paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field

New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 8049665104
Address: 14375 Marine Corps Drive
Lanexa, Virginia 23089
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
nkpgballer15 Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox Paintball in Virginia Beach
Paintball Authority
Splatbrothers
Review: Lets just say I LOVE THIS FIELD.

This is the best field that I have ever played at and I can truly call it home.

I'm going to tell you straight up this is the field for bad asses. When i was at another field I heard a couple of guys talking about newkent> Saying" They had the most intense and awsome firefights they have ever seen.

The field is 30 acres. Thats right 30. Divided into three fields. The fields here are huge and are big enough to where you can actually flank people and get behind them. The woods are also very thick. Its not like a speeball in the woods field. This is a actuall field where you cant see thirty feet in front of you. And lets talk about the FIREBASE. Anybody who has played this field can say they have played the most intense paintball ever. There are no spools,tirepiles,pieces of wood stuck on top of each other or anything like that. The trenches are anywhere from 3ft to 9ft deep. Their is also a high ground right beside the firebase. The bunkers at newkent are REAL BUNKERS, just like mil sim. Then on the other fields there are 6 different bases. The terrain through the fields varies. There are swampy places,high areas,rolling terrain,and trails.

The staff their is the best to. As in the other review this is more of a friendly: not worried about the profit kind of place. There are no refs. It doesnt work to well beacause the fields are so big. But they have field sgts. They are pretty much like refs but they play and lead people and help out in the store. The field sgts. are very necesary because of the way the field is set up. Come out once and you'll see why.

The quality of their products is awsome as well. They now have HPA/compressed air and co2. They have grenades and tournament grade paint for 55$ a case. The A5s that are their to rent are the cleanest i have ever seen, and I know they spend time on them because i have helped them. And they really do break down every gun and clean every single one. Johnothan who is the owner's son is the one in the field house all the time. He is very nice,courteous and polite to everyone. He aslo always has a smile on his face no matter what.

Mr> Avery Kirby is the nicest field owner I have ever met and will actually sit down and have a conversation with you. I will say this however; hes is the greatest guy you will ever meet, but when it comes to saftey he takes it VERY seriouslly. Through the 13 years they have been in buisness they have never had an accident. And trust me any of you guys that want to get smart, lets just say its sorta like having a drill sgt. yelling at you. But he very rarely has to do that.

Some services they offer for FREE> Yes i said FREE. They have paper towels, lens cleaner,cold water, transportation in the deuce,tools<not to keep but to use>. Again Mr. avery is trying to create a great experience not get every single bit of your money. There is also a deal where if you bring 4or 5 people you get in for FREE.



oh yeah another thing that is VERY IMPORTANT. this is not a elimination field. All of the games are regeneration. Where you might have to fall behind your lines in search and destroy games. Or go back to your base or touch your flag.

Another thing that sets this field apart is the military structure. They always have branches of the military there, becuase of the way the field is set up. Talk to anybody who has palyed there, and they will tell you that you REALLY HAVE TO THINK. to be succseesful at this field. Most paintballl fields use a 180 fighting sense. At new kent the fighting is 360. Remember the fiels are big enough to flank from one side and get behind the other team and start making your moves on ther other team. And let me tell you it is not easy. its not like speedball where you can see everybody on the field. Every step you take could be your next one to get shot at and not know it.

Another thing that the field uses is smoke grenades< and here is the thing Mr. Avery is letting all people use the smoke greanades now. They also sell tippman squadbusters. And we also have a PAINTBALL MORTAR. yes i said it a PAINTBALL MORTAR. when you watch all those war movies a mortar is the thing that the soldiers use. They drop a tippman grenade into the tube and its powered by a regular hpa tank. Once the pressure builds up you push down on a lever and the pressure realeses the grenade. the grenade easily will travel 250 yards or lower.

If woodsball is your game and you like all the specops stufff this is your field.

I give them a straight up 10,10,10.
Last edited on Monday, May 22nd, 2006 at 5:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Col_Sanders Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ft. Eustis
MasterBlasters
Bethel Park
Directions
to the Field:
Look on their site....
Review: This field is great! It is very different than the other fields in the area and is much better equipped. This is more of a military simulation type field than any of the others in the area and is a very different experience. This field requires a lot of teamwork and communication to win. The games vary from 30 minutes to an hour on the firebase. While this is fun, the "respawning" gets frustrating when the opposing team cuts off your lines and you are out of the game for a while. Since the games run long you wont be able to play as many as you would probably like to.

