paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Picasso Lake Paintball Field / Picasso Lake Paintball Field / Picasso Lake Paintball Field / Picasso Lake Paintball Field

Picasso Lake Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-800-21-FIELD
Address: route 73 and norcross rd.
Winslow Township, New Jersey 08095
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
mmonaghan06 Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
TopGun, Paintball Invasion. Not as good playing fields..
Review: Me and a friend organized a trip to Picasso Last week. It was awesome. He brought 11 people and i brought 11 people. Everyone got along great and the fields were awesome.

We played the maze, the trenches, the ridge, the hill, and the beach. Midway thru the day a group of 15 challenged us and whooped up (being as they were much more experienced apparantly). The second game we played was awesome. The fields offer various sorts of protection from boards, to rocks, to bunkers, to trees, to brush. The trench field was insane, it offered a bunker and a trenches that lined the field that you can almost stand up in and fire.

The staff was incredibly cool, air was free, paint was cheap. Rentals were $35 for gun, mask, co2..but u got $5 back later for the armband deposit. You had to buy and use the place's paint, which was only: $15 for a bag of 500 paintballs, $30 for 1000 paintballs, and $50 for a case of 2000. Nonrentals were only $30 and u got $5 back later as well, but you could bring your own paint which was awesome.

If anything to bring, bring loads of paint and a change of clothes, cuz if u like woodsball than ur gonna get dirty like we did. Me and 3 teammates crawled thru wut was prbably a football fields lengh of dirt sticks and brush to flank people in one game. It was insane. By the way, if someone challenges you and then cheats.....i.e. wipes, moves obstacles, or automatics you..do wut i did. shoot them in the head.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mobius001 Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I went to Picasso Lake for the second time last weekend as it is near to my friend's house. I has just purchased a new gun and boy was I psyched. Well it ended up that my gun didn't end up working, just as my last gun had when I had previously visited, so I had to spend most of the time just watching which sucked.

Anyway, they gave me a free field pass to come back again, their fields, while limited in number are great, there were plently of walk-ons to play with, and they are able to fill 4500 HPA which is great. They guys there were also very helpful in trying to repair my gun.

Overall this field is great... the only drawback is that there is no pro shop to speak of so if you're looking to buy something you are out of luck. That is the only reason it's getting a 9. Great staff, great fields, great size, great scenery.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Magman12 Tuesday, May 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Poco Loco, FBM
Review: Picasso lake is a great facility. I know it isn't much to look at, at first glance, but after a day there you will realize looks are decieving. I have played there many times, and it is by far, the best place I have ever been. The prices are great (25 for the day, 5 dollar deposit, and 45 for a case o paint.) The refs there are incredible. They are the most personable refs that i have ever had the pleasure of playing under. They are players themselves and are very passionate and most importantly fair. They are all pretty "techy" and are able to help with any firing probs. The fields are Picasso's signature though. Though the only have about 5/6 felds they have truely perfected them. I would suggest that the somewhat expierenced player play here, but noobs are welcomed. Rentals are affordable to say the least. I would give Picasso Lake a 9.5, leaving the.5 for the wating area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

JAC Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: This is the first field I have played on in Jersey and I have to say, "Not impressed." Don't' get me wrong this place has potential but it's just not what it could be. First and foremost my group and I waited 45 min after regitration just to be put on a team. We did not receive a rundown of the field rules, (safety or otherwise) not cool! Also the refs were not concered about making even teams. There is more to picking teams than just even numbers, like team dynamics and exp. The refs made some poor judgment calls but i guess they'll get better with more exp. Lastly we spent too much time screwing around between games. We could have played 3-4 more games easily if there was less downtime and more organization. With that being said the fields were quality and lots of fun. The owner John, is a nice guy and works to keep it fun. Although Picasso has been around a while it still needs some kinks worked out.

