paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Rocky Creek Paintball Field / Rocky Creek Paintball Field / Rocky Creek Paintball Field / Rocky Creek Paintball Field

Rocky Creek Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
100Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 352-371-2092
Address: 10614 SW Archer Rd
Gainesville, Florida 32608
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Big-A Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
first strike and that's it.
Directions
to the Field:
it's on archer road.
Review: Rocky Creek is the best field ever. They are all about safety and having fun. Jim the owner might seem mean by yelling at you to put your barrel sock or plug on your gun but he is just looking out for your safety and the safety of others.
Their staff is very knowlegable. They have fixed my gun many times while I was playing there.
If your a morning person they are open like at 9am and they close at 5pm. They don't require you to buy their paint but you have to have good paint. They sell good paint there at cheap prices. I recommend that you just buy there paint because they have fresh paint every week.
The games they play are so much fun on the fields they have. The capture the bear game and the small x-ball tourneys they have there are my favorite. In the small x-ball tourneys the winners get paint.
The refs are really good and are fair. They split the teams up so that each team has a couple good players. So all games are fair.
If you're hungry you can order pizza from Hungry Howies.
This is the best field I have ever played at. The staff is great, the fields are awesome, and the games are sweet. If you want to have a good time go play a Rocky Creek.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trampmastafunk Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike
Review: Rocky Creek is a great field. They have 5 fields in total, but sometimes divide one field in half so it may be counted as six, which would bring the number up to 3 woodsball fields and 3 speedball.

I personally perfer speedball, but some of the guys i play out there now have got me wanting to play more woodsball now. The group of guys i play with out there are awesome. Everyone that goes there has a great personality, and all of the regulars make sure the saftey rules are enforced by the traditional yelling "KEEP YOUR MASK ON!!!"

My favorite things are the usual quick turn around between matches (some of us usually ask for more time), the friendly service, THEY ORDER PIZZA FOR YOU!!!, the great setups of the fields, the mini scenario games we played on saturday! and the killer prices.( although the paint is a little expensive, but in his defense, its good paint.)

My "not so favorite things" about the field: Some times during the day a few of the airball bunkers get a little deflated, a few water coolers would be nice, and the 260 fps limit. (although he does get some newer players, which i can understand, but sometimes I think that it is a little low.)

In conclusion, and for lack of a better phrase, Rocky Creek is one hell of a place to spend a saturday. You'll always get your moneys worth, cause they have you playing game after game after game and when enough players get there, Jim even splits the players into speedball or woodsball, so you get to play what you want, but you aren't stuck playing speedball, all you have to do is ask to join a woodsball game, and your in.

Rating 9/10, cause nothing is perfect.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Silent Sniper22 Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Rocky Creek
Rocky Creek is a great place for starters because of the limit to 260 fps. The are very strict about the safety rules of keeping on a barrel cover, but I think this is a good thing.

The prices at Rocky Creek seem to me to be the best. They charge $55 for a case.
I think it would just be better to buy paint from him instead of buying from a local store because he charges a good price for a whole case. If you are only going to get like 500 or 1000 paintballs, it is kind of a waste of money. I recommend splitting a case with a friend or just anyone. There is a $5 field fee though.

The guys there are great guys. Pretty much all of them are friendly and willing to help. One guy there even gave me like 350 paintballs. Sometimes Jim will order in a pizza for you. The refs are for the most part good. They direct the game well, but sometimes they miss something. But hey we all are human.

The fields there are awesome. They have a total of 6 fields. They have two air-ball fields, a half-pipe field, a moto X field, and two woods-ball fields. They are all great. The woods-ball fields have many forts, bunkers, trees,etc. The half-pipe field consists of half-pipe shaped pieces of plastic. The air-ball fields are great. They each have many bunkers of all shapes and sizes. They also have plastic tubes to hide behind. The Moto X field is a Moto X jump. There are a few dirt hills and lots of brush. There is no cover. lol.

Overall this field is great.

10/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MustardLust Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike
Directions
to the Field:
Turn right on SW107th St. 5 miles west of I-75 off Archer Rd.
Review: I have been playing on this field for awhile now so I have seen everything it has to offer. Jim and the entire staff are extremely friendly and helpful (they will order your pizza so you can keep playing). After about three trips they new my name and I can truly call this place my home field.

I play with a group of 4-6 almost every Saturday and for the fairness of the game we get split up; however, the fair games make everything more challenging and I know everyone at the field has a great time. At one point we (my group) were allowed to play a game of search and destroy against about 20 others. We were soundly beaten but it just goes to show that the folks at Rocky Creek WILL make sure you have a good time and play what you want, almost when you want.

