paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Skirmish Paintball Field / Skirmish Paintball Field / Skirmish Paintball Field / Skirmish Paintball Field

Skirmish Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 0800 052 6190
Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
paintballgoduk Wednesday, September 7th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 28th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ape paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Just outside of edinburgh past herriot watt university.
Review: Safety: All safty was same as paintball sites ive played before.
Fairly standard, no goggles off, 3m shooting distance ect safty speach at start of day and reiteration during games.

Fields: Were actually really good!
We started of playing a field called 'the badlands' which was a jungle style assault, Then moved onto 'The tower' which was a upclose capture the tower style game. Then a game call 'Bridges' which had bridges going across to an island compound.

Hours of opperantion: The site runs most days if there are enough people, I recomend giving them a phone there realy flexible this way.

Price: I managed to get a fantastic deal as it was my birthday of £29 a head for 10 people and the 11th person free. They also gve me 500 pellets free gloves and a birthday cake.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

webbaldo Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No local ones, im from North East England. Locally, we have Underseige Paintball at Towlaw, which is great, 6E Paintball at witton castle, also good fun and Topgun paintball in gateshead. Id say the Skirmish at Dalmahoy site is on a par course wise with these local ones but more expensive.
Directions
to the Field:
Approx 2miles out of edinburgh center on the A71
Review: Been playing paintball for 5years now, mainly at North East England sites, but tried this one with 8 mates on a stag weekend. Site is 2 mile out of edinburgh, site is easy to find once on the A71 with large flags showing the site entrance. There is approx 4-500yard drive up to the site itself.

Parking is adequate, driveway is a little bumpy for sports cars/lowered cars.

Booking - Booked over phone, rang up to confirm a few days late, too them a while to find booking but was fine anyway. Also not very happy that they arent keen on bringing own marker. (Majority of other large sites are happy as long as they can chronograph it)

Site itself
Waiting area/facilites - Typical size waiting area with barrel open fire and jeep in the middle. Perfectly adequate for getting ready, waiting. Not impressed with food/drink facilites as Tea/Coffee was off due to faulty boiler. Other softdrinks expensive. Not sure if they had toilets, BUT couldnt check and to be fair I didnt ask.

Equipment
Markers were to a good standard, clean and regularly serviced infernos by the look of it. Hoppers, used standard red or blue ones. Picking of random markers, not assigned to the same one all day. Good if faulty one was picked as regularly checked. Overalls a bit grotty but good enough. Face masks all Vantage masks. Better than many sites ive been on. No gloves provided. Body armour available however to younger players.

The course
Good selection of games, well built courses. Standard capture base, good assault course over a river and up a hill, however I thought the time scale for certain games should be reviewed (some too short, some too long)

Games
Really same as course selection, good variety BUT for half day I wasnt happy. We had to wait over 30mins between games which personnally i thought was far too long as resulted in fewer games than i was expecting.

Safety/Marshals
Marshals were quite knowledgable and friendly. I do have a safety concern however, as every site has slightly different rules maybe its just me but after a game, guns need to be placed on floor (Which is fine) but when walking back to the safe area, guns were carried by the air line (again ok) BUT googles could be removed. Personally I wasnt happy with this and didnt find it too professional. Most sites ive been on are paranoid about googles being on anywhere except safe area and i was more happier with that. Fair enough guns were carried by airlines but i wasnt happy with this.

Cost
We paid standard halfday fee with 400balls - £35. This is fair to me BUT i got different price quotes for paintballs on phone and at site. £8 on phone, £10 at site. Fair enough its near a big city but I think this is fairly expensive. Most north east sites are £5-10 walk on fee and £6-7quid for 100balls. Luckily the 400 balls was just enough

Overall -
Good course, near to edinburgh centre. Bit pricey and questions about the odd safety issue/site managment.
Last edited on Thursday, April 17th, 2008 at 6:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballghostX Friday, February 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have Played at Ape Paintball.
Review: LOL Fogged up lenses. Thats funny.

I have played about eight times now at Skirmish at Dalmahoy, and have also made enquiries about coming alomg to their walk on days for tournament style paintball too. The lads their are a great laugh, the games are very creative and fast paced.

