paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Montgomery Sporting Goods Paintball Field / Montgomery Sporting Goods Paintball Field / Montgomery Sporting Goods Paintball Field / Montgomery Sporting Goods Paintball Field

Montgomery Sporting Goods Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
21Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 845-457-4678
Address: 380 Bart Bull rd.
Middletown, New York 10941
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Spike180master Monday, May 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 14th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SI. and one somewhere in NJ
Review: I went with my friend who used to go upstate, he searched for the fields around middletown and eventually found this one. We went the Sunday before Memorial day. They had a special on that day so we wanted to go there since it was pretty cheap, 80$ for 2000 Diablo Blaze, admission and all day air. The site is a bit messed up tho, don't bother looking at the map, its wrong. It took us about 1 and half hours to find. Its almost hidden. When we got there we expected a lot of people to show but it was just the two of us at 11:00. After unpacking our stuff from the car we went to the booth, we gave them the waivers and they gave us the diablos and camo clothing. They gave us a ref and we went to play woods ball(TIP bring a cap or a single suit cause there are a lot of ticks). When we were walking we starting talking with the ref he said it was a family run business. Bring a pair of comfortable shoes cause your going to walk your ass off. SO we got there. The cool thing about this woodsball field is that they have a hill in the middle of both starting points (blue barrels). When we played i found it to be very unsafe, but still fun. The bad thing about this field is that there are a few holes. and if u fell in these holes u could twist or break your ankle, also as i was playing the ref told me were he was and that to me is a BIG NO NO even if its helping me. After we played we went to the next field, It was with big black plastic sewer tubes. That was the best field there in my opinion. But it took a while just to get there. We went near the blue barrels (starting point) and he blew the whistle and we were off. (TIP: don't run and lean on the half tubes or thin long tubes as they tend to fall). After an hour of playing real rounds our ref just said to shoot till u cant see any more. After that round we went back to reload our pods and have lunch. While we were eating hamburgers two more people came. I think they were about 11-14 years old. This would be the first they played in a field, tho they played in their backyards. The ref told them the rules and how to play. Right before we were going to leave to play the tube field two more people came one was new and the other played a couple of times. After they got ready we went off. Last field i want to talk about is the speedball field they have. One is a 5 on 5 and the other is a 3 on 3. We wanted the 5 on 5 thinking it would be bigger. It was to an extent. They talk to the kids about what they call the objects on the field (taco, crackpipe,etc). They noobed us to death, well my team. They camped at the start point and just stayed there. So if you want to play with moderate players or you are a new player yourself go there you'll have fun.
And remember play safe and have fun
Last edited on Thursday, June 3rd, 2010 at 1:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skullmyst Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Liberty Paintball -- Too many people go (a lot of them mean) and the refs do not seem even a bit interested in helping someone like me (a newb) and they dont pay much attention to you. Too expensive.
Review: This is how my day went, and it was the highlight of my spring vacation.

1. I arrived there, with two other friends, we were the only ones there because we were so early. The staff quickly and efficiently rented all of us tippmann custom 98's and had us sign the waivers.

2. Next, we were kina assigned two refs for the day. First, we went to one of the woodball areas. It was a great area because it was a hill (one team starts at the bottom of one side, the other team on the bottom of the other side) so you couldnt see eachother at the beginning. It was kinda a race to get up the hill, but in my groups case, we had a free for all and one guy started in the middle (which wasn't as bad as you would think, i won when i was in the middle) The refs were very kind and kept an eye on all of us. We played the map a couple of times.

3. Next we moved to the pipe area, our favorite. It is very well constructed, but it was a little bit of a walk to get there. The map very versitile and can work for teams or free for all, which we played. we played on this one until lunch, when we ran out of half our case.

4. We ate lunch at the field which was very good:: they even took out the grilled for us. One of the refs that was with us grilled us some burgers and they were of very good quality. They also had chips:: only 50 cents! they had water, soda, but we didn't want to drink soda because that dehydrates you.

5. After lunch, we went to the other woods area, the bunker. Stupidly, we forgot our paint.
with three players, it was a 2 v 1 area. one person was in the bunker, while the other two attacked it (rushed it). I was in the bunker first and i won. It was very good. We switched positions but my friend in the bunker that game ran out of paint and we had to go back. On the way back, i accidentally forgot to put the saftey on and shot a paintball into the barrel plug. It splattered and clogged my barrel. We had to go back anyway.

