paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field

High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
46Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (631) 242-2096
Address: 426 Mill Road
Coram, New York 11727
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
stickam Tuesday, January 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I'll break this down in a few parts:

Refs: Refs were very good, but a bit slow in getting games started. I had to wait about 20 minutes between each game because not enough refs. That stank because you pay a lot for this place and want to play as much as possible. At Cousins, I played about 2-3 times an hour. Here, I was lucky if I got two games in an hour. Most of the time it was one game, then we had to wait. That stunk

Fields: I love the fields here, they are nicely decorated and clean. The Giant Castle is INSANE, its HUGE. last time I went there was like 100 vs 100. wasted a lot of paint tho. Won't do that again. I love the fields tho, 10 out of 10 for that.

Price: TERRIIBLE! No one in this world should be charging $100 a case when a case only costs them probably about $20 in wholesale. If Skirmish can charge $50 (on half price days) then HIVI should be able to charge no more than $70.

BIGGEST CON: THey pad you down when you go in. I HATE THAT, sometimes I like to sneak in a little paint, HEY I BUY A CASE for $100 regardless. I just want to get rid of some of my old stuff, why not? whats the harm in that? Anyways, they pad you down and check all your bags like if your going in an Airport. that is wack.

All in all, its GREAT, but EXPENSIVE. I'd give it a 10 ,but -2 for price and -2 for security check.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xmarkerman Friday, October 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Coram, NY ******* less expensive
Review: I was at High Velocity once with a private group. This place is too expensive. I paid around $140 total that day. As you enter they check your pods for paint contraband. $100 for a box of 2000 rds is too much. Fields are filled with attractive bunkers/decorations but small in sizes for people who really enjoy woodsball. IMO this place is OK for someone who likes speedball with woodsball spice in it and willing to pay big bucks for it. I have more fun going to Cousins which is literally around the corner (cheaper and fields are bigger). Safety level is low compared to Cousins. Parking lot is kind of small I guess they donít expect big number of people because of their prices.
Conclusion: IMO prices at High Velocity are too high to go there for a weekly fun.
Last edited on Friday, October 3rd, 2008 at 5:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

lovetoball Monday, September 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins--don't compare
Review: FIrst I would like to say that this field is great!!! The staff is very helpful and the fields are really nice!!! Took my son there this weekend, he had so much fun!! There was such a variety of fields not just woods!!!! Even thought the paint was a little more that cousins, it was well worth it!!! I will not take my kid anywhere else! I will highly recommend that you check this place out for yourself!! Will be having my sons party there next year!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

flipside007 Sunday, August 24th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Alot in New England
Directions
to the Field:
Navigator
Review: I've been in a lot of fields and I went here visiting New York with my brother...I was a little disappointed and REALLY annoyed that I even ever went here... MAYBE the fact that I had to pay like $150 total (that's right $150 Just For Myself) to play and I had some gear...it's not even a big scenario event game or competition event...I have NEVER payed that much ever in any field just to play paintball .... I think the whole ordeal cost me around $300-$350 for a day(a few hours really, I think 4 and a half hours max) in this place with me bringing my brother and sister and I had to restrict myself on shooting too many balls......I know that field have to make some money but this field is just too much of a nikle and dime...

1.field is not that great for the money
2.It's a stink hole(sewer smell) but looks nice in a way with open layout
3.Cost TOO much to play here(I think the most costly field in the whole of USA if not the world)might be wrong but i've played in asia and never payed this much ever...
4.Don't go here even if you are rich and like to waste money it's just stupidity(are you stupid???)
5.People and Staff are not the best(I can go on and nick pick this field for the price they are asking)

Yes I can go on but for $150 that I spend I could have spent 2 whole days somewhere else much better and had lots more fun.....

If your a mother with 4 children U better be rich b/c it might/will cost you a months rent for a day in here....