So I had to laugh very loudly when I read Gingers review of the site. Not one nice thing to say about the site, and If I worked there I would have taken what he said very personally! As for the place being boggy, its a forrest dude, there are obviously going to be muddy pools, especially after it rains. Its called nature!

I do agree however that the safezone perhaps needed a lick of paint, however I was assured by Big Rab (who does the BBQ there-GREAT FOOD BTW RAB) that he was coming out to paint it. That was a couple of weeks ago so when I go out again this weekend I should be seeing a fresher more tidy safezone.

Anyway, after playing in several sites down south before I came up here for UNI, this particulal Skirmish Paintball site is definately well run, definately has friendly staff, and definately needs to be visited.

Don't just take my word for it. Go down and play a couple of games yourself and make up your own mind, and if Rabs working ask him to make you one of his special burgers. YUMMY.!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ginger Wednesday, January 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bedlam Paintball
Review: I don't know who's writing the other reviews for this site as they're obviously playing with fogged up lenses. For at start this site can't even get their prices correct. It's one price on the website and another when you get to site! The site is like a bog, with mud up to your knees, the staff are rude and totally disinterested in the players - preferring to fulfil their own paintball fantasies rather than spending time ensuring the clients have a good time. Take my advice do NOT book this venue as they're a joke. I tried to get my money back for a called off day and it took me three months. I've played other sites in the area that have much better service and better equipment.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Mojax Monday, August 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish Glasgow
Skirmish Aberdeen
Bedlam in Edinburgh
Review: I have been playing regularly at the Skirmish Paintball Site in Edinburgh now for about three months. I have to say that I find the experience more enjoyable everytime I head out there. The staff are always friendly and remember the regulars, the games are great and well run especially their bridge complex game, the site tidy and well organised.

The times that I have been there have been a good mix of stag parties and teenagers out for a jolly. The safety speech was talked through by Nick who always keeps the talk fun but informative. He always reinforces the need for safety first but does not take away the element of fun.

This site to me is by far one of the best I have played at. I have played at other sites around the UK for stag nights I have been on and work days out etc, but I find myself returning to Skirmish Edinurgh over and over again. I guess its just because of the fact I am always made welcome and the games are always fresh, two new game zones have been built since I have been playing there.

Skirmish Edinburgh get MOJAX's FOUR STARS (outta five lol)

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brettstirling Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played at Bedlam, also in Edinburgh. They are incomparable, Skirmish is streets ahead, and much better value for money.
Review: Situated in a convenient location, less than a mile from the motorway, Skirmish is ideally placed.

The staff are friendly and most of them have a area of expertise when it comes to guns, and will help you with any problems you suffer with a gun, be it one of theirs, or even one of your own that you have brought along.

This brings me to my next point, you can use your own gun on this field, which you cannot at Bedlam (or at least couldn't last time i went).

The games at Skirmish are well thought out, and usually reversible, which allows for thinking man's paintball when the second round comes about.

Paint is reasonably priced and a good day out can be had for a sensible price (as far as paintball goes!!).

Would definately recommend this site to anyone wanting to start playing, or who already has experience.

Incidentally, if anyone can beat clearing the fort out in less than 1 minute (as our group did) then congratulations. It is not a game biased towards defenders, so take a hat!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

nela Wednesday, October 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bedlame
Review: Being a regular player of paintball in Scotland I like to nominate Skirmish as on of the best sites I have played on. From start to finish everything is great fun!! We arrived there at 9am to play for a full day. The welcome was hot tea and coffee and given our spotlessly clean equipment which is a change from some of the sites I have been on. Within 20 minutes we were kitted out with all our equipment plus an ammo pack of 500 pellets each before we knew it we had played 4 different games including the ammo dump which was fantastic and the Bridge game. What I Like about Skirmish everything is done at a leisurely pace!! Lunch time came which included a BBQ plus tea and coffee and time to have a banter with each other. Then 4 more different games of which Braveheart was the BEST!!!! Total Cost for the Whole Day was ONLY 55
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media