Conclusion:
1) Needs more organization
2) Refs. need improvement
3) Cost is low
4) Fields were fun

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

lawace Sunday, May 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Del Hobb; Poco Loco, Cumberland County
Review: This paintball field is only marked with a plywood sign with 3" letters that say "Paintball." The driving directions on the website are only good if you are familiar with the area. To locate this field, use Yahoo or Mapquest: Norcross Rd and Cahnt Ave, Berlin, NJ 08009. The field is supposedly located in Winslow, but Mapquest and Yahoo think it is located in Berlin, NJ.

The paintball field has several fields that encircle a lake, hence the name Picasso Lake, I played on three of the fields which was not all of the fields. I do not know how many fields are located here.

If you like woodball and have your own equipment, then this is a great field. You get admission for $25 and can use your own paint, you also pay a $5 deposit for your arm band, so bring $30.

SAFETY: They have a safety rule on bunkering, hit the bunker three times with your hand and everyone inside is dead (prevents pointblank shooting). When I went to the field the Chronograph was not located in the practice target area. They hid the chronograph in the air refill trailer, so you had to ask to use it. The referees in the field usually waited to put their masks on until right before the game started; its their health.

FIELDS: I played on three fields: 1) The Beach, 2) The Trenches, and 3) The Ridge. The Beach had fixed forts that you could hide behind and was the most enjoyable of the fields, it is large enough, so you can flank people. The vegetation was clear enough so that you could shoot people. The Trenches was the worst field, it had few places to hide (I couldn't find the trenches to hide in). The trees were small and it was overgrown with brush, so you couldn't get a clear shot. The Trenches also had more mosquitos, so bring mosquito repellent. The Ridge has a fort on the ridge end and a few fixed portions to hid. The other end is a wooded place, so you need to run for cover.

I liked this field and will play here again. I give this field a rating of "7". There could be more fixed obstacles to hide behind and the brush could be better cleared. Safety was an issue since the chronograph was not readily available and all walkon equipment was not tested.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

anthonyericd Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Invasion (didnt like it that much because there was only one rec field), Manhunt (much better than invasion)
Review: WOW!!! this place was incredible, it had like 7 fields, but 2 were being worked on, and the fields were based around a lake. The fields cover 110 acres of land!!!!!!!!!!! The price is increadible and you can bring your own paint.($25.00 for an all day pass, and free air). It seems as if you go on a sunday there are a lot of better people. Dont ask me why it just is. So if your new at this game try to go on saturday. I've only played there once but I am going there this next sunday. The people at Piccaso are very nice, and they help u out at what ever you need. The best part about it is the fields are clean, some of the fields at different places are all trashed up, but this one is fine. But the 110 acres have a dissadvantige also. After every game you have to walk like 2 acres to each side. Then after the game you have to go and refill your compressed air, or co2. so then you have to walk another 2 acres, then go to another field that is 4 acres away. But when your there you'll have the best time of your life.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shawnhu Sunday, February 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity
Fireball Mountain
Skirmish
Top Gun
Review: The Good:
Picasso Lake is the only outdoor field that I know that would allow players to BYOP during the day. If you have your own equipment, you can bring whatever paint you want. They have plenty of fields there, all woods-ball fields. I played there this weekend, and it was covered with snow. Even with the snow, each field was different and was challenging. There is a wide variety of obstacles, such as Fortresses, Twig bunkers, Plywood bunkers, Tubes, Foxholes, and most importantly, plenty of TREES! The only thing that was greater than the fields, was the owner and the Refs. The owner made sure we got what we needed to have a great day of paintball, and the refs were just off the hook! The refs were very professional and extremely friendly. They had three refs per 28 people, on a relatively large field, and was STILL calling people out. Now that's good reffing.

