paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field

New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 8049665104
Address: 14375 Marine Corps Drive
Lanexa, Virginia 23089
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
BigRedSnapper Friday, December 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Many
Review: The field is an all woods, there is no speed ball. The fields are anywhere from 3-5 acres in size and have variable terrain features. Though there aren't as many games as other fields, the games are longer and you get the most bang for your buck. They have A5's as rental guns and if you have your own equipment, you can bring your own paint. If you wish to purchase paint, it is relatively inexpensive as compared to other area fields.
In a review, the field has been called militaristic, this true to some degree because the owner is a former Marine. It is the most professional run field on the VA Peninsula/Hampton Roads area. Safety is first and foremost. You don't see the chaos that you see at other fields, so if maintaining some control over what is going on is consider militaristic than it is. Also, since it is a woods field this tend to lend the games to be gear more to strategy and movement verses that you would see on a speedball field. So that also could be consider military like.
I've read reviews stating the Chrono doesn't work, that is actually less than accurate. It works fine, it is usually user error that had caused problems or the simple fact that the battery needed replaced. Yes, it is old, but still quite functional. It has been checked against a radar type chrono and is -3 off, not bad for it being 5 years old.
Open walk-on games are every 1st and 3rd Saturday of the month with the other Saturdays being left for groups to reserve the field for private games.
Upgrades that are taking place are HPA (after Jan. 1, 2005) and they are building a village on one of the fields.

The field now has compressed air for those using HPA.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 5th, 2005 at 10:25 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kamansky Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ft. Eustis, Action Town, Big Bethal
Review: This Field Gets a mixed rating from me. First off this field is a great place for the player that likes woods games. You can play the firebase all day and love every second. Since this field is run by a Marine there is a great deal of thought that has gone into placement of bunkers and use of terrain. That being said the fire base is very vulnerable to concerted assault. As this field is located in the middle of one of the highest concentrations of US military personnel in the world you will often see large groups of military personnel at the field, so if you dont like a squad/team approach to paintball dont bother comming here.
The only real downside to this field is that their cronograph is not working. With the very well maintained rental A-5's they have on the field every player has the firepower to lay down paint, and as we all know not every player with a rental gun knows when to hold up on the fire after you have already been hit 8 times from 15 feet with an over the limit A-5 in the back.
That being said I will return to this field, however not until they get a new crono.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flyin Cocker Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BCBG
Paintball Autherity
Review: This is true 100% woods feild, real trees (if you come BRING CAMO OR YOUR GOING TO BE LITE UP). Avery (the owner) has a very professional feild going on, with real bunkers (sumething you acctually hide behind), bases that have tranches in them that provide awesome cover when you try to move around.

They have three feilds that they ussually play on. If they get enough people, say twenty, they open all three feilds for one massive 8 acre game. Games are about 40 minutes long. They mostly play survivor, CTF, and attack and defend. Avery is coming up with new games now to keep things more interesting.

One word people, FIREBASE!!!. This is the best base ever, trenches, high ground, bunkers surrending the base, and a ,get this, Tower located right in the middle that you can climb up in and shoot people.

They do need to add more parts to their store. Nice rental A-5s and 98s. Mostly everyone has A-5s their.

If your a newbie or a player who is looking for a good time come to NKPB. I give them a 9 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

OldSkoolBaller Friday, September 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Town Sports (old Suffolk field and Ft. Eustis)
Bethel Battlefield
College club field
Review: I had not played here in several years, and it was a pleasure to finally return to the site in which I played my first game back in the early 90s (when rentals were still pumps). It is still pretty much what I remembered. This is a field for those that want to play some REAL woods ball. There are actually FULLY wooded fields, not a field with a few thinly scattered trees. Therefore is makes for some actual surprise encounters during some games, which in my opinion really adds to it. Leave the bright color tourney jersey at home and grab the camo.

And the Fire Base field, oh the Fire Base! You need to just go and see it for yourself. Bunkers at New Kent are just that, bunkers. Not just a pallet and tire pile. They actually BUILT solid cover, trenches, etc. Caution, paint grenades have been used with success here, so loosen up that throwing arm kids.

Avery runs one of the most professional fields I know of in the region, and he's been doing it longer than most. There are no traditional refs (the terrain doesn't really allow for it anyway) per say, but instead "Field Sergeants," experienced adult players who make sure everyone stays on the level. A unique, but seemingly effective system for this type of field. Safety and fun are top priorities here.

Walk-on games are only two Sats a month which is one bummer. And you compressed air guys are out of luck if you are looking for a fill (at the time of this review), although they are in discussions of adding HPA fills in the furture. The chrono could maybe use an upgrade. It would be nice to see a few more parts, batteries, and accessories in the shop. As with any place, there is always room to improve, but these are all pretty minor things.

