paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field

High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
46Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (631) 242-2096
Address: 426 Mill Road
Coram, New York 11727
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
AznPa1ntballer Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins sucked
skirmish love it, too far... i agree with slash..
Fireball mountain, eh... not so much
liberty cheap paint, nice fields, not as great as Highvelocity
EMR, nice fields, not too full
Review: OMG I LOVE HIGHVeLOcitY 2 soo much... the owner was so nice to me.. ive been there quite awhile, and the owner stan saw i had a 12 oz tank and he offered me a tank bigger than the one i had, cause he knew i kept filling up and stuffs... but i didnt take the offer but i thanked him so much... the fields are great, i love it, and the refs are hilarious =), IM COMING BACK THIS MONTH GUYS!!! W00T

bad thing about this field is porto potties... like slash said, no toilets when needed, not that i ever did need it, but incase.. hehe ... and the paints are quite expensive... =( other than that i love the place
Last edited on Sunday, December 5th, 2004 at 3:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

slash747 Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins sucks, nasty kids, takes to long to start games
Skirmish great place too far
Review: This place was awesome, the kids working here are helpfull, some are smart asses but show me one person under 21 who is not. The owner is cool as hell. He has taken apart my gun when it broke and helped me fix it.

Paintballs are a little expensive but hey NY is not cheap real estate. I usually spend about 80$ for the day including food, paint, air.

They have changed the arrangements of certain fields more than once since Ive been gong there. So there is always something a little different if you get bored of the same fields.

Cons -
- Porta potties are a pain in the ass when you have to crap, especially with no toilet paper.
- Big groups get better treatment than walk ons
-
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ryuken168 Monday, October 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins paintball @ Coram right next door. There days are numbered if they don't improve. You will need a SUV just to get to the parking lot.
Review: I just played there last weekend Oct 3rd for the very first time. WOW!!!
The only other field I played at was Cousins and there is no comparison. This by far is a well manage and well thought out fields. It was worth the 1 hour drive from the city.
The first thing you see is the nice paved parking lot.
I had a group of 10 playing that day and was greeted at the gate by the owner Rob.
Rob is a cool guy and a good business man, he seems the type to do whatever it takes to make High Velocity a top paintball course.
The price was reasonable for top notch fields like the WWII field and the western town.
The smaller fields like the junkyard was nice too. The other field was a woodland field which was good too.
I never had a chance to try the WW trench field since it was flooded, but will be back in a few weeks to try that.
The staff was on the ball, top notch and did a lot of paint check. They called a lot of cheater out, but some still got away.
$100 for 2000 blaze paintball is the same price as Cousins, so no difference there. The gas refill are exact and not like the place next door that try to rip you off.
The lunch table was nicely set-up under tents with a storage chest for your stuff on each end. Just bring yourself a lock or buy one for $5.
They are going to make it into one large world war field by Nov for a large scenario game for 200+ players.

Thanks Rob and High Velocity staff for a great time.

Ken "Ryuken168" A5OG




Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vppaintball Thursday, September 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins is pretty close but i neva played there
Review: this place is awsome not all woods they have some really cool themed fields here are the pros and cons


Pros.
1.paved parking lot lots of room
2.big staging area and it is also covered with boxes u can lock ur stuff in
3.staff are extremely nice reffs are very nice if u ask for a paint check they will go do it owner is a really nice guy.
4.the fields are awsome and u get to play all of them great themes.
5.low prices and wed-fri is BYOP very cheap .