The Bad:
The fields was big, and big has its disadvantages. Every two games, we had to walk back for paint and air refills, and it was a long walk. On a regular day it would have been fine, but snow or rain made it difficult and tiresome to walk. They had one refill station there, so refilling a group of 30 and under was still manageable, but might get hammered with more people. It seems that they refill CO2 without a scale, so it tends to under-fill, not the whole 20oz, but rather maybe 10-12oz instead, which wasn't a problem, since they offer free all-day refills on both N2 and co2.

Conclusion:
This is a great field to play at. The fields are clean, big, and challenging. Obstacles are spread out, and plenty of cover. The people are extraordinary and extremely helpful. This is what paintball is all about, and why its so addicting. Keep it up Picasso Lake Paintball!
Last edited on Wednesday, February 9th, 2005 at 12:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Taltos3756 Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
On Target Paintball
Review: Played here for the first time this weekend. I went with another experienced player and a friend of ours who was playing for the first time. The fields are great, very large and well layed out. No speedball fields but I'm a woods-ball player so this was perfect for me. Although the "Beaches" field has two wooded sections and the middle is a "beach" that is ALMOST a speedball field.

The refs were excellent. Very safety oriented but still made sure everyone had a good time. The players were a good bunch of people. Several experienced players also went out of their way to make sure that our "newbie" friend was taken care of and got help when he needed it. As a result.........he's hooked!

Good fields being run by good people.....This field is a perfect example of why I love this sport!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

nojokin Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none that I know of
Review: I went to picasso lake on fathers day with my brother and father, both of whom have played at picasso previously. I have to say I'm completely hooked! I had a great time at picasso- the fields were great (woodsball only, I've seen speedball don't think I'd be interested), the refs were helpful, friendly, and fair. There seemed to be a lot of regulars here, and everyone was very cool (one guy gave my dad an o ring he needed, and another lent my brother a spare bolt to get him back in the game). The only thing I didn't like was the fact that I had a rental gun any everyone else's was better than mine ;).

I found that they have a small website up (looks like just something to have a web presence) at

http://www.angelfire.com/extreme2/archangels/Picasso2.html

The rental price is wrong, it's now $50 a day if you need all the gear.

I had a great time here! My gun's in the mail, so I'll see you all down at picasso!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

caesarbc Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish - I live in South Jersey so it was about 1 1/2 hours to drive up to Skirmish. The fields were very nice, but it was way too expensive to make a repeat trip.
Review: This was only my second time playing paintball so take this review for what it is worth.

I though Picasso lake was a great place to play. We played on a Saturday. Our group had about 10 guys in it and we were combined a couple of other small groups and some walk-ons.

Fields - The fields were very good. They had a nice variety of woodsball fields although one field (the beach) was really a combo between woodsball and speedball. Some of the other fields like the maze and the ridge were very good woodsball fields. They had plenty of cover and were pretty large so that plenty of manouvering could take place. It's a pretty intense feeling when you are in your own firefight on one flank and you hear another firefight taking place on the other flank, but you can't see who is winning. The layout of the fields is also pretty good and the cover is pretty fairly distributed on both sides.

Refs - The refs did a great job. Safety was strictky enforced, but in a tactful way. The refs wanted everyone to have a good time, but to play safe as well. They did a good job of addressing hits and making sure there was no wiping as they always seemed to be where the paint exchanges were heaviest. The refs also did a good job on letting the fight wind itself down naturally and not calling the whistle prematurely.

Price - I have my own marker so the price for me was $40 ($5 I got back when I returned my armband). Since I brought my own marker, I could also bring my own paint. Guys that had to use rental markers ( Tippman 98's and Carbine's), they had to buy field paint. Rental charges were $30 if you called beforehand and $40 if you walked-on. You also received 500 balls and goggles with your rental fee. Price wise, I think this is the cheapest place around. I could play here 4-5 times or do 1 trip to skirmish...you do the math on which is the better option.

Overall - I was a little hesitant on going to this field because they don't have the advertising or fancy website that some of the other fileds have, but I am glad that I came here and will continue to come in the future. It is a great place to have alot of fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media