The field setup is nice and they have running water, paper towels, and lens cleaner for your goggles. Drinks are reasonably priced, but field fee is a little high. Its good that you can bring your own paint, but the field paint is quality stuff if you dont bring your own. Dont go there if speedball is your game and dont like strategy or hiding.

The field sergeants are good and stuck to the rules. We had the standard safety brief and chrono before start time. Teams seemed a little lopsided when I was there and most of the newbs were put together against the more seasoned people but they didnt seem to mind. They take about an hour lunch break to head to town in the Duce and they stop in front of several fast food restaraunts. If you dont want to go for a ride in the back of the truck and stuff your face with a grease burger you can stay back and play another game while you wait for the others to get back.

Overall a great experience and I will be going back. I wish they were open more than 2 weekends a month.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KillDByNSP-8 Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ft. Useless: flatout sucks
Masterblasters:crapy
Hotshots:ain't been there yet
Review: This is the best field around man. Just come once and you'll like it. It is completely wooded. The only bad thing is that they are only open on the 1st and 3rd saturday of each month, but you still have a great time whenever they are open. It has three main fields. One for center flag and capture the flag, one for search and destroy, and then a huge Firebase field. I think everyone likes the Firebase the most, but some people like the search and destroy field more. Also Mr. Avery explains the rules and boundarys in depth before each game. Mr. Avery is ex-marine so his field has a vietnam setup. This field promotes many military tactics. The staff out there is great because they actually play with you and enforce the rules unlike most other fields. The field staff provides a military vehicle called the duce to go into town for lunch if you want. If you don't want to go into town you could just pack lunch. If you don't have your own gun they have great tippmann A-5's that are kept in very good condition. They have compressed air and Co2 refill stations. Also they are very serious about safety. Avery gives a speech about paintball safety before each day starts. Over all they just have a great field.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 11th, 2006 at 5:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

specopsballer Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
ft. useless, vbsplatzone, splatbrothers, masterblasters, hotshots
Review: this field is flat out great with 3 huge fields one for a capture the flag and center flag one for attack and defend with a vietnam type fire base which is huge and one for a search and destroy missions this field has thick brush which can lead to some intense close quarters combat. they offer a ride to lunch in a marine corp style vietnam duce in a half(big military transport truck). The field offers cold water which is great after a long firebase game. dont listen to people that say they dont have commpresed air because they do they also have co2. the rentals are tippmann a5s which are very well kept. there are no refs at new kent they are called filed sgts who play and make sure everything goes like it should.the owner is an ex marine and is very serious about safety. the owner gives a nice safety speech before the day starts.the playing style is agressive but dont be scared if you are a first timer.tactics are are important which adds nice spin to each game. there is one downfall it only has walk on games evry 1 and 3 saturday of each month but if you have a group of 30 people or more you can call and make reservation for any saturday.

Last edited on Saturday, April 8th, 2006 at 6:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Varanid Friday, February 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Easily the best and most interesting layout of any field I have played. New Kent is located in Virginia pine country which makes games challenging and a lot more fun than just standing around shooting and getting shot. If you are a speed-baller, I suggest you look elsewhere. However, if you desire some strategy with your paintball experience, this is your place. A number of different types of games are played on three different fields, including one modeled after a Vietnam-style fire base. Knowledgeable and experienced field sergeants are better than on any other field I have experienced. Owned and operated by retired Marine who takes an active role in games ensuring fair and active play. If you live in the area or are just passing through, be sure to give New Kent Paintball a try.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ballsniper Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatbrothers o.k
Paintball authority, yeah right
Savage yeah right again
Pbauthority
Rockwood
Review: I have played at a lot of fields in the area but this one is better in all aspects.

