paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Midway Paintball Facility Paintball Field / Midway Paintball Facility Paintball Field / Midway Paintball Facility Paintball Field / Midway Paintball Facility Paintball Field

Midway Paintball Facility Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (707) 399-9400
Address: 4901 Midway Road
Vacaville, California 95688
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Bababooie Friday, June 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball jungle in Vallejo and Sherwood Forest
Review: Well this is the first time i have gone speed ball and it is damn fun. Ill tell u what during the summer it gets very hot and they dont have shade so i suggest bring ur own shade and plenty of water(my friend was dizziy from dehydration)
-Its prices are SUPER resonable 20 bucks all day or you can play half a day for 5 dollars less and there is not paint fee, Thats of you hae your own stuff if not then 50 Dollars but u get a set with that and that inculded admisson
(compared to the Jungle with there 15 dollar surcharge if u dont buy their paint)
-The refs are fair
-Google rule is strict but barrel plug is sort of soft.
-Gets Very hot, So bring shade and cold water
-Air fill and co2 fill is Good prices All day air 8 bucks
<font color="Green">WEAKNESS</> THere not very clear on when games switch or change. Its a walk on field but they dont annouce when game changes. I wish they had liek a megafone so more people would know( the jungle does that)
-And its a far Place
Last edited on Friday, June 18th, 2004 at 10:42 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

longball Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
APG, PB SAMs and a host of others.
Review: I have played here twice now and really like the staff. The players were great and there was NO physical contact and very few (read 2) verbal exchanges and they were in a private group game going on.

First Kudos for the staff, even with the local team practicing and a tour bus full of private players they kept things moving and there was almost never a line at the shack. Despite the single porta-potty I never saw a line for it, so I guess one is enough for now. The staff had us rotate fields including the airball field, (the local team either moved to different one or took a break) and the fields do have a good variety to them. Looks like they listen to reviews huh?

We had maybe 50 walk-ons and 30 private players so life worked out pretty well in the crowds department as well. Yea a lot of newbies, and smaller kids, with a sprinkling of tourney's and wannabie tourney types, but that makes it fun. If you have an evil streak you get to provide lessons to the newbies, and if you have a charitable streak you can help them learn in a less painful manner. At the same time the more experienced players are great to play with because you can learn a thing or two from them. In my rather long and varied experience..."If you ain't learning, you ain't paying attention". It's as simple as that.

The Parking lot was fine with what appeared to be new crushed rubble to help keep the mud from forming and I got in and out with the Mighty Winne just fine. There were maybe 10-15 picnic tables available to set up on and though if it got more crowded you could run out of space so what! Bring your own card table or one of those folding tables. When they are on sail they cost less than a half case of paint. Works better than a picnic bench anyway and you can move it easily too.

As for Shade in the parking lot yea, it is definitely lacking but it is kinda hard to pull off if you think about it. Where do you put it? How big? How many? What about Wind? What will it do to the parking? If you do one big one then everybody jostles for room under it, and the territory battles and "where'd my bottle, tool, mask, etc go" stuff starts flying.

I am not saying they should not have it, but I guess I am asking where should it be? Maybe a couple three of them the size of the one down at EAST field would be nice, one or two near the "office" and one near the airball field. I agree that in the summer this is going to be a significant issue. As I said they do have shade, all the way down at EAST field, but that is way too far to go to find shade from the parking lot.When the wind is not a factor (yea right) you could set up a portable shade such as an E-Z UP and that can keep it cooler for a while, but be sure to get some serious weights on it or expect it to try a downwind takeoff! BE SURE the weights are soft, like a sandbag, cause if the wind gets really nasty, you do not want coffee cans full of cement flying around with your shade unit!

OK now to the Negatives.
The heavy winds this winter have devastated this field. Broken and Bent support poles, torn netting and other less major damage is evident everywhere. East field's netting and poles are in a shambles and probably are the worst of the problems. Due to the distance from the parking area it is less critical to have the netting in place and the 505 onramp is too far away to easily reach even with an errant ball at the right angle. That being said East needs some serious work to patch it up.

The other fields are in better shape but there is a lot that needs work. Nets have holes where non masked observers (read mom's and dad's) can easily get hammered with a volley of balls at the Airball and Speedball courses, and the "western" as well. Holes in the netting around the chrono station near the Airball allows balls to fly out and strike observers down range, and splatter from the balls to strike anyone within 10 feet of the net. They need to add a net section behind the chrono wall to keep the observers out of the downrange area.

While the bent poles and such can only really be addressed by professionals, (as it should be) alot of the other things could be helped by less skilled people who are willing to help. Maybe the field could have a "maintenance day". Field operators do not have unlimited funds, and despite what you might think, the fields are not a "license to print money". The biggest expense to most of the work around there is the labor involved. OK how about getting some of the teams together with their parents and get to work on helping the staff in improving the field.

