paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Wanna Play Paintball Field / Wanna Play Paintball Field / Wanna Play Paintball Field / Wanna Play Paintball Field

Wanna Play Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 717-432-7997
Location: Dillsburgh, Pennsylvania 17019
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
aggsauce Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Revolution Paintball, Outlaw Paintball, WPP Indoor (when it was leased out), Paintball Adventure Park
Review: I never expected to leave a bad review with Wanna Play Paintball, but on Saturday April 15th, we were treated very badly after a minor occurence.

We decided that because Wanna Play Paintball allowed BYOP, that we would take the day to enjoy ourselves on their fields. We all paid our 15$ entry, and went to set up and get ready to play. Just after we were ready to play, we were approached by Ron Sr. of the Punisher Punks about getting 5 together to mash for a few games. This was cool, the Punks are a good team, their coaches were willing to help us out, so we played for a few games. During the down times between the games, the Punisher Punks players had their masks off outside of the field to walk to the staging area, and there was no reason for them not to. We were all walking to our staging areas with our masks off. The only sign strictly enforcing the mask on rule was at the chrono station several hundred feet away out of plain sight. The Punisher Punks soon left, and we threw together some teams to play for a while more. We were given no referee from the start of the day, and a safety meeting was never even mentioned. We are a very safety minded group of people, and we never took our masks off on the field. On our last game of the day, there happened to be a ref on the Chronic field. He was with another player, and kindly started the game for us. Once the game was finished and I was gathering my pods, the ref began to yell at a player who took his mask off. He put it back on and walked away. Soon after, a friend and teamate of mine Corey took his mask off outside of the field, like us and the Punks had been doing all day. The ref quickly yelled at him to put his mask back on. We were all confused, because while we played the Punisher Punks, everyone outside of the netted field had their masks off. Corey put his mask back on, and we all walked back to our staging area. The ref took the complaint to the owner of the field, Sheldon. This is where te true problem began.

Sheldon walked down to our staging area and before he fully understood the situation, or even knew who violated the seemingly non-existant mask rule and blew up on us. He pointed to another friend and teamate of mine, Neil and yelled at him to pack up and leave. Neil had NOTHING to do with the situation. He had his mask on the entire time walking back to the staging area. One player commented once we were back in the staging area, "I didn't even know what he looked like until just now." He also pointed at 3 other people including me who had nothing to do with the situation and yelled at us to pack up and leave. When we tried to explain that he was yelling at some of the wrong people, he got in my friend Corey's face and continued to scream at the top of his lungs. He even went as far as personally attacking Revolution Paintball by saying, "I don't know how you run Revolution Paintball, but Wanna Play is a safe establishment." It was completely uncalled for, and he treated us like mentally deficient children rather than responsible paying customers. He didn't even have enough courtesy to take off his mirrored sunglasses so we could see who he was looking at. I'm not exactly a business major, but I'm pretty sure that is not how you go about treating your consumer. We never got a chance to express our side of the story before Sheldon stormed away fuming. We finally expressed our side of the story to the referee, who was very kind and understanding. He didn't scream and he let us speak to him. He understood, and told us to wait and apologized. He walked away.

Shortly after, a rec player walked off the hyperpipe field with his mask off. His barrel plug was off, his safety was off, and he was inside of the zone where masks were supposed to be down. He shot at the sandbags holding the net, and then at the sign that showed a map of all of Wanna Play's park. This was at the most 15ft. away from our staging area. He suffered no penalty. We also witnessed two of Wanna Plays' staff members riding on a tractor into the zone where we were told to put our masks on without any masks on. They didn't even have masks with them.

We were treated unfairly. We did not deserve to be yelled at in the manner that Sheldon did. I will never be there to practice ever again. If that is how Sheldon treats his customers, than he doesn't deserve my hard-earned money, nor should he receive anyone elses.

For the Chronic field, I'll give them a two.
Last edited on Monday, April 17th, 2006 at 8:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintman54321 Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Revolution paintball, outlaw paintball, taney town, one shot paintball, kellys
Review: let me just start out by saying im not here to bash the field or anything like that. im here to give my feedback on the experience i had here.

