paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field

CPX Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
165Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 815-726-2800
Address: Schweitzer Rd.
Joliet, Illinois 60436
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Sneaky_Ninja Friday, August 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox Sports-look it up
Directions
to the Field:
Look it up
Review: Safety 10/10
They are so hardcore about barrel plugs and safety masks that first first time viollation can be a throw out and a second violation IS a throw out. Any fields they use are in dense woods or are surrounded by nets, including the firing range. You chrono EVERY time. Your gun must be UNDER 280fps or you have to dial it down. Rentals don't have to chrono leading to my next point.

Rentals 9/10
Rentals are masks and Tippmann 98s with double trigger, hopper, and 48ci 3000psi tank. Although they are a cosmetic nightmare (no joke), they are all in working condition and perform like the day they were bought.
Also, they fill both CO2 and 3000psi. The 3000psi is do it yourself and the CO2 is filled by staff who actually remember to empty it before filling. They are really understanding if your CO2 tank pin jams, and they will unjam it for you.

Staff 9/10-refs 8/10 and rental guy/fillers 10/10= the 9/10
The refs do their job as well as they can, and it can be difficult with the size of some of their courses. Especially in the LARGE woodsball courses that can seriously be a 2-3 minute walk from end to end (such as Widowmaker), there is only so much a ref can do if youre sitting in a corner or behind bushes and get hit.
The "rental guy" is some sort of godly handyman who can fix any problem that your gun could ever have if it isn't some kind of 18th century mantlepiece or some sort of 23 century laser beamer. He actually enjoys fixing guns, trust me. My gun had a faulty machine cut valve that he took out and replaced after adjusting my tank pin, replacing o-rings, caulking thread ends, and eventually tearing the thing apart.
By the way, the lady in the Pro Shop is FAR from pro, or she was just new. I asked for an e-trigger mod and walked away before going back in once with a dual trigger and once with a drop forward.

Food 6/10
Not really their do. More of a concession snack than anything. They have drinking fountains, bathrooms, and good "budget" drink vending machines so it works out.

Courses 8/10
First, the deductions...
-1 point for becoming a mudhole with even the slightest rain.
-1 point for hardly using even half of the courses they own.
Now, the pluses...
The courses they do have on a dry day are AWESOME. My personal favorites are Bedlam, the intense city combat with endless and endless windows, Armageddon, the doomsday-ish overgrown rubble field, and mounds, the epic 4-8 foot high WAY overgrown dirt mounts (climbing allowed!!). Other good mentions are wasteland, the automobile scrapyard (can become slightly drawn out because of size), jungle of doom, a decent size woods course that is best for capture the flag because of the large number of thin trees that infest it, hyperball, which is under construction and is about what you expect out of a hyperball course, and fort courage(also called cowboys and indians), which is an attack/defend fort with high (10 foot?) towers at each corner. Fort courage is fun but i too easy to get close to and too hard to penetrate. Even a 20 man game is so hard with only 2 entrances when you only get cover on the inside.
My favorite?? WIDOWMAKER. An insanely large woods course in the shape of a rectangle with one of the long sides entirely high ground and the other long side wooded almost beyond sight through. I played this 2 round, it is so large that you can literally walk around behind the other team or simply lay on the ground in the middle of the course without being noticed camo or not; I did it--2 rounds and 11 confirmed kills in a 12vs12.

So 10/10, 9/10, 9/10, 8/10 and food 6/10.

9/10 is final rating because we always bring our own food and drink.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

greatrep0714 Wednesday, July 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 10th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in IL
Nitro Paintbal, GA
Directions
to the Field:
Definately check the Website, construction issues, but easy to navigate.
Review: My son and I have been anticipating playing at this feild for some time, as we knew we were attending a wedding in the area several months prior. We were not disappointed. The experience was incredible and the feilds were top notch. Saftey was top priority, as it should be. If I had any complaints, it was understanding how to pick up games as walk-ons. After a while we started paying attention to the PA system announcements and realized that there was a new game, about every 30 minutes, that was open to all players. There was some waiting at Bedlam and Armagedon, but the the time was minimal and worth it. I am not sure if Paul was a manager or owner, but he made a point to come say hello. He appreciated us taking the time to drive up from Georgia, it made me feel like I was at my home feild, Nitro Paintball.
Feilds- 10
Staff- 10
Refs-10
Owner (Paul)- 10+
Overall our experience was a 9.9 out of 10. (My home feild is the only 10 I can give)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LucasVanCleave Sunday, May 16th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the first paintball arena ive been to and it is the best arena armogedon and beldom and fort courge are all great fields the refs give u good tips and people are friendly
Review: Get to the arena early because that arena is packed before it opens can't bring food in or paintballs.Food is pretty good and just a tip i would get a paint gernade for fort courge level if you are a indian.You will have lots of fun.
500 paintballs is $25.00 a paint gernade is $6.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gfab0718 Sunday, April 25th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TheBadLandz
FoxPaintball
Review: Well I must say I was pleasantly surprised at how professional the staff is, how the games are handled from start to finish. I used to play at TheBadLandz and always heard that CPX was strict and too expensive, that is hardly the case here. It was exactly how I thought a paintball field should be run, safe and fun.

