paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field

CPX Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
165Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 815-726-2800
Address: Schweitzer Rd.
Joliet, Illinois 60436
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
jmedina98 Monday, October 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Let me start by saying that this is a great field to play in. Awesome fields!! Unfortunately the employees, paint prices, and food are horrible. We went with a group of 18 players for a private game. They gave us one ref who was probably not older that 18 or 19. He spent most of his time taking a break or sitting on the outside of the field until we were done. About the only time he stepped onto the field was to show where the starting points were. He was handy though when it came to fixing a gun. The paint prices are just ridiculous! $90 bucks for a case of paint (2000 rounds) that can be purchased at a paintball store for about $40 bucks. Then there's the food. I purchased the cheeseburger. Two pieces of stale bread and a piece of paper thin meat that was almost burnt to a crisp. Did I also mention they messed up my brand new C02 tank? The pro shop they have there wanted $40 bucks for a new one! Outrageous! I don't think they have a clue on how to fill these things properly. Other than that, the fields are awesome. Too bad I cant say the same for the rest of the experience. Overall I had a blast. If you have money to burn and have patience, this is a great field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Millslane Tuesday, September 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
doen't matter, anything will be better than CPX
Review: Challenge Park is not a great place to play at all. I was there Monday, Labor Day 2005 with about 30 other guys in my group.

Free entry...great

Orientation...
Done by some punk kid who started off saying that he's sick and tired of doing this and its only 9:30am. least to say, we were not impressed and i don't think anybody took their refs seriously because they weren't serious.

Free Fills...Great, well not so great actually. They were not weighing the Co2 tanks when filling them. Tanks were fill incorrectly. i took 2 20 oz tanks to them. I also had one tank in my bad that had just been filled by my local shop and was done correctly. 1 tank filled by CPX weighed nothing. as if they put 3 oz in and said it was filled. the other was heavier than my properly filled tank. so they over filled it. this happened to everybody i talked to. they would just get the 20oz filled and only get 100 shots out of it on the field. frustrating to say the least. also, someone could have been really hurt if they overfilled a tank too much. and they had no way to tell if they did. the filled them by shaking them and listening to them. not accurate at all.

paint...
a little expensive at 90 bucks a case. Blaze paint, but it worked well. not breaks. i have a flatline and it worked very will. no complaints there.

Refs...mostly lazy and terrible. especially if you had the ref who did the orientation. i believe he was considered the head ref. he would stand 10 feet outside the field behind the rope in the kill zone. never entering the playing field once. if you called for a paint check, he could take a step in and call you out or safe. then return to the kill zone. no refs were in the middle of the field. needless to say, wiping was insane. guys would walk of the field with white paint splats all over them and never called themselves out. This ref would yell and swear at you if you asked for a paint check, telling you to shut up. if you were hit and tried to get out, gun up in the air, barrel sock on, you would always get let up more by over shooters. people would ask the ref to have them stop so they could get up and leave the field, and he would yell at them to stop crying and get their you know whats off the field. i only wish he had picked up a marker with us in the woods for one single game. i think about 50 woodsballers would have come down hard on him.
This ref was breaking his own rules as well about swearing.
there was a player shooting at me, and hitting very close to my position without much lob. he was a tourney player and i have a A-5 with a flatline. my flatline was just reaching him, and he was reaching me. this isn't supposed to happen unless he cranked up his gun. i again asked the jerk ref to check his speed, but he told me to shut up up or go home.

the rest of the refs we not as bad. they just didn't know what they were doing. when we asked them about paintball or tried to talk to them, they said "i don't play paintball". how do you ref it when you never played it?

time between games...started out ok. you had to wait about 10-20 minutes because they always re chrono everybody before every game. this is actually annoying but i can see why they do it with everybody running around. however they were not running enough games. you would have to wait two rounds to get on Bedlam because the entry line was so long. they only played the Jungle once which IMO was the best field. in the afternoon we had to wait over 1 1/2 hours to play because they would not start a game. they let people in for City wars and it went along time. they spent 45 minutes chronoing and explaining the rules, then 30-45 playing. while 100 people sat there and did nothing, wanting to play something. we didn't even care what, we just wanted to play.