I play for Revolution Inc. me and 3 of our players had off work at revolution paintball and decided to go give wanna play a try. me and my friend Ethan havn't played there in over 2 years or so at one of their tournaments. we show up ready to go fill out waivers and pay field fees. We were NEVER told we needed a safety briefing, given a ref or where we had to have our goggles down at. the only sign i saw for goggles down was at the chrono and as everyone knows you should have them on at the field at all times. we go back to out staging area and start getting our gear on and chronoing our guns. Sr. from the punisher punks asks us if we had 5 players to play with which we did so we went to play against them. as we walked to the field id say ALL of us had our masks OFF until we got the field. including the punks. after we were done playing we went back to our table and then the Punks were done playing. so we decided to keep playing. finally at our last game there was a ref on the chronic field. we played our game and as we were walking off a kid pulled his mask up while on the field. the ref yelled at him as any other ref would because he had his mask up ON the field. we all walk out of the field and im about 20 feet out of the netting. Ok, im out of the playing field my barrel condoms on gun off i take my mask off the ref yells and me and tells me to go to the parking lot. i said sorry i didn't know we couldn't have our masks OFF out of the netting. Mind you we were never told when we got there.

This is the part that makes me extremely angry. we were done for the day packing our stuff up i didn't make a big deal about me getting yelled at but the ref mentioned something to Sheldon the boss. now Sheldon knows we work at Revolution he was joking around with us about us skipping work when we got there. he comes over and yells at all of us saying I DON'T RUN MY ******* BUSINESS LIKE REVOLUTION PAINTBALL I RUN A SAFE FIELD. now this pissed me off along with everyone else there playing with us because there was about 10 of us who all regularly play at revolution and 3 of us who worked there. NOT once have i ever saw Sheldon up there to even see how the business is run. he does not know what he was talking about when it comes to how revolution is run. at first he reamed 3 different people out who didn't even do anything wrong. finally he yelled at me and the other kid and told us to pack our stuff up. i was all ready doing that. i mentioned we never got a ref or a saftey briefing to tell us where to have our masks on at. he got in my face and yelled at. which really makes me mad seeing as he is a grown adult yelling at a bunch of 15 year old kids getting in the faces and not having any respect. he said we were scrimmaging with the punks. Which we were NOT we just happened to play a couple games with them. i also said none of us had our masks on he said that the Punks are responsible unlike us. I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING AGAINST THE PUNISHER PUNKS. after Sheldon's hot head leaves and we finally got to have a good conversation with the ref that yelled at us where we explained our side of the story. it went over well and he said just wait 5 minutes and you can play. he then mentioned the punks play here all the time. i said then they should know the rules. and we followed what they did and we got in trouble.

As soon as the ref left. a kid without his mask on and no barrel plug in walks by our table where none of us had our masks on shoots the ground 3 times right near us and the field layout sign and proceeds to walk to the chrono shooting before he was there with out his mask on. no one says a word to him. that wasn't the only case of stuff like this happening.

Now i don't know if Sheldon or any of the WPP staff has anything against RT but it sure seems like.

I never had a problem with WPP but my decision might be changing.

on a side note. they had very nice fields well kept and a very good set of fill stations.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Str8killa Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Revolution paintball, Outlaw Indoor.
Review: This field is good, yes. But the netting is horrible, and the referees are idiots. My friends got kicked out of the place for having their masks up OUTSIDE of the net. I was up there yesterday when this happened, the field owner was the one who came over and screamed at a group of 15 year olds, what a big man, he never gave us a saftey briefing or anything, they basically also said that revolution sucks and that we run the field horribly, which is not true at all. I will never play there again. Disregard Ghost, they are not the only field in PA with Bring your own paint option, Outlaw paintball in Manheim has it as well.
Last edited on Sunday, April 16th, 2006 at 11:49 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GhostSlayer Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 14th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Revolution Paintball, The Dam - Middleburg
Directions
to the Field:
The Pro Shop is just a mile or so south of Dillsburg, PA on Highway 15 on the right. The field is a couple more miles farther south on the left side of the road.
Review: The emplyees there are really flexible and willing to indulge you when you're setting up games. They are also the only field in PA to allow you to use non-field paint. In fact, their paint prices are so good that you really wouldn't want to buy your paint anywhere else. They have several well-maintained netted-in speedball courses. There is an abandoned village course that works for both large and small groups, as well as a huge castle (which I have never played on with a large group).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