My favorite aspect of the field is the time between games. There is none. You will get your field fees' worth of playing in one day. I come out of a game and reload and by the time I have my pods refilled and paint wiped off, we are being called for another game. Sometimes we have to ask for another 5 minutes to get ready.

The field itself is beautiful with 3 speed-ball and 2 woods-ball courses. The woods-ball courses offer every kind of concealment imaginable. Areas of thick vegetation for snipers, trenches for squad movement and fire and maneuver, and small buildings for simple room clearing and what I like to call hostile takeovers. The speed-ball fields are spacious for larger teams and the obstacles are always filled and cleaned everyday. The is a field of porta-potties (clean and empty) and for those of you that have never shot one (I know all of us have) the sound and color is amazing.

The refs are fair and active (meaning they move around the field to call the game instead of letting the action move away from them), and the service is fast (paid and on the field in about 15 minutes). I would like to see more table space in the waiting area and maybe some 3-5 mini tournaments, but other than that the field can only get better. If you are in the Alachua County area, I highly recommend checking this place out.
Last edited on Thursday, March 2nd, 2006 at 6:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

enzor2 Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
first strike
Directions
to the Field:
a few miles past 75 on archer rd
Review: I use to play in high school and just now got back into the swing of things again and rocky creek has made me feel like I never missed a beat from the newest player to most experienced this field is the way to go. The people that play the field are pretty nice and there isn't any real jerks floating around to spoil the mood.

--personally I feel the field is great the owner is a great guy and the refs and his daughter who helps run the place are all great people to get to know their real nice and they seem to go that extra mile to make sure everyone is getting the service they deserve. Every morning I get there I receive a hello and Every time I leave I receive a goodbye and a handshake.

--I have know personal preference as to what I play I go out there to have fun but both the woods and the speed ball , air ball courses are fun. i do like there black and blue field and the red white and blue the best . There king of the hill games are pretty fun also.

--Thre prices are just about what you would expect from any field. with your own equipment and paint , 20$ will have you playing all day(That's with 10$ all day air) and you don't have to deal with sorry paint either they check every ones to make sure that its quality. There paint isn't to shabby either formula 13 and empire is what I have seen the 4 weekends I have been out there so far.

--i wish they could fill my tank all the way( they limit fills upto 3000) but other than that I don't have to much to complain about

would give a ten but there is always room for improvement
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AndrewPla Friday, February 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike Paintball have not been there because rocky creek fits my every need
Review: This place is awesome the staff is so nice and all of there fields are amazing they have two woods fields that have these awesome forts i dont like airball but everyone else says that they are designed very well. I havent tried anywhere else because rocky was the first place i went to and they have treated me the same ever since. If you are new or experienced this is the place to go because there nice their fields are awesome and he tries to fit to your style. Overall i love this place and ill never go anywhere else. There prices are amazing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

magas8282 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike
Review: Pros:
-Great friendly and helpful staff. If you are a nb this is a great field to start out on. The owner is very strict, but this of course is for everyones safety. Overall he is a great guy and runs his field very efficiently. The refs are friendly and like what they do (unlike some refs ar other fields I have been to).
-The prices are very reasonable. Cheapest field fee I have seen ($5).
-They regularly chrono the markers, especially ones that people bring to make sure they are not shooting hot.
-They make an attempt to even out the team reasonably, and they are almost never stacked.
-They don't allow bunkering a player (running up and shooting them while they are behind a bunker). Everyone adheres to this and strict to a surrender rule.
-The time between games is very short, 5 min at the most. There is no waiting around to get the next game started.
-There are always plenty of people out there and usually a good mix of those who want to play woodsball or speedball. Like was said earlier when there are enough people they have simultaneous games conducted.
-The Fields are nice and well maintained. Plenty of woods for the guy in camo, and great speedball courses for the guy in the crazy blue and yellow jersey.
-If you have a problem with your marker they will help you fix it if it is in their capability.
-The porta-poti was surprisingly clean and fresh smelling.
-I have been there 3 weeks in a row, everyone is extremely friendly and they all know me by name now. Great group of people.
- I saw 2 groups come out there with over 100 people. They can handle this many! They have plenty of markers and staff when needed. The people did not even speak English and they did a great job of making sure everyone understood the safety rules!