Overall this park did not come close to my expectations. the fields were all great, i loved the fields. but the way this place is ran is terrible and there's no excuse for the service we had that day. Bad, Jerky refs, Bad waits, Bad fills over and over over. Give this place a 1/10 because the fields were nice and the bathrooms were nice. but its the refs and service that makes a field good and nothing else

We are never going back and CPX just lost out on 4 grand each time we go with our group.
Last edited on Sunday, September 25th, 2005 at 8:14 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

98customplayr06 Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Factory Paintball, Blitz, Bad Landz
Review: Challenge park was an incredible park, it was a little diffucult to find form the chicago area but it was otherwise very nice. They have an incredible facility. The fields are very cool especially town of bedlam, armageddon and jungle of doom. The food is really good they serve home run inn pizzas, and they also have a gril there. When it comes to chronoing and tuning your gun they have a really nice shooting range that has distance markers too so you can tell if your gun is running low on air power. The staff was very nice and liked to talk paintball alot. As far as rentals go they rent basic JT Semis but they're still a good gun. the best part of the deal i like is if you have your own equipment itll cost you 18 bucks for all day air AND C02, yes you heard me they dont charge for C02 refills. jsut take it to the brass eagle trailer and they'll fill it up. Sometimes they have a shuttle that takes ytou around they're whole property which is quite large. If your goig wiht someone who dosent paintball there is also a skate park and mountain biking courses. so all in all id say its a very nice park, defientely worht the drive.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

soulfly72 Tuesday, August 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz
Review: Challenge Park is awesome place to play for anyone, but especially for people who have never played or just started playing. You get very many games in, unfortunately that usually between Bedlam and Armegadon some days they have a lot of other open games but usually just every now and then. But Bedlam and Armageddon are awesome. I like it a lot because of the fact that it's such a friendly environment, the players, staff, refs. The pro shop guys are usually very helpful if you have a problem with anything. It is a very nice place, not a dump at all. Plenty of tables to sit at unlike most places. And although the food is a bit pricey, it's good. The paint unfortunatley is too exspensive, but the fun you will have their makes up for that. If your Airball fan you wont be happy, cuz there is no fields like that.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 at 12:15 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

whiterice Saturday, August 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox River Games Paintball
Tri County Paintball
PB Shooters Paintball
Review: I've been playing for quite a few years, and I have to say what really makes a paintball field are the staff and their interaction with customers. I have to say that I really enjoyed the fields at Challenge Park Extreme, but the staff was most definetly lacking in quality. Of the few times I've played there, I can only remember meeting one staff member that was actually a cool referee. Most of them appear to view paintcheck calls and squeegee calls with hesitation and I feel like I got the "What do you want?" vibe from them. The service counter moved very slow when my buddy's rental gun wasn't working like it should've been.

The only reason I give this a 5 rating is because the themed fields make this place a field you should play at at least once in your lifetime; I'll always admit I like the fields. Some of the wooded fields just felt like they didn't put much effort into design or even building bunkers. The park was really nice, well kept and well cleaned, most of the fields were amazing, but they really need to increase staff quality.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

badpenny01 Monday, July 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz- it was a long time ago and not a very pleasant time; I think they got caught shorthanded unexpectedly. I'll give them another chance sometime.

Chillicothe paintball pits- Mostly wooded fields and a professional staff. Almost always good walk-on groups. I go there more frequently now that I go to school in Champaign, IL.
Review: Challenge Park sure has come a long way...I remember the old park (which is now Realms of Ruin), which was known for its professionalism and adherance to safety. CPX still exhibits those traits today. They have had some problems as far as walk-on games and playing time vs private games and whatnot, but they seem to have steadily improved over the past few years...let's face it, everyone wants to play Bedlam and Armaggeddon, so someone is always going to be waiting for those fields. As far as private games go, I've organized one of those there (in January of 2001), and it was a blast. We more or less had the place to ourselves...though it was REALLY COLD! The refs seem fair to me for the most part, though some are noticably less experienced than others; they all hustle when I call for a paintcheck, so they are ok in my book.