freakfac7736 Friday, August 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: A good all around field, reasonable prices and a store down the road. Two speedball fields which are changed relativly often to keep players' skills sharp. And a bunch of recball fields which they use for scenarios sometimes, pretty nifty actually lots of space for their scenarios. All around id have to say a pretty good field, nice staff too, knowledgeable so if u have any gun problems u should be able to find some help.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Iceman29 Saturday, August 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Wanna-Play Fields rock!

They currently have 1 Xball field and 1 NPPL field that are very well kept and they change them often to mix things up. They are in the process of putting up another air field (not sure what style) and putting up a Hyperball field as well.

We play there at least once a week. There paint costs are very reasonable and they also have woods ball for the rec players which seems to always have a good turn out.

I have turned alot of my buddies on to Wanna-Play, I would recommend this field as a must try for everyone at every level.

Thanks WPP!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bpawlik Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
many, but none compare
Review: The wanna play field is in my opinion the best field in the region. Im not much of a woods ball player but if thats your thing they have many fields here that im sure you will enjoy. They have a village field, castle field called lego land, a straight up woods field with trails cut into it, a half woods half large spool bunkers, and another field in the woods with bunkers made of logs and such. The air ball fields are the highlight though. A regulation x ball field is always set up and always has the current psp lay out. The ulti-air field is also a full size 7 man field set up as one of the current nppl field layouts. Sundays always draw a large number of teams for the team pratice on these fields, while rec ball on the other hand also draws a large number on both saturday and sunday. Paint is priced much lower than ski round tops field which is miles down the road, but why would you go there? Refs are not pushy here, rec ball is laid back and the group is aloud to pick and choose whichever fields they would like to play. Someone in a earlier review said that he didnt get a full 4.5k fill. I have never experienced this and i play there every sunday. With the 2 compressors there enough air is never a problem. The location of the field is right off of route 15 south with the store only like 4 miles up the road on the north side. If you plan on being at the field all day and need to take a lunch break, fast food places are also only 3-5 miles north. The proshop is always fully stocked with the latest gear and is always willing to help. I hope this review will help you make the right choice and come and play at the wannaplaypaintball field. Hopefully ill see you there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Punisher Punks Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Wholesalers ( paintball adventure park)
Capt'n Carls
Dels Hobbies
Review: Wanna Play Paintball has great fields, great refs, and a great Pro shop righ up the street. There is currently 2 airball fields and 4 wood ball fields. The X-ball field is a really fun field to play on and very well put together. The wood ball fields are great fun for rec ballers and the serious scenario ballers. The airball fields are awesome for tournament ballers and rec ballers alike. All and all Wanna play paintball has great fields and great staff.
Last edited on Friday, August 5th, 2005 at 5:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zapy67 Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
outlaw paintball
revolution paintball -not even close
pevs paintball
captn carls
skirmish
Review: Wanna play has some of the best reffing, they are honest and do their best to see that you as players have fun. Wanna play has a great pro shop where employees take their time to see that your demands are set. the fields are in great shape. The x ball and sup air fields are set up in a great way. And for all the woods ballers their are a fair amount of woods courses to meet all your needs.

Over all wanna play is the best place i have ever played in, it is well worth your money.

Have fun playing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Prea Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
revolution.......wannaplay is much better
Review: This place is really great......all the ppl there are really nice and very helpful. They always have enough refs (unlike revolution). I have only played there twice and it's been great every time, i went once for no reason, and another time for a scenerio(that was my 1st scenerio and it was awesome). They also have a really great pro-shop right down the road, and the dude there is really cool, and has been nothing but helpful. Ive never had any problems at all with wanna play. The only complaint i have is when i went it was after a storm, and the xball field wasnt set up, also...the hyper ball field was taken down.....im hoping to play on those fields in the near future

btw, congrats to the wpp factory team on their success in the 05 denver nppl
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media