Cons:
-I usually come with a large group of friends and I know it is difficult because we are all older/more experienced then other players, but we usually get split up. However, teams change frequently and I do get to play with all of them at some point.
-The max speed is set at 260fps. Great for the new players and I understand the reasoning, but a little low for me. I had to cut the spring on two of my markers just to get them to shoot at that speed. 280fps is more of what I am use to. Also, the speedball fields are large enough to where you are at a safe distance most of the time and 280 would be good to get some more range.
-there are 3 woodsball fields, this is a good thing, but I like woodsball too and wish that there were more or bigger. This reduces the ability to do any kind of scenario game I suppose.
-They don't take credit cards, only cash and personal check.

Suggestions:
-they could add one or two more picnic benches because it usually does get pretty full be the afternoon.
-Plan some events (3/5 man speedball tournies, woodsball mini scenarios).
-Organize a frequent player's card, such as field fee for the year, that also offers discounts on paint/air and tournies if you have them. There are lots of regulars who frequent the field that would be interested in this.
-Get a credit card machine or do it old school manual style. Everyone uses mostly credit/debit cards. The fees are not expensive and nextel/motorola makes a cool wireless credit card machine perfect for your purpose.
-Offer paint discount for people buying larger quantities. My group usually goes through 3 case between the 3-4 of us. Drop the price $5 a case if we do this or something of this nature. We obviously use more paint and are going to buy more and come back next week and do it again if we are receiving a good deal.

I rate this field a 9. I would give it a 10, but just like women, I don't think one exists.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Protteus Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike Paintball
Orlando Paintball(3 hours away)
Paintball World(also in Orlando)
Review: I went to this field for the first time today after not playing paintball in a few years. I got there at around 11:30am, and there were like 20 people standing at the registration area, had lots of college groups today. Lots of players(I was suprised) were here. Velocity was set at 260, a little too low for my preference but they did have a LOT of first time players, some young girls included.

-=Pros=-
-Very friendly staff, the guy who owns it is really cool, and all the people working were helpful to everyone.
-Lots of fields, theyve got a black/blue airball, a red/white/blue airball, a halfpipe speedball type field, then 3 or so woodsball fields.
-BYOP! When I got there I thought it was field paint so I only brought 500 of mine just in case but to my suprise it was byop as well.
-Cheap, excellent prices. 5dollar entry, 5dollar byop, 10 dollar all day air, didnt catch their paint prices.
-They sell drinks and also have a menu to order a pizza to be delivered there.
-Fields are nicely layed out, but many bunkers are too far apart imo.
-If you get enough people, you can run one speedball only group and one woodsball only group, we did this later in the day and it was great.

-=Needs Improvement=-
-Amount of staff. The staff they have is quality but they only had about 4 people working or so, and with the massive amount of people that were there today(I'd imagine at least 60), the groups were a bit too big for each field. Adding another 2 or 3 refs would have allowed for all fields to be utilized at once and for there not to have to be 11v11 on a 5man speedball course.
-Air. They only fill to 3000psi =/, kind of a dissapointment, but if you have all day air it doesn't matter.
-Amount of time inbetween games, sometimes if we had enough paint we turned right around and played again, but most of the time the wait could be around 5 minutes, occasionally more.

I will give this field an 8.6(rounded to 9), because they have very good prices, byop, awsome staff and good fields. If they had a few more refs and maybe a proshop I would rate it a 10. I plan on going back to this field tomorrow, and each weekend to come(even though its over an hour away, its the closest to me).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintBallKing15 Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike - unfriendly staff and regulars
Review: _Good_

-Friendly staff
-teams are usually even
-Woods and speed/airball fields
-If you don't want to play woods or airballand there are enough people, you can have a group to only play airball or only woodsball
-close to my house


_Suggestions_

-more tournaments


If you want to have a good time playing paintball definitely go to Rocky Creek. I have fun every time.
Last edited on Saturday, May 6th, 2006 at 5:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann_Balla Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First strike, but not nearly as good as Rocky Creek
Review: The good:
-The price, only $5 and you can bring your own paint (every other B.Y.O.P field has really high admission price) if you want to buy paint there its a great deal unlike every other field that rips you off

-The refs, and the entire staff are super nice, and always consider what you want to play(unlike some refs that just throw you on a random field)

-The wait time between games is not that long so that you get your moneys worth, at the most its a five minute wait, unless someones gun is broken or there is a long line at the fill station

- The fields are set up very nicely and are well kept

- The refs really enforce the goggles on rule, which is for every ones safety

-The refs call cheating very well, so that the games are fair

-Very good for beginners or advanced players, the refs explain the rules of the games very well, so there is no confusion on the playing field

The bad: there is no bad, this was probably the best field that i have played on, considering the price and the amount of games played, i am definitely coming back to this amazing paintball field

10 out of 10 Andres

Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 5:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media