I can't and will not recomend this place for a family day trip...GO to SIX FLAGS instead or better yet go to DISNEY WORLD...you'll probably save more money than going here!!!
Last edited on Sunday, August 24th, 2008 at 5:01 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

SLYVEST Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
COUSINS (NEVER PLAYED)
Directions
to the Field:
EXIT 64 OFF LIE
Review: LET ME STAR BY LETTING YOU KNOW THAT I AM NOT EXPERIENCED AND AM WRITING THIS BASED ON MY FIRST EXPERIENCE. i PLAYED AT HIVI TODAY AND HAD A GREAT TIME! WHAT I WASENT HAPPY ABOUT WAS THE $100 DOLLARS I SPENT TO PLAY.

PROS:

STAFF WAS EXTREMELY HELPFULL- WAS HAVING A PROBLEM WITH MY TANK AND WITHOUT ASKING THEY HELPED ME OUT . ALSO 2 WORKERS TURNED DOWN TIP$ I TRIED TO GIVE THEM.

ATMOSPHERE OF EACH FIELD WAS UNIQE AND FUN

FOOD STAND'S

WATER N PICKNIC TABLE AREA W/ FOOT LOCKERS

OVERALL GREAT FIELD SETUP (VARIOUS MILITARY OBJECTS EX:PLANES/ CHOPPERS / SATTELITES ETC.)

FIELD SAFETY - IF YOU UNPUG YOUR BARREL FOR A SECOND OR TAKE OFF YOUR MASK YOU WILL ALMOST INSTANTLY BE TOLD TO PUT THEM ON

SERVICE FROM CERTAIN EMPLOYEES 2 PARTICULARLY


HOURS 10-5



CONS:

OVERPRICED $100 A CASE +AIR + ADDMISSION

TERRIBLE REFEREE'S (NO PAINT CHECKS / LONG WAIT BETWEEN GAME / CONFUSION )

SURRENDER RULE (WITHIN X AMOUNT OF FEET CALL SURRENDER AND THE OPPOSITION IS MANDATED TO SURRENDER)

FIELD UPKEEP IS HORRIBLE AT BEST (MUD PUDDLE FILLED FIELDS THAT SMELL LIKE SEWAGE IN SOME PLACES -I UNDERSTAND ITS SOME ASPECT OF ATMOSPHERE BUT THIS WAS TERRIBLE)

EXTREMELY UNORGANIZED

VERRY LONG WAIT TIME BETWEEN THE GAMES(DIDNT PLAY ALL THE FIELDS BUT ALL WERE RUNNING)

NICKEL AND DIME FOR EVERY LITTLE THING (AIR REFILL/ PAINT CANISTERS ETC.)

OVERALL I HAD FUN . AGAIN THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME AND I NEVER THOUGHT IT WOULD COST A SMALL FORTUNE TO PLAY. THE FIELDS HERE ARE VERRY FUN. ITS A GREAT SETUP AND SCENARIO ALTHOUGH THERE ARE NOT MANY FIELDS AND SOME ARE FAIRLY SMALL. 7 TOTAL BUT I ONLY PLAYED 4 BECAUSE OF THE REF. I THINK COUSINS IS CHEAPER AND HAS MORE FIELDS SO THE NEXT TIME I GO I WILL BE GOING TO COUSINS INSTEAD AND MAKE MY DECISION FROM THRE. I WOULD RECOMEND GOING TO HIVI IF YOU HAVE MONEY TO BURN CAUSE ITS DEFINATELY A GOOD TIME. I JUST FEEL I CAN GET MORE FOR THE MONEY AT COUSINS SINCE I WANT TO PLAY MORE FREQUENTLY .



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Alman12 Friday, March 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 31st, 2003
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins courm (blech)
cousins happauge (best indoor)
hivi indoor (2nd best indoor)
island paintball (blech)
liberty paintball (BLECH (rentals are good))
Review: ok i went here to visit and only played in giant round in castle, it's TON OF FUN! people think that it's just random shooting, they couldn't be wronger, if you make a squad and move up in an ordelrley fashon then you can beat the "loners" who think they're tough with they're egos blastin 25bps. and as a plus, other people will join in and make feild command squads and you will dominate! it's alot of fun and turns out to be much more fun then being a loner and doin the old spray n' pray techineque.(yean not about feild but it's about 1 spific place the only 1 i played in, i might make another review or add on to this if possible caus i'[m goin agiain on monday)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

poisonpill Monday, December 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Skirmish out in PA, Cousins Newburg, Cousins LI, and a few other places around the country.
Review: High Velocity is a great establishment so I'll try to go into some detail about it. I'll try to space out this review so it's easy to read.

