paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Carnage Paintball Field / Carnage Paintball Field / Carnage Paintball Field / Carnage Paintball Field

Carnage Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
46Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (404)314-5338
Address: 283 Hames Road
Woodstock, Georgia 30188
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
teamdisturbance Tuesday, March 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
arkenstone
ultimate
Review: When I first pulled in, I thought it was something from off of texas chainsaw massacre. Me and my 2 friends went to check in and it was a little shack. The guy inside was friendly and gave me a tour of the field before i played. This is one othe the cheapest fields I yet to play at. They have a few fields (2 wood, 1 air and spool, but air and spool was close on my last visit) .The refs there was interacting with the players and having fun. Everyone there was a big help. the walk to get air isn't that long, because its not that big of a place. I liked it and
I go every now and again. I give this a 9 of 10 because of the horrible entry and admission stand.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kepps Tuesday, February 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arkstone, Atlanta Paintball, Wildfire
Review: This is a pretty good place to play and I would advise on trying it out if you are new to paintball.
The prices are fair and the owner is a really nice guy.
The only concern that I have is that when a place says 12-5 the games should begin by 12. Although this problem was not due to the owners fault, it still needs to be addressed. Also a little less time between the games would be better.

I give this field 8 out of 10 and I will be going back.

Where else can a new player get to play for 25 dollars with decent equipment??
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lagoonguy Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 3rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wildfire - 1 field, indoor, gets repetitive.
Arkenstone - I like the big castle with turrets. nicely built.
Review: We had a large group play here - 28 were supposed to show but the drizzle and weather dropped the actual number down to 22.

First the Pros. This is a great field. I'm a big fan of the woods field, gives more of a real 'combat' feel. We had a lot of fun and most of the people were first timers. Everyone had a great time. The two fields in use provided a lot of cover. We only played elimination and one capture the flag, which ended up just being elimination anyway. Next time I'll need to suggest some more scenerios to mix it up a bit. Staff was friendly and continued working to fix the many issues we encountered with the rental guns.


Cons: The main issue we had was with the weapons. Several weapons were not working. It was 37 degrees and a bit cold; apparrently these guns don't take too kindly to cold weather. It's understandable if that's the case, and the staff was working to get them fixed throughout the day, but the first game several people had to sit out while weapons were being fixed. Throughout the day several people had gun issues, and the final game had about 6 people sitting out because of gun malfunctions. This isn't necessarily a complaint against Carnage, because it seems to have been a result of the weather, but it did make the experience a bit frustrating for some players.

The one thing I was a disappointed with was the initial setup. Carnage knew how many people were coming; i'd had the date reserveded for a few weeks. When we got there, guns were assigned, and then we went to the nitro station. They filled our tanks and handed them out to each person. Doing this for 22 people took an excrutiatingly long time and everyone was getting very anxious to get playing. Some people started showing up at 10:30am. Our first game wasn't until after 12:30 because they had to fill each of the tanks. Carnage should have had this done before hand - handed everyone a gun with full tank, and everyone could have been playing by 11:30. If only a handful of people show up, that's one thing. But knowing 20+ people were coming they should have had these tanks prepped and ready to go.

Otherwise, no complaints. It's a real good field, pretty big sized, and the staff was friendly. When I organize another group play I'll probably come back to Carnage. I just hope the guns are ready and in better working order when we arrive. I give the field an 8. despite the complaints, it's a great field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Maxmidget Saturday, October 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arkentstone - Horribly overpriced

Ultimate - Better than Arkentstone but too competitive, not very fun, unhelpful staff
Review: It doesn't look very impressive when you arrive, a dirt driveway and a shack for a pro shop, but it is the best field I've come across in Atlanta.

Price - The price is incredibly cheap ($20 for all day CO2 and field fee, $5 more for a rental and 500 rds of paint )

Fields - An airball field, a large woods field, and a "castle" field. All are well laid out and extremely fun.

Air - They replaced the walk up to the shack with a refill station right next to the field, which is very convinient. They also have pre-filled tanks for rentals and for players who are in a hurry to get out to the field.

The only real bad part of Carnage is that their is too much time between games, and that on some days their are 30 people and others no one shows up (this has been less of a problem recently).

All in all a great field with nice people, helpful refs, and plenty of staff. That combined with an extremely low price and great fields make this a good choice.

Last edited on Saturday, October 22nd, 2005 at 8:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ipukeglitter546 Tuesday, August 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
knightscrossing
chicken hawk
Review: Very very good field
i was there when atl phoniex was there and they are a great bunch of guys
expecially that steve
anyway
the field was good cept for the long mile walk

but hey atleast its exercise

i hope more people find out about carnage because it is a kick ass field filled with awesome people
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dyeplaya123 Monday, July 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arkenstone-overpriced and the refs have bad attitudes
ultimate-good airball but expensive and far away from me
nitro-too crowded
Review: Heres the deal this place is cheap very very very cheap
-all day air, 500 balls, all day play--25$ (10$ for 500 paintballs!)
-all day air, 1500 paintballs, all day play--45$
-all day air, a case of paint, all day play--55$ ( if ur counting thts 10$ for all day air, 5 dollars for play and 40$ for a case and the paint is good usally when i buy good paint its around 60$)
The refs are nice very freindly and sumtimes they get out there and play with you, it is very noob friendly.
the woods ball feild is ok but i dont liek it but ever1 else does its just ur preferance
the castle is fun alot of bun kers but not to many thts its crowded great for 4v4 5v5 or 6v6
The airball is ok its small and it has 27 bunkers the setup is ok but the owner told me they were i nthe process of buying a new airball feild
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yuppers913 Monday, May 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
akenstone (VERY PRICY, too many high strung people)
twin bridges (closed... but kindof a dump)
Review: I decided to go check out Carnage this Saturday, having read these reviews, and having checked the websites and prices of several local fields. In the end, i really was not sure what to expect. A shack for a proshop? A long walk for nitro? Well here is what i found:

I arrived, the directions on the website were absolutely perfect. I walked up to the shed, and the girl there was exremely polite and friendly, as was every member of the field staff. I asked about the field, and they lead me on a tour of the grounds before i paid admission, no questions asked. A ref gave me the tour. Not only did he discribe the field, but he told me how they had been changing it and what upgrades and renovations were in the making, and what had been done. On the walk back we chatted it up a bit about markers etc.

The fields were as follows: 1) a woodsball field, with slightly hilly terrain, MANY bunkers with good coverage on all sides, but no real "super bunkers". 2) a spool field (mostly spools, but many other bunkers too. Now i know someone complained about how the spool field was unfair, but really, it is supposed to be... its now set up as an attack and defend castle type dealy. The attackers are up on the hill coming down to attack a castle (which provides good coverage, but is not without its weaknesses). 3) And lastly an airballfield. The airball field was small, very small. But according to the head ref, they were in the process of upgrading and soon it would be bigger.

Assesments of the field:

staff: VERY VERY friendly. the turnout of players, for whatever reason, was not very good (we had about 7-8 people till a group of 5 left... tough...), but the refs made it worth my while to have come by playing themselves. Very good group of guys to hang around with, very nice and very fun.

field: Better than i thought it would be. From the descriptions i had been hearing, i was expecting a small poorly put together woodsball field with a spool field thrown in on the side. But in reality, the woodsball is NICE. REALLY nice. Its big, but not too big. The terrain is changing but not redickulously hilly or flat. there is little in the way of ground water, so no wet shoes. The airball was perfectly fine with only 3v3 or 4v4. But it really would not handle any more than that. But its going to get bigger, so no worries. The spool field needs a bigger group than we had to really make it work i feel, but it was still very well set up.

Prices: EXCELLENT. ten dollars plus paint... good as it gets.

the walk to get your air filled: ... don't be a wuss... it is about a one minute walk up a slight hill... absolutely nothing to even mention. I've played at field with golf cart rides to get yoru air filled... this is nothing.

Overall: the field gets a 7, but for me this is a GREAT score (i feel like 10s are given out far too often). When i come back next semester, i will be playing here again. I would highly reccomend this field if you are a casual player, but maybe not neccesarily if you are the tourney type. Its a good woodsball field, but not the greatest speedball/airball field.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jbl974 Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arkenstone (great fields, but overpriced)
Nitro (good, but gets too crowded. Haven't played there since they changed though)
Review: Have played here about 5 times in the last 3 months. It's only a 10 min drive and prices are good. Yes, the Proshop/Check-in is a shack, but really, who cares?

They've got 2 great woodsball fields (3rd field hasn't been open lately), and have moved their spool and airball fields to a much better spot (though I haven't got to play on it yet).

Almost all the refs are great and very friendly, and will get you back out to play as soon as people are ready. It doesn't get too crowded usually, but they will break up into two games if neccesary (unlike Nitro).

Have had good and bad luck w/ the field paint, but usually bring my own anyway. It'd be nice if the fill station in the prep area was manned more often, but not too many complaints otherwise. Have always had a good, fun overall experience here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeffyroo Friday, March 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arkenstone (jerk refs, priced too high)
Nitro Paintball (cheap prices and very good place)
Ultimate paintball (Awesome speed ball)
Bear Claw Paintball (freakin huge)
Review: I went to this place one of the first times it opened, and I wasnt very impressed. You pull in to some persons house and the proshop is a freakin shack. The guy doesn't know what the hell is what about paintball, and he used to have his dad run his old store (paintball store when he had it, not the shack) and he doesn't even know what a response uhhhhhhhhhhhhhh trigger is. The fields were ok, but you had EIGHT PEOPLE TO PLAY WITH. The 2 guys with dm400000 ruined all the games by shooting high, the rest of the people were just stupid. I was not impressed AT ALL.


4 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

silverviking1 Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nitro- they have a castle and western towne, but that is the only thing that's better than carnage.
Review: Carnage is a great place for all paintball players because it has 3 types of feilds: 2 woodsball, 1 speedball, 1 spools.

PROS
the 2 woods courses are the best ive ever played on.
Speedball has many bunkers.
The refs know what theyre doing.
Prices are cheap.
The owner knows alot about paintball.

CONS
Spoolsball is on a hill.......the top team has an advantage
Speedball is a small course
1 time someone stole my paint at the shack while i was playing

i give it an 8 out of 10

if some1 hadnt stole my paint, i would give it a 9





Last edited on Saturday, February 26th, 2005 at 11:06 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media