Come on.... there has to be some kids who's dads or mom's work in construction, or are handy at building things. Most parents have access to some of the power tools and compressors that would make building shade structures a breeze. Somebody might even be able to get a high lift and get out there and fix a good part of the netting. Even if they can not get a high lift, the owner could rent one and have some adults work with it to patch and rehang the nets!

If you think the Western Town needs work ok fine. Someone donate some lumber and show up with a saw and a generator and help the field be a fantastic field.

The owner could provide free play coupons or paint or other great stuff to those who help out, and parents and kids get the satisfaction of helping improve their field. With that comes a sense of pride and ownership. Kids tend to play a field that they feel like they are a part of. They also don't tend to destroy what they worked hard to build.

One of the things I have learned in life is that community involvement, in whatever your or your kids pursuits are, is rarely a waste of time. Paintball is a team event, lets bring a team together to improve the field.

OK my long winded rant is over.

Overall I love the field, and I see the potential for a truly great paintball park.
I rate the Staff and most of the facility a 10, but due to the damage and lack of repairs I will only give it an 8 right now.

If the owner is interested lets get together and help him fix it. I will bring my Winnebago, it has a 4500 watt generator, and I have a second 5K one one I can throw on a trailer. Who has a compressor? A couple of Nail guns? somebody got a portable cement mixer for pouring footings for the shade? Who has a pile of lumber left over from a project they can bring? Any company got some stuff they want to donate? My schedule is always crazy but, If I can not make it I will loan the 5KW Generator and a trailer, as well as a few power tools to the owner if he wants them.

I will contact the owner with my email if this sounds like a go.

LB
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

numb1sacfan Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
(wap)-the best , venture, sherwood and my private field in sant rosa
Review: I think that the field sucks! but just for now i think it has potenial the two wood fields are good but the sup and hyper ball fields need a little more work from my experience i think there is not enough shooting lanes and everything is to bunched together and i think it is way to muddy out there and they could use some more refs and the poles the netting goes around could be straighten up besides ALL THAT!!!! it 's a fun field .
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

doj Tuesday, January 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wap, Breakout, Crossfire, Venture Games, SCP Fairgrounds
Review: I've played this place twice now and both times my experience was not very good. The first time was right before the winter set in, it was very worm and dusty. The place was packed (around 100 players). They lack control with such a crowd, not enough refs and the refs that are there don't seem to give a dam and sometimes join in on a game. There are a lot of high-end players and tournament wannabe players that call it home. I have witnessed physical contact, which was encouraged by others, and staff, lots of cheating and safety issues.

The last time I was there was last week, I only went back because the field I usually go to was closed do to weather and my friends really wanted to play and Midway is only 20 minutes away. Big mistake! The field looked like a tornado hit it. Most if not all the polls were either broken or bent, netting was either missing or turn, the building field were either fallen down or broken and their airball fields were missing air bunkers.

It appears the big New Years storm leveled their field, blowing air bunkers across the highway into neighboring fields with some air bunkers not been recovered. You would think the field owners were smart enough to know to de flat the bunkers after their use and not make the netting permanent (one giant sail) given the high winds in the area. The place is one big mud bowl do to the type of dirt the field sits on (same as Wap). So bring a change of cloths and a lot of blankets to protect the interior of your car.

Pros: Bring your own paint. Big layout with potential.
Cons: Not for the beginner player. Need more refs due to the type of players speedball attracts. Lots of cheating and attitudes. Some what expensive. Paintball price are way to expensive for the type of paint being sold

Despite my review I give it an average rating due to the fact that this field is representative of speedball being played in the Bay Area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

YerDed Wednesday, December 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture, Sherwood, Jungle, Mare Island, SC PB
Review: I wasn't so sure I would like it having read the prior reviews. But having went through the rounds, I had a blast. the fields are large enough that you cant get shot from the opposing team at the very start. (unlike Santa Clara PB) Each field is huge, while we played in wet weather, it was a little slippery, so it kept the attendance rather low. 35-40 people tops. even at that number it wasn't nearly even crowded. They have 5 fields, however with the low turnout (rainy day wimps no showing) only 1 field was in use at a time. With more attendees and ref's this place could probably do 250 no sweat with all 5 fields running. Admission hpa and co2 prices are comparable, house paintball is a little pricey. but the BEST thing is, they do plastic so you don't have do pack a wad of cash (admission, co2 & paintball $$) very convenient! misc - Only 1 "facility" [outhouse]. crew had mini pizza's for lunch & drinks at an "ok" price. This place is out in the sticks so if you don't pack your own, it's worth it! Rain or shine play and I understand they do private events any day of the week. I give this new course high ratings for the type of fields they have. Venture still rocks for woods-ball and war games!
Last edited on Saturday, January 24th, 2004 at 10:22 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

A Rod Sunday, December 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood- Ok
Paintball Jungle- SUCKS
Review: I Love this field!