Cons
NONE

when i first played here it was my first out door exsperience the owner was really nice answered all of our questions my gun was having problems and they fixed it very quickly so i did not have to miss a game. this is a great field if u want to play out door go here it is the best.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ncruzer Wednesday, September 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins is very close by but is stale.
Review: I happend to have the honor of thowing a bachelor party for my buddy and decided paintball would be the way to start the day. Eleven of us showed up, two with alot of experience, three with a little experience and six first timers. After reading the reviews from this site and clinking on the available links I settled on High Velocity II.
To sum it up this is one of the most fun places I have played in 19 years of playing.
The WWI trenches were the favorite of our crowd. Real trenches, sloped, 6 feet deep, maybe 25 yards long. The only way out is over the top. Lots of cover to hide behind if you were fast enough to avoid the head shots and get out.
WWII has real APCs (Armored Personnel Carriers), jeeps, giant water tanks on trailers, ambulances and other "treaded" vehicles scattered over a field about 100 yards long by 50 yards wide. Many many vehicles. The website site pictures do not do it justice. If you are an Army "nut", or scenario player this is your field. So many of these vehicles cover the field it looks like a scene right out of WWII Europe or modern day Iraq. One side of this field even has a wooded area running along its length.
There were 3 speedball fields, which were fun, but not my thing ,although the first-timers loved them. There's also a Western Town with a chapel with working bell (think pulling the thick rope), cemetery with headstones to use as cover, wagons, a salon and even "citizens" on their balconies.
The really good - I was quoted $10 admission and $10 rental (vforce goggle/face mask, semi-auto marker and air all day) per person and that is what we paid.
The ref (Rob) was great. He realized we were there to have fun and let us have fun. He helped the newbies with their equipment and was friendly. He even volunteered to take pictures with my camera and now we have great action shots. He read "the type" of players we were and adjusted the games to what he thought we would enjoy more (more elimination instead of capture the flag). In other words, this place is flexible to fit you.
The fields are fast and fun. I am an Army "nut" so I was decked out in my camo and authentic ALICE gear, but they are totally unecessary. Show up and play in anything.
The "airplane" field is coming. That's right High Velocity has a small salvaged airplane, a real airplane, that sat maybe 40 people, that is being fitted for use on a new field. Word has it, there will be storm the plane, rescue the hostages type scenarios.
The good. - There are bathrooms, two portables. Better than some places I have been, but not exactly The Ritz. There is a paved parking lot. Beverages are sold on premises. Private picnic tables covered by large tents serve as a base to resupply/rest with lockable storage containers (bring your own lock).
The not so good - When I showed up, the guy manning the shop said $25 admission per person, I said I had a quote of $10 and there were some phone calls made. Apparantly a group is 20 or more people. 20 or more get in for $10 admission per person. However my email specifically said 10-15 and we were quoted $10 per person in writing. I didn't like the thought of be stuck in the parking lot or shelling out an extra $165 because people didn't bring the extra cash. Bottom line, my group got in for $10 per person. A little tense, but they did the right thing, that counts for a lot in my book.
Also, not so good, BUT not a big deal, was that half the markers we were given were out of air! That's right, the newbies didn't know to look at the pressure gauges on the tanks and in the first game were wiped out without ever firing a shot. Air was free all day for our group and it was a quick lesson to learn for newbies to check their air, but the guns were empty and no one directed them to check air and get it if necessary. Again, not a big deal, but they should have been directed to check air before walking onto a field for the very first time.
Finally - no private place to change your clothes. We didn't care, we changed right there in the parking lot - We weren't wearing our muddy clothes in our newer cars, that's for sure.
The fields are fun, the people were nice and we are going back. That you can count on.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paulcoraci2287 Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Arena, Cousins indoor/ PBLI
Review: This is perhaps the best outdoor field in the tri-state area!!
Pros:
1. PAVED PARKING so yes you can bring a nice car there and not worry about dust and scratches
2. COVERED tables. came to be very useful when it rains
3. EXPERT REFS. most of these guys are top tournament players, they know the game. they run games constantly so you never have to wait to get on a field.
4.TEAM PRACTICE. the owners allow teams to come and practice 2 times a week for a lower price. (good when you play tourneys)

Cons:
1. NONE
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

be25888 Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR, Skirmish, Liberty, Fireball Mountain (Old Bridge)
Review: This field so far is the best i've been to in the tri-state area.
Paved parking, Friendly and curious staff. Everything is CLEAN. Fields are awesome.
I don't need to mention the fields since it's just one word. GREAT.
it's an excellent place to bring newbies and show them what paintball is really about.
ref's are fair and plenty. Pricing is just right, except for the paint, that can get a bit expense. they have benches for viewing too, look like a professional tourament field.

It's definitely a keeper on my list. The Owner is a great guy. really nice and friendly.

some cons:

no rental camo. i thought there were since the website listed it but it was for sale only.
also the belt packs too. but since all the fields are so close to the staging area, you really don't need it.

paint prices a little high, $100 a case, if they have memberships discounts it'll be perfect. these are just minor stuff they can work on.

If i can give them a 20 i would. Keep up the good work HV staff !!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hosen Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: My experience at HV was so good, I had to join pbreview just to write up a great review for this place. My boys brought be here as part of my bachelor party day this weekend and I have to admit - as we were driving out to LI for paintball, I wasn't sure what to expect since last time I did research on fields for an outing, LI fields who shall remain nameless didn't have great reviews. Just an aside, this was my first time doing outdoor paintball so I wanted a place that would be friendly to the newbie and would welcome all.

