. " I think that some of the posts are a little biased which should not be allowed

All in all my friends and I will not be going back there at all. For a better time with more competition we will go back to the field we love and know. Now we know how good we have it at hawaiiallstarpb.com



Last edited on Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005 at 2:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

Mills-pb Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hawaii All-Star (Nimitz)
Review: This field offers 4 different types of fields - airball, lego, and two others. The fields are grass covered and pretty well maintained. Although the fields are well maintained and offers a few different types of fields, there are quite a few negative aspects. The first negative aspect that I encountered at the field was that the field is inefficiently operated. My friends and I went there and we were not informed when the games were beginning so we missed quite a few games. The second negative aspect was that the games were refereed by some kids, who seem to know little about the rules. The rules were not consistent, a guy that played du ring a game was called out by the referee but he had no paint on him. Third, the field plays favorites. My friends and I are not part of a team but we did pay the full field fee. All of the players like us (without team affiliation) were offered only the two back fields, so that the "team" players could use the air field. Lastly, the all-day air that is offered at the field for $10 are filled from scuba tanks which filled the hpa tanks to about 2800psi (not a huge problem but when compared to the 4500psi fill station at Nimitz it is a negative for sure). With the negatives outweighing the positives, my friends and I will not be playing at Kaneohe Marine Corp Base again. Others may have a different experience than we did, but we were quite disappointed. ***BE SURE TO READ THE COMMENT SECTION ATTACHED TO THIS REVIEW. IT 'S PRETTY FUNNY THAT THE INDIVIDUALS AFFILIATED WITH PAINTBALLHAWAII TAKE UNBIASED REVIEWS AND PAINTBALL IN GENERAL SO SERIOUSLY.*** REMINDER TO EVERYONE - PAINTBALL IS A GAME AND IT SHOULD BE FUN
Last edited on Thursday, August 12th, 2004 at 11:35 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
13 Comments - Add Comment

pballerc Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive played at bellows and all star but the staff there are ok but paintball hawaiis staff is much friendlier and ar glad to help with gun maintmence
Review: ive benn playing for about a year and this field is great. the airfield has grass so no dirt or rocks to scratch you up on that helpful slide. this is one of the four fields available . the other fields are a tirefield a lego field and a stand up blue field.

1 the air ball field is great and it has grass as mentioned before. it is taken down from what i have seen and wipped after the days play.

2 the tire field is like woods ball it has tall grass and is large

3 the lego is like hyper ball but used with hard plastic bunkers its set up speedball style

4the blue field is the stand up field its awsome cause after sliding and kneeling all day you can get a brake and stan up for a while

you get ten minutes inbetween matches so you get maximum number of games in.

its open 9 to five so its an all day thing. the staff is awsome they are not afraid to take hits to protect a young gun scared to stand up and get off the field and they are not scared to get in and paint check someone

ive herd that a tenman xball field and a woods style field is in the making. i also herd there getting the 4500 boost its supposed to be like a 3 to 5 second fill

overall this field is the best one i have expierenced and the staff puts a big a++ on that

I give it a ten out of ten
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

force4flyguy Saturday, June 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all star, bellows
Review: Paintball Hawaii is a spectacular place to play paintball. This field has 4 fields currently, and I hear that a new 10 man sup air is on the way, and a huge woods ball field. Currently there are 4 fields that are great. 1. Air ball "ON GRASS", 2. tire field kinda woods ball, lots of tall grass for the snoopin and poopin. 3. a plastic bunker field known as the lego field. Yes This field is on grass too. and finally a totally fun Blue Box field, with many angles, and plenty of cover. These fields are set up tourny style and present a comfortable setting for all levels of play.
The Staff is outstanding they arnt afraid to make the paint checks. The refs are very proffesional, and show a huge desire to make the games as fun, and safe as possible. A+++ to all the refs. With my time at this field I have met alot of nice people, they have all shown the true aloha spirt, and are readily available to help people that may need maintance on markers, or just some playing tips. Thank you paintball Hawaii for giving me a great, and safe place to play the sport we all love.
Keep it up.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hc4810 Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bellows AFB, All-Star Hawaii
Review: overview. Located on the windward side of the Island of Oahu, this field offers, in my opinion the best paintball playing experience on the island. While the other 2 fields are fun to play, this field is my home away from home.

With 4 fun fields and a knowledgeable staff, this field is fast becoming a popular field for new and old players. I will attempt to break-down and give my opinion of the 4 available fields.

1. Airball field. Setup is tourney style and a blast to play regardless of experience. This is the field I've seen the tourney teams prefer to play on. Good field, lots of grass, although could be slightly intimidating for players new to the game.

2. TIre field. Large field with many bunkers made up of old tires. Fun to play because of size of the field and height of the surrounding grass. Allows those "woods" players an opportunity to show their sniping skills.

3. "Lego" field. Good size field with many plastic bunkers hence the name. Games here are fast and can get heated with the unique selections of angles and abundant bunkers to hide in. My personal favorite.

4. Wood/Blue field. The newest of the fields available, this field consists of wooden bunkers and LARGE blue plastic bunkers. This field allows most players to stand up and shoot vice having to kneel. Lots of work has been put in to make this field playable and its still being worked on to level the field some and introduce grass. Still very fun to play on.