They only have 5 fields and they are building another. The Airball field is great except the things where going a little flat today. The box field is awesome. The Hyperball field is ok, the obstacles are a little low it's a lot of crawling. The Western field is pretty great, except people can get some crazy angle on you. The V bunkers field is not my favorite but is up there.

The staff is pretty polite and nice. Like today they froze my CO2 tank so they gave me a free rental until mine defrosted. Also the owns are really nice they are all over the place talking to people, Pros and Newbies alike.

Another perk is pro teams come sometimes to play and they are pretty cool to talk to and hang out with. Angel and Alex from Dynasty came last week-end, and they were cool, I thought they wouldn't talk to me but I talk to Alex for about 15 minutes.

The only thing I see wrong with Midway is the fields and parking lot get really muddy after it rains. And the netting around the fields get messed up when it is windy.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

autocoker_man Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WAP (cannot be beaten) action paintball (sucked beyond recognition)
Review: i love this place. the fields are in great condition, the people are nice, and the food is cheap =). i went a few weekends and i had a trouble with my loader. i had ordered the piece but it had not came in time. so the people at midway came to my rescue and rented me an electronic loader for FREE!!! i liked the fields and the staff was very friendly and fair. many fields like action paintball split the teams unevenly and give the expierienced players the advantage. they were very fair about splitting up the teams. the previous reviews were to critical about the kapp field and when i was there we played air ball 3 times. the best field was the western but some of the bunkers are more protective on one side. the fields are very observer friendly and netted all the way around. also before every game the staff checks the velocity of every1. this takes al long time but is crucial for the spyders.......another wierd thing they do is tey take a break after every game. i dont know about other people but when you have a fast shoting gun on a slow moving course i could wait but the entrance to the field 3 times in a row. i usually shoot about 2 cases of paint a day at other fields but at this on i shoot about a half a case excluding the air ball. all in all i love this course and am certainly coming back soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

luckybreak Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture, Jungle, Sherwood, Mare Island, Fairgrounds
Review: Brand new but needs to work out some major bugs before people will use it and they make a go of it.

They advertise airball but if you're not on the Kapp team forget about using it.
If you're a newbie this might be your place because if you've ever played before on even a mildly competant field you'd never come to this place. 7 fields, 3 refs, no control.
As a result there were mostly first-time players with the exception of the team players on the airball field.

Some fields are very well designed though but others like 'western town' need to undergo major resdesign. It is too big and turned the wrong direction.

Other fields are VERY well done, period. But they need to attract players that are more experienced to get repeat business and with the lack of quality ref'ing and general disorganization that will not happen.

I agree with the reviewer above, paint prices are way too high. You can play at Sinister Fairgrounds up the road and get pain for MUCH LESS.

They also need to improve the parking/seating areas. Not enough benches to sit on, they were a bit far from the fields and absolutely no shade would make this a nasty proposition on a hot summer day. As it was when we went it was about 85 degrees and not pleasant but tolerable to a point.

In short, keep going to other area fields until they get organized and lose the team player attitude.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

coyote Thursday, October 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fairgrounds (gone), Mare Island (gone), Paintball Jungle, WAP.
Review: Nice fields. Everything is all brand new as it is less than a month old. There are 7 (I think) fields, including an airball field, and a hyperball field. They are still tweaking the setups on these so that neither side has a big advantage and the fields play even.

The staff is nice enough. The reffing was solid. The attention to safety is genuine. They seem to realize that people are out there to have fun, and it is a fun place to play. The fields are all close enough that there are no long walks, or need to drive to the further fields. The players that were out there were low key and friendly. I know that doesn't have a direct relationship to the field, but it is pleasant, and worht mentioning.

The prices are average. $17 for field fee, $8 for all day air. The paint is spendy, $80 a case for GAP. I had emailed and asked if they offered 4500 psi fills. They said they did. They never filled my tank higher than 3000 psi. I didn't make a fuss because I wanted to see if it would continue, as I was intending to write a review. Either they don't pay attention to tank ratings, or they can't fill to 4500.

I didn't play all day,but we never got a sniff of the airball field. After the lunch break the KAPP team seemed to be practicing on the field. It seems to me if you are going to make a point of advertising that there is an airball field you need to let your walk ons play there. If it is reserved for team practices that needs to be addressed.

They offer some outstanding deals for season passes, pre pays, and UCD students. Check the websight.

Good people, good place to play. I have to drive past other fileds to get there, but I will do that frequently. The problems are small, and there is room for them to improve. If you are thinking of giving Midaway a a try I recommend it. If the small problems are addressed I will edit this in the future to reflect that. They are capable of an 8 or better.
Update 3-1-04
Midway went from a booster to a cascade setup for fills. Got 4000 psi most of the day. Got to play the airball field this time. Thanks to Jeff and John for a great day. upgraded rating from 7 to 8
Last edited on Monday, March 1st, 2004 at 2:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media