paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / LA Xtreme Paintball Field / LA Xtreme Paintball Field / LA Xtreme Paintball Field / LA Xtreme Paintball Field

LA Xtreme Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
17Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 985-863-8895
Address: 37000 Receiving Rd
Slidell, Louisiana 70460
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
FloodWaters Tuesday, October 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Safety: The staff was really good about everyone following all of the safety rules.
Fields: I played on their woodsball field as well as their speedball field. The woodsball field was well maintained and contained a number of objects for cover, including an old van, towers, and barrels. The main paths were fairly narrow and had sharp bends, making them good spots to catch the enemy by surprise. There were a lot of mosquitoes in the woods, so be sure to wear repellent. The speedball field has large corrugated pipes instead of inflatable barriers. The ground is hard packed sand/dirt so it can hurt when you slide or fall. It was a little muddy because of lots of rain the day before.
Staff/refs: The owner was there and was a really cool guy. He gave a bunch of tips to the newer players. The refs were ok, albeit very young. If you're ok with being bossed around by middle schoolers, you should have no problem.
Prices: BAD for the quality. It's FPO. $20 for 500 rounds and $36 for 1000 rounds; however, the quality is REALLY BAD. The paint really doesn't break well. I was hit 5 or more times from reasonable range with no breaks. Also, it has tons of dimples so it doesn't shoot straight at all.
Overall: Fun, but could be better. The major problem in my opinion is the bad paint quality.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

david68 Sunday, December 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The other fields in the area just don't, compare to the friendly, informative, and entertaining staff at LaXtreme Paintball in Slidell, LA. I have been playing paintball for a while and gotten to see every field in the surrounding area. I truly feel LAX is the best group of players and people in the area to experience paintball through. The local players at LaXtreme bring a diverse range of experience. With that in mind it is a great place for a first time player to be introduced into the many facets of the paintball lifestyle or a great place to better your tournament level skills with the local thrill seeking players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Urban_DS Monday, November 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
Exit onto Highway 11 north from I-12 in Slidell. Continue North to N. 3rd St. Several miles up on Left (at a bend in the road)

Sign not very visible, roughly the size of a real-estate sign.
Review: Having had minimal paintball experience, I still found this field to be very fun and exciting. The refs are very casual, but helpful when asked, and the staff is otherwise kind. The price is very reasonable, and the fields are adequately kept, if not spectacular. Played both forest field and speedball field, good variety to be had.

Been here three times so far, and the 'regulars' that come out seem very friendly and good to game with.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigHaus Monday, October 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ocean springs, MS, SWAT
Review: This Is a great field for everyone. THE PRICE IS RIGHT!!! Thats right this field doesnt charge an arm and leg to play. The refs know what they are doing. Drew the owner is one of the KOOLEST guy I've ever known. When do you meet an owner who is a player him self? The staff is knowalgeable and will help out. If you havent been, then get your lazzy butt out to play. 10 out of 10

LAX and Dbanks Fan Club =)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

steve75 Saturday, June 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
NONE
Review: Laxtreme was the best field i have ever played at .All the prices of everything wasnt very high and everything was was great quality All of the refs where happy to help you if you had a question.They also gave a very good safty brefing and showed us how all our gear worked. While we were playin on the filed they would paint check us and help us with our gear if we were having problems. Iniside the shop they had a wide varrity of drinks and snacks. If you had a question about any piece of gear they could anwser it for you. When we went to the woodsball field the refs also gave us another safety brefing about the woodsball field rules . The woodsball was layed out with alot of great bunkers to hide. My whole baseball team just wants to thank laxtreme for making our day of play the best day we have ever had.

thank you
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lowridingorilla Monday, June 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: this is to porkchop13 AND knctrnl08
i hate to disagree with you but ive been playing for over 13 years so when you tell me one thing and do the other which is pretty much the same thing i can do nothing more than to disagree with you first off how many refs were watching the games you played when one was sitting outside the net i bet it was one so in that case he should of been outside the net because he would be having to watch the staging areas at the same time and also you say bull run is amazing because the refs play with you well then they wouldnt be doing there job because they are busy playing the game not watching it so how would they make honest calls.. then you would be back to the honor system and if you have 2 or 3 refs that are playing instead of doin there job which shows more incompetence
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

soccermom72 Sunday, June 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Command
Review: I recently took my kids to LA Xtreme Paintball for a group outing with some of their friends. Everyone had a great time and the employees were very helpful and knowledgeable. When one of the boys' guns broke, the employees did everything they could and fixed it for him. The prices were also lower than at other fields. I felt very safe at LAX with the staff ever present and making sure safety equipment was always in use. Drinks and snacks are also available on site for those wanting them.