I've been going to this field exclusively for almost 2 years. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable with a wonderful group of refs that seem to truly care that all players enjoy themselves while maintaining everyones safety. Both beginners and experienced players are welcome and should find the experience worth the trip. I use to go to All-Star and occasionally still stop by, but once I was shown this field, I couldn't go back. All-star is a wonderful field and anyone wishing to truly enjoy paintball in paradise should stop by both fields.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 at 6:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

duderanch345 Monday, June 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
nimitz (hawaii all star)
Review: This field sucks!!! The fields are nice, ill give you that, but the people who run the place suck ass. if you are a nimitz player, a person who plays at hawaii all star, they totally boss you around and talk crap on you. i went once and the owner told my friend that he couldn't fill up his air tank one last time before we left. by the way, he paid for all day air. I also noticed that there arent any divisions like hawaii all star where rentals play rentals, intermediats play intermediats and so on. they play all the newbies against people who play there practically every weekend. so If youre a first timer and you want to get lit up by some jerk off who plays there everyweekend, go to paintball hawaii. if you want to play at quality fields against competition thats pretty much equal, play hawaii all star.
later,
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Pump it up Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Allstar, Bellows, renegade
Review: Great field. They have four large fields that have different setups. A airfield, tire, pallet and lego setup. I hear they are going to add more fields, including a woods setup. No puddles when it rains and the best thing, it has grass. Has all the perks of the other fields except it doesnt have a 4500 booster yet. I hear it is coming. You can bring your own paint and scubas. The management is great and the players are friendly. This field is great for the beginners and the experienced players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

1bigboto Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at All-Star Hawaii and Island Paintball. I like this field a whole lot better because of the friendliness of the Staff and the people that play paintball there. It seems as thought their customers are consistent.
Review: I have played paintball in the 80's when pumps were the norm. I find that the current equipment is a lot better now and this has allowed it to evolve into a family sport.

My experiences at this field has always been great. There are three types of fields and they will be adding three more in the future........near future. The Board field is big enough for 7-man teams. There is plenty of room there, no over-crowding like on other fields there. You can actually occupy a bunker without having to share it with three or four other guys. The Tire field is really big. Lots of space to move around. The Lego field is just like a Hyper-Ball field, except they use heavy plastic type bunkers. This is a good Speedball type field. If you are a beginner, you can play with others that have just started out in the sport. The Intermediate players help out the beginners in their game. The Staff will always be helpful and they ensure that safety rules are practiced by everyone.

If you have a team or are putting together a team, the Staff and Management will offer their support and are more than willing to teach you techniques. I have not experienced this at the other fields at all.

No problems in getting on base at all. Just call or e-mail the Staff and they will arrange for you to come through the gate.

GREAT PLACE TO PLAY!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Red22 Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hawaii AllStar is the only other field that I have played at on the Island of Oahu. I like Hawaii AllStar, the Sup Air they have is the best on the Island so far. I am looking forward to the day when Paintball Hawaii gets their set up going. One of the many reasons I prefer to play at Paintball Hawaii is because of the location on the Windward side of Oahu. It's closer to where I live. Most important is the fact that I have met a lot of people there that have actually taken the time to teach me the basics and even more advanced techniques of gameplay. The three fields there are mostly grass which makes it easier to slide into the bunkers and saves on wear and tear of your gear.
Review: One of the many reasons I prefer to play at Paintball Hawaii is because of the location on the Windward side of Oahu. It's closer to where I live. Most important is the fact that I have met a lot of people there that have actually taken the time to teach me the basics and even more advanced techniques of gameplay. The three fields there are mostly grass which makes it easier to slide into the bunkers and saves your gear from wear and tear. The inovation, experience and personality that resides on this field is so great that everything will only get better and better. If you're in the area and you want a place to learn or even teach what you know Paintball Hawaii is smething to experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fuji808 Thursday, November 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hawaii All Star
Review: This is easily one of the best fields in the state. It does not handle the volume of players each weekend that All Star does so there are a few details which the staff can focus on. This field is still relatively new, and is definetly in the developmental stage at the moment. Currently there are 3 fields with plans to add 2 more (a woodsball field, and an x-ball field). The fields are tournament style and are a regulation 5, 7 and 10 man size.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. if you need spare parts (i.e. o-rings), or help fixing your marker they will be more than happy to help. Because of the low volume of players the staff has the time and the opportunity to help new players learn the game and its tactics. Also you get to know the guys there and become good friends. Due to the higher volume All Star cannot do this, which is understandable.

As far as comparing the field to All Star I will only say a couple things. This field has grass so you slide and dont have to worry about having black and blue knees the next day. This makes the field a little better in my opinion, that coupled with the more 1-1 feeling that the staff provides, again this is mainly due to the lower volume of players, but still it makes the field feel friendlier. The only problem I can see with this field is that it is on the Kaneohe Marine Corps Base. Which means that it is not in Honolulu, and could mean a longer distance to travel for people. Although it is not that much, about 12 miles from All Star. Also because it is on the Marine Corps base, civilians (such as myself) need to obtain a base pass from the pass house before going to the field. However, this has been worked out with the field owner (who is a navy person himself), and the base. Merely let the owner know you will be coming down and he will get you on base no problem. The only reason i say this is a drawback is because it is an extra step one must take to get to the field, and sometimes the pass house is busy and getting a pass can take 20 minutes, although average time for a pass is more like 5.

As I mentioned, this field is still in its infancy. Not many people know about it, and it is still undergoing a LOT of improvements. However, even now it is a very good field to play at. For more information i suggest going to the website, www.paintballhawaii.com and looking around. The website is also under construction, but almost done. When it is done it will include many pictures of the 3 fields of play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media