6. When we came back, there were more kids there. three of them. We challenged them to a game (my group vs theirs) they had their own equipment so we thought we would be crushed by experts. We played them on the pipe field and even though they were good, we just lost to them 3 to 2. On the third game we lost, we were down one player because he ran out of paint and we had none more. in the last game, my other friend got shot and i ran out of paint, so we lost. After that, we were totally out of paint so we came back to the rental area and returned our equipment and left. This lasted all day

7. The thing that brought my review down a point: when i went the airball field was closed because of fierce winds the previou day, and overall, it was a little bit small.

But this was my best paintball experience yet, and i hear they are going to add more areas! thanks allyou staff at msg paintball, you are the best!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ludacris Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins paintball (plattekill) :-x. great fields but way to exspensive even for employess to play at..
Review: the owners which i do alot of bussiness with are very nice and knowledgeable... great store/ proshop// and i wouldnt go anywhere else. with great prices and can get any part you need.. go to this field and shop thier the best around and very great prices asl well as service.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mxopivypxgb451 Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ring Homestead Camp(alright)
Review: Old paintball madness field.Hated the Paintball Madness field so i was leary to go to MSG field. But i go to their shop for upgrades,problems,paint its my home shop so when i was told it was opening i gave it a try, I didnt regret it one bit, 55 case of paint then 20 admission including all day air.(major plus) They have food and soda on site and no to expensive>refs are very good and most are friendly and helpful. They have a 5 man airball and a hyperpipe course which are both nice. and 2? woods fields i havent gone back there im more speedball/tourney player but i would like to try it , Me and my team practice there now and really enjoy it. In the spring they are gettin new Airball field additions Rumor: i was told a 10 man Xball field. Which i cant wait for them to get, They also can fix problems on Site wit a mini pro shop with all tools needed for gun problems. They alos Rent 98 customs and JT Xfire masks. And if you are a team needed practice against experienced teams the refs have no problems Jumping in
(there 2 teams Regulators Blue and Black) They will give you some good competition to play against rather than kill on Newbs all day. Overall i give it a 9 , Sup air field is sometimes overinflatted and long muddie walks to Hyperpipe but They brought in their construction vehicles to solve that problem and Just asking them to let some air out of bunkers they have no problem with.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rsjones Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All of them.
Review:
I have played at quite a few fields and Montgomery is by far the best bang for your buck. It has a Hyperball Court, an Air field and 2? woods fields (woods fields I've never played on). The Air court is 5 man regulation (168x75) with nice new bunkers, EXCELLENT! Hyperball court is also put together very nicely.
Admission cost is 15$ one air fill included and field paint is 50$-60$ a case. Probably the best part of this field is the refs, every one of them knows what they're doing, how to ref and where to look - and they usually have 6 on the field and one watching from the raised platform above.
The only reason I don't give this field a 10 is because they closed for the last month because of hunting season or something, which is basically the last month of paintball for the year. So not only did they lose a point from me, I imagine they lost close to 25k as well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