Overall my experience with LAX was a good one and I will be bringing my children back for our future outings.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Porkchop13 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bull Run and LAdrenaline
Review: The safety of the field was poor at best. No refs were present on the field, even during large group play on their hyperball field. Players had to do their own paint checks and players were still playing after getting shot. The only fields that I played on were woods and a hyperball field. The woods field was nice but the hyperball field was all dirt and mud. Their prices are fair and knew a lot about paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

knctrnl08 Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bull Run
Directions
to the Field:
take hwy 11 in slidell
Review: The hyperball and woodsball field where great and i really enjoyed them. the airball feild was deflated the day we went and there was no net around it.the refs absolutly terrible they didnt even do there job he sat in a chair outside the net and talked to his friend why we played so every game was totally based o the honor system.we got there at noon and they closed at four so we really didnt even get to play much.If you like speedball go to hammond all the guys at bull run are amazing they will get in and play with you and most games we have two sometimes three refs.LA xtreme just wasnt a good experience for us.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

DevilDoc Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SWAT in Ocean Springs, Pearl River Paintball and Bob's in Mobile
Directions
to the Field:
Not far off Highway 11. Coming west from Mississippi it is the first exit after merging onto I-12 from I-10. The address is 37000 Receiving Station Rd and the phone number is 985-863-8895
Review: After Hurricane Katrina there aren't a lot of places to play around here so finding a good field was a great thing. Drew and Mitcheal run this place with great passion and are two pros! My brothers, some friends and I were looking for a place to do some scenario and woodsball playing. Speedball isn't our thing and around here that seems to be the thing everyone wants to do. We're a bit old school. Give us a gun and some woods and we're happy. We've played out there a few months now and each time was a blast each time. The staff is helpful and there are a few pros that play nationally for franchises that show up and are willing to help (more for the X-ball and speed ball crowd)

Currently there are 3 fields open, a hyperball field, a X-ball regulation field and a 4 acre woodsball field featuring two two story towers, bunkers, old cars and a boat. The Hyperball field is top notch! They have lots more room to expand on and after talking to the owner it looks like they'll be doing some more work on the speedball and woodsball/scenario side. (They have like 45 more acres to build on). LA Xtreme is hosting a scenario on August 12th produced by Gunfighter.

The prices are reasonable. A case of 2000 is about $60.00 which seems to be in the normal range for this area. Its field paint only which every field I have ever played on is. Players all get along well and safety is stressed for everyone's sake. It's a 45 minute drive for us but well worth the trip. Drew and the crew treat us right and this place caters to all facets of paintball with an eye to expansion and future tourneys. Like I said, they have plenty of room to put up more fields. Whether you're new to paintball or a veteran player you'll find what you need at LA Xtreme. There is a camaraderie among the regular players and there is an even mix of both young and old.They don't have a snack bar yet so bring a cooler. Drinks are sold.The only reason I wouldn't give it a 10 is because they need a snack bar or some food items. Rental packages feature Tippmann Custom 98 or Parana markers. Safety is stressed big time. I give them a 9/10 because after Katrina it's hard to expect perfection of any place but the staff is great and the operating fields are nice. Possibilities also make this place worth checking out.

On another note, if anyone is interested in getting on a woodsball/scenario team please get in touch with me or see any of the staff (Drew or Mitcheal preferably). So far we have a 20 man team consisting of myself and my two brothers along with a few friends. Our team name is Black-Ops and we have adopted the U.S. Army ACU (digital camo for active duty) and the Marine Corps MARPAT as our uniform. Currently most of us are using Tippman X-7s A-5's or 98's but come with what you have and let's have fun. We're all ex-military or military brats but age and experience do not matter. We just want to build a team that will stick together have fun, represent the whole team well and have a good time doing it. We have a website at www.myspace.com/blackopsheat So, if you like to play in the woods or on a hyperball field this is for you! We'll be making LA X-treme our home field. All of us are easy to spot on Sundays and some Saturdays. We're in ACU's or any cammies with our team name "Black-Ops" on our uniforms.

I hope to see y'all out there. Until then, happy paintballing!!!
Last edited on Sunday, May 13th, 2007 at 11:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media