First let me review the field. I've been going here since it opened. Back then the owner (or who acts like the owner) has always been present and happy to help out. He appears to genuinely want people to have fun at the field. I remember he used to park his military jeep or deuce&a-half on the main drag (RT112) and advertise the place. I've gone here about a dozen times or more since then.

The fields are simply awesome. Most of the reviews here are spot on. The only thing is that I wouldn't exactly call it "mil-sim". This is because the random equipment and gear that litter the fields aren't put in any real military style configuration. They're just plopped down as bunkers haphazardly. While it's unique to see real vehicles and hardware, eventually you'll just treat them as bunkers. Cool bunkers of course. What it does is make for really exciting gameplay. You'll hear a lot of "there's three guys in the helicopter!". There are plenty of bunkers and areas for you to plan tactics and maneuvers to try to outflank the opposing team. I believe this is the big reason these fields are better than any other ones. Most woodsball fields just let you duke it out in the open, which can lead to stalemates where people don't have the guts to run out in the open. The fields at high velocity definitely lead to fun games.

The only field I don't particularly enjoy is the Wild West one. It's an interesting idea, but the implementation isn't all that great. After you've played it once or twice, you'll realize the best strategy is just to run around the end and go house to house surrendering people. I've won games here where I don't fire a shot and eliminate 10+ people just on surrender rule. Personally I don't find it too exciting. Often I just move back a bit just to get a pot shot in. If they had move the rows of houses closer to each other, it might make for exciting cross-alley firefights. But oh well.

All of the other fields are great. Yes there are planes to hide in. It may be unfair, but the fields are big enough (or have tall enough grass) that even if one team owns the plane bunker, it's possible to defeat them. There are also plenty of jeeps, pickup trucks, and a locomotive to hide in.

The woods field is pretty fun as well. It's set up so there is a nice corridor in the middle where all the action takes place.

That brings us to the castle. Simply the best castle made for paintball ever. No doubt about it. Yes I've been to the castles in Skirmish. This castle is no joke. It is made entirely of cinder blocks. The basic overlay of the castle is two towers (each with a working flagpole with red and blue flag) which are connected by a bridge/walkway. This bridge is not a straight-shot -- there are walls in it so you can make your way across slowly. There is also walkways around and under it all.

My only beef with the castle is that so far high velocity treats the castle like some sort of daily super-event. About 3-4 times a day, they shut the place down and move everybody into the castle. They play regeneration (come back to dead zone and go back in) until one team raises their flag in the opposing tower. It's great fun if you like 100 vs 100 games. Personally I don't. Again, it's a matter of preference. If you like the sound of that, then yes it really is fun. I would rather place a nice 20 on 20 in there. I feel you get more strategy out of it instead of just random shooting. Shooting which obviously rakes in the paintball profits for the field.

The refs are generally good. It's hard to expect too much out of minimum wage kids working on the weekends, but most of them do try their best.

Crowds: as I alluded to earlier, I'd rather not play with humongous crowds in paintball. When High Velocity first opened up, they regularly had 15 on 15 at the most. However lately it's been growing to 30v30 and 40v40. Obviously this is the nature of the business, but they grow increasingly disorganized with more people. I wish they would cap a field at like 40 people and just rollover extra people onto another walk-on group. Also, this field plays 2 games max (often just one) at a field. Then they take everybody back to the general area which I feel is a waste of time. They just play 3 or 4 games before walking back.

This place is pretty good for groups. Their rentals are the best around. They actually use HPA for rentals which is pretty good. And as mentioned they have attached barrel plugs. They drop their rates a lot for large groups -- I've played where it was $10 per person to get in. Unfortunately they don't have overalls to rent though. Also the short walk to the fields makes it pretty each to get your group around.

Compared with Cousins Coram next door, it's a different experience. I've been to cousins about 15+ times. I generally like the fields at high velocity more since they promote movement and maneuvering. The cousins fields are pure woodsball so you have to be willing to do a lot of running without a lot of cover. I still play at both because I enjoy both types of play. However, for private groups I always choose to organize it at High Velocity.