Pricing: It costs money to operate any paintball park. It costs even more money to operate a park with 2 trams, a large, real building for registration, rentals, food, and a proshop. Not to mention two fields which each cost over a million bucks. You can imagine the insurance this place has to pay. So, you end up paying more for paint and admission. Solution: Go on the free days, or go after 5 during the summer to save money. Considering what this park is offering, I'd say what you're paying is fair...though if you're budget is tight, you won't want to go here every weekend.

I wish they'd drop the stupid "no coolers or outside food/beverages" rule. Sorta goes against the whole recball culture, in my opinion. Grills or firepits wouldn't hurt either, but it I guess it's no biggie (insurance, I'm sure).

Safety is a big deal here. That's a good thing, regardless of what some whiney 15 year old has to say about them being "nazis."

I think this park is more prone to cheating, jsut because it's one of the biggest ones around, hence the most publicity. Again, I reccommend going on a free day so there's a larger crowd to dilute the effects of cheaters.

Also, there's a larger than average concentration of unsupervised kids with shiny guns that play here who probably couldn't tell you the difference between a cup seal and a fill nipple. One of them had a marker that I could probably snag on ebay for the price of one of my kidneys, though I obliged myself to remind him to take off his barrel bag as the game began.

So, to wrap up: Expensive, cool fields, private games, free days and scenario games preferable to walk-on games, more inexperienced players here in general, good refs, and....indoor plumbing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jay21 Saturday, July 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BADLANDZ!!!!!
Review: i think its pretty bad when this paintball feild has to knock another paintball feild & store just because THEY can't even come close to what another feild has unless they copy it. im not saying this field is bad "wait" yes i am . i will never come here ever or recommend this park to anybody ....and sorry to all the people who think this place rocks..later haters!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

h3p4717us Tuesday, June 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
CCP, Edge in WI
Review: Even though all these other people trash this field, I see no reason no to like this place. The refs if anything are funny and I'v enever really encountered cheaters when I go there. 90 dollars for 2000 balls isn't to bad though it could be better. The private parties are always willing to let you in if you ask, and as for the other fields , they are far to big for a private party to take up all the room. There are so many fields, and all the ones I have played were extremely fun. From Apocolypse to Wastelands, all of them are so much fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntbller1989 Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Country Club-Far better everything
Review: Even though I have been using this field for 3 years, it has been declining in quality for all of the three years. When I went the first time, the field was very well run, and had much better refs. Today was far worse. They had around 5 private groups, and they all take precedent over the people who paid for open games (me). We encountered that problem many times. For almost 4 hours, we switched between Bedlam and Armageddon, looking for one that was not being used by a private group. We squeezed in 1 round before another private group showed up. Then we had to wait for another hour to play one more match. The way that the field is being run is very ineffective.
The refs are not much better. They didn't care what we had to say about the private games closing all of the fields until the director of our group (it was a park district trip, we weren't a private group) talked with the manager. This still barely changed the minds of the refs. We had to wait another half hour to play another game.
The selection in the pro shop is not very expansive either. They had all of 4 different types of goggles to choose from, the replacement parts they had for the different guns totaled about 40, and their prices were outrageously high. Even the JT Proteus goggles, which i believe were once recalled, were selling for $90. So the lack of selection and high prices make the proshop a bad place to shop.
All in all, there is not too much that is still good about Challenge.
Last edited on Saturday, May 21st, 2005 at 5:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hooliganman Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox River- same parks only great refs and byop
Review: i have been paint balling for a while now and i have never been to a place with refs this bad. a friend and i were holding a building and i shouted to the ref (who was standing in the building) if we had any men left. of course he told me "i don't know, you tell me". which is what i expected him to say. my friend shot one guy twice in the face mask and just wiped. we opened up on his knees until finally he quit. the ref clearly saw him but didn't say anything. also this same ref was giving our positions to the other team. but this is not one ref that's doing this. just about every other ref never even looked at the players to catch cheaters. lots of little birthday party ten year olds that run slow. Also there are those annoying private groups. all they do is exclude you and other players from games and make you sit out when you want to go to the good fields

quick review: refs suck, too expensive, slow paced, and private groups. DON'T GO
Last edited on Thursday, June 16th, 2005 at 7:56 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media