For the record this is the first place I took my 10yr old to play paintball, the staff was awesome very friendly and willing to lend a hand when needed. We have our own guns and gear so I really like that you have to chrono every game.

If you want a safe environment with loads of fun this is the place!!! Hats off to the staff and management for really enforcing the rules and putting safety then the customer first.

My sons exact words "This was the best experience of a new sport". That says it all folks,

Oh yeah these guys have real bathrooms, clean grounds, friendly staff and best fields around the chi-town area. So get
going!!!

Glenn & Matthew
Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2010 at 5:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

louie1305 Friday, January 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: It looks cool when you get there> the n theres waiting and then more waiting. If you are not part a party group you will have them cut in front of you while you are of course waiting in line. I went with some friend and spent 8 hours and only played 5 games. The refs dont enforce any rule except masks and barrel blockers on. Most of the other players there would wipe paint off and keep playing. Not that I really blame them. When you have to wait an hour to play no one wants to out just a couple of minutes in to a game.
Bottom line it is a neat place but for me not enough playing time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soul06 Tuesday, October 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None....I'm from NY
Directions
to the Field:
From NY- I-80 all the way
Review: Never in my life have I had such a great paintball experience. After a 12 hour drive from NY I can say that it was so well worth the trip that we decided to make CPX an Annual excursion.

Fields- 9/10 Only field I didn't like of the 6 I played was Hazard but even that was a nice field. Bedlam, Armageddon and Wastelands were enough to have warranted the drive.

Refs- 8/10 Couple were a little to tight about the 280 rule IMHO. When I am chrono'ing at 282, 276, 279, 281, 281 I think that should pass instead of making me have to get back i line after going to get my allen keys but thats minor. They were very active in calling out players and watching the games to make for fair play.

Owners- 10/10 (usually don't rate the owners but they were very present and even took the time to come over and welcome us personally when they heard we were from NY.)

Prices- $18 w/ own equipment plus a free pass good for two weeks. You cant beat that. Paint was only $90 a case. Some might say thats expensive but for the fields and pro-shop hey had I say it is well worth it.

Food- 8/10 Hot Dogs, Burgers, Pizza, snacks and so on. What else do you really need

All in All.....whether you are local or coming in from out of town it is WELL worth the visit.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jride89 Monday, September 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
whitewolf, vicious tactics, operation paintball,fox
Review: I have to say that CPX has some of the most amazing courses to play on. Bedlem and armagedon are sweet. The are very good with safety ruels. The place is very expensive. It cost $90 for a case of thier paint. When we went, there was five of us and another fifteen people. All of us only played eight games. We were there for six hours. we had to sit for 25 to 30 minutes between each game wich was not cool at all. Two of the four refs were not nice at all while the other two really dindn't do anything. So I would have to say the field is amazing but the expense and the people they have running it is a joke! I wont be going back!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

redline94 Saturday, June 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Um i think badlandz.
Review: This field is one of the best fields ive ever been to my whole life. Its very clean the refs are nice the food is good and the best of all the fields are amazing i cant stress that enough. bedlam is is so intense cant help not to have a adrenaline rush even after the game is done.the playing fields are kept very nice to theirs no fallen bunkers or unnecessary amounts of water or mud. i strongly advise every paintballer to go there at least once in there life i know my frist time there will not be my last.
Last edited on Saturday, June 6th, 2009 at 6:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

linkintiger Monday, October 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
badlands,fox paintball
Review: ---This field used to be #1 in the area right now i don't know if it's even in first top 20.Everybody is saying that they are worst and worst every month. First thing air used to be 3000 right now it's hard to even get 2000 psi because of the air compressor .Cpx has 5 major theme fields, 13 woods fields yeah right (used to be) maybe only 5 or 6 are open to play. Bedlam and armagedon used to be open all they long for open players right now only bedlam is open all day and armagedon i wish u luck if i gona even play even once a day. They need 12 refs working all day not siting in the container or smoking in the back of the field :2 on bedlam 2 on armagedon 1 in the container for announcing the open games 1 helping people with getting the air on the station 2 for open games 4 for private parties. Their winter paint brakes a lot right now even in high end guns with eye on,maybe the owner doesn't care anymore and be carefull with their hot dogs i think that date is expired long time ago because a lot of people has upset stomach after eating them.---
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmn100 Wednesday, October 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I went to CPX Sports on Labour day, and I got the first 300 people getin free discount. My friend recommended this place to me, and it is amazing. I played Gnarly, which is a great map. Mounds and Jungle of Doom are just average (jungle of Doom was too long -40 minutes). The refs and guys in the proshop were friendly and helpful. The food was okay, and it is a little pricey if you are renting guns and don't have a membership.

It's expensive, but well worth it.
Last edited on Wednesday, October 8th, 2008 at 4:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media