paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field

High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
46Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (631) 242-2096
Address: 426 Mill Road
Coram, New York 11727
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
teddymo Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins - More woodsball oriented, the only vehicle on cousins field is an old boat, and the terrain there is not as well developed as HV. Cousins is also a nice field but does not have as much money pumped into it as HV. Note: Cousins does have larger property but they dont use thier fields as effectively as HV in my opinion. Also note: HV does not have a speedball field anymore, I notice the last time I drove by there that thier speedball field is gone and they are planning on building some type of castle field

There are no other Outdoor Fields on LI as far as I know.

The only reasons I recommend HV over Cousins is that it has better facilities as far as lockers on tables, central location of staging area, paved parking lot, and a nice burger stand. I also personally found the HV fields more fun to play in since they have alot of nice features such as airplane hulls and old trucks.
Directions
to the Field:
Click on the site if you want directions.
Review: I took a small group of players to High Velocity this past Saturday, I had played at the field once before solo but my gun broke that day and then it rained so I only played on two fields and didnt really get an experience to talk about. I was left with 3 bags of paint, and didnt get to use it. When I took this group down to HV almost a year later the owner Rob (nice guy) could not verify that it was his paint and told me I could not use it again. I would have been annoyed about this since it was clearly thier paint, but he gave my group of 10 the 20 person discount so we saved money and it basically evened out and also was a nice gesture. I wasnt planning on using the old paint for myself but to give ot my group later in the day anyways, probably towards the end of the day when you will basically shoot any paint you can find. but it didnt matter after he gave us the discount

I highly recommend this field to the seasoned and intermediate player. I also recommend this field to the first time or begining player but with some qualification if a young child under 13 years old is being introduced to the game. (please read below)

The different fields that they offer are great and have a nice variety of action and allow for strategic movement. My favorite was the WWII field since it has alot of nice dirt hills with vehicles on top and makes for some great action. I also liked thier woodsball field and thier Trenches field. The other great thing is everything is centrally located so there is not alof of walking to refill air or reload your paintballs. This field also offers lockers on the picnic tables that hold gear so it is a nice option as well.

The staff is nice, the referees are well trained and briefed my group properly as to critical elements such as when to call a player ou if you are close and even regarding blind shooting. We were in the "Walk On Group" which started out with 30 players in the morning and by the late afternoon ended up with 40 on 40 firefights. Even HV's smaller fields can handle that large a number of players at a time although they some might not look that big at first glance.

The large group size at the end of the day is good for me but I had my 12 year old nephew with me who only played for the second time. He had a blast but at one point someone shot him at close range instead of calling surrender. I was close by and yelled at the the guy for it, (truthfully my nephew got a little tougher from it and at least the guy didnt totally light him up)

The ref also came and took that guy out of that game for taking such a close shot. The next game we played the ref reiterated the 10 foot rule to all 80 players, and advised that if he saw anyone shoot a little kid at close range they would be booted from the field. I appreciated that they made it clear, but it was after the fact, and it seemed to me that they should have probably briefed some of these new walk on players about this rule since there were constant add ons. Note I do not know if they did and this was just one idiot who decided to take a shot but it seemed obviously to me he might not have been spoken to about it the surrender rule for taking such a close shot at that range especially when it was a little kid.

NOTE: I am a longtime baller and understand that if you dont want welts then dont play paintball,but there is a different if you are a grown adult popping a little kid at five foot range who has his back to you.

This is why I advise parents of young children - who are playing for the first time, that only go this field if you have your own private group. I was under the assumption that there would be two walk on groups, a low tech and a high tech, but it was not the case. So be weary as if you have a young child and are a walk on, they will be playing with people who have electronic guns, some capable of shooting 15 balls a second....
NOTE: There are tons of little kids out there who can handle playing in an experienced group, I have seen them some even have guns that shoot at high rates which I dont necessarily agree with, however those are kids who have been playing the game a while and know how to avoid getting hurt. My nephew who is a newb was not at that level and I would have prefferred to be in a rental gun only group. Therefore I advise you to make your own judgments about your kid.

