paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field

CPX Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
165Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 815-726-2800
Address: Schweitzer Rd.
Joliet, Illinois 60436
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
soccerjacks12 Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz-Cheaper, less fields, More people, better service, no running water
Take Aim-Indoor, speedball, turf
Factory-Indoor, speedball, dirt
Review: I'll start off w/ the bad first. It really frustrated me.
I was there w/ my youth group and I have my own equipment. I was going to be an add-on to the group and just pay the admission and buy half a case. Well, no. I had to pa $55 dollars for admission, rentals, 500 balls. It was B.S. THey have a stupid policy where if you are in a private group have to pay for rentals, I dunno it's retarded.
$90 for a case of paint, and you can't bring your own. That's ludicrous. Marballizers are not worth that much.
The refs were helpful but lazy. We had to tell them when the game was over. While they weren't paying attention, they were throwing mud at each other, hilarious, but not doing their job.
That is pretty much the bad.

The good-
The fields were absolutely sick. The coolest themes ever. Check out their website for more info. I played Armageddon, Jungle of Doom, Junkyard, and the one w/ the airplane. Np Bedlam, stupid airsoft people.
Accommodations were good. They have plenty of tables w/ shelters over them. Which was good cause it rained. Running water w/ bathrooms. The fill station was somewhat ghetto but mos are.
Upkeep- It was pretty good, a bit muddy because it was raining but we were outdoors, and it was fun. Can't really do much about rain.
Paint-$90 a case is stupid. They were marbs and shot perfectly but still lower the prices to like $70, max. Rec-ballers don't need to shoot tourney paint.
Staff- THe refs were lazy but they were helpful for fills and getting equipment. The owner guy was nice. I lost barrel(don't ask) and he helped me look for it for like 10 minutes. I eventually got it from a friend, so the looking was for nothing. BUt it was good he helped.
Safety- Very well done. I was w/ some noobs and they kept taking off their masks, and I told them to put em back on. The refs caught them and made them sit out for a game. Barrel socks were stressed. The rules were clearly outlines at the beginning of the session.

I probably will not be going back to CPX until they change their policy and lower their paint prices. Really like the fields and it ended up being really fun.
I'll give them a 6/10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

JTBPaint Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 2nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I went there on Labor Day of 2005 and for the first 500 people (my group was included) got free admission. The paint was REALLY expensive- $90 for 2000 balls. Most of the refs were jerks that just sat on the side of the field and didn't do any paint checks. Some people were wiping and the refs didn't notice. Some of the refs are good at fixing guns. One ref fixed my friends gun, but he was the one that broke it. My friend was handing it over to him to chrono it and the ref grabbed it by the hopper and the gun fell right off and on to the ground. Also later we were chronoing our guns for another game and my friends was way to high and the ref didn't have a tool to crank it down so my friend had to run back to his stuff, grab his tool and run back but when he got there the ref said everyone was already going so my friend didn't get to play that whole round. The fields were really good though; the town of bedlam and Armagedon especially.

I would rate it a low 4 or high 3 for its bad refs and high prices.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

high voltage Thursday, April 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 2nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BadLandz, and CCP
Review: Well, i happen to personally know 80% of the refs that used to work there were pot heads... the field has really turned around though...They all used to be stoned when they were reffin, and my two best friends had bros that were refs and one time we were like, BOB WASUP, and he was on a bench sleepin but he had sunglasses on so no one could tell...ya but know that cracked down...my best friends bro was the head ref...new management told him to take a drug test...and he quit(thats how they got rid of half of their refs) just so u gyz know these are not experienced refs...they are mostly kids that go to my high school, the others are fresh out of high school...im gonna work their next year...GREAT FIELDS....OUTRAGOUS PAINT (THEY ARE REAL STRICT ABOUT OFF FIELD PAINT, IVE SEEN MANY PEOPLE THROWN OUT FOR THE DAY) ITS LIKE 25$ FOR A BAG OF 500. Just like amusement parks, try to sneak in food or drinks when know one is lookin, cuz thats outragous too

In conclusion...Awsome Fields...Awsome paint(marbalizer) even though its mad expensive....horrible refs(lol)...its a good time overall, but dont be lookin for paint checks or nuthin cuz it wont happen...

they now have very small hyperball and airball fields open for play...but they put like 6v6 on a 3 man field

i give it a 7 1/2 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

chemical allan Sunday, March 12th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox river, badlandz (way better than fox), blitz (never, ever go there)
Review: i have been to this field several times and i'm gonna tell you the good and the bad.

THE GOOD
the courses at cpx are awesome. If you're into woodsball like me. wide range of customers
no matter what skill level you're at you're sure to find someone like you.

THE BAD
Those terrible refs. Not only the refs but the entire staff is completely worthless i must have spent $20 dollars on broken o-rings because of the terrible co2 fillers there.
the paint. that paint is by far the worst paint i have ever seen. now this wouldn't be so bad if they didn't charge an arm and a leg for it (90 bucks a case) but they do and trust me most of the time paint quality isn't THAT big of a deal, but with that brass eagle crap they sell it really, really is.

CONCLUSION
so if you have cash to burn and like good courses go to cpx, but you should probably just go to badlandz (bring your own paint) because it's just way better and pretty close by.