To sum up, if you have not played here yet, you are missing out on this unique and well run field. It rates a 9, because NO FIELD is perfect, but it's close.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

puck2paint Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
ATS: paint is really overpriced, but nice field
bethel: I love that place.
but this field is one of a kind
Review: I met one of my friends there and it was pretty cool. its really militarialistic like and you dont get too much action. it was a nice setup but they dont do too much in the way of getting you out there and getting shot. you probably wont need more than 500 rounds if you go there. and their pro shop is more like a shack with Co2 tanks and rentals

PROS

fun (even tho really militarialistic)
paint is cheap (as is everything else)
everyone is really nice
rent out A-5's
they take convoys to lunch

CONS

no HPA
militarialistic
their chrono hardly ever works
dont see too much action

all together I might go back again, but I wouldnt really bet on it. if I could give it an 8.5 I would, but I think 8 would be better than a 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PbBandit Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bethel Park, Action Town in Ft. Eustis, Paintball Ally, Splat Brother, Splat Zone, Tidewater Paintball, Hot Shots
Review: There is no doubt this is one of the most exciting paintball fields to play on. The only problem, it is a well kept secret from many who play paintball in the area. And it should not be, because this is the type of field, where the more people show up, the more exciting the play.

Something you need to know that people don't tell you in some of the other field descriptions. When you play a game for an hour and half, it is regeneration, not elimination. This means after you get hit, you walk of the field, mark yourself on the board, and go back in. This is important, because most fields play elimination, and you wait, and wait, and wait to go back in another game. There is no need to wait at NKPG, because you simply walk back on the field. (Take note, this field is not for a couch potato, because you will run, walk, crouch, and crawl on this field, and you will feel it the next day.)

This is fair because the games have time limits and both teams can regenerate. There is no doubt; you will get your moneys worth. Mr. Kirby has the most reasonable prices in Virginia, because he supports the sport, not greed.

One last important note, safety is number one on this field. I've been going to this field for over six years, and I have never witnessed a paintball related accident. That is proof that safety comes first.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

XC Paintballer Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none...This field is 10 minutes away from my house, so I have only gone to this one since i found out about it.
Review: One word...FIREBASE. If you want action, then you must play FIrebase at New Kent. They have a full system of trences varying from 3 ft. all the way up to 9 ft. Mr. Kirby, owner, was in the Marines, and if you are lucky enough to end up on his team you will definitely be experiencing paintball like you have never been before.

Also, the field has two other wooded places to play. These are mainly Full-on War, or Capture the Flag scenario games. Most games last 30- 45 minutes. However, Firebase will last up to 1 and half hours.

The "DEUCE" is the military transport vehicle Avery uses to take us to the local McDonald's in West Point for Lunch. I have found nothing wrong with this field. The competition is great, everyone plays fairly, and everything you need to play is right there at the shop.

NOTE: Smoke grenades can e thrown only by field sergeants. If it is your first time going there then do not attempt to throw any kind of smoke. Mr. Kirby is a very intimidating man, and you do not want to get on his bad side.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RollingThunder Tuesday, February 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
From Sgt. York's in PA to South Florida. In VA/NC from Culpepper to Pungo. Private fields: Team Moyock's Sherwood Forest and The Farm House in NC
Review: Played on this field from 1990-92 as part of a semi-pro team Rolling Thunder. It was and is the best field I ever played on.
Never saw anyone cheat or attempt cheat on the field. Cleanest games ever played. Cheating was not tolerated by staff and players.
Has 3 large wooded fields, if you are into speed ball this field is not for you. This type of paintball is for those who like a challenge.
Fields have varying terran which gives each game a different feel and obsticles/challenges to overcome. Forts, trenches, hills, berms and redoubts.
Owner is one of the best and honest people within the paintball community I've ever met.
Games are designed to give every player, newbie to veteran, the best chance to have a fun and fulfilling day of paint ball.
If you play here once you will most likely come back again.
After a 4 year lay off from paint ball it will be the first field I play at this spring after moving from FLA.

Played at the field April 3, 2004. Avery has made so many improvements since I last saw it in 1992, it was incredible. As the other reviewer have pointed out the "FIRE BASE" is all they say and more. If you like woods play, this field will not let you down whether you are 14 years old or like me 40.
In fact, I challenge you to find fault with this field short of there is no speedball. If that's your game don't play here you'll never enjoy yourself .
Last edited on Tuesday, April 6th, 2004 at 1:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MovsLikeaShadow Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at several fields from the VA beach area to the Mountains of VA and none compare to this field.
Review: If you enjoy Tactical / Scenario type games, then this field is for you.
If you can not handle playing with the big boys..... go back to SPEEDBALL.
This field is very challenging and pushes you to rely upon your skills both mental and physical.
N.K.P.G is roughly 30+ acres and has three different and unique fields that comprise the whole area.
Each field is about 10 acres in size and offers something different.
The main draw to this field is the " FIREBASE " scenario game, which is a huge fortification that consists of an intricate series of trenches, bunkers, walls, as well as a tall tower in the center.
Another point of interest to mention is the "DEUCE".
The "DEUCE" is an ex-military troop transport vehicle which is used to shuttle players during lunchtime to and from local fast food restraunts.
This field sells paint on site and also grants players the right to bring their own paint ONLY if they have their own paintball equipment.
Drinks and restrooms are also on site.
The games usually start around 10 a.m. , however it is recommended that all individuals register approximately 30---45 minutes in advance so that there is time to sign-in, load-up, and listen to the safety speech before the first game.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media