Of and of course, one of the key benefits of high velocity over cousins is a real PARKING LOT! Cousins has a dirt lot so expect your car to get pretty dirty. Also the road into said lot is horribly marred with pebbles, rocks, and heck craters. If you have like a nice sports car you don't want to drive there. High velocity has a parking lot like those you'd find at wal-mart. Definitely a big plus if you have a nice car.

I gave this place a 10 because there isn't any place better around. The only negative would be for people who want to play (or practice) pure speedball because they don't really have that. I only hope their high level of service doesn't drop the more people go there. It's definitely dropped a bit since its inception.
Last edited on Monday, December 17th, 2007 at 1:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Biskit230 Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish (PA), E-Jam (NJ)...... Skirmish is too expensive and the fields are not as fun. E-Jam is a nice option for a local place but the structures dont compare...
Directions
to the Field:
Web
Review: Quick check in, Nice Staff, Quick Air Fills........This field was a great time, they have multiple fields with alot of old army equipment on them to hide around and In. There is even a pretty large plane on the grounds.... There is even a field with full on trenches.. Check out the website to see the pics.... I can't wait for them to complete this monstrous castle they are working on.... It looks sick... As for the players there, The walk-on I played with were all good people.... We did get stuck playing a game with a couple of groups of players with matching gear who thought they were a team.... All they did was complain about being shot as if they werent at a paintball field.... But to our Ref's credit he got us out of that group the next game and into a bigger group of walk-ons....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

crooklyn Friday, October 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played at E-Jam in New Jersey, i also got a chance to play at Camp Pendleton in San Diego
Review: I have not been to too many places, but out of all the places i have been this place has the best fields, my favorite is world war 2.
People who work there are all good and easy too deal with.
A lot of regulars come to play, but they all nice and try to help you out if you never played there. Also you have lockers where you can keep all you gear which is excellent, most fields don't have that.
I even went to play there alone once since some of friends could not make it and i still had tons of fun there.
My next outing to this field is going to be October 22nd for the big game of We were Soldiers.
Last edited on Friday, October 20th, 2006 at 5:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

daytripper Wednesday, July 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
only cousins indoor. but i wanted to try something new
Directions
to the Field:
look it up on google.
Review: First off let me say that I love this field and i will not play anywhere else after i played here. Everything about this place is great. When you first pull up it seems very military oriented, and at some point it is. They have a bunch of tents that you can put your gear and stuff in. they even come with lockers. As soon as you put your stuff down the refs for the day come over to your groupand give you a speech about safety, where to go, etc. Now lets talk about the fields.

*Woods*- I liked it. Pretty fast paced for woods ball. It was also pretty big. There were two main parts. there was the more open side, which i didnt really play at. An there was the more woodsball part. It had a huge hill. one team had the hill, but less places to hide, but the team on the lower part had more places to hide. Ranked 3rd

*Attack and Defend* Smallest of the fields with a little "tower" in the middle. It was pretty cool. Once it was small it was easy to move up on, but there was all the new players just stood in the back behind a wall. I liked it. Ranked 4th

*Air (plane) field* Pretty cool field. It had a bunch of vehicles to hide behind, like a huge plane in the middle.Like i said it was a pretty cool thing because ive never seen anything like it. Ranked 5th

*Western* cool idea, not the greatest field. I personally didnt like it. It was too faced paced for me. you also cant move that much because the instint you move you have 4 people shooting at you. Ranked 6th

* trenches* I personally liked this one. It was great. It had like real trenches, not little sissy one. I mean realy 6 -7 foot trenches. Just like world war 1. The problem with this field is you need to have good teammates, if your alone you can almost gurantee that your going to get out.. ranked 2nd

*world war 2* My favorite. Picture this, A huge field maybe the size of a football field. Huge 10 foot hills with army vehicles on top.Half the field in woods, a plane, many palces to hide. i consider it the "greatest woodsball field ever!" You must play here if your going

Also during the summer, on thursdays its bring your own paint. Which makes it so you can save a couple bucks while still having fun.

Overaly great field, i know i wont be playing anywhere else but there. 10 !!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media