derman2k Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ABC in Jersey- Staff wasn't very helpful and fields weren't all that great...
Liberty in NY- Staff wasn't very nice, 'regulars' who played there were idiots and we weren't allowed on airball
Review: This field is great. They have a really cool staff...kinda (in a good way). The prices are awesome. 20 for entry with all day air and 55 for a case of severe. They have woodsball fields, Airball and Hyperball. They're supposed to be getting more air fields in the spring, so that will be real good. The competition is pretty decent too, so you won't be just wrecking noobs all day long. All the people who go there are nice too, not like the snobs at ABC. yea...dunno what else to write so... go play there and find out how good it is for yourself
Last edited on Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003 at 1:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrimpulse Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins in Plattekill, nice fields but expensive. Rush, to far to drive.
Ring Homestead, needs work and better refs
Review: FINALLY.... In my three years of playing paintball I have been in search of a place to play where you dont have to save your money for three weeks to go, because it is to expensive. I have search from orange county to buffalo ny in search of this and finally it has been found at MSG PAINTBALL FIELD. The prices are outstanding, even a kid in school can afford to go and play every weekend and not break his parents pocket. Whichis good because with out the kids of todaybeing able to play who knows where paintball will be tomorrow. But anyway enough rambling, for a place that has only been open since I belive September the amout of fields that are playable and the selection that they have is fantastic. The air ball field that they have rocks, and every couple of weeks they seem to make some type of change to it so once you think that you have the field down pat you get there and they have added a new twist. It keeps the excitement up and makes you want to come back next week to see if anything else has changed. They have a pipe field that is good for big groups, but it needs work, and is a pretty decent hike to get to so be prepared to walk. I really haven"t played the woods ball fields but from what everyone says the are great also. the staff that works there is some of the most helpfull employees around, and seem tobe dedicated to the sport. They help everyone weather it is answering questions about playing to giving pointers to people on new thngs to try. They are also very helpful when it comes to fixing problems with guns, and it is convienant that they have a store not 5 miles away so if you need a special part it canbe thee i no time. All I can see are postive things happening for this place if they continue top operate at the rate and the way they are now. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK YOU GUYS AND GIRLS ROCK.

Oh yeah I must say that if you are playing at MSG PAINTBALL FIELD you dont now what you are missing.
Last edited on Wednesday, November 19th, 2003 at 7:21 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BarbellBasher Monday, November 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins (in Plattekill) = way too expensive and inexperienced refs
Rush = not a professional environment
ABC = too many people forced to play on fields and inconsiderate refs
Review: The Montgomery Sporting Goods (MSG) Paintball Feild is run by the owner of the store of the same name located 5 minutes from the field. This allows for easy access to anything that is not readily available at the field ( and there is always a ref that is available to go to the store to get something if a customer needs it ). Aside from this great service concerning the store-field relationship, the field itself is spectacular. No other fields in the lower NY area have the service, refs, and feilds that MSG possesses. The service is second to none: (1) economically amazing- 55 bucks a case, 15 admission, 20 admission w/ all day air (2) socially oustanding- parties of any kind are available to be booked at the field and small parties are allowed to play wherever they wish (unlike other fields in the area that force people to play on certain fields) and (3) mentally sound- the refs are willing to assist any player regarding paintball inbetween games to accell their playing level and knowledge of the game. I have been playing there since the field opened a few months ago and have no complaints what-so-ever. Everything you could ever hope for is at the field and the diversity of fields is also good. 'Sup Air, hyperpipe, and two woods fields (and many more fields by next year as the refs say) are great for all levels of play. The refs also try to keep all players happy regardless of their needs. the refs are willing to split up players with regard to playing levels if the customers wish. This field is definitely the best in the area mainly due to the field employees doing everthing in their powers to please the players.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 18th, 2003 at 9:02 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KingmanSpyderTL Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ring Homestead Camp (decent)
Review: This field has opened up about 4 months ago and it is probably the cheapest in NY.
They charge 55$ for a case of Severe Hurricane and 15$ for air and admission. They have a couple of woods fields, a hyperpipe, and a 5 man airball. They are open on the weekends only and whenever there is no school (holiday). They've got rental 98c and JT X-Fire masks. They can fill up to 4100psi and they keep all the fields in good shape. Only drawback I can think of is some of the refs and now that its getting cold the paint is getting bad. Last time I went everyone was chopping balls everywhere and they were curving all over the place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

osiva757 Wednesday, November 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rush- doesnt compare, Cousins-RIP OFF
Review: Montgomery sporting goods was my store of choice for the last year because of their friendly, helpfull staff. Their feild is no different. there is a great sup air field and pipe field for speed ballers, and two woods fields for rec. More fields are on the way from what the staff tells me including a possible X ball field for next spring. Games are run constantly, and the competition is decent. My favorite thing about this place is the attitude of the players and staff, everyone is friendly and having fun...unlike Rush where everyone wipes and then brags how great they are. people are honest and the refs do thier jobs well. Thier prices are also great, $15 entry, $55 cases of good field paint. Compare that to Cousins its about half price! And twice the fun. This field is young and they need to add some fields but for the money its an awsome place. I used to be a regular at Rush, but since this field opened I haven't gone back there once.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media