And this was THE place. We got there and just the look of the place was pretty awesome. Several fields, all looked in good condition, you've already read about the WWII field and Western town, trenches, all awesome. We got there, signed in, and probably the only hiccup of the day happened here. I guess my buddies were told over the phone a few times that there would be camo rentals for 7 bucks but it turned out there was nothing for rental. Only for purchase @ 25 bucks a piece. Most people didn't need em - just two guys who were wearing shorts so they had to shell out the 25 bucks each for camo. I'm not sure where the miscommunication was but just be aware for next time.

The two main refs we had were awesome. We were all pretty much new to the game so they took the time to explain everything and were great about taking care of us the whole day. I'm sure there were moments where it was painful watching us play, since we were all new, but they were super friendly, giving tips, toying around with us, getting us ammo refills, fixing gun jams, you name it.

We pretty much played every field and multiple types of games. There was only one time where we waited for a field but that was only because we wanted to play that specific one. The games were fun and, even though we were a smaller group, we were able to play private games so we could just shoot and be shot at by our friends. We also had some opportunities to play some custom type games - last game of the day being a 2vs2vs1, with me being the 1 and coming out victorious - but they had to let the bachelor win...

Anyways, I'm not sure what more I can say besides - HV will be at the top of my list for paintballing because of their professional, courteous, and friendly staff and their fun, well-kept fields. Great job, guys.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mooky777 Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Cousin's (Coram), TopGun, Arena Paintball, JackFrost, NJPaintballClub
Review: The Good

1. Parking Area to Setup area CLEAN. Nice Paved Parking area.
2. Buy your own paint $30, or $50 including rental
3. Inside Setup area CLEAN. Tables, some with tents and each comes with a storage area that you can bring your own lock to store stuff when you are away on a game.
4. COLD water to wash up after a game. Not cool ....COLD
5. Fields. 2 Speed Ball Nice setup, Hyper pipe not done yet (looking good), Cowboy town nice setup (i think still needs work), WW1 field AWESOME, WW2 field big field for some bigger teams. Forrest field didnt play at all in it but always nice to have that option. Looked like they are working on 2 more fields when i was there.


The Bad

1. On some fields, the dusted fields had small rocks etc. which were annoying
2. BAD REFS, Only a few were good most were LITTLE KIDS with no common sense
like all other paintball fields trys to end game faster to get out of heat. If you are a
recreational player or first time players better reserve your field, they will set up
games where you are constantly on loosing team and favor regulars there on calls.

3. NO Management, Once they get hectic good luck on geting games, slacker refs = kids



Conclusion

Good Field Setup up, very nice for scenario players and good air ball fields. Very clean setup. As for people there, if you go there when its crowded good luck on geting clean Refs. 1/3 of them will slack off on calls and lean toward regulars. 1/3 are kids who are more concern with what marker is that?!!! Sadly the last 1/3 are the ones that try.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 22nd, 2004 at 3:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

carterjo Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins corum
and their indoor
Review: this is the best feild i have ever played when we were their there were two private parties and only 4 walkons so they let us play with one of the parties. Their fields are amazing the hyperball feild was under work so we didn't paly it same with one of their air ball feilds but there was two other airball feilds to play on so it was not a big loss. The trench (world war one) feild was amazing. And we got to do a 20 on 20 at there largest field (world war two). WW2 has tanks oil drums trucks and every thing else you would amagine it was amazing and it wasn't even full b/c the field was so large. PLayed their two air ball field they were nice!!!!!!! The only bad field was thier woodsball feild b/c one side had the high groung and a much larger advantage so the owner asked me what i thought of the place i told him it was the best place ive ever palyed at except for that one field. He said b/c he owend the land unlike cousins he could do whatever he wanted to it and on monday he would rent a bobcat and change the field. I thought he was only saying that but later in the day he was on the phone ordering the bobcat . He asked me what i wated to have changed WOW!!!!!!!!!! When we were there cousins drove their truck up to advertise for thier file only three miles away i laughed b/c after playing at high velocty i will nevver go back to cousins. The owner also had many sinks (15) put in so you could wash up. The best part was the refs. On the trench field i hit a kid across the hole field on his hopper and when i called it out to the ref he ran across the hole field to call the kid out he realy ran at the end he also had to crawl into the trench onis belly. And the hole day the refs weere amazing. At the end of the day the owner gave everyone free passes. The only bad thing is prices for paint but everyware near there will charge the same 100 bucks anyway. Overall i saw something about three months in a magazine about the 10 field to play before you die well i think this needs to be on that list. PLAY AT HVP IT THE BSET FIELD IVE EVER BEEN AT
giving it a 10 b/c there is no 15
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media