UPDATE!!!
i recently went to cpx with a friend and it has really, really turned around. Thank god they ditched the brass eagle ownership (they got tippman sponsership but not owned by it) they fixed those horrible rentals which used to be jt but now they use 98 customs.
THE PAINT In case you dont remember, CPX used to use old brass eagle paint (retails for $20 sold it for $90) now they use Marballizer still selling for $90 (retails for 60) and that ain't bad.

The Whole Staff
Well i looked at their website and apparantly Brass Eagle was bought out by K2 (worst paint company bought by worst snowboard company) and so the ownership of CPX was dropped and was then bought by a private guy who increased the quality of the field 110%. first he fired off most of the bad reffs and hired some good guys who actually play paintball.

MY NEW CONCLUSION!!!
well now i give the field a 10, everything that i found at fault before has been corrected.

If you have decided to not go to cpx b/c of the old problems please try it out again, you won't be dissapointed.




Last edited on Saturday, April 15th, 2006 at 4:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

Oddman912300 Thursday, February 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 22nd, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This field is a great field. There are great fields like Armagetton and Bedlam.
My friend said fort courage is a great field.
The rental guns here sucks so try to bring your own. The paint here look like afterburners and are super expensive so bring alot of money if your going to shoot alot.

The fields here rock and the refs are great but there is alot of paint on the bunkers etc so my clothes get dirty when i played here.
This field is great i give it a 9 out of 10 since the paint prices are so high
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jcarmichael05 Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox River Games
Review: This place is overall amazing. The fields are the the best, except that armagedon and town of bedlam were closed until spring. The customer service is bad. My friends angel with halo ripdrive and 68/5000 evil scion air tank with eclipse trigger frame and delrin bolt with shocktechs internals and mun is the best.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Airmack Tuesday, December 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: CPX is a great place for anyone. I went there on a free day for the first 500 people which saved me $20 for admissions and rental. The layout is great and there is plenty of parking. The only problem I had was map quest, they gave me bad directions that only got me 3/4's of thee way there. Luckily, a local showed me which way to go.

I got my equipment and went to scope things out. Bedlam; a town and Armageddon; a demolished town were the two fields I played. Bedlam is a great field with a tower for sniping and plenty of cover supplied by cars, trucks, and buildings. Armageddon is like the aftermath of a town that was bombed. It is great, damaged buildings and four towers for sniping. There are plenty of tight places to hide in and ambush people when they run past you.

The refs. at CPX do a good job, unlike what other people of said, they are helpful. My gun broke and a ref was there to help me out. We got it working and then they started the game. I only have one complaint; people like to get a head start off the break and refs. are pretty lenient on that which is unfair.

I would also like to mention that CPX doesn't want to make money. The way the make money is buy selling paint and if people are in line for most of the day they will not need to buy paint. While on group is playing it would be a great idea for them to check and chrono the next groups equipment. It would go by faster and would make the stay more enjoyable.

If anyone is in the area or doesn't mind the drive I definitely think you should check this place out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bratboy92 Saturday, November 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 23rd, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatter park
Review: This is a good field. but like all places some times they decide with there best customers. Like i got shot. Ishot that chub of lard first . I like the park but the fill guy over filled my tank. I wish i would of walked in and asked for them to fix it but o well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintblr4ever Wednesday, October 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox River Games- better fields and refs, worse gear, bring ur own paint
Review: I did like the fields, however; there were 2 private groups there at the same time, so the only fields i really played were Fort Courage and Bedlam. I know that these probably arent the best fields, but i got sick of just 2 of them.
Also, i couldnt bring my own paint, which wasnt terrible, but it was more expensive than i wanted it to be.


I'll give it an eight because i think that the 2 private groups took most of the refs for their games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

MellowFellow Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz: CPX can't compete with them
Review: Fields of Play:Good
Grade: 8/10

Themed/Large Fields-
-The Town of Bedlam: Looks just like a town, somewhat small
-Armageddon: Field is like the Town of Bedlam but destroyed
-The Jungle of Doom: Good, realistic rainforest setup
-Fort Courage: Fort defense field
-Wastelands: Cars in a field for realism
-El Centro: Themed Field Setup
-The Rain Forest: Large field in wooded area

Smaller Fields-
Rampage
Brouhaha
Chaos
Frenzy
Schizoid
Psycho Woods
Widow Maker
Thunder Ridge
Hazzard
Gnarley
Networkz

Prices: Outrageous
Grade: 1/10

Admission is not worth the EIGHTEEN dollars.
Rentals are bad quality, they cost FIFTEEN$
Paintballs are the worst, 25$ for 500, or 90$ for 2,000.


Type of Games Played: Normal
Grade: 7/10

Capture The Flag
Escort Game
Game of Reincarnation
Objective Game
Elimination
Search & Rescue
Offence/Defense
Speedball


Staff:Jerks
Grade 1/10

Won't help you with anything, won't chrono.
Won't clean gogs, laugh at newbies.
First timers, STAY AWAY!

Overall: Below Average
Grade: 3/10

They could fix their problems, they just don't want to.
Worst park I've been to, I hope this helps your decision.
Last edited on Friday, October 7th, 2005 at 2:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media