NOTE: This is true for most paintball fields however not just HV.

NEGATIVES: The only thing I didnt like was the fact that on three occasions people in my group had rental guns that did not work and some people missed a game. They use Tippman Pro Carbines, but the field gave them a replacement rental gun soon thereafter. On one occasion the replacement gun was also leaking go figure, ..

The nice one thing about HV's rental guns is that the barrell plugs are built in so that it cant be lost, other fields will charge you when you lose a barrell plug, but this is not the case with HV since it is attached to the gun. Also it is white and for players like me who are extra safe it is easy to spot people around you who might have slipped by without a plug in the guns.

CONCLUSION: HV is a great field, I commend the owners for making the field the way they have, pumping money into it to bring nice things like a Airplane hull at the site etc... If i was going to build my own field it would be pretty much like HV. Other than the incident with my nephew , I and my group had a blast and would definetely go to this field again. Lastly even though some might disagree the burgers are tasty.

I would have given this field a 10 but it lost a point for the three faulty rentals. I did not subtract a point for the nephew incident cuz it might have just been a stupid player, and the ref bawled everyone out afterwards which shows they were concerned about it just like me and not ignoring a potentially hazardous condition.
Last edited on Monday, June 19th, 2006 at 9:41 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tbonedoherty Monday, March 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Paintball
Review: I normally play at Cousins Paintball. However, This weekend they were so busy they didn't have enough rentals to accommodate my group. I knew Hig Velocity was close by and figured I would give it a try. I was very disappointed. The place was a disaster. Everything from the equipment to the staff. They have a very limited number of fields. My group was bored after playing a couple of games. Needless to say, I will not go back. Next time I will be smart enough to book ahead at Cousins.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

sinter Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ring Homestead: very good, good refs, good fields, not as extensive as high velocity
Paintball Depot: poorly maintained, as costly, much more disorganized
Ruckus: nowhere near as extensive, but it's a bring your own paint field so much cheaper
Review: This was my groups first trip to high velocity. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find the staging areas covered with camouflaged carports. Each table had lockable chests on it to store your gear in. Blasting over loudspeakers, was rock 'n roll music like The Who and Pink Floyd. There was running water over sinks to clean your gear off. Every 15 minutes the refs would come around yelling out a game was about to begin for walk ons at one of the different fields. The fields we played in during the day included airfield, the trenches, frontier town, and the woods. I found the refs to be both professional and courteous. During each scenario there would be three refs; one for each team as well as one stationed at the door to make sure that everyone entering had their masks on and everyone exiting had their barrel plugs in and their guns on safety. If you needed any help during the day, the refs would be more than happy to help you. The cost was for paint was high, but at this particular point during the year there was no cost for admission. The paint cost $100 for case of Pro caps. Not one person on my team, had one ball break in their barrel for the whole day. Air was $10 for all day pass for Nitro or $10 for three 20 ounce fills of CO2. there was a snack bar, as well as Porta PotIes which were cleaned every day. Players ranged from newbies to pros with everything in between. All in all my group had a great day and I would return there in a minute. Would have given this field at 10 rating if the paint costs weren't so high.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjoe693 Monday, December 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Paintball Outdoor - Great Field
Cousins Paintball Indoor - Great Speedball Field
Review: I think Cousins Paintball is a great field. From your reviews I can tell most of you people dislike Cousins alot. I dont know why. I have gone to both High Velocity and Cousins many times. The fields are made for 2 different styles of play. High Velocity is for milsim type players and Cousins is made for just plain woodsball players. I live 20 min. away from both fields and people where I live are either hardcore HV paintballers or hardcore Cousins paintballers. I happen to like both equally. Even though this review is not supposed to be about Cousins, I want to clear things up about the two fields because I feel that the people writing these reviews on HV is giving Cousins a bad reputation. I have gone to each field at least 20 times each.

PRICE:
High Velocity's and Cousins prices are about the same. $20 for addmission, $10 for rental (both fields rent Tippmann Pro Carbines)and about $100 for 1 case of paint (2000 balls). I find it cheaper to go to Cousins because I get free addmission passes to Cousins off EBAY. At both fields I use around 600-800 paintballs and spend (without free addmission pass to cousins) around $80 to play the whole day.

TYPE OF PLAYERS:
Both have a fair mix. Some first timers and some serious players.

REFS:
Both fields refs are about 18 years old. I do notice that HV refs are more helpfull and easy to find. Cousins refs dont really help unless you ask and you can usually find them sitting around smoking and talking to each other. I would rather have a HV ref help me but Cousins refs are not bad at all. Just a little lazy.

FIELD LAYOUT:
High Velocity fields are designed to be liked by milsim type paintballers. There is military vehicles but not many. There is 2 planes that you can go in, but they are not military. They are just old twin engine private planes with everything ripped out of them. Out of every 10 vehicles, only 4, I would say are true authentic military vehicles.(most are jeeps) Some non-military are pickup trucks and others are plywood things. Even though most are not military, it is still very fun to stick your barrel out of a window of a truck and shoot people. The basic layout of a HV field is a big clearing with vehicles scattered everywhere, trenches and dirt mounds to climb and in some areas woods.
Cousins fields are just plain old plywood buildings in the middle of the woods. Nothing special.

RENTALS:
Both fields rent Tippmann Pro Carbines for $10 but HVs rentals are newer and in a little better condition.

POTTYS:
Both have smelly porta potties.

FOOD:
Cousins has a pickup truck that has a freezer, that sells a wide variety of drinks like Snapple, Coke, 7UP, water, milk and more. The truck also has a heater that holds coffe, pizza, sandwhiches, hot dogs, hamburgers, and stuff I have never seen before. It also has lots of candy.
High Velocity has a perminant little wood shed thing that has drinks (mostly Gatorade and Coke), fresh hamburgers right off the grill, (they cook them there) and stuff like that.
Cousins has an overall bigger selection. But they are both tasty.

CONCLUSION:
The fields are for different types of paintballers. Also alot of people write these reviews right after they go to the field for the first time. HV is so different and fun that right after you go there its very easy to bash Cousins which is nothing new. If you like milsim paintball, HV is the place for you. If you like normal woodsball, you would like Cousins. Its your personal opinion. I think you should try both fields ( they are a block away from each other) and make your own desicion. I give both a 10.

Last edited on Thursday, December 15th, 2005 at 4:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Toone Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins down the street., Rukus paintball, Liberty paintball, Skirmish in PA and many others
Review: Checked out this field after a review on a paintball magazine. Never realized it was so close to Cousins in Coram. This place really rocks. If you like mill-sim stuff this is the place hands down. Most paintball fields area really just a bunch of woods with a whole bunch of garbage thrown around. This place is so well organized. The fields are right next to each other so you do not have to walk half an hour to get to your playing field like in Skirmish. There are plenty of tables with lockers on the staging area and they even have a half decent concession stand. They do not have a pro shop but they do sell quite a bit of good paintball stuff at very reasonable prices right on the registration counter.

These guys have real military stuff laying around not a whole bunch of wood cut outs like some other fields. I mean they have real planes, helicopters, tanks, cranes, trains and a whole bunch of other stuff. You can go in or climb inside most of it. The trench field is the most fun I have ever had playing paintball. The western town is an awesome set up as well, talk about urban warfare. The refs where very polite and professional. They did a very fair job at reffing considering there was a lot of people on each game. For the most part they did go out of their way for paint checks. With as many people as were there the day I went the refs did an awesome job at keeping the whole thing flowing with plenty of games happening.

This place is definitely a 10. All I have to say is that I liked so much it motivated me to write a review. My first review at that since I have never written one before.

If you are around the area. Drive by Cousins to the next traffic light make a left and go into High Velocity instead. You won't regret it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

doughboy225 Wednesday, July 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins_right across the street, but don't like it there to much.
Review: - Love this place it is very very family friendly (because your parents could watch some of the games if they want.)
- Prices are a little to much but not to much since the competition is right across the street at cousins paintball where its good if your a pro.
- The staff is great although I'v been there when they where having a bad day and the staff was still great.
- this place has about 5 fields, and always under construction on the left side of the park. Always adding different fields and then changing it up every now and then.
- There is almost nothing at the pro shop so don't expect to buy a gun part if you forgot it at home.

- All in all this place is great compared to cousins.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

drock089 Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Arena, Cousins Indoor
Review: Great set up on the fields for cover and movement (especially the World War 2 field). I love outdoor because of the greater involvment of strategy. I also like fresh and more room to move and run around instead of being inside, not taking anything away from speed ball, but I just like outdoor. The best outdoor fields on Long Island. The first ime I went for a party and the refs were kind of annoyed by my stupid friends but great staff! Only thing is, summer they don't have BYOP :( Great field, cheaper than other outdoor arenas on Long Island, and if you come to Long Island, go there a.s.a.p.
Last edited on Thursday, May 19th, 2005 at 9:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

valcristdk Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Coram Outdoor
Review: MAN! You guys aint kidding about how much better High Velocity is compared to Cousins.

1st: Staffs there are SUPER NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have never had such great service over all. The manager handled our service perfectly. Gave us free tickets!!!!!!!!!

2nd: The owner was there to greet us while we were preparing. Even made a nice joke.

3rd: I had a problem with my gun and the fixup guy help me right up!

4th: Refs were super cool and always watching.

Some of the fields we couldn't play in because it was filled with ice like the trenches but looked really fun to play in.
They are building more fields to other wise great place.

Only quible was Western Town. 1 kid stepped on a ply wood with a rusty hang nail. I really hope High Velocity fix this up because I dont wanna have a bad day in an other wise great outdoor paintball place.

Best of all, I ONLY SPENT $50 THE WHOLE DAY!(I was in a group of 6 people)
In Cousins, I usually spend like $80 to $100 with the same group and I had my own equipment.

Thumbs up High Velocity!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nick dicostanzo Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish usa/ survival usa/ top gun /sipb
Review: This has got to be the absolute best place that I have ever played at !!!!!! The WW1 and WW2 fields are great ! The wild west town is awesome too. The refs are involved and watch games closely, safety is emphasized strongly.They are serious about chronoing here too. The safe area is totally awesome, all of the tables have lock boxes built right on them , they are also covered with tents so you can get out of the sun for a break. They have counters with sinks and running water everywhere! cleaning up is a breeze. I live in staten island and even use to work at the local field out here, fifteen minutes away - but I still make the hour and a half drive to long island its totally worth it. This place is definitely worth the trip if youre in the area . thats it keep up the good work...........playsafe
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntballerG Friday, January 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins outdoor - there is no comparison
EMR - great fields, huge place too far from me though.
Review: This place is great, if you are a mil/sim kinda paintball player this should be your home. They have the most authentic tanks, jeeps, planes, etc. from the world war 2 era, there is something about crawling on your stomach under a tank and looking through the tracks on the side and shooting through them that i cant get enough of. The refs are great the owners are great very freindly and i have seen them there every time i have gone, which is at least twice a month. I'd say that also makes you feel better that if you have a problem you can go complain to the top man and not some smart mouth. They also put on some great scenario games with about 6 or so scheduled for 05, the first one being the 16th of Jan. i cant wait to use my winter camies. Great prizes after the scenarios too, they are very generous. They have been constantly adding and rearranging the the items on the feilds, i cant wait till the Air force feild is up and running. Should make for some great action, with a control tower and planes (obviuosly). I think i could rave about this place for ever so i will finish up and say, if you havent tried it yet you really need to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media