New Kent is definetely the safest field in the area. Its mostly adults there all the time there are really only two kids Bryan<me> and Chip. But they do encourage everybody to come out.
Mr. Avery is the nicest and funniest man there is, but when it comes to safety he has no tolerance with those who don't obey the rules. Mr avery an ex marine has putten a lot of his military knowledge and thoughts into the bases and fields. Which makes for a 110% awsome playing. A lot of times we are given the privelage to have Marine,Army,Navy, and even VMI cadets come out which makes for some awsome playing. Some updates recently are HPA and a new chrono. We are also very lucky to have a paintball mortar now which was built by one of the field sgts. We are also a field that uses smoke grenades< only by field sgts.>. The website has also been updated which is awsome as well because it has more pictures. When you are looking at the firebase pics keep in mind there are several other bunkers that are already present on the field while one of the field sgts, is still adding more of the pics to the website. The prices are the BEST in the area because unlike the other fields Mr. Avery is all for the sport not the greed. Mr avery also has one of the best safety speeches you will ever hear and also shows a demonstration of why googles are a must.

As with all the other reviews Oh the firebase is something you really have to see to believe. They are not just pallets and little pieces of wodd stuck in certain places these are actuall military simulated bunkers. The places they have been put at is amazing. This is not one of those big trees all together in a small field type of place. All the fields are actual thick woods were you can sneak up on people.

Newkent Paintball Games is really not like any other field in Virginia or anywhere for that matter. For instance other fields in the area have not tactics its just full on get a lucky shot out of a hopper fields. At newkent paintball games the fields are big enough to use the tactics; recon,probing,sniping,sneaking up on people,suprising,stalking,stealth etc. We also take aggresiveness to a whole new level. At other fields agressiveness is running to make a bunker or inflatable. We actually use tactics to move up and be agressive.

Unlike one field in particular Newkent paintball games has people that respect every body and makes friends with people. When I first came to the field I was treated as a friend and a buddy; not a profit maker.

At other fields they give you the promise their paint is good and it wont break,chop,or dimple. Then as soon as you start you start making soup. Not here they buy the paint the players want. Last time we played it was snowing and cold and nobody gave complaints about the paint.

New Kent Paintball Games is an awsome paintball experience. I have played at many fields but none even come close to the fun you'll have at this field.

I give them a 11<thats how good it is>
Last edited on Thursday, February 23rd, 2006 at 10:47 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dodfreak2000 Friday, August 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
i havent played on others in this state
Review: well compared to the other feilds in the area with an indoor 1 and all this 1 kicked ass!!!
so dam big a regular elmination match with regen rules took 2 hours and we didnt even finish because we were all dehydrted
and the CTF feild was awesoem also

other than that it was all f good
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brent239 Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
actiontown, the swamp
Review: Ive played a few times now at new kent. it was an awesome woodsball field. as everybody else said its tactical for sure. it has similar military structure, but helped me because of the leadership. makes you more aggressive. always has cold water and drinks. not really a shop, more of a back field. but everybody there is there to play paintball, play it fairly and not try to take your money. I give it a 9 but only cause its a half hour from my house near newport news
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KirbysCommandos Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Swamp, FT. Useless, Bethel, Splathouse, Splat bros, Beach Paintball, Paintball-Ally,
yada yada.....
I have played all the rest..... but New Kent Paintball is the best !!!!
Review: Best kept secret in the civilized world!!!

If New Kent Paintball had more advertising it would bury the competition.

And yes---they now offer HPA / Compressed air ON-SITE.
All day air is 10 bucks. Single fill is 5.

The field owner is now adding a new game to the field. "Center Flag."
Customers have been asking for it so.....ask and ye shall receive.

There is also some sorta deal now if you bring 5 friends... you get a free field fee.....
An incentive to get more people showing up.

The field has walk-on games every FIRST and THIRD saturday of the month.

If you have a group of like 23 or more, call ahead and they can schedule your group in on any date you wanna play.

Also..... a local Richmond film crew has been coming out recently to film games for a film that will be seen at the Sundance film festival next year, I think.....
They have been looking for people who want to be part of the film playing live games and some actual speaking parts.
Check out the film crew that is shooting on their site which is.... www.princesspitchafitproductions.com
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snyper89 Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This is the only field for those who enjoy good tactical paintball. The owner stresses safty and fun, there is no cheating, and it is at a god price. The best part of the field is the Firebase. There are REAL bunkers and trenches, and a tower in the middle. There are about 10 acres of playing space, devided into three fields. The only problem is that there is not much in the store. The chrono does work, contrary to what is